DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1 and 12 and dependent claims 2-11, 13, and 14.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 8 and 9 recite “a second target” without reciting a first target. How many targets do these claims require?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh Sae (KR 102598788 B1, reference paragraphs are directed to English translation attached to this Office Action).
Regarding independent claim 1, Oh Sae discloses a method of calibrating a substrate transfer apparatus comprising: fixing the substrate transfer apparatus (200, see at least para. 049); measuring an operation of the fixed substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 055-067); generating eigendata relating to the operation of the fixed substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 055-067); and storing the eigendata in the substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 055-067).
Regarding independent claim 12, Oh Sae discloses a substrate transfer apparatus comprising: a base (see Fig. 1, generally at 200); an elevator (see Fig. 1 generally at 200 and see at least paras. 060-061) connected to the base, which extends and retracts; and an end effector (210) comprising a target that reflects light (see at least para. 045) and a memory (300), and is lifted and lowered with extension and retraction of the elevator (see at least paras. 060-061), wherein the memory stores eigendata related to fixing of the substrate transfer apparatus at a time of testing and eigendata related to an operation of the fixed substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 055-067).
Regarding dependent claims 2-8 and 10-14, Oh Sae discloses reading the stored eigendata relating to the operation of the substrate transfer apparatus (see at least para. 0068); and performing calibration based on the eigendata related to the operation of the substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 067-081). Oh Sae discloses generating eigendata relating to eigendata for fixing of the substrate transfer apparatus see at least paras. 055-067); and storing the eigendata in the substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 055-067). Oh Sae discloses reading the stored eigendata relating to the operation of the substrate transfer apparatus (see at last para. 068); and performing calibration based on eigendata related to the operation of the substrate transfer apparatus in a state where the substrate transfer apparatus is fixed based on the eigendata (see at least paras. 068-081). The eigendata related to the fixing of the substrate transfer apparatus includes data related to a position of a pin (211a) used when fixing the substrate transfer apparatus. The substrate transfer apparatus comprises: an elevator (see Fig. 1 generally at 200 and see at least paras. 060-061); and an end effector (210) comprising a first target that reflects light (see at least para. 045), the end effector is lifted and lowered with lifting and lowering of the elevator, wherein the eigendata related to the operation of the fixed substrate transfer apparatus comprises data related to three-dimensional position coordinates of the first target measured by the lifted and lowered of the end effector (see at least para. 061). The substrate transfer apparatus comprises: a link (see Fig. 1); and an end effector (210) comprising a second target that reflects light (see at least para. 045), the end effector is rotated with rotation of the link, wherein the eigendata related to the operation of the fixed substrate transfer apparatus comprises data related to three-dimensional position coordinates of the second target measured by the rotation of the end effector (see at least para. 061). Reading the stored eigendata relating to the operation of the substrate transfer apparatus, the eigendata relating to the operation of the fixed substrate transfer apparatus comprises a correction value calculated based on the measured operation of the substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 057-067), and the substrate transfer apparatus operates based on the correction value (see at least paras. 068-079). The correction value is calculated based on an actual measurement value of the measured operation of the substrate transfer apparatus and a theoretical value in design of the substrate transfer apparatus (see at least paras. 057-067). Oh Sae discloses that the eigendata related to the fixing of the substrate transfer apparatus includes data related to a position of a pin (211a) used when the substrate transfer apparatus is fixed; and the eigendata related to the operation of the fixed substrate transfer apparatus comprises data related to three-dimensional position coordinates of a measured target (see at least paras. 060-061).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung (KR 102342264) discloses resetting a substrate transfer apparatus before calibrating it. Kim et al. (US 2023/0163009) discloses acquiring teaching data for a substrate transfer apparatus using a reference substrate.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653