DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 1 has text that is illegible.
Figure 2a has text and reference numbers overlapping each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19 recites the limitation “said third predetermined time period”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1 and 19 recites the limitation “said fourth predetermined time period”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 2-15 and 20 are rejected based on dependence on claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halperin et al, US Patent Pub US 20200390403 A1 (hereinafter Halperin) in view of Mix et al, US Patent Pub US 20140039351 A1 (hereinafter Mix).
Claim 16
Halperin teaches a patient movement monitoring system for a bed mattress (Halperin, para 195 – A monitoring system for patient movement installed in a bed mattress.) comprising: a plurality of pressure sensors configured to contact a monitored device that receives a patient and detect pressure from the patient on the monitored device, wherein the plurality of pressure sensors provides a detected pressure output in response to the detected pressure (Halperin, para 172, 191 Fig. 1 refs(14, 30, 37) – Multiple pressure sensors that detect pressure from a patient on a monitored bed mattress/”monitored device”.); and a processing device in electronic communication with said pressure sensors and configured to receive the detected pressure output (Halperin, para 172, 191 Fig. 1 refs (14, 30) – A control unit/”processing device” in communication with the pressure sensors that receives the sensor output.), determine whether or not the patient has moved in a predetermined period of time, and generate an alert when it is determined that the patient hasn't moved in a predetermined period of time. (Halperin, para 202-203, 211, 320-325, 342-343 – Monitoring patient movement in a period of time and generating alerts based on lack of movement during the time period.)
But Halperin fails to clearly specify a pressure sensor array comprising a plurality of electronically interconnected pressure sensors.
However Mix teaches a pressure sensor array comprising a plurality of electronically interconnected pressure sensors. (Najafi para 20 – An array of electronical interconnected pressure sensing elements.)
Halperin and Mix are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to patient bed monitoring systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above patient bed monitoring system, as taught by Halperin, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Mix.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to correlate the interface pressures to specific parts of the patient's body by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Mix (Abstract).
Claim 17
The combination of Halperin and Mix teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Mix further teaches the processing device determines that the patient has moved when the detected pressure output exceeds a threshold pressure value. (Mix, para 11 – The sensing system/”processing device” detecting movement along the sensor array of an area of pressure exerted by the patient against the sensor array that exceeds a threshold size and magnitude.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above patient bed monitoring system, as taught by Halperin, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Mix.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to sense an undesirable condition relating to shear pressure by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Mix (para 11).
Claim 18
The combination of Halperin and Mix teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Halperin and Mix further teaches said pressure sensor array is configured to be underneath the bed mattress. (Halperin, para 168, 171 – Pressure sensors placed under the bed mattress.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as set forth in this office action.
Dependent claim(s) 2-15 and 20 is/are allowable over art based on their dependence upon claims 1 and 19 respectively.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s claim defines over the prior art of record because the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, does not teach a processing device in electronic communication with said sensing devices and said pressure sensor array, where the processing device is configured with the capability to perform each of the operations relating to the accelerometer, the gyroscope, the vibration sensor, and the pressure sensor array, where the operations include for the accelerometer, receive the acceleration output signal from said accelerometer and generate a first alert if said accelerometer does not detect a minimum intensity of patient movement within a first predetermined time period, for the gyroscope, receive the gyroscope output signal from said gyroscope and generate a second alert if said gyroscope does not detect a threshold patient movement angle of the mattress within a second predetermined time period, for the vibration sensor, receive a vibration output signal from said vibration sensor and generate a third alert if said vibration sensor does not detect a threshold vibration within a third predetermined time period, and for the pressure sensor array to generate a fourth alert if said one or more pressure sensors does not detect a change in pressure within a fourth predetermined time period.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Najafi et al, US Patent Pub US 20230137904 A1 relates to claims regarding a weight support device that includes a sensor grid that measures pressure data while a user is on the weight support device, and a computer that analyzes the pressure data.
Larson et al, US Patent Pub US 20230011717 A1 relates to claims regarding pressure ulcer prevention and management using a array of pressure sensors attached to a mattress.
Shen et al, US Patent Pub US20160256080A1 relates to claims regarding real-time monitoring of a patient's orientation and surface pressure distribution over time, accelerometers and gyroscopes capable of measuring one or more conditions or characteristics of the patient.
Lafleche et al, US Patent Pub US 20210161462 A1 relates to claims regarding a patient support apparatus that includes a sensor adapted to detect movement of the occupant while the occupant is supported on the support apparatus, a controller monitors outputs from the sensor in response to a mobility assessment control being activated, an array of pressure sensors, and accelerometers that detect the movement and mobility of the patient over a time period.
Conclusion
/DAVID EARL OGG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119