DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on July 8, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Applicant believes that no serious search burden exists. This is not found persuasive because each Group possesses a separate classification and requires a separate field of search as set forth in the Office Action dated May 27, 2026. Specifically, a search for the positive electrode structure of Group I will not yield references drawn to the method steps used to manufacture said electrode. Likewise, a search of the method steps recited in Group II will not yield the structure recited in Group I. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (US 2019/0221837 A1), hereinafter “Ishikawa.”
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa discloses a positive electrode comprising:
a fluorinated lithium-rich and manganese-based oxide (LMR) material according to formula (1), Li1+xMe1-xO2-yFy (Table 1, Examples 1-7), wherein:
Me is a transition metal selected from the group consisting of Co and Mn (Table 1, Examples 1-7);
Me comprises greater than or equal to 50% Mn on an atomic basis, in this case 50% Mn and 50% Co (Table 1, Examples 1-7);
0 < x ≤ 0.33, in this case x = 2 (Table 1, Examples 1-7); and
0 < y ≤ 0.1, in this case 0.05 ≤ y ≤ 0.1 (Table 1, Examples 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa further discloses that 0.005 ≤ y ≤ 0.08, in this case y = 0.05 (Table 1, Example 7).
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa further discloses that the fluorinated LMR material has a layered crystal structure including a transition metal layer, an oxygen layer, and a lithium layer, and wherein fluorine ions in the fluorinated LMR material are present at anion sites within the oxygen layer, in this case the lithium composite oxide possesses a R-3m space group crystal structure (¶ [0021]-[0023]) which would include the recited layers and anion sites.
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa discloses a battery comprising:
a negative electrode comprising an electroactive negative electrode material (¶ [0185] & [0189], Fig. 1, ref. no. 22);
a positive electrode (¶ [0189], Fig. 1, ref. no. 21) comprising a fluorinated lithium-rich and manganese-based oxide (LMR) material according to formula (1), Li1+xMe1-xO2-yFy (Table 1, Examples 1-7), wherein:
Me is a transition metal selected from the group consisting of Co and Mn (Table 1, Examples 1-7);
Me comprises greater than or equal to 50% Mn on an atomic basis, in this case 50% Mn and 50% Co (Table 1, Examples 1-7);
0 < x ≤ 0.33, in this case x = 2 (Table 1, Examples 1-7);
0 < y ≤ 0.1, in this case 0.05 ≤ y ≤ 0.1 (Table 1, Examples 1-7); and
an electrolyte infiltrating the positive electrode, in this case the positive electrode is impregnated with a nonaqueous electrolyte (¶ [0191]), the electrolyte comprising an organic solvent and lithium salt (¶ [0217]).
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa further discloses that 0.005 ≤ y ≤ 0.08, in this case y = 0.05 (Table 1, Example 7).
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa further discloses that the fluorinated LMR material has a layered crystal structure including a transition metal layer, an oxygen layer, and a lithium layer, and wherein fluorine ions in the fluorinated LMR material are present at anion sites within the oxygen layer, in this case the lithium composite oxide possesses a R-3m space group crystal structure (¶ [0021]-[0023]) which would include the recited layers and anion sites.
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa further discloses that the organic solvent comprises fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (¶ [0218] & [0225]-[0226]) and diethyl carbonate (DEC) (¶ [0218], [0220], & [0226]).
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa further discloses that the lithium salt comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) (¶ [0243] & [0261]).
Regarding claim 12, Ishikawa further discloses that the electroactive negative electrode material comprises a silicon oxide-based material, in this case SiOx (¶ [0209]), and a carbon-based material, in this case the negative electrode may include a conductive agent such as graphite, carbon black, graphite fluoride, and organic conductive materials (¶ [0214]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa as applied to claims 1 and 5, above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2005/0058588 A1), hereinafter “Kang.”
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa does not disclose formula (2), LiaNibMncO2-yFy. However, Kang teaches formula (2) as a positive electrode active material, in this case Li1+xNiαMnβCoγM’δO2-zFz (¶ [0011]), wherein:
1.1 ≤ a ≤ 1.2, in this case 0 ≤ x ≤ 0.3 (¶ [0011]) resulting in 1.0 ≤ Li ≤ 1.3;
0.25 ≤ b ≤ 0.4, in this case 0.2 ≤ α ≤ 0.6 (¶ [0011]);
0.6 ≤ c ≤ 0.75, in this case 0.2 ≤ β ≤ 0.6 (¶ [0011]); and
0.005 ≤ y ≤ 0.08, in this case 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.2 (¶ [0011]).
When γ = δ = 0 the chemical formula simplifies to Li1+xNiαMnβO2-zFz (see ¶ [0011]).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that substituting the positive active material taught by Kang for that disclosed by Ishikawa would have yielded the predictable result of a functional lithium ion battery. See M.P.E.P. § 2143 I. B. Furthermore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have substituted the Li1+xNiαMnβO2-zFz taught by Kang for the Li1.2Mn0.4Co0.4O1.9F0.1 and Li1.2Mn0.4Co0.4O1.95F0.05 disclosed by Ishikawa in order to yield the predictable result of a functioning lithium ion battery.
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa does not disclose formula (2), LiaNibMncO2-yFy. However, Kang teaches formula (2) as a positive electrode active material, in this case Li1+xNiαMnβCoγM’δO2-zFz (¶ [0011]), wherein:
1.1 ≤ a ≤ 1.2, in this case 0 ≤ x ≤ 0.3 (¶ [0011]) resulting in 1.0 ≤ Li ≤ 1.3;
0.25 ≤ b ≤ 0.4, in this case 0.2 ≤ α ≤ 0.6 (¶ [0011]);
0.6 ≤ c ≤ 0.75, in this case 0.2 ≤ β ≤ 0.6 (¶ [0011]); and
0.005 ≤ y ≤ 0.08, in this case 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.2 (¶ [0011]).
When γ = δ = 0 the chemical formula simplifies to Li1+xNiαMnβO2-zFz (see ¶ [0011]).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that substituting the positive active material taught by Kang for that disclosed by Ishikawa would have yielded the predictable result of a functional lithium ion battery. See M.P.E.P. § 2143 I. B. Furthermore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have substituted the Li1+xNiαMnβO2-zFz taught by Kang for the Li1.2Mn0.4Co0.4O1.9F0.1 and Li1.2Mn0.4Co0.4O1.95F0.05 disclosed by Ishikawa in order to yield the predictable result of a functioning lithium ion battery.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa as applied to claim 10, above, and further in view of Dong et al. (US 2023/0395863 A1), hereinafter “Dong.”
Regarding claim 11, Ishikawa does not disclose that the electrolyte further comprises lithium difluorophosphate (LiPO2F2). However, Dong teaches an electrolyte including LiPF6 (¶ [0030]-[0031]) and LiPO2F-2 (¶ [0032]) to the electrolyte. One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that additionally including LiPO2F-2 would have resulted in an increase in battery capacity retention (¶ [0032]), thereby facilitating improved battery performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added LiPO2F-2 to the electrolyte in order to have facilitated improved battery operation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Saito et al. (US 2025/0364561 A1), hereinafter “Saito.”
Regarding claim 13, Ishikawa does not disclose that the electroactive negative electrode material comprises greater than 97% lithium by weight. However, Saito teaches a negative electrode comprising lithium metal as the negative electrode active material (¶ [0069]), which is 100% by weight lithium. One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that providing such a negative electrode would have yielded the predictable result of a functioning lithium ion battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have made the lithium content of the electroactive negative electrode material to have been greater than 97% by weight in order to have yielded the predictable result of a functional lithium ion battery.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J. CHMIELECKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729