DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/28/2026 has been entered and made of record. Claim 3 is cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 4-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/28/2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment. Independent claims have been amended to recite selecting at least one selection among the power consumption records to then display a time-series graph. From the rationale below, ZAZUETA-HALL et al. (further referred as “Zazueta” (US 2014/0210845 A1)) is made of record as modifying TAKASHITA et al. (US 2018/0248403 A1). Zazueta provides a visualization of energy data [abstract]. The teachings of Zazueta refer to energy production, however Zazueta teaches the data visualized can be power consumption [0031]. Fig. 3 is a representation of a display (300) for energy data visualization across two dimensions in time [0036]. The display (300) graphically comprises a plurality of cells (3021,1, 3021,2, …, 302n,m) that represent data over a discrete time period [0038]. Users are able to “drill down” on each cell in a grid (810) to obtain additional data or displays [0080]. In the example, when a user drills in on a cell representing Oct. 31, 2010 (e.g., by clicking on that cell), a new two-dimensional time-based grid may be displayed showing the energy production data over various time intervals for that day [0080], thus teaching the art of selecting a record and further displaying a time-series based on the selection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 11-13 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by TAKASHITA et al. (US 2018/0248403 A1) in view of ZAZUETA-HALL et al. (further referred as “Zazueta” (US 2014/0210845 A1)).
RE claim 1, Takashita teaches a communication terminal that displays a graph that indicates power consumption for a time interval [abstract]. Takashita teaches an information processing device comprising:
(a)
a display;
Fig. 9, communication terminal includes display (142) [0094].
(b)
a display controller configured to cause the display to display a screen; and
Fig. 9, control unit (160) includes display control unit (162) [0100].
(c)
a receiver configured to receive a setting related to control on power consumption by a user,
Fig. 15, communication terminal (100) stores a target value (154) in the storage unit (150) [0140]. The target value (154) is a target value for the consumption of the direct current power for 1 month for a specific household electric appliance of the household electric appliances (14-17) or for all the house electric appliances of the power management system (1) [0140]. The user inputs the target value, for example, by operating the touch panel (141) [0140]. In response thereto, the instruction reception unit (161) stores the input target value in the storage unit (150) [0140].
(d)
wherein the display controller causes the display to display power consumption records in predetermined respective time periods in a graph of the time periods, and to display information on date and time of the time periods in the graph,
Fig. 10 displays the method executed by communication terminal (100) to display information about consumption of the direct current power in each of the household electronic appliances (14-17) [0105]. A household electric appliance can be selected from screen (500) in order to display the power consumption of a specific appliance [0109-0110, Fig. 11]. The control unit (160) or the user specifies a display target period [0111-0114]. As shown in Fig. 2, the selected display target period is 1 month, i.e. July 2013 [0043, 0113]. As shown in Fig. 12, a 24 hour time period can be selected [0123]. Screen (520) displays a graph (521) where a vertical axis indicates power consumption and a horizontal axis indicates time [0123]. As can be seen in Fig. 12, the date is displayed (i.e., March 24, 2015) and the time is displayed by hours 0-24 on the horizontal axis. Furthermore, Takashita teaches operation information (710) includes household electric appliance identification information (711), operation time (712), operation content (713), and power consumption (714) [0073]. This data is used to generate the graph displayed in Fig. 12.
(e)
the receiver receives at least one selection among the power consumption records in the respective time periods in the graph displayed on the display, and
Fig. 2, Takashita teaches a display target period is able to be changed. The screen (510) includes an input unit (512) that is used to change a length of the display target period and an input unit (513) that is used to change the display target period [0045, 0114]. Fig. 2, screen (510) display graph (511) indicating the power consumption of an appliance among the household electric appliances (14-17) during a certain month [0043]. Fig. 12, corresponds to a case where the predetermined period (display target period) is 24 hours [0123]. Therefore, the user can change from 1 month to display a 24 hours within that month (i.e., Fig. 2 to Fig. 12) by selecting the display target period buttons [0114]. However, Takashita does not describe selecting at least one among the power records in the respective time periods in the graph.
Zazueta provides a visualization of energy data [abstract]. The teachings of Zazueta refer to energy production, however Zazueta teaches the data visualized can be power consumption [0031]. Memory (208) stores the data collection, i.e., power consumption data. Such data may be stored at various levels of component granularity [0034]. The time scale module (216) may adjust the time sampling period size (e.g., hours to minutes) and/or store or send data (210) with respect to a specified time period [0034]. The time scale module (216) provides data for adjusting the two-dimensional representation of energy data for one or more components [0034]. Fig. 3 is a representation of a display (300) for energy data visualization across two dimensions in time [0036]. The display (300) graphically comprises a plurality of cells (3021,1, 3021,2, …, 302n,m) that represent data over a discrete time period [0038]. The user may select a “year view”, “month view”, or “day view” [0038]. The different levels of data are represented by different levels of color saturation and intensity for a particular hue [0039]. A user may obtain additional data related to one or more cells (302) by clicking or hovering on one or more cells (302) [0039, 0069]. Zazueta further teaches the display can be a “Grid” view of “Graph” view [0077]. In the “Graph” view, the energy production data would be depicted in a graphical view (such as a bar graph or other type of graph) [0077]. With further reference to Fig. 8, users are able to “drill down” on each cell in the grid (810) to obtain additional data or displays [0080]. In the example, when a user drills in on a cell representing Oct. 31, 2010 (e.g., by clicking on that cell) (said receives at least one selection among the power consumption records in the respective time periods in the graph displayed on the display), a new two-dimensional time-based grid may be displayed showing the energy production data over various time intervals for that day [0080].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GUI interaction of Takashita with the drill down interaction as taught by Zazueta. Selecting a specific cell provides a direct interaction to display adjusted granularity of time, rather than modifying the time periods by cycling through dates as taught by Takashita. Such additional data and/or displays may further help identify a point an energy production issue that may then be addressed [Zazueta: 0080].
(f)
the display controller displays, on the display, a time-series graph in which power consumption records in the respective time periods in a predetermined period including the time period selected in the graph are arranged in time series.
As shown in Fig. 2, Takashita teaches when the screen displays the 1 month display target period, graph (511) the horizontal axis represent the time in terms of days. Fig. 12, graph (521) a vertical axis indicates power consumption and a horizontal axis indicates a time in terms of the time in hours o’clock [0123]. As can be seen in both Fig. 2 and Fig. 2, the horizontal axis displays the time in the appropriate unit in the series (said time period selected in the graph are arranged in time series).
As further taught in regards to Zazueta, users are able to “drill down” on each cell in the grid (810) to obtain additional data or displays [0080]. In the example, when a user drills in on a cell representing Oct. 31, 2010 (e.g., by clicking on that cell), a new two-dimensional time-based grid may be displayed showing the energy production data over various time intervals for that day (said time period selected in the graph are arranged in time series) [0080].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1(e), is incorporated herein.
RE claim 4, Takashita teaches wherein the display controller displays, in the time-series graph indicating the power consumption records in the respective time periods in the predetermined period, power consumption by each equipment appliance that consumes power in a distinguishable manner.
Fig. 11, screen (500) allows the user to select an appliance having a display form of information about power [0109]. The screen (500) includes buttons (501-508) for selecting the household electric appliance of the display target [0110]. Furthermore, the user can selection button (501) to display all the house electric appliances that constitute the power management system (1) [0109]. Once the selected household electric appliance or entire house, is selected, the method/system of Takashita displays the resulting graph, such as graph of Fig. 2, 12 or 13. The claims recites “power consumption by each equipment appliance that consumes power”. It can be interpreted displaying the power consumption by each equipment as a collective, i.e., selecting the “entire house” (button (501)) or selecting each individual household electronic (14-17) (buttons (502-508) to view their individual graphs. Thus, Takashita teaches said displaying … power consumption by each equipment appliances that consumes power in a distinguishable manner.
RE claim 11, Takashita teaches
(a)
wherein the receiver receives an operation for displaying the power consumption records, and
Fig. 2, Takashita teaches display a history graph on a display. As shown in Fig. 2, the bottom of the GUI displays buttons for “Menu” “Cocoro Board”, “Operation of Air Conditioner” and “History Graph”. Although Takashita does not go into full detail of these GUI buttons, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that these GUI buttons are well known “app” type buttons where a user would select the button to call upon the related object. As shown, there is a “History Graph” button. As further displayed in Fig. 2, the screen (510) displays the History Graph, which is indicated in the title at the top of the screen. It is implied that the user used the “History Graph” button to call upon the screen (510). Fig. 1, the communication termina. (100) has a touch panel (141) and a display (142) [0042]. The instruction reception unit (161) receives an input for giving an instruction to display information about the power of the household electric appliance. The instruction may be an operation instruction with respect to the touch panel (141) [0101].
(b)
the display controller displays the graph on the display when receiving the setting related to control on the power consumption by the user, based on the operation received by the receiver.
As taught in the rationale of claim 11(a), the user selects the “History Graph” button to display the History Graph, as shown in the example of Fig. 2. Furthermore, Fig. 15, communication terminal (100) stores a target value (154) in the storage unit (150) [0140]. The target value (154) is a target value for the consumption of the direct current power for 1 month for a specific household electric appliance of the household electric appliances (14-17) or for all the house electric appliances of the power management system (1) [0140]. The user inputs the target value, for example, by operating the touch panel (141) [0140]. In response thereto, the instruction reception unit (161) stores the input target value in the storage unit (150) (said setting related to control on the power consumption by the user) [0140].
RE claim 12, Takashita teaches wherein the receiver includes an operation setting input configured to receive the setting related to control on the power consumption, through a touch operation on the display by the user.
Fig. 15, communication terminal (100) stores a target value (154) in the storage unit (150) [0140]. The target value (154) is a target value for the consumption of the direct current power for 1 month for a specific household electric appliance of the household electric appliances (14-17) or for all the house electric appliances of the power management system (1) [0140]. The user inputs the target value (said setting related to control on the power consumption), for example, by operating the touch panel (141) (said through a touch operation on the display by the user) [0140]. In response thereto, the instruction reception unit (161) stores the input target value in the storage unit (150) [0140].
RE claim 13, claim 13 recites similar limitations as claim 1 but in manufacture form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 1 is applied. Furthermore, Takashita teaches a storage device storing a program executing the steps recited in claim 13 [0184].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKASHITA et al. (US 2018/0248403 A1) in view of ZAZUETA-HALL et al. (further referred as “Zazueta” (US 2014/0210845 A1)) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of HABRAKEN (“Office 2010 in depth”).
RE claim 2, Takashita in view of Zazueta teaches displaying a graph of power usage but fails to disclose sorting the data. Habraken is made of record as teaching the art of sorting data. The sort dialog allows the user to specify the field name and choose to sort by values and the order [pg. 421]. Furthermore, Habraken teaches creating a chart based on the sorted values (said arranged in order of magnitude) [pg. 390-392].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to sort the data of Takashita in view of Zazueta as taught by Habraken because it may reveal trends or insight in to the data collected. In the case of sorting by magnitude, it can reveal which time period uses the most or the least power.
Claims 5, 6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKASHITA et al. (US 2018/0248403 A1) in view of ZAZUETA-HALL et al. (further referred as “Zazueta” (US 2014/0210845 A1)) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of BECKMAN (2014/0265577 A1).
RE claim 5, Takashita teaches the user inputs the target value, for example, by operating the touch panel (141) (said target value) [0140]. However, Takashita in view of Zazueta is silent about calculating how the monthly target is achieved.
Beckman teaches The user may select a relevant timeframe presently subject to GUI (3001), which the display information and features will then relate to, using timeframe selection feature (3007) [0134]. A main figure display (3009) then presents the amount of energy saved due to the operation of certain or any energy-saving aspects, which may be calculated by comparing energy consumption figures recorded before implementation, for the appliance while carrying out the same, or related functions (said calculate, based on difference between 2 time periods) [0134]. Also, a directional change indicator (3015), which indicates whether the present period (e.g., current day) energy savings represent an improvement or deterioration in energy savings in comparison to the previous period [0134]. Furthermore, a forced efficiency standard may be imposed, with the use of an Energy Adjustment feature (3016) [0134]. By actuating Adjustment feature (3016), a user may dictate an energy consumption limit or target (said target value) for savings for the period, which the control system may enforce by reducing or ending power delivery to appliances according to prioritized rankings of each such appliance, and activities carried out on such applies [0134].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to execute the calculation of savings as taught by Beckman with the system of Takashita in view of Zazueta because it applies a control system to ensure the power consumption stays within range.
RE claim 6, as shown in Fig. 16 of Takashita, an icon (515) and a message (516) are displayed with the graph (511). The screen (510B) is displayed when the target value is achieved. The message (516) includes a character string indicated that the target value is achieved (said display information on the power reduction effect achieved) [0141].
In further view of Beckman, Beckman teaches displaying a directional change indicator (3015), which indicates whether the present period (e.g., current day) energy savings represent an improvement or deterioration in energy savings in comparison to the previous period [0134]. This directional change indicator can also be considered said display information on the power reduction effect achieved. When the arrow is pointing down, it indicates it is below the value of savings and has not surpassed the limit.
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 5 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 8, Takashita in view of Zazueta teaches the system of claim 8 with the exception of switching a display screen between power consumption records and settings. However, in Fig. 2 of Takashita, the screen at the bottom displays buttons “Menu”, “Cocoro Board”, “Operation of Air Conditioner” and “History Graph”. Takashita does not go into detail about these buttons nevertheless, it is well known in the GUI art that these buttons would call an application connected to them. One would conclude “Operation of Air Conditioner” would permit some type of controls of an air conditioner if selected while “History Graph” would display the screen of Fig.2.
Beckman is made of record as teaching the art of improving the efficiency of electrical power distribution among hardware [abstract]. Fig. 29, GUI (2901) may be used with an electrical characteristics control unit and may be comprised with an appliance under its control [0126]. GUI (2901) is comprised in the touch display of a smartphone or other networked device [0126]. GUI (2901) comprises several exemplary touchable control features, such as Main Power control feature (2905) and programming features (2911-2913) which when pressed, allow a user to program a control system [0127]. Slider (2921) allows a user to adjust the sensitivity of the control system to monitored actuation and conditions, such as setting thresholds for appliances to turn off [0128]. Thus, GUI (2901) provides said operation screen. Beckman further teaches with reference to Fig. 30, additional metric, energy usage display and control aspects are carried out and displayed on an external GUI, which may appear on the same PDA. GUI (3001) displays advanced usage and control settings, which allow a user to determine and observe the amount of energy saved by use of the control system, with respect to each appliance controlled by a control unit(s), as well as the amount of energy consumed by each appliance [0133]. The touch screen allows the user to reveal additional detail, such as times during the day when each such appliance was “switched on” or otherwise was using more power than other times [0133]. An energy consumption chart feature (3017) can display different levels of energy consumption (and/or savings) at particular times within the displayed period (said display of power consumption records) [0135].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the buttons of Takashita (said operation of switching) in view of Zazueta to permit switching between screens where the screens are the operations screen and the energy usage display of Beckman (i.e., similar to “Operation of Air Conditioner” and “History Graph” of Takashita). Additionally, Beckman provides scroller arrow (2937) that permits for additional supplemental GUI features to be displayed, such as appliances’ statuses [0128]. Thus, the user of Beckman could also select the scroller arrow (2937) to further display screen (3003) (said operation of switching).
RE claim 9, Takashita teaches the user inputs the target value, for example, by operating the touch panel (141) [0140]. Takashita also discloses displaying example screen (510) that includes graph (511) that indicates power consumption of an appliance [0043]. However, Takashita in view of Zazueta does not explicitly disclose displaying the operation screen and the power consumption screen together.
Beckman further teaches with reference to Fig. 30, additional metric, energy usage display and control aspects are carried out and displayed on an external GUI, which may appear on the same PDA. GUI (3001) displays advanced usage and control settings, which allow a user to determine and observe the amount of energy saved by use of the control system, with respect to each appliance controlled by a control unit(s), as well as the amount of energy consumed by each appliance [0133]. The touch screen allows the user to reveal additional detail, such as times during the day when each such appliance was “switched on” or otherwise was using more power than other times [0133]. An energy consumption chart feature (3017) can display different levels of energy consumption (and/or savings) at particular times within the displayed period (said display of power consumption records) [0135]. Adjustment feature (3016) (said operation screen) allows a user to dictate an energy consumption limit or target for savings for the period, which control system may enforce by reduce or ending power delivery to appliances according to prioritized rankings of each such appliance, and activities carried out on such appliances [0134]. As can be seen in Fig. 30, the chart feature (3017) and adjustment feature (3016) are displayed together (said display together).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display simultaneously the interface to adjust the target along with the power consumption graph of Takashita in view of Zazueta, as taught by Beckman because it would be easier for the user the navigate to the desired features without having to change screens.
RE claim 10, Takashita teaches the user inputs the target value, for example, by operating the touch panel (141) [0140]. Takashita also discloses displaying example screen (510) that includes graph (511) that indicates power consumption of an appliance [0043]. Furthermore, in Fig. 2 of Takashita, the screen at the bottom displays buttons “Menu”, “Cocoro Board”, “Operation of Air Conditioner” and “History Graph”. Takashita does not go into detail about these buttons nevertheless, it is well known in the GUI art that these buttons would call an application connected to them. One would conclude selecting “History Graph” would display the screen of Fig.2 (said operation for displaying the power consumption records). However, Takashita in view of Zazueta is silent to the order of receiving the setting related to control on the power consumption.
Beckman further teaches with reference to Fig. 30, additional metric, energy usage display and control aspects are carried out and displayed on an external GUI, which may appear on the same PDA. GUI (3001) displays advanced usage and control settings, which allow a user to determine and observe the amount of energy saved by use of the control system, with respect to each appliance controlled by a control unit(s), as well as the amount of energy consumed by each appliance [0133]. The touch screen allows the user to reveal additional detail, such as times during the day when each such appliance was “switched on” or otherwise was using more power than other times [0133]. An energy consumption chart feature (3017) can display different levels of energy consumption (and/or savings) at particular times within the displayed period (said display of power consumption records) [0135]. Adjustment feature (3016) (said operation screen) allows a user to dictate an energy consumption limit or target for savings for the period, which control system may enforce by reduce or ending power delivery to appliances according to prioritized rankings of each such appliance, and activities carried out on such appliances [0134]. Beckman does not require the Adjustment feature (3016) to be set in order to display the energy consumption chart feature (3017) (said display graph before receiving setting).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the energy consumption chart feature (3017) of Beckman prior to the user adjusting the Adjustment feature (3016) of Beckman within the system of Takashita in view of Zazueta because it would be beneficial for the user to view the data in order to determine the target value. By understanding the data prior, the user can make educated decisions on savings etc. with the adjustment of the target value.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKASHITA et al. (US 2018/0248403 A1) in view of ZAZUETA-HALL et al. (further referred as “Zazueta” (US 2014/0210845 A1)) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of MIYAZAKI et al. (20170031429 A1).
RE claim 7, Takashita in view of Zazueta teaches the limitations of claim 7 with the exception of display the number of time periods in which power consumption exceeds power consumption in a time period selected in the graph.
Miyazaki is made of record as teaching an information terminal that determines when the power is going to exceed a value [abstract]. As shown in Fig. 8, the peak power display screen (SC3) contains a graph that represents changes over time in actual and predicted values of the amount of power usage (amount of power consumption in the shop (A) in a day and the like [0089]. The graph displays a target value that has been set [0089]. At a point of time where a predicted value of the amount of power consumption in the shop is predicted to exceed the target value, the peak power display screen (SC3) gives an alarm display (such as the mark “!”) that allows a shop staff viewing the peak power display screen (SC3) to spot as excess of the peak power over the target value at a glance [0090]. Thus, the shop staff can visually depict that hours 13-15 will exceed the target value (said display number of time periods in which power consumption exceeds) of the selected day (said power consumption in a time period selected)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the graph depicting the monthly target along with usage as taught by Miyazaki because this allows a shop staff viewing the peak power display to spot an excess of the peak power over the target value at a glance [0090], which then allows the shop staff to take action to avoid the situation.
Claims 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKASHITA et al. (US 2018/0248403 A1) in view of ZAZUETA-HALL et al. (further referred as “Zazueta” (US 2014/0210845 A1)) and BECKMAN (2014/0265577 A1) as applied to claim 6, and in further view of EVERGREEN (“Adding a Benchmark Line to a Graph”, https://stephanieevergreen.com/adding-a-benchmark-line/)
RE claim 14, Fig. 15, Takashita stores a target value (154) in the storage unit (150). The target value (154) is, for example, the consumption of the direct power for 1 month for a specific appliance or for all the appliances of the power management system (1). The user inputs the target value by operating the touch panel (141) [0140]. Fig. 16, Takashita an icon (515) and a message (516) are displayed with the graph (511) [0141]. The screen (510B) is displayed with the target value is achieved [0141]. In further view of Beckman, Beckman teaches a user may dictate an energy consumption limit or target for savings for the period (said target value) [0134]. However, Takashita in view of Zazueta and Beckman fails to teach which time segments exceed the target value.
Evergreen teaches the information processing device according to claim 6, wherein the information on the power reduction effect achieved when the power consumption in the time period selected in the graph is set as the target value includes a number of time periods among the displayed respective time period in which the average power consumption exceeds an anticipated value of a target power. Evergreen is made of record as teaching the ability to display a benchmark on a graph. As shown in Fig. 1, the benchmark value (said target) is set by the user (see column C) [0002]. Using Excel, the benchmark can be added as a line within the data [0005], as can be seen in Fig. 4. Thus, in this example, Group A and Group B was below the Benchmark, while Group C was above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the benchmark line within the graphical data of Takashita in view of Zazueta and Beckman because the benchmark line gives loads of context for the viewer [Evergreen: 0001]. The benchmark line further provides more interpretation to the data visualization, helping the viewer understand how far the first two groups are from the target and how much Group C exceeded it [Evergreen: 0008]. Thus, in the combined invention, benchmark line, i.e., a target value (said graph is set as the target value), can be added to the visualization of Takashita in view of Zazueta and Beckman. The user can therefore determine which time frames are below or above the target line (said includes a number of time periods among the displayed … exceeds an anticipated value of a target power).
RE claim 15, Fig. 15, Takashita stores a target value (154) in the storage unit (150). The target value (154) is, for example, the consumption of the direct power for 1 month for a specific appliance or for all the appliances of the power management system (1). The user inputs the target value by operating the touch panel (141) [0140]. Fig. 16, Takashita an icon (515) and a message (516) are displayed with the graph (511) [0141]. The screen (510B) is displayed with the target value is achieved [0141]. In further view of Beckman, Beckman teaches a user may dictate an energy consumption limit or target for savings for the period (said target value) [0134]. However, Takashita in view of Zazueta and Beckman fails to teach displaying a demand target line.
Evergreen teaches wherein the display controller displays, on the display, a demand target line at a position in the graph of a value of an average power consumption corresponding to an anticipated value of a target power. Evergreen is made of record as teaching the ability to display a benchmark on a graph. As shown in Fig. 1, the benchmark value (said target) is set by the user (see column C) [0002]. Using Excel, the benchmark can be added as a line within the data [0005], as can be seen in Fig. 4. Thus, in this example, Group A and Group B was below the Benchmark, while Group C was above.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the benchmark line within the graphical data of Takashita in view of Zazueta and Beckman because the benchmark line gives loads of context for the viewer [Evergreen: 0001]. The benchmark line further provides more interpretation to the data visualization, helping the viewer understand how far the first two groups are from the target and how much Group C exceeded it [Evergreen: 0008]. Thus, in the combined invention, benchmark line, i.e., a target value (said demand target line), can be added to the visualization of Takashita in view of Zazueta and Beckman. The user can therefore determine which time frames are below or above the target.
Conclusion
direct telephone number:
(571) 272-7661
email:
michelle.sams@uspto.gov
The examiner is currently part time and can be reached Mon.-Fri. 5:30am-9:30am.
/MICHELLE L SAMS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611
13 May 2026