Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13-32 are presented for examination.
This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted 4/20/2026.
In previous set of claims filed on 3/23/2026, claim 12 was added. In the latest set of claims filed, claims 1-12 were cancelled and claims 13-32 were added. Therefore, claims 13-32 are presently pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation recited in claim 13 stating "performing an access stratum procedure using, in an encoded form, the network slice identifier based on the network slice related information" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: " performing an access stratum procedure using, in an encoded form, the network slice identifier based on the network slice related information " is not supported in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-18, 22-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 13 (also applicable to claim 23) reciting “performing an access stratum procedure using, in an encoded form, the network slice identifier based on the network slice related information” does not have support in the application’s specification. A search in the specification on what comprises the “access stratum procedure” that uses network slice information on an encoded form yields no results in the specification A search on a procedure of an access stratum only yields a sending and transmitting of access stratum security context in paragraphs [0009]-[0014]. It is not clear what the access stratum procedure comprises of. Therefore, Examiner deems there are steps omitted in the claims delineating an access stratum procedure. Examiner notes that if the access stratum procedure is referring to the sending and receiving access stratum security context information after a registration procedure has been performed, as also shown in the drawings, Figure 1, then Applicant must claim exactly what has been disclosed in the Specification.
Claims 14-18, 22, 24-32 are rejected in virtue of dependency as they do not obviate the above deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - Examiner's Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-21, 23-30, 32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by *Lee et al. (US 2018/0270666 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
*Provided by Applicant’s previously filed IDS
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches:
13. A method for a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a core network node during a registration procedure (Fig. 13, Step 1, registration request, par 92) network slice related information for a network slice identifier (Fig. 13, step 6, accepted NSSAI, par 98) and performing an access stratum procedure (Examiner interprets this limitations as a network node is selected based on the network slice information received) using, in an encoded form (Fig. 13, step 2, S-NSSAI protected using Key, par 94), the network slice identifier based on the network slice related information (Examiner interprets this limitations as a network node is selected based on the network slice information received; Fig. 13, step 2, Select AMF).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches:
14. The method according to claim 13, wherein the network slice identifier comprises Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) or (S-)NSSAI (Fig. 13, step 2, S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches:
15.: The method according to claim 13, wherein the network slice related information comprises an access stratum (AS) security context of the UE (par 11, request message from UE includes the keyed hash value associated with the network slice).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches:
16. The method according to claim 15, wherein the network slice related information is received in one of the following NAS messages: a registration accept message; a Security Mode Command message; an existing NAS message; or a new NAS message (fig. 13, step 6 NAS SMC, Accepted NSSAI, par 108).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches:
17. The method according to claim 13, further comprising storing, by the UE, the network slice related information (par 126, UE stores the accepted NSSAI).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches:
18. The method according to claim 13, wherein the encoded form comprises ciphering (par 94, key scrambles the NSSAI).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches:
19. The method according to claim 13, wherein performing the access stratum procedure comprises transmitting an RRC message including an encrypted information element(s) (fig. 13, step 1 Full requested NSSAI, par 94).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches:
20. The method according to claim 19, wherein the encrypted information element(s) comprises (S-)NSSAI (Fig. 13, step 2, obtain S-NSSAI).
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches:
21. The method according to claim 19, wherein the UE ciphers only sensitive information element(s) (par 95, each S-NSSAI in the configured NSSAI is associated with its own privacy flag).
Regarding claim 23, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 13. Additional limitations are also taught by Lee, as follows:
23. A User Equipment (UE) (Lee: fig. 1, UE 120), comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor (Lee: par 135) configured to execute the instructions to…
Regarding claim 24, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 14.
Regarding claim 25, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 15.
Regarding claim 27, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 18.
Regarding claim 28, Lee teaches:
28. The User Equipment according to claim 23, wherein the processor is configured to transmit an RRC message including an encrypted information element(s) (fig. 13, step 1, full requested NSSAI [S-NSSAIs from NSSAI]).
Regarding claim 29, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 20.
Regarding claim 30, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 21.
Regarding claim 32, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22, 26, 31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over *Lee et al. (US 2018/0270666 A1, hereinafter “Lee”) in view of *Bae et al. (US 2018/0007552 A1, hereinafter “Bae”).
*Provided by Applicant’s previously filed IDS
Regarding claim 22, Lee does not teach yet Bae suggests:
22. The method according to claim 15, wherein the AS security context includes at least one of: AS level with their identifiers, a Next Hop parameter (NH), a Next Hop Chaining Counter parameter (NCC) used for next hop access key derivation, identifiers of selected AS level cryptographic algorithms, a UP Security Policy at the network side, and counters used for replay protection (Bae: par 128; i.e., security context includes information related to security algorithm, identifier information and AS security key information, abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lee’s invention to implement the AS security context to include identifiers of the AS level cryptographic algorithm, as taught by Bae. The motivation to do so would have been in order for applying different security levels to each network slice (Bae: par 129).
Regarding claim 26, Lee does not teach yet Bae suggests:
26. The User Equipment according to claim 25, wherein the processor is configured to store the AS security context in the memory (Bae: fig. 5, S580, par 155; i.e. the AS security context includes security algorithm and is used by the terminal.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lee’s invention to implement the storage of the AS security context in the memory of the UE, as taught by Bae. The motivation to do so would have been in order to transmit and receive data and control messages using this information (Bae: par 155).
Regarding claim 31, claim limitations are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 22.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
(1) Vrzic et al. (US 2018/0227873 A1) teaches network registration and network slice selection system and method.
(2) Rajendran et al. (US 2021/0409941 A1) security procedure for UE’s in 5G LAN group communication
/LIZBETH TORRES-DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/July 23, 2026/
/ltd/