Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 224. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring member of claim 8, the compression spring of claim 14, the tension spring of claim 14, and one cover on each side of the at least one wall of claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification amendment filed 20 January 2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.121(b) because: the text of the replacement paragraphs does not match the text located at the instructions. Both instructions begin in the middle of paragraphs of the original specification.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “2462” has been used to designate cylindrically shaped outer surface and outer peripheral surface.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: attachment arrangement of claims 7 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation of claim 14 that “the attachment arrangement comprises a compression spring and/or a tension spring”, while claim 8 requires that “the attachment arrangement comprises at least one of a stud member, a screw member, a nut member, and a spring member” fails to comply with the written description requirement. Nowhere does the original disclosure provide for an attachment arrangement that comprises both a spring member and a compression spring and/or tension spring. The original disclosure provides that the compression spring and/or tension spring are forms that the spring member can take.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 5 of “a fastening portion which at least partially protrudes radially inwardly of the at least one wall” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if a portion of the fastening portion is required to protrude radially inwardly of the entirety of the at least one wall or radially inwardly of some part of the at least one wall. In order to give the claim its broadest most reasonable interpretation, in light of the original disclosure, and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as the latter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metcalf (US 1114625) further in view of Cummings (US 20190331389).
Claim 1: Metcalf discloses a storage tank capable of use with some vehicle for storing fluids, comprising: an inner envelope surface defining an inner volume for storing fluids, and a washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24, together reading on the at least one wall, which is releasably attached to the inner envelope surface and defines a fluid barrier for fluid in the inner volume, wherein the inner envelope surface is cylinder-formed and wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) is associated with a radial plane of the cylinder-formed inner envelope surface, wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) is configured to be moved inside the inner volume to change volume sizes of sub-volumes of the inner volume, wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) comprises a circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) and a member 12 (conical plate wall member) which are attached to each other, the member 12 (conical plate wall member) having a first convex-shaped side and a second concave-shaped side, wherein the second concave-shaped side is facing a first wall side of the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) when the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) and the member 12 (conical plate wall member) are attached to each other, wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) is configured to be attached to the inner envelope surface by pressing the member 12 (conical plate wall member) towards the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) so that the member 12 (conical plate wall member) is expanded in a radial direction thereof (see annotated fig. 1 below and fig. 2).
Metcalf does not disclose wherein each sub-volume is associated with a respective separate opening for allowing fluid to be inserted therein and/or to be taken out therefrom.
Cummings teaches a jug 200 having an opening at its top closed by an insulated top 204 and a spigot 206 at a lower end of its insulated wall 202 which can dispense the contents of the beverage jug 200 (see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the storage tank to have a spigot 206, as taught by Cummings, in order to dispense contents without having to displace the entire storage tank.
The combination results in each sub-volume being associated with a respective separate opening for allowing fluid to be taken out therefrom, an upper opening associated with the upper sub-volume and an opening of the spigot 206 associated with the lower sub-volume.
Claim 2: The combination discloses wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) is configured to be released from the inner envelope surface by moving the member 12 (conical plate wall member) in a direction away from the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) so that an extension of the member 12 (conical plate wall member) in the radial direction is reduced (see annotated fig. 1 above and fig. 2).
Claim 3: The combination discloses a washer 15 (sealing element) attached to a radially outer edge of the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 4: The combination discloses wherein the washer 15 (sealing element) is attached to a seat 14 (radially outer edge) of the member 12 (conical plate wall member) (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 6: The combination discloses wherein a seat 14 (radially outer edge) of the member 12 (conical plate wall member) comprises a cylindrically shaped outer surface facing towards the inner envelope surface (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 7: The combination discloses wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) further comprises an attachment arrangement, which includes a threaded stem 18 (stud member or screw member) and a key 24 (nut member), for pressing the member 12 (conical plate wall member) towards the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) (see annotated fig. 1 above).
The attachment arrangement for pressing the conical plate wall member towards the base plate wall member is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as at least one of a stud member and a nut member, screw member, or spring member, and equivalents thereof.
Claim 8: The combination discloses wherein the attachment arrangement comprises a threaded stem 18 (stud member or screw member) and a key 24 (nut member) (see fig. 1).
Claim 9: The combination discloses wherein the attachment arrangement is extending through a center point of the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 10: The combination discloses wherein at least one of the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) is an outer wall of the storage tank (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 12: The combination discloses wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) comprises at least one disk 20 (cover) for covering a side of the at least one wall (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 1: Under a second interpretation Metcalf discloses a storage tank capable of use with some vehicle for storing fluids, comprising: an inner envelope surface defining an inner volume for storing fluids, and a washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, and key 24, together reading on the at least one wall, which is releasably attached to the inner envelope surface and defines a fluid barrier for fluid in the inner volume, wherein the inner envelope surface is cylinder-formed and wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, and key 24 (at least one wall) is associated with a radial plane of the cylinder-formed inner envelope surface, wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, and key 24 (at least one wall) is configured to be moved inside the inner volume to change volume sizes of sub-volumes of the inner volume, wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, and key 24 (at least one wall) comprises a circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) and a member 12 (conical plate wall member) which are attached to each other, the member 12 (conical plate wall member) having a first convex-shaped side and a second concave-shaped side, wherein the second concave-shaped side is facing a first wall side of the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) when the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) and the member 12 (conical plate wall member) are attached to each other, wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, and key 24 (at least one wall) is configured to be attached to the inner envelope surface by pressing the member 12 (conical plate wall member) towards the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) so that the member 12 (conical plate wall member) is expanded in a radial direction thereof (see annotated fig. 1 above and fig. 2).
Metcalf does not disclose wherein each sub-volume is associated with a respective separate opening for allowing fluid to be inserted therein and/or to be taken out therefrom.
Cummings teaches a jug 200 having an opening at its top closed by an insulated top 204 and a spigot 206 at a lower end of its insulated wall 202 which can dispense the contents of the beverage jug 200 (see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the storage tank to have a spigot 206, as taught by Cummings, in order to dispense contents without having to displace the entire storage tank.
The combination results in each sub-volume being associated with a respective separate opening for allowing fluid to be taken out therefrom, an upper opening associated with the upper sub-volume and an opening of the spigot 206 associated with the lower sub-volume.
Claim 11: The combination discloses wherein at least one of the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, and key 24 (at least one wall) is a partition wall dividing the inner volume into at least two sub-volumes (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaines (US 147929) further in view of Cummings (US 20190331389).
Claim 1: Gaines discloses a storage tank capable of use with some vehicle for storing fluids, comprising: an inner envelope surface defining an inner volume for storing fluids, and a cap A and plug B, together reading on the at least one wall, which is releasably attached to the inner envelope surface and defines a fluid barrier for fluid in the inner volume, wherein the inner envelope surface is cylinder-formed and wherein the cap A and plug B (at least one wall) is associated with a radial plane of the cylinder-formed inner envelope surface, wherein the cap A and plug B (at least one wall) is configured to be moved inside the inner volume to change volume sizes of sub-volumes of the inner volume, wherein the cap A and plug B (at least one wall) comprises an upper part a (base plate wall member) and a lower part b (conical plate wall member) which are attached to each other, the conical plate wall member having a first convex-shaped side and a second concave-shaped side, wherein the second concave-shaped side is facing a first wall side of the upper part a (base plate wall member) when the base plate wall member and the lower part b (conical plate wall member) are attached to each other, wherein the cap A and plug B (at least one wall) is configured to be attached to the inner envelope surface by pressing the lower part b (conical plate wall member) towards the upper part a (base plate wall member) so that the lower part b (conical plate wall member) is expanded in a radial direction thereof (see annotated fig. below).
Metcalf does not disclose wherein each sub-volume is associated with a respective separate opening for allowing fluid to be inserted therein and/or to be taken out therefrom.
Cummings teaches a jug 200 having an opening at its top closed by an insulated top 204 and a spigot 206 at a lower end of its insulated wall 202 which can dispense the contents of the beverage jug 200 (see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the storage tank to have a spigot 206, as taught by Cummings, in order to dispense contents without having to displace the entire storage tank.
The combination results in each sub-volume being associated with a respective separate opening for allowing fluid to be taken out therefrom, an upper opening associated with the upper sub-volume and an opening of the spigot 206 associated with the lower sub-volume.
Claim 3: The combination discloses a rubber or other flexible ring f (sealing element) attached to a radially outer edge of the cap A and plug B (at least one wall) (see annotated fig. above).
Claim 5: The combination discloses wherein the rubber or other flexible ring f (sealing element) comprises a fastening portion which at least partially protrudes radially inwardly of the at least one wall and is located in-between the second concave-shaped side and the first wall side when the upper part a (base plate wall member) and the lower part b (conical plate wall member) are attached to each other (see annotated fig. above).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horton (US 20140346802) further in view of Metcalf (US 1114625) and Cummings (US 20190331389).
Claim 13: Horton discloses a vehicle having a first cup holder 32 (see fig. 1).
Horton does not disclose the storage tank of claim 1.
Metcalf in view of Cummings teaches the storage tank of claim 1 (see above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first cup holder 32 to restrain the storage tank taught by Metcalf in view of Cummings, in order to transport liquids in a manner which will not spill while driving.
Additionally, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have placed the storage tank taught by Metcalf in view of Cummings in the vehicle, in order to transport the storage tank in a more expedient manner than by manpower.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metcalf (US 1114625) and Cummings (US 20190331389) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Smith (GB 139064).
Claim 14: The combination discloses the claimed invention except for the attachment arrangement comprising a compression and/or tension spring.
Smith teaches a cover having two main members a’ and b which are held together by a bolt c, where a lever d is fitted to the bolt c and presses the main members a’ and b closer together to increase the circumference of an elastic ring i held between the two main members a’ and b, wherein a spiral spring e (compression spring) is arranged around the bolt c and between the two main members a’ and b to push the two members a’ and b apart (see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the storage tank to have a spiral spring e (compression spring) arranged around the threaded stem 18 (stud member or screw member) and between the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) and member 12 (conical plate wall member), as taught by Smith, in order to assist in pushing the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) and member 12 (conical plate wall member) apart when unsealing.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metcalf (US 1114625) and Cummings (US 20190331389) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Powers (US 3921850).
Claim 15: The combination discloses wherein the washer 15, member 12, actuating member 16, disk 20, and key 24 (at least one wall) comprises a disk 20 (cover) one an upper side (see annotated fig. 1 above).
The combination does not disclose wherein the at least one wall comprises one cover on each side of the at least one wall.
Powers teaches a drum 12 formed of a sheet material that is coated on its internal surface with a plastic or film layer 34 and a plug 24 with a coating layer 44 (cover) that extends over its inner surface (see fig. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have coated the receptacle 10 with a plastic or film layer 34 and to have provided at least the lower surfaces of the circular plate 17 (base plate wall member) with a coating layer 44 (cover), as taught by Powers, in order to provide an aseptic storage tank.
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections in paragraphs 11-13 of office action dated 4 October 2025 are withdrawn in light of the amended claims filed 20 January 2026.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 20 January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the teachings of Cummings (US 20190331389).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736