DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/396,959 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, the Copending’s claim 1 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 2, the Copending’s claim 2 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 3, the Copending’s claim 3 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 4, the Copending’s claim 4 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 5, the Copending’s claim 5 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 6, the Copending’s claim 6 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 7, the Copending’s claim 7 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 8, the Copending’s claim 8 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 9, the Copending’s claim 9 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 10, the Copending’s claim 10 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 11, the Copending’s claim 11 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 12, the Copending’s claim 12 disclose the same invention.
Regarding claim 13, the Copending’s claim 13 disclose the same invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Mills (US 5,291,376).
Regarding claim 1, Mills discloses an adapter (24) to couple a wire (not shown) to a solder joint (68), said adapter comprising a solder joint receiving hole (62); and a wire attachment terminal (bore 40 and 42).
Regarding claim 2, Mills discloses said solder joint receiving hole is operable to receive said solder joint.
Regarding claim 3, Mills discloses said solder joint is a pin or a peg.
Regarding claim 6, Mills discloses said solder joint is made of a material with good thermal and electrical conductivity.
Regarding claim 7, Mills discloses said solder joint is made from copper, brass, bronze, silver, gold, aluminum, nickel, tin, tin alloy, lead or lead alloy.
Regarding claim 8, Mills discloses said wire attachment terminal is a threaded hole or a threaded cavity located within said adapter.
Regarding claim 13, Mills discloses said adapter is at least partly made of a material with good electrical conductivity.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Bears (US 1,899,254).
Regarding claim 1, Bears discloses an adapter (24) to couple a wire (23) to a solder joint (29), said adapter comprising a solder joint receiving hole (29); and
a wire attachment terminal (25).
Regarding claim 12, Bears discloses said wire attachment terminal is operable to form a crimp upon crimping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (US 5,291,376).
Regarding claim 4, Mills substantially disclosed except the shape of said solder joint is cylindrical, cuboid, or a prism shape, and wherein said prism is triangular, pentagonal, hexagonal, pentagrammic, or octagonal.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the shape of the solder joint to the shapes as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Mills substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the shape of said solder joint is a cone, a truncated cone, a triangular prism, or a pyramid shape, and wherein said pyramid shape is triangular, square, hexagonal, or octagonal.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the shape of the solder joint to the shapes as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 9-10, Mills substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the shape of said wire attachment terminal is tube-shaped or pipe-shaped, comprising a round, rectangular, square, or oval cross-section.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the shape of the solder joint to the shapes as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Mills et al. discloses wherein said wire attachment terminal comprises an air-escape hole (either bore 40 or 42).
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834