DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 52, 54, 57, and 58, drawn to a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B, or a sheet comprising the polymer of claim 1, or a molded article comprising the polymer of claim 1, classified in C08G63/183.
II. Claim 9, drawn to a process for preparation of a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B, classified in C08G63/183.
III. Claim 32, drawn to a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is C2-30 alkylene, wherein C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, classified in C08G63/183.
IV. Claim 35, drawn to a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, classified in C08G63/183.
V. Claim 55, drawn to a polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, classified in C08G63/183.
VI. Claim 56, drawn to a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group B, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, classified in C08G63/183.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions II and I are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process because the cleavable polymer of claim 1 can be made by a process comprising reacting a compound having the formula
with a compound having the formula
, wherein Ra is H, and a compound having the formula
, wherein Rb is H.
Inventions I and III are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the cleavable polymer of claim 1 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B, which is not required by claim 32, and the cleavable polymer of claim 32 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is C2-30 alkylene, wherein C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 1. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions I and IV are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the cleavable polymer of claim 1 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B, which is not required by claim 35, and the cleavable polymer of claim 35 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 1. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions I and V are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the cleavable polymer of claim 1 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B, which is not required by claim 55, and the polymer of claim 55 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 1. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions I and VI are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the polymer of claim 1 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B, which is not required by claim 56, and the cleavable polymer of claim 56 comprises one or more repeat units containing group B, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 1. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions III and II are directed to an unrelated product and process. Product and process inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that the product cannot be used in, or made by, the process. See MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06. In the instant case, the cleavable polymer of claim 32 cannot be used in, or made by, the process of claim 9 because the cleavable polymer of claim 32 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is C2-30 alkylene, wherein C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, and the process of claim 9 is a process for preparation of a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B.
Inventions IV and II are directed to an unrelated product and process. Product and process inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that the product cannot be used in, or made by, the process. See MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06. In the instant case, the cleavable polymer of claim 35 cannot be used in, or made by, the process of claim 9 because the cleavable polymer of claim 35 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, and the process of claim 9 is a process for preparation of a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B.
Inventions V and II are directed to an unrelated product and process. Product and process inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that the product cannot be used in, or made by, the process. See MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06. In the instant case, the polymer of claim 55 cannot be used in, or made by, the process of claim 9 because the polymer of claim 55 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, and the process of claim 9 is a process for preparation of a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B.
Inventions VI and II are directed to an unrelated product and process. Product and process inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that the product cannot be used in, or made by, the process. See MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06. In the instant case, the cleavable polymer of claim 56 cannot be used in, or made by, the process of claim 9 because the cleavable polymer of claim 56 comprises one or more repeat units containing group B, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, and the process of claim 9 is a process for preparation of a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B.
Inventions III and IV are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the cleavable polymer of claim 32 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is C2-30 alkylene, wherein C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 35, and the cleavable polymer of claim 35 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 32. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions III and V are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the cleavable polymer of claim 32 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is C2-30 alkylene, wherein C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 55, and the polymer of claim 55 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 32. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions III and VI are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed cleavable polymer of claim 32 comprises comprising one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is C2-30 alkylene, wherein C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 56, and the cleavable polymer of claim 56 comprises one or more repeat units containing group B, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 32. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions IV and V are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the cleavable polymer of claim 35 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 55, and the polymer of claim 55 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 35. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions IV and VI are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the cleavable polymer of claim 35 comprises one or more repeat units containing group C and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 56, and the cleavable polymer of claim 56 comprises one or more repeat units containing group B, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 35. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions V and VI are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect because the polymer of claim 55 comprises one or more repeat units containing group A, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 56, and the cleavable polymer of claim 56 comprises one or more repeat units containing group B, one or more repeat units containing group C, and one or more repeat units containing group D, wherein group C is arylene or C2-30 alkylene, wherein arylene and C2-30 alkylene can be optionally substituted from 1 to 3 times with R3, which is not required by claim 55. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
It is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions, such as employing different search queries because the inventions are independent and distinct from each other as explained above.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Anna V. Gromova on 06/24/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-3, 5-7, 52, 54, 57, and 58. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 9, 32, 35, 55, and 56 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 52, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teng et al. (CN 112176453 A, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-7, 52, and 54, Teng teaches a modified copolymer polyester masterbatch that has the structure (translation [0014]) that is one of (translation [0016])
(untranslated [0012]), wherein the m:n ratio in the structure of the modified polyester is 6-10:3-6 (translation [0017]), wherein the modified copolymer polyester is prepared (translation [0024]) from 2,5-dihydroxyterephthalic acid, terephthalic acid, and ethylene glycol as follows (translation [0025])
(untranslated [0027]), wherein the melt viscosity is 0.42-0.6 (translation [0029]) at 280-290°C (translation [0028]), wherein the modified copolymer polyester (translation 0030) which reads on a cleavable polymer comprising one or more repeat units containing group A and one or more repeat units containing group B, wherein the repeating unit containing group A is
, the repeating unit containing group B is
,
is a chemically cleavable bond, group
is selected from arylene, group
is selected from phenylene, Rb and Rbb are independently selected from -H, s is 1, n is within 1 to 1,000,000, and m is within 1 to 1,000,000 as claimed, wherein the repeat unit containing group A is
as claimed, wherein the repeat unit containing group B is
as claimed, wherein the polymer comprises a moiety of formula
as claimed, wherein the polymer has the structure of Formula (I):
wherein Ra and Raa are independently selected from -H as claimed, wherein the polymer has the structure of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib):
wherein Ra and Raa are independently selected from -H, and Rb and Rbb are independently selected from -H as claimed, the cleavable polymer of claim 1, further comprising one or more repeat units group C: wherein the repeat unit containing group C is
, group
is arylene, each Y is independently O, and p is 1 as claimed, the cleavable polymer of claim 1, further comprising one or more repeat units containing group D: wherein the repeat unit containing group D is
, group
is arylene, each Y is independently O, and p is 1 as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (CN 112176453 A, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0141030 A1).
Regarding claim 57, Teng teaches the polymer of claim 1 as explained above. Teng teaches a four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber comprising a sheath layer and a core layer, wherein the sheath layer is made of Teng’s modified copolymer polyester, and the core layer is made of a polyester [0013].
Teng does not teach a sheet comprising the polymer of claim 1. However, Lee teaches a composite cloth having a sheet shape formed by weaving or knitting copolyester fiber of a copolyester into cloth having a sheet shape [0014], wherein the fiber is formed by spinning copolyester into fiber threads to form a copolyester fiber [0013]. Teng and Lee are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a copolyester. Before the effective filing date of claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form a cloth having a sheet shape by weaving or knitting Teng’s four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber comprising a sheath layer comprising Teng’s modified copolymer polyester and core layer into cloth having a sheet shape, as suggested by Lee. The proposed modification would read on a sheet comprising the polymer of claim 1 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an additional utility for Teng’s modified copolymer polyester and Teng’s four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber because Lee teaches that a copolyester fiber is beneficial for forming a composite cloth having a sheet shape by weaving or knitting the copolyester fiber of a copolyester into cloth having a sheet shape [0014], wherein the fiber is formed by spinning copolyester into fiber threads to form a copolyester fiber [0013], and because Teng teaches that the four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber comprises a sheath layer and a core layer, wherein the sheath layer is made of Teng’s modified copolymer polyester, and the core layer is made of a polyester [0013], which means that Teng’s four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber and Lee’s copolyester fiber both comprise polyester.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (CN 112176453 A, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Venugopal et al. (US 2021/0023815 A1).
Regarding claim 58, Teng teaches the polymer of claim 1 as explained above. Teng teaches a four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber comprising a sheath layer and a core layer, wherein the sheath layer is made of Teng’s modified copolymer polyester, and the core layer is made of a polyester [0013].
Teng does not teach a molded article comprising the polymer of claim 1. However, Venugopal teaches a molded article produced from a nonwoven laminate [0051], wherein the nonwoven laminate comprises [0019] a spunbond nonwoven layer comprising fibers, which comprise polyethylene terephthalate and copolyester [0020]. Teng and Venugopal are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a copolyester. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to produce a molded article from a nonwoven laminate comprising a spunbond nonwoven layer comprising Teng’s four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber comprising a sheath layer comprising Teng’s modified copolymer polyester and core layer, as suggested by Venugopal. The proposed modification would read on a molded article comprising the polymer of claim 1 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an additional utility of Teng’s modified copolymer polyester and Teng’s four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber because Venugopal teaches that polyethylene terephthalate and copolyester is beneficial for being useful for fibers and spunbond nonwoven layer comprising the fibers [0020], that the spunbond nonwoven layer is beneficial for use in [0020] a nonwoven laminate [0019], and that the nonwoven laminate is beneficial for producing a molded article from the nonwoven laminate [0051], and because Teng teaches that the four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber comprises a sheath layer and a core layer, wherein the sheath layer is made of Teng’s modified copolymer polyester, and the core layer is made of a polyester [0013], which means that Teng’s four-leaf-shaped core-sheath structure negative oxygen ion fiber and Venugopal’s fibers comprising polyethylene terephthalate and copolyester both comprise polyester.
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767