DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected groups as set forth in the 01/02/2026 response. The election of group I (Claims 1-15) was made without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 is rejected because “the lock mechanism” and “the door” lack proper antecedent basis. Examiner will assume Claim 15 depends from Claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2016/0081676 to Nock et al. “Nock” in view of U.S. Publication No. 2009/0306494 to Scarth et al. “Scarth”.
As for Claims 1 and 3, Nock discloses an MRI compatible biopsy system and method (Abstract; Paragraph [0080]) the biopsy system comprising a control module that controls and powers a biopsy device (Paragraph [0080]). Nock discloses wherein the control module includes one or more ports configured to couple the control module to a biopsy device(Paragraph [0081]). In one embodiment, Nock depicts wherein the control module includes a display configured to provide a graphical user interface for the operator and display operating information relating to the biopsy device (Paragraph [0200]).
However, Nock does not expressly disclose wherein the control module has MRI compatible features being able to reduce the EM footprint of the control module as claimed.
Scarth teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI systems and methods (Abstract) where a safety control system is configured to remove power from additional devices except for those necessary within the MRI suite when MRI imaging is initiated (Paragraphs [0067]-[0068]). Examiner notes that by removing power, the EM footprint would be reduced in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the biopsy control module described by Nock with a safety control system configured to power down the biopsy system except for those necessary as described by Scarth in order to enhance patient and MRI staff safety. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
As for Claims 2 and 5, Scarth explains wherein the safety controller can initiate MR imaging set up (Paragraphs [0184]-[0185]). Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have integrated some MRI controls into the biopsy controller in order to further reduce an EM footprint of device controllers within an MRI environment.
As for Claims 7-9 and 11, Nock discloses wherein the biopsy system includes a rotary drive motor and vacuum components located near the bottom of the unit (Figs. 53). Examiner notes the vacuum system would include a pump in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claim 10, Examiner notes the MRI compatible biopsy system has a base and would include non-magnetic components in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nock and Scarth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0038638 to Gliner.
As for Claims 2-3 and 5, Nock and Scarth disclose an MRI compatible biopsy device as described above. Scarth explains wherein the safety controller can initiate MR imaging set up (Paragraphs [0184]-[0185]). Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have integrated some MRI controls into the biopsy controller in order to further reduce an EM footprint of device controllers within an MRI environment.
Gliner is also cited herein as evidence to support the obviousness conclusion. For example, Gliner discloses a console 24 configured to operate a catheter system and MRI system (Paragraph [0029]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have integrated some MRI controls into the biopsy controller in order to further reduce an EM footprint of device controllers within an MRI environment.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nock and Scarth or Nock, Scarth and Gliner as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,385,480 to Bachus et al. “Bachus” and U.S. Publication No. 2012/0120993 to Lin et al. “Lin”.
As for Claim 4, Nock and Scarth or Nock, Scarth and Gliner disclose an MRI compatible biopsy device as described above. While the modified device reduces the power to the biopsy controller, it does to specify the operating frequency as claimed.
Bachus teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI systems and methods where auxiliary devices near the MRI can be shut off or deactivated into a “sleep mode” (Column 2, Lines 1-15). Examiner notes that a sleep mode would operate within the claimed frequency range in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Nonetheless, Lin teaches where sleep modes include an operational frequency of 32 kHz (Paragraph [0018]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have adjusted the operating frequency of the biopsy controller described above to include a sleep mode setting described by Bachus and Lin in order to efficiently power up auxiliary devise when needed. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
As for Claim 6, Lin’s system includes a timer to recover from a sleep mode (Paragraphs [0005]). Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have used a timing means to automatically switch the controller between modes (e.g. imaging and sleep mode). Such a modification would save power switching to a sleep mode and time when the controller recovers from the sleep mode.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nock and Scarth as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0097756 to Ziarati et al. “Ziarati”.
As for Claim 12, Nock and Scarth disclose an MRI compatible biopsy device as described above including a rotary drive cable. However, the art of record does not specify the material of the cable.
Ziarati teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI compatible devices where nonferrous materials such as brass, phosphor bronze or aluminum can be used for MRI applications (Paragraph [0033]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have used any conventionally known MRI safe material such as Ziarati for device components in order to enhance patient safety. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nock and Scarth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0328596 to Rapoport et al. “Rapoport”.
As for Claim 13, Nock and Scarth disclose an MRI compatible biopsy device as described above. However, the art of record does not wherein the biopsy system used a battery (e.g. direct current).
Rapoport teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI compatible devices where the device can be powered by a portable power supply (e.g. battery; Paragraph [0164]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have used conventional MRI safe portable power supplies as described by Rapoport in order to reduce wired connections within an MRI environment. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nock, Scarth and Rapoport as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Rapoport and U.S. Publication No. 2015/0231012 to Rapoport et al. “Rapoport 2”.
Regarding Claims 14-15, Nock and Scarth disclose an MRI compatible biopsy device as described above. However, the art of record does not wherein the biopsy system uses a battery and locking mechanism as claimed.
Rapoport teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI compatible devices where the device can be powered by a portable power supply (e.g. battery; Paragraph [0164]). Rapoport discloses wherein the cart includes a storage compartment 1260 in Fig. 12C. However, it is not clear if the storage compartment includes the battery and fitted with a lock to automatically lock the door during MRI use.
Examiner notes one skilled in the art would appreciate the need to secure items in an MRI environment to prevent them from becoming projectiles toward the magnet. Thus, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have included a storage compartment in the base of Nock’s biopsy system to store the portable battery as such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding the locking feature, Rapoport 2 teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI compatible devices where the device includes an interlock mechanism connected to a CPU (Paragraphs [0160]-[0161] and [0486]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have equipped the storage compartment with a locking mechanism connected to a CPU as described by Rapoport 2 in order to protect patient and MRI staff during an MRI exam.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797