DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 7, 8 are canceled.
Claims 1, 9-12 are amended.
Claims 1-6, 9-14 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in KR 1020230174662 on 12/05/2023 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang (US 20230282988).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses the following limitations:
A waveguide antenna device, comprising: (Kang – [0018] a vehicle antenna apparatus for transmitting and receiving radio waves, [0027] a waveguide formed in the module body and having a plurality of slots)
a first circuit board including a first integrated circuit configured to output a first transmission signal and receive a first reflection signal; (Kang – [0065] The housing 10 accommodates and protects the printed circuit board 20, the subprocessor 30, the power feeding circuit 40, and the antenna modules 50, 60 and 70. [0071] In the process of transmitting and receiving radio wave signals, the antenna modules 50, 60 and 70 perform a function of transmitting radio wave signals transmitted and generated by the power feeding circuit 40 to the outside through a plurality of slots 55, 65 and 75, or receiving radio wave signals from the outside through a plurality of slots 55, 65 and 75 and transmit them to the power feeding circuit 40 and the subprocessor 30.)
a first waveguide disposed on the first circuit board and configured to guide the first transmission signal and the first reflection signal, (Kang – [0018], [0071])
a second circuit board including a second integrated circuit configured to output a second transmission signal and receive a second reflection signal; and a second waveguide disposed on the second circuit board and configured to guide the second transmission signal and the second reflection signal, (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086] Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, a plurality of slots 55 having a rectangular cross section are formed in the third layer 523 of the first antenna module 50. A waveguide 54 connected to the plurality of slots 55 is formed in the second layer 522 of the first antenna module 50. [0146] referring to FIGS. 11 and 12, in this embodiment, the radar systems 1 and 2 may include a vehicle antenna apparatus 1, a main processor 2, and a power supply unit 3 configured to supply power to the antenna apparatus 1 or the main processor 2.)
wherein the first waveguide includes a first separating pipe configured to guide the first transmission signal in a first direction and in a second direction different from the first direction and (Kang – [Fig. 4], [0086])
a first receiving pipe configured to guide the first reflection signal received in a direction opposite to the first direction to the first integrated circuit, and (Kang – [Fig. 4], [0071], [0086])
the second waveguide includes a second separating pipe configured to guide the second transmission signal in the first direction and in the second direction and a second receiving pipe configured to guide the second reflection signal received in a direction opposite to the second direction to the second integrated circuit. (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086], [0146])
Regarding Claim 2, Kang further discloses:
wherein the first separating pipe includes a divider configured to separate the first transmission signal output from the first integrated circuit in the first direction and in the second direction. (Kang – [Fig. 4], [0071], [0086])
Regarding Claim 3, Kang further discloses:
wherein the first waveguide includes: a first layer including the first receiving pipe extending from the first integrated circuit in the first direction; and (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086])
a second layer stacked on the first layer in a direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction and including the first separating pipe extending from the first integrated circuit in the first direction and in the second direction. (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086], [0093] In this embodiment, the inner part A1 is defined as the first layer 521 in which the power feeding network 56 is formed, and the outer part A2 is defined as the second and third layers 522 and 523 in which the plurality of slots 55 and the waveguide 54 are formed.)
Regarding Claim 4, Kang further discloses:
wherein the first layer is disposed between the first circuit board and the second layer, and (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086], [0093])
the first layer includes a connecting pipe extending from the first circuit board to the first separating pipe. (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086], [0093])
Regarding Claim 5, Kang further discloses:
further comprising: a cover part including a first cover configured to cover at least a part of the first waveguide in the first direction and (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0086] the plurality of slots 55 in the third layer 523 [0096] upper surface of the second layer 622.)
a second cover configured to cover at least a part of the first waveguide in the second direction. (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0086], [0096])
Regarding Claim 6, Kang further discloses:
wherein the first cover includes a plurality of first transmit slots configured to transmit the first transmission signal and a plurality of receive slots configured to receive a first reception signal, and (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086], [0096])
the second cover includes a plurality of second transmit slots configured to transmit the first transmission signal. (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086], [0096])
Regarding Claim 9, Kang further discloses:
wherein the second waveguide is disposed in a direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction with respect to the first waveguide. (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0071], [0086], [0146])
Regarding Claim 10, Kang further discloses:
wherein the waveguide antenna device is installed in a mobility device, (Kang – [0018], [0027])
the first direction corresponds to a forward direction of travel of the mobility device, and (Kang – [Fig. 11], [0018], [0027], [0086])
the second direction corresponds to a rearward direction opposite to the forward direction. (Kang – [Fig. 11], [0018], [0027], [0086])
Regarding Claims 11-12, Kang further discloses:
further comprising: a processor connected to the first integrated circuit and the second integrated circuit, wherein the processor is configured to: (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [Fig. 11], [0065], [0086], [0146])
control the first integrated circuit to transmit the first transmission signal in the first direction and in the second direction, (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0065], [0086], [0162] Meanwhile, in this embodiment, the subprocessor 30 may be electrically connected to the main processor 2 to transmit the digitized signal. In this embodiment, the main processor 2 may perform fast Fourier transform (FFT) on the received signal. [0163] In this case, the main processor 2 may perform 1st to nth order Fourier transform on the received signal (n is an integer of 2 or more).
control the second integrated circuit to transmit the second transmission signal in the first direction and in the second direction, and (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [Fig. 11], [0065], [0086], [0162], [0163])
receive the first reflection signal through the first integrated circuit and the second reflection signal through the second integrated circuit. (Kang – [Fig. 3-4], [0065], [0086], [0146], [0162], [0163])
Regarding Claims 13-14, Kang further discloses:
wherein the first reflection signal corresponds to the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal transmitted in the first direction, (Kang – [Fig. 11], [0086], [0062] The vehicle antenna apparatus according to the present invention is not limited to the antenna apparatus for a vehicle radar that transmits and receives radio wave signals to detect other vehicles or objects as described above, and can be applied to various apparatuses capable of transmitting, receiving and interpreting radio wave signals in order to perform certain functions.)
the second reflection signal corresponds to the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal transmitted in the second direction, and (Kang – [Fig. 11], [0062], [0086])
the processor is configured to detect an object located in the first direction or in the second direction based on the first reflection signal and the second reflection signal. (Kang – [Fig. 11], [0062], [0086])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-7, filed 02/25/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) regarding Claims 1, 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9, filed 02/25/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kang does not disclose “a specific configuration in which, in a state where the second integrated circuit and the second waveguide (the second separating pipe and the second receiving pipe) mounted on the second circuit board are combined, and the second transmission signal is guided in the first and second directions and the second reflection signal received in a direction opposite to the second direction is guided to the second integrated circuit”. The examiner disagrees and notes that the argument does not map to the claim limitations. The applicant does not contend that Kang [0146] discloses a plurality of radar systems where each of these radar systems include a printed circuit board connected to a sub processor (Kang [Fig. 3]) and antenna modules for transmitting and receiving radio wave signals (Kang – [0065], [0071]). Since the transmission direction is inherently opposite to the receive direction, the transmission and reception through the plurality of slots disclosed by Kang map to the directions and separating pipes in claim 1. Accordingly, Kang then discloses “a second circuit board including a second integrated circuit configured to output a second transmission signal and receive a second reflection signal; and a second waveguide disposed on the second circuit board and configured to guide the second transmission signal and the second reflection signal, ... the second waveguide includes a second separating pipe configured to guide the second transmission signal in the first direction and in the second direction and a second receiving pipe configured to guide the second reflection signal received in a direction opposite to the second direction to the second integrated circuit,” since radar system incorporates each component aside from the main processor that is mapped to claims 11-12.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9, filed 02/25/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Kang discloses the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648