DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the subject claimed matter in the preamble of the claim “including” is transitional term or phase should be change to well-known term -comprising— (see MPEP 2111.03(I)). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CANNELL et al. (US 10,488,910 A1), hereinafter CANNELL.
Regarding claim 1, CANNELL discloses a method of determining the position of an EPE (Enterprise Premises Equipment) (tracking assets in an environment, see col. 5 lines 15-23), including establishing a DLS (Device Location Service) service for EPEs in an enterprise network (an RTLS server the monitors and/or reports tracking location and interactions between people and assets in an environment (eg. the hospital), see col. 5 lines 15-23).
Regarding claim 2, CANNELL discloses the EPEs (Enterprise Premises Equipment) have states including Dormant State, Active Normal State, and Active Emergency State (the device 200 can operate in one of a plurality of modes including a shipping mode, a sleep mode, a configuration mode, an operating or normal mode, etc.., see col. 15 lines 36-60).
Regarding claim 3, CANNELL discloses learning and maintaining list of available networks in the vicinity of the EPE, in the EPE or the DLS (the RTLS sever is in communication with the reader badge 125 via one or more wireless networks, see col. 9 lines 26-40).
Regarding claim 4, CANNELL discloses the EPE makes measurements including at least one of Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, LTE, NR, and Camera feeds, and reports the measurements to the DLS (the RTLS server 155 utilizes the signal strength information 145 included in the first subset of reader messages 430 to determine a nearest fixed-location asset. For example, a relatively stronger RSSI value may indicate that the broadcasting beacon tag 105 is closer in proximity to the reader badge 125 than a beacon tag 105 associated with a relatively weaker RSSI value, see col. 9 lines 41-63; the RSSI value is measured based on beacon message according to Bluetooth, see col. 8 lines 49- col. 9 line 5).
Regarding claim 5, CANNELL discloses the EPE optimizes measurements of cells in the LTE/NR private network, and macro neighbors (the RTLS server 155 utilizes the signal strength information 145 included in the first subset of reader messages 430 to determine a nearest fixed-location asset, see col. 9 lines 41-63; where the RTLS server 155 is in communication with the reader badge 125 via one or more wireless networks represented by example network 160. Example network 160 may be implemented using any suitable wireless network(s) including, for example, one or more data busses, one or more wireless Local Area Networks (LANs), one or more cellular networks, the Internet, etc, see col. 9 lines 26-40).
Regarding claim 7, CANNELL discloses the EPE includes a light source that generates a light beam to aid in visually spotting the EPE (a peripheral such as an LED and/or other light/visual indicator positioned on and/or in a housing for the device 200 can indicate whether the device 200 is turned on/off, in a particular mode, etc. For example, the device 200 can operate in one of a plurality of modes including a shipping mode, a sleep mode, a configuration mode, an operating or normal mode, etc. The indicator and/or the device 200 can act differently depending on in which mode the device 200 is operating, see col. 15 lines 36-60).
Regarding claim 8, CANNELL discloses the light source generates infrared radiation (the device 200 can operate in one of a plurality of modes including a shipping mode, a sleep mode, a configuration mode, an operating or normal mode, etc. The indicator and/or the device 200 can act differently depending on in which mode the device 200 is operating. For example, the indication provided by the indicator can be a different color, different pattern, flashing, etc., based on the mode, see col. 15 lines 36-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANNELL in view of PERKINS (US 2013/0257614 A1).
Regarding claim 6, CANNELL fails to disclose the EPE locally specific markers in the building and/or uses the DLS to perform the image recognition to determine location.
In the same field of endeavor, PERKINS discloses the system 50 is preferably employed at a facility 70 such as a business office, factory, home, hospital and/or government agency building… The real-time location information for each of the objects is preferably displayed on an image of a floor plan of the facility 70, or if the facility 70 has multiple floors, then on the floor plan images of the floors of the facility 70. The floor plan image may be used with a graphical user interface of a computer, personal digital assistant, or the like so that an individual of the facility 70 is able to quickly locate objects 100 within the facility 70 (see ¶ 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement PERKINS’s teaching in the network taught by CANNELL able to quickly locate medical equipment(s) within the facility having multiple floors and buildings to use in emergency events.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANNELL in view of MEDEMA et al. (US 2003/0025602 A1), hereinafter MEDEMA.
Regarding claim 9, CANNELL fails to disclose EPE sends text message(s) to notify specific individuals in the event of an emergency.
In the same field of endeavor, MEDEMA discloses a medical device of the ALI-capable system is configured to transmit various information to the remote locating service over the network, such as the status or condition of the medical device (battery level, etc.), self-test results, or even physiological data of a patient being treated with the medical device. This may be performed upon inquiry from the remote locating service, periodically, or even automatically... This feature allows an operator at the remote locating service to not only identify the location of the medical device but also monitor the medical device itself or events occurring in association with the medical device at the remote emergency site. A user of the medical device and an operator of the remote locating service can also communicate with each other verbally, via text messaging, and/or graphical messaging in conventional manners (see ¶ 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MEDEMA’s teaching of the medical device transmitting text messaging in an event of emergency in the device taught by CANNELL for reliably locating a portable medical device, such as an AED, by utilizing wireless automatic location identification (ALI) technologies in event of emergency.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412