DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed July 7, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows. Claims 12-20 were previously withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In regard to independent claim 1, newly cited references to Nagata et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, except “a reflectance in a thermal radiation wavelength band of over 90%. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a reflectance in a thermal radiation wavelength band of over 90%, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, claims 1, 2, 5, and 7-11 are rejected, as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 8, the limitation, “infrared wavelengths of interest” renders the scope of the claim unclear. Namely, it is not clear what portion of the infrared band are “of interest”. For examination purposes, it is presumed that any portion of the infrared band satisfies the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagata et al. (US 2018/0131879 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Nagata et al. discloses an apparatus 100 (denoted “infrared camera”, see e.g. paragraph [0048]) comprising a lens assembly comprising (see e.g. Figure 2):
a front region (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below) comprising an entrance window of the lens assembly (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below), and a window structure (i.e. including the parts of the lens barrel 2 creating the opening) at the entrance window (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below);
a back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below);
a lens 1 (see e.g. paragraph [0031]) between the window structure and the back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below); and
a heater 4 (see e.g. paragraph [0039]) coupled to heat the window structure (see e.g. Figure 2);
wherein the lens assembly comprises a reflective surface 80 (denoted “light-blocking member” made of metal, see e.g. paragraph [0040]),
wherein the front region is on a first side of the reflective surface 80 (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below), the back region is on a second side of the reflective surface 80 (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below), and
the reflective surface 80 is configured to reflect thermal radiation generated by the heater 4, the reflected thermal radiation being reflected towards the first side (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 below).
Nagata et al. fails to disclose
a reflectance in a thermal radiation wavelength band of over 90%.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a reflectance in a thermal radiation wavelength band of over 90%, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagata et al. with a reflectance in a thermal radiation wavelength band of over 90%.
Selecting the reflectance to be higher would prevent unwanted radiation from being incident on the sensor in the system.
In regard to claim 2, Nagata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the reflective surface 80 is configured to direct at least some of the reflected thermal radiation towards the window structure (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 and note that the limitation is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, the structure of Nagata et al. may direct thermal radiation forward).
In regard to claim 4, Nagata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the reflective surface 80 is a surface of an integral member (see e.g. Figure 2 and paragraph [0040]).
In regard to claim 7, Nagata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the reflective surface 80 comprises an aperture stop defining an entrance pupil of the lens assembly (see e.g. Figure 2).
In regard to claim 11, Nagata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
an imaging sensor 5 at the back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 2 and paragraph [0017]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagata et al. (US 2018/0131879 A1) in view of Tonar et al. (US 2012/0243093 A1).
In regard to claim 8, Nagata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the window structure comprises a wavelength filter for thermal imaging and is configured to pass thermal infrared wavelengths of interest and block visible wavelengths.
However, Tonar et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 8a-b)
wherein the window structure comprises a wavelength filter for thermal imaging and is configured to pass thermal infrared wavelengths of interest and block visible wavelengths (see e.g. paragraph [0084] for lens cover 20a paragraph [0089] where it is noted that lens cover may comprise filters for visible light).
Given the teachings of Tonar et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakamura with wherein the window structure comprises a wavelength filter for thermal imaging and is configured to pass thermal infrared wavelengths of interest and block visible wavelengths.
Providing a visible light filter forward of the image sensor would prevent unwanted degradation of the thermal imaging.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagata et al. (US 2018/0131879 A1) in view of Nakamura (WO 2019/181122).
In regard to claim 9, Nagata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the heater comprises a resistive heater.
However, Nakamura discloses
wherein the heater 12d comprises a resistive heater (see e.g. page 4, third full paragraph for nickel-chrome wire heater).
Given the teachings of Nakamura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagata et al. with wherein the heater comprises a resistive heater.
Resistive heaters have the advantage of having a high efficiency and higher temperature capability.
In regard to claim 10, Nagata et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 9 above, and
a barrel housing 7 that houses the lens 1 and the heater 4 (see e.g. Figure 2).
Nagata et al. fails to disclose
a cable inside the barrel housing, the cable extending from the heater towards the back region, for providing electric power to the heater.
However, Nakamura discloses
a cable 12c (denoted “extending portion”, see e.g. page 4, first full paragraph and Figure 3) inside the barrel housing 1a, the cable 12c extending from the heater 12d towards the back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 above), for providing electric power to the heater (see e.g. page 4, fourth full paragraph for electrical connection to substrate 41, and providing a voltage from the substrate to the heater).
Given the teachings of Nakamura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagata et al. with a cable inside the barrel housing, the cable extending from the heater towards the back region, for providing electric power to the heater.
Using a cable inside the housing for connection of the heater would provide a method of powering the heater while hiding the cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
In regard to claim 3, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the lens is disposed on the second side of the reflective surface.”
In regard to claim 5, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the reflective surface is integrated with the lens as a layer deposited on a flange of the lens.”
In regard to claim 6, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the lens assembly comprises a housing barrel comprising a flange between the window structure and the lens, the flange comprising the reflective surface.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871