DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant has amended previous independent claims 12 and 17 of Invention II to depend from claim 1 of Invention 1. This is not found persuasive because inventions I and II, as set forth in the Requirement for Restriction, mailed November 28, 2025, are related as product and process of use. In the instant case, the heater of the lens assembly in the apparatus may be operated independently of the scene captured by the camera, as noted in the Requirement for Restriction of November 28, 2025. However, it is noted that claims 12-20 of Invention II are now linked to Invention I via claim 1 and will be considered for rejoinder in the event that the linking claim becomes allowable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (WO 2019/181122).
In regard to claim 1, Nakamura discloses an apparatus comprising a lens assembly (i.e. for an imaging apparatus, see e.g. Figures 1-4 and 6th paragraph of English translation) comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-4):
a front region (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 below) comprising an entrance window 1d (i.e. denoted “large diameter portion”, see e.g. page 3, first paragraph of the English translation) of the lens assembly, and a window structure (i.e. including first lens 11a , see e.g. page 2, 6th paragraph of English translation and Figures 2-3) at the entrance window 1d;
a back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 for back region);
a lens 11b (denoted “second lens”, see e.g. page 2, 6th paragraph of English translation and Figures 2-3) between the window structure (i.e. including first lens 11a, see e.g. page 2, 6th paragraph of English translation and Figures 2-3) and the back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 for back region); and
a heater 12d (see e.g. Figures 2-4, first full paragraph of page 4 of English translation) coupled to heat the window structure (i.e. including first lens 11a, see e.g. page 2, 6th paragraph of English translation and Figures 2-3);
wherein the lens assembly (i.e. for an imaging apparatus, see e.g. Figures 1-4 and 6th paragraph of English translation) comprises a reflective surface 12b (denoted “plate-like portion” of heat conduction aperture plate 12, see e.g. page 3, last paragraph-page 4, first full paragraph and fourth full paragraph of page 4 for plate like portion 12b made of aluminum that is subject to a black painting surface treatment, which will reflect some small amount of thermal radiation),
wherein the front region is on a first side of the reflective surface 12b (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 where the front region is forward of all portion of element 12, including reflective surface 12b), the back region is on a second side of the reflective surface 12b (see e.g. annotated Figure 3, where the back region is rearward of reflective surface 12b), and the reflective surface 12b is configured to reflect thermal radiation generated by the heater 12d (see e.g. page 4, first full paragraph and fourth full paragraph where it is noted plate-like portion 12b is made of aluminum that is subject to a black painting surface treatment, which will reflect some small amount of thermal radiation), the reflected thermal radiation being reflected towards the first side (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 and page 4, first paragraph where it is noted plate-like portion 12b is made of aluminum that is subject to a black painting surface treatment, which will reflect a small amount of thermal radiation in at least a forward direction toward the first side).
In regard to claim 2, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the reflective surface 12b is configured to direct at least some of the reflected thermal radiation towards the window structure (i.e. including first lens 11a, see e.g. page 2, 6th paragraph of English translation and Figures 2-3 and note that the reflective surface 12b will direct some heat forward to lens 11a).
In regard to claim 3, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the lens 11b is disposed on the second side of the reflective surface 12b (see e.g. Figure 3 and note that lens 11b is on a rearward side of reflective surface 12b).
In regard to claim 4, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the reflective surface 12b is a surface of an integral member (see e.g. Figures 2-4 and note that 12b is an integral part of heat conduction aperture plate 12).
In regard to claim 5, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the reflective surface 12b is integrated with the lens 11b (see e.g. Figure 3 where the components including 11b and 12b are integrated as part of the imaging system).
In regard to claim 6, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the lens assembly comprises a housing barrel 1b (denoted “lens barrel”, see e.g. Figure 3 and page 2, sixth full paragraph) comprising a flange (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 above for flange) between the window structure and the lens 11b, the flange comprising the reflective surface 12b (see e.g. Figure 3 for reflective surface 12b seated on annotated flange portion).
In regard to claim 7, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the reflective surface 12b comprises an aperture stop defining an entrance pupil of the lens assembly (see e.g. last paragraph of page 3-first paragraph page 4 where it is noted that the heat conduction plate 12, which comprises 12b, determines the outmost position of light passing through, thus acting as an aperture stop).
In regard to claim 9, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the heater 12d comprises a resistive heater (see e.g. page 4, third full paragraph for nickel-chrome wire heater).
In regard to claim 10, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 9 above, and
a barrel housing 1a (denoted “front case”, see e.g. page 2, 6th paragraph and Figures 1-3) that houses the lens 11b and the heater 12d; and
a cable 12c (denoted “extending portion”, see e.g. page 4, first full paragraph and Figure 3) inside the barrel housing 1a, the cable 12c extending from the heater 12d towards the back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 above), for providing electric power to the heater (see e.g. page 4, fourth full paragraph for electrical connection to substrate 41, and providing a voltage from the substrate to the heater).
In regard to claim 11, Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
an imaging sensor 42 (denoted “imaging element”, see e.g. page 4, first full paragraph) at the back region (see e.g. annotated Figure 3 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (WO 2019/181122) in view of Tonar et al. (US 2012/0243093 A1).
In regard to claim 8¸ Nakamura discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the window structure comprises a wavelength filter for thermal imaging.
However, Tonar et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 8a-b)
wherein the window structure comprises a wavelength filter for thermal imaging (see e.g. paragraph [0084] for lens cover 20a paragraph [0089] where it is noted that lens cover may comprise filters for visible light).
Given the teachings of Tonar et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakamura with wherein the window structure comprises a wavelength filter for thermal imaging.
Providing a visible light filter forward of the image sensor would prevent unwanted degradation of the thermal imaging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited for disclosing related limitations of the applicant’s claimed and disclosed invention such as lens assemblies with heaters: Okada et al. (US 2021/0302722 A1), Nagamizu (US 2010/0309553 A1), Ha et al. (US 2019/0137850 A1), Bulgajewski et al. (US 2018/0017785 A1), Kim et al. (US 2018/0176431 A1), and Hiura (CN 214256407, of which an English translation is attached).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871