DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay (US 10631452 A) I view of Chan (US 2013/0283746) and Kohl (EP 1095551 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fay discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a chassis [102];
field wheels [128, 130] configured to selectively support the chassis [102] to move on a ground surface;
a header operatively coupled to the chassis [102] and movable between a lowered position (Fig. 1) relative to the chassis [102] and a raised position (Fig. 8) relative to the chassis [102], the header comprising harvesting elements [104] (Column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212] raise and lower the wheels [128, 130] attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position);
and a hydraulic circuit [160] configured to reconfigure the agricultural machine [102] between a field position (Fig. 1) and a transport position (Fig. 8),
and a first hydraulic actuator [101, 122, 206, 204, 210, 212] having a first actuator input configured to receive a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid to operate the first hydraulic actuator [210, 212] during reconfiguration of the agricultural machine from the field position (as seen in Fig. 3) to the transport position (as seen in Fig. 8) (Actuators [210, 212] are hydraulic actuators and will therefore naturally have an actuator input to receive pressurized hydraulic fluid.).
However, Fay does not disclose
a tilt actuator operatively connected between the header and the chassis and comprising a tilt actuator input path configured to receive a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid to operate the tilt actuator to move the header from the lowered position to the raised position; and
wherein the hydraulic circuit [160] comprises:
a pilot valve located in the tilt actuator input path and movable between an open position in which the pilot valve does not block the tilt actuator input path and a closed position in which the pilot valve blocks the tilt actuator input path;
and wherein the pilot valve is operatively connected to the first actuator input and configured to move to the closed position when a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid is received at the pilot valve from the first actuator input, and move to the open position when the respective hydraulic fluid is not received at the pilot valve.
Chan discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a chassis [12];
field wheels [17, 18] configured to selectively support the chassis [12] to move on a ground surface;
a header [12A] operatively coupled to the chassis [12] and movable between a lowered position relative to the chassis [12] and a raised position relative to the chassis [12], the header [12A] comprising harvesting elements [4]; and
a tilt actuator [14A] operatively connected between the header and the chassis and comprising a tilt actuator input path configured to receive a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid to operate the tilt actuator to move the header from the lowered position to the raised position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Chan’s tilt actuator to Fay’s header and chassis in order to raise the header to avoid damage during transport.
Kohl discloses a pull behind header that is folded and unfolded between transport and operational positions to utilize pilot valves to interconnect actuators to lock components in position during folding and unfolding operations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Kohl’s teaching of locking any components in relationship to any other components during a folding and unfolding operation via a pilot valve to the operation as claimed in Fay and Chan’s pull behind header in order to sequence the folding and unfolding in a more hydraulically simple and convenient operation.
The resultant combination discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a chassis [102, Fay];
field wheels [128, 130, Fay] configured to selectively support the chassis [102, Fay] to move on a ground surface;
a header operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and movable between a lowered position (Fay’s fig. 1) relative to the chassis [102, Fay] and a raised position (Fay’s fig. 8) relative to the chassis [102, Fay], the header comprising harvesting elements [104] (Fay’s column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212, Fay] raise and lower the wheels [128, 130, Fay] attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position);
a tilt actuator [14A, Chan] operatively connected between the header (seen supported by Fay’s chassis) and the chassis [102, Fay] and comprising a tilt actuator input path configured to receive a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid to operate the tilt actuator [14A, Chan] to move the header [12, Fay] from the lowered position to the raised position (When Chan’s tilt actuator [14A] extends, Fay’s header [12] will be tilted to a raised position as per Chan’s teaching.);
and a hydraulic circuit [160, Fay] configured to reconfigure the agricultural machine [102, Fay] between a field position (Fay’s Fig. 1) and a transport position (Fay’s fig. 8), wherein the hydraulic circuit comprises:
a pilot valve (as taught by Kohl) located in the tilt actuator [14A, Chan] input path and movable between an open position in which the pilot valve does not block the tilt actuator input path and a closed position in which the pilot valve blocks the tilt actuator input path (Actuators will naturally have an input path, pilot valves work by blocking fluid flow in a closed position and allowing fluid flow in an open position.),
and a first hydraulic actuator [204, 206, 212, 101, 122, Fay] having a first actuator input configured to receive a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid to operate the first hydraulic actuator [101, 122, Fay’s] during reconfiguration of the agricultural machine from the field position (Fay’s fig. 1) to the transport position (Fay’s fig. 8),
wherein the pilot valve (as taught by Kohl) is operatively connected to the first actuator input and configured to move to the closed position when a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid is received at the pilot valve from the first actuator input, and move to the open position when the respective hydraulic fluid is not received at the pilot valve (The pilot valve will move to an open position to allow for the pressurized hydraulic fluid to be received.).
Regarding claim 4, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 1, further comprising at least one windrow shield (Disclosed in Fay’s column 9 lines 1-5) operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and movable between an open position and a folded position (Fay’s column 9 lines 1-5 disclose that the windrow shield actuator folds and opens the windrow shield.) (Fay’s fig. 4 shows the folded position),
and wherein the first hydraulic actuator comprises a windrow shield actuator [204, Fay] configured to move the windrow shield to the folded position upon receiving the respective pressurized hydraulic fluid at the first actuator input.
Regarding claim 5, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 1, further comprising a lateral transport assembly [132, Fay] comprising transport wheels [138, 140, Fay], wherein the lateral transport assembly [132, Fay] is operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and moveable between a stowed position (as seen in Fay’s fig. 1) in which the transport wheels [138, 140, Fay] are not contacting the ground and a transport position (As seen in Fay’s fig. 9) in which the transport wheels [138, 140, Fay] are contacting the ground to support the chassis [102, Fay] to move on the ground surface,
and wherein the first hydraulic actuator comprises a lateral transport actuator [122] configured to move the lateral transport assembly from the stowed position (as seen in Fay’s fig. 1) to the transport position (as seen in Fay’s fig. 9) upon receiving the respective pressurized hydraulic fluid at the first actuator input (Hydraulic actuators are operated by receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid.).
Regarding claim 6, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 1, further comprising a flail curtain operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and movable between an operating position and a stowed position (Fay’s column 11 lines 12-15 disclose a flail curtain may be equipped and moved between a lifted or sowed position and an operating position.),
and wherein the first hydraulic actuator [206, Fay] comprises a flail curtain actuator [206, Fay] configured to move the flail curtain to the stowed position upon receiving the respective pressurized hydraulic fluid at the first actuator input (Hydraulic actuators are operated by receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid.).
Regarding claim 7, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the first hydraulic actuator [101, 122, Fay] comprises a transport swing actuator [122, Fay] operatively coupled between the chassis [102, Fay] and a tongue [112, Fay] pivotally connected to the chassis [102, Fay],
wherein the transport swing actuator [101, Fay] is configured to move the chassis [102, Fay] relative to the tongue [112, Fay] about the tongue pivot axis [122, Fay] to a stowed position upon receiving the respective pressurized hydraulic fluid at the first actuator input (Hydraulic actuators are operated by receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid.) (As seen in Fay’s fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Fay discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a chassis [102];
field wheels [128, 130] operatively coupled to the chassis [102] and movable between a respective extended position relative to the chassis [102] to support the chassis [102] to move on a ground surface and a respective retracted position relative to the chassis [102];
a lift actuator [210, 212] operatively connected between the field wheels [128, 130] and the chassis [102] and configured to move the field wheels [128, 130] from the retracted position to the extended position (Column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212] raise and lower the wheels [128, 130] attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position);
a header operatively coupled to the chassis [102] and movable between a respective lowered position relative to the chassis [102] and a respective raised position relative to the chassis [102], the header comprising harvesting elements [104].
However, Fay does not disclose a tilt actuator operatively connected between the header and the chassis and configured to move the header at least from the lowered position to the raised position;
and a hydraulic system configured to reconfigure the agricultural machine between a field position and a transport position, wherein the hydraulic system comprises:
a first hydraulic circuit configured to selectively apply a first hydraulic pressure to the lift actuator to move the field wheels to the extended position and to the tilt actuator to move the header to the raised position,
a valve configured to move to a closed position to hydraulically disconnect the tilt actuator from the lift actuator and maintain the first hydraulic pressure in the tilt actuator after terminating application of the first hydraulic pressure to the lift actuator, and a second hydraulic circuit configured to selectively apply a second hydraulic pressure to move the valve to the closed position.
Chan discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a chassis [12];
field wheels [17, 18] configured to selectively support the chassis [12] to move on a ground surface;
a header [12A] operatively coupled to the chassis [12] and movable between a lowered position relative to the chassis [12] and a raised position relative to the chassis [12], the header [12A] comprising harvesting elements [4]; and
a tilt actuator [14A] operatively connected between the header and the chassis and comprising a tilt actuator input path configured to receive a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid to operate the tilt actuator to move the header from the lowered position to the raised position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Chan’s tilt actuator to Fay’s header and chassis in order to raise the header to avoid damage during transport.
Kohl discloses a pull behind header that is folded and unfolded between transport and operational positions to utilize pilot valves to interconnect actuators to lock components in position during folding and unfolding operations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Kohl’s teaching of locking any components in relationship to any other components during a folding and unfolding operation via a pilot valve to the operation as claimed in Fay and Chan’s pull behind header in order to sequence the folding and unfolding in a more hydraulically simple and convenient operation.
The resultant combination discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a chassis [102, Fay];
field wheels [128, 130, Fay] operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and movable between a respective extended position relative to the chassis [102, Fay] to support the chassis [102, Fay] to move on a ground surface and a respective retracted position relative to the chassis [102, Fay];
a lift actuator [210, 212, Fay] operatively connected between the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] and the chassis [102, Fay] and configured to move the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] from the retracted position to the extended position (Fay’s column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212, Fay] raise and lower the wheels [128, 130, Fay] attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position);
a header operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and movable between a respective lowered position relative to the chassis [102, Fay] and a respective raised position relative to the chassis [102, Fay], the header comprising harvesting elements [104, Fay];
a tilt actuator [14A, Chan] operatively connected between the header (Supported by Fay’s chassis) and the chassis [102, Fay] and configured to move the header (Supported by Fay’s chassis) at least from the lowered position to the raised position (When Chan’s tilt actuator [14A] extends, Fay’s header [102] will be tilted to a raised position as per Chan’s teaching.);
and a hydraulic system configured to reconfigure the agricultural machine between a field position (as seen in Fig. 1) and a transport position (as seen in Fig. 8), wherein the hydraulic system comprises:
a first hydraulic circuit (comprising the lift actuator and portion of hydraulic line leading up to the lift actuator.) configured to selectively apply a first hydraulic pressure to the lift actuator [210, 212, Fay] to move the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] to the extended position and to the tilt actuator [14A, Chan] to move the header to the raised position (Column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212] raise and lower the wheels [128, 130] attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position),
a valve (as disclosed by Kohl) configured to move to a closed position to hydraulically disconnect the tilt actuator [14A, Chan] from the lift actuator [210, 212, Fay] and maintain the first hydraulic pressure in the tilt actuator [14A, Chan] after terminating application of the first hydraulic pressure to the lift actuator [210, 212, Fay] (The sequence taught by Kohl),
and a second hydraulic circuit (All hydraulic components outside the first hydraulic circuit) configured to selectively apply a second hydraulic pressure to move the valve (as disclosed by Kohl) to the closed position.
Regarding claim 9, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 8, further comprising:
a lateral transport assembly [132, Fay] comprising transport wheels [138, 140, Fay], wherein the lateral transport assembly [132, Fay] is operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and moveable between a stowed position (as seen in Fay’s fig. 1) in which the transport wheels [138, 140, Fay] are not contacting the ground and a transport position (as seen in Fay’s fig. 9) in which the transport wheels [138, 140, Fay] are contacting the ground to support the chassis [102, Fay] to move on the ground surface;
and a lateral transport actuator [101, Fay] operatively connected between the lateral transport assembly [132, Fay] and the chassis [102, Fay] and configured to move the lateral transport assembly [132, Fay] between the stowed position (as seen in Fay’s fig. 1) and the transport position (as seen in Fay’s fig. 9);
wherein the second hydraulic circuit (All hydraulic components outside the first hydraulic circuit) is connected between an input to the lateral transport actuator [101, Fay] and the valve (as taught by Kohl.).
Regarding claim 10, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 8, further comprising:
a tongue [112, Fay] extending in a longitudinal direction from a proximal tongue end [116, Fay] to a distal tongue end [114, Fay], wherein the distal tongue end [114, Fay] is pivotally connected to the chassis [102, Fay] to rotate relative to the chassis [102, Fay] about a tongue pivot axis [124, Fay];
and a transport swing actuator [101, 122, Fay] operatively coupled between the chassis [102, Fay] and the tongue [112, Fay] and configured to move the chassis [102, Fay] relative to the tongue [112, Fay] about the tongue pivot axis [124];
wherein the second hydraulic circuit (All hydraulic components outside the first hydraulic circuit) is connected between an input to the transport swing actuator [101, 122, Fay] and the valve (as taught by Kohl).
Regarding claim 11, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 8, further comprising:
at least one windrow shield (Disclosed in Fay’s column 9 lines 1-5) operatively coupled to the chassis [102, Fay] and movable between an open position (as would happen when the windrow shield cylinder extends) and a folded position (as would happen when the windrow shield cylinder retracts);
and a windrow shield actuator [204, Fay] configured to move the windrow shield (Disclosed in Fay’s column 9 lines 1-5) to the folded position (Position in which the windrow shield is retracted.);
wherein the second hydraulic circuit (All hydraulic components outside the first hydraulic circuit) is connected between an input to the windrow shield actuator [204, Fay] and the valve (as taught by Kohl).
Regarding claim 12, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 8, further comprising:
a flail curtain (as disclosed in Fay’s column 11 lines 12-15) operatively coupled to the [108, Fay] and movable between an operating position (as would happen when the flail curtain actuator is extended) and a stowed position (as would happen when the flail curtain actuator is retracted);
and a flail curtain actuator [206, Fay] configured to move the flail curtain (as disclosed in column 11 lines 12-15) to the stowed position (as seen in Fay’s Fig. 3);
wherein the second hydraulic circuit (All hydraulic components outside the first hydraulic circuit) is connected between an input to the flail curtain actuator [206, Fay] and the valve (as taught by Kohl).
Regarding claim 13, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 8, wherein the valve comprises a pilot valve (as disclosed by Kohl).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay (US 10631452 A) I view of Chan (US 2013/0283746).
Regarding claim 14, Fay discloses a method for operating an agricultural machine comprising a chassis [102, Fay], field wheels [128, 130, Fay] configured to selectively support the chassis [102, Fay] on a surface, and a header, the method comprising:
extending the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] relative to the chassis [102, Fay] to raise the chassis [102, Fay] relative to the surface (Column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212] raise and lower the wheels [128, 130, Fay] attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position);
applying a hydraulic pressure to one or more actuators [101, 122] to reposition the agricultural machine from a field position (Fig. 1) to a transport position (Fig. 8).
However, Fay does not disclose a tilt actuator operatively connected between the header and the chassis;
and applying a first hydraulic pressure to the header via a tilt actuator input path to move the header to a raised position relative to the chassis,
and applying the hydraulic pressure to a valve in the actuator input path to close the valve and lock the header in the raised position.
Chan discloses an agricultural machine comprising:
a chassis [12];
field wheels [17, 18] configured to selectively support the chassis [12] to move on a ground surface;
a header [12A] operatively coupled to the chassis [12] and movable between a lowered position relative to the chassis [12] and a raised position relative to the chassis [12], the header [12A] comprising harvesting elements [4]; and
a tilt actuator [14A] operatively connected between the header and the chassis and comprising a tilt actuator input path configured to receive a respective pressurized hydraulic fluid to operate the tilt actuator to move the header from the lowered position to the raised position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Chan’s tilt actuator to Fay’s header and chassis in order to raise the header to avoid damage during transport.
The resultant combination discloses a method for operating an agricultural machine comprising a chassis, field wheels [128, 130, Fay] configured to selectively support the chassis [102, Fay] on a surface, a header, and a tilt actuator [14A, Chan] operatively connected between the header (Fay’s component carrying harvesting elements) and the chassis [102, Fay], the method comprising:
extending the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] relative to the chassis [102, Fay] to raise the chassis [102, Fay] relative to the surface (Fay’s column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212] raise and lower the wheels [128, 130, Fay] attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position);
applying a first hydraulic pressure to the header via a tilt actuator [14A, Chan] input path to move the header to a raised position relative to the chassis [102, Fay];
applying a second hydraulic pressure to one or more actuators [101, 122] to reposition the agricultural machine from a field position (as seen in Fay’s Fig. 1) to a transport position(as seen in Fay’s Fig. 8);
and applying the second hydraulic pressure to a valve in the tilt actuator input path to close the valve and lock the header in the raised position (Lift valve [166] as seen in Fay’s Fig. 13 control flow to the actuators [20, 212] which raise the header and therefore locks the header in the raised position) .
Regarding claim 15, Fay and Chan disclose the method of claim 14, wherein extending the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] comprises applying the first hydraulic pressure to extend the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] (Fay’s column 11 lines 24-30 disclose that actuators [210, 212] raise and lower the wheels attached to the header therefore moving the header between a raised and lowered position).
Regarding claim 16, Fay and Chan disclose the method of claim 14, further comprising retracting the field wheels [128, 130, Fay] relative to the chassis [102, Fay] after closing the valve (Closing the valve would stop hydraulic fluid from flowing through the valve and extending the hydraulic cylinder, therefore allowing the hydraulic cylinder to retract, therefore retracting the field wheels).
Regarding claim 17, Fay and Chan disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the agricultural machine further comprises transport wheels [138, 140, Fay] movably mounted to the chassis [102, Fay] and configured to selectively support the chassis [102, Fay] on the surface, and applying a second hydraulic pressure to one or more actuators [101, 122] to reposition the agricultural machine from a field position to a transport position comprises moving the transport wheels [138, 140, Fay] to support the chassis [102, Fay] on the surface (Column 9 lines 35-46 disclose how actuators [101, 122] move the transport wheels to support the chassis on the surface.).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay (US 10631452 A), Chan (US 2013/0283746), and Kohl (EP 1095551 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SVI INC (https://www.sviinternational.com/2020/07/15/complete-guide-to-single-acting-hydraulic-cylinders/)
Regarding claim 2, Fay, Chan, and Kohl disclose the agricultural machine of claim 1.
However, Fay, Chan, and Kohl do not disclose wherein the tilt actuator comprises a single-acting actuator.
SVI INC discloses single-acting actuators used with a singular acting port used for hydraulic applications.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute SVI Inc’s single-acting actuator for Chan’s tilt actuator in order to lower costs and saving space on the agricultural machine (Page 2, under the “BENEFITS OF SINGLE ACTING HYDRAULIC CYLINDERS” header).
Regarding claim 3, Fay, Chan, Kohl, and SVI INC disclose the agricultural machine of claim 2, wherein the tilt actuator (as taught in the rejection of claim 2 above) comprises a return spring (SVI International’s page 2 lines 4-5 discloses return springs used to retract single-acting cylinders) configured to bias the tilt actuator (as taught in the rejection of claim 2 above) to move the header from the raised position (When the single-acting hydraulic cylinder is extended) to the lowered position (when the return spring of the single-acting hydraulic cylinder retracts the single-acting hydraulic cylinder).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18- 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Priepke (US 2011/0197561) discloses a disc mower narrow transport frame. Fay (2016/0066509) discloses a windrow shield control system for a header of an agricultural harvester. Fay (US 2020/0352093) discloses floatation springs attached to adjustable skid shoes.
/ASHLEY A KAERCHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671 3/11/2026
/ADAM J BEHRENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671