DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogishima (Patent No. 4,515,405).
Re: claim 1, Ogishima teaches a cowling structure (Fig. 3 – 11) for a straddle-type vehicle (Fig. 2 -1), the cowling structure comprising: a cowling (Fig. 8 – 113 & 112) covering a lamp unit (Fig. 8 – 115), wherein a front surface of the cowling (Annotated Fig. 8 – front surface) has an opening (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening) through which a lens surface (Annotated Fig. 8 – lens surface) of the lamp unit (Fig. 8 – 115) is exposed to a front side (Annotated Fig. 8 – front side), and wherein a lower surface of the cowling (Fig. 8 – 112) has a cutout forming an opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) through which a lower surface of the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower surface of lamp unit) is exposed to a lower side (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower side), and wherein the cutout (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) reaches the lens surface of the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 8 – reaches lens unit).
It is noted that the examiner is interpreting that the cutout forming an opening area is defined as reaching the lens surface of the lamp unit in that an imaginary line can be drawn in a vertical direction such that it intersects the lens surface of the lamp unit. The examiner also notes that the specification (Paragraph [0024]) of the present application recites “The opening 72 of the front lower cowling 55 is continuous with the cutout 82”. The examiner interprets this as the opening connects to the cutout forming an opening area and that the opening also reaches the lens surface of the lamp unit.
Re: claim 2, Ogishima teaches wherein an entire lower surface of the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower surface of lamp unit) is exposed through the opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area), and wherein the entire lower surface of the lamp unit is positioned inside the opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) of the cowling (113 & 112).
Re: claim 3, Ogishima teaches wherein the opening (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening) of the cowling (113 & 112) and the opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) of the cowling are continuous with each other (See Annotated Fig. 8 – where the lamp unit not being present would provide a continuous path from the opening to the opening area such as in the present application), and wherein the cowling is formed with a crossing portion (Annotated Fig. 8 – crossing portion) crossing the opening (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening) of the cowling (113 & 112) along a lower edge of the lens surface (Annotated Fig. 8 – lens surface) of the lamp unit (115) (See Also Figs. 2 & 3 for a front view).
Re: claim 4, Ogishima teaches wherein both side edges (Annotated Fig. 2 – edge 1 & edge 2), in a vehicle width direction (Annotated Fig. 2 – width), of the opening area (Annotated Fig. 2 – opening area) of the cowling are connected each other via the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 2 – lamp unit).
Re: claim 5, Ogishima teaches wherein the opening area (Annotated Fig. 2-2 – opening area) of the cowling is formed to be wider from the front side to a rear side (See Annotated Fig. 2-2).
Re: claim 6, Ogishima teaches wherein a front end (Annotated Fig. 8 – front end of lower surface) of the lower surface of the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower surface of lamp unit) is exposed to the lower side through the opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) (See Annotated Fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re: claim 7, the cited prior art whether in full or in combination fails to teach or reasonably suggest at the very least wherein, in a side view of the straddle-type vehicle, a portion of a lower surface of the lamp unit is located below a lower edge of the cutout. Ogishima teaches claim 1 but fails to teach at the very least wherein, in a side view of the straddle-type vehicle, a portion of a lower surface of the lamp unit is located below a lower edge of the cutout. One having ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify the lower portion of the cowling of Ogishima such that the lower surface of the lamp unit would be located below a lower edge of the cutout. This modification would be building to the specification of the present application.
Re: claim 8, the cited prior art whether in full or in combination fails to teach or reasonably suggest at the very least a lower surface on the lower stage lower surface is cut out to form a third cutout through which an entire lower surface of the headlamp unit is exposed, wherein an entire lower surface of the headlamp unit is positioned inside the third cutout. Modification of the cited prior art would be building to the specification of the present application and no reasonable motivation can be found to modify the prior art to meet this limitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re: claim 1, the applicant argues that the opening area of Ogishima does not reach the lens surface of the lamp unit. The examiner disagrees in that the broadness of the claim limitation allows for interpretation in that an imaginary line can be drawn vertically from the opening area such that it intersects the lens surface of the lamp unit (See Rejection of claim 1 and Annotated Fig. 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Valerio et al. (JP 2020066408 A) teaches a saddle-riding type vehicle with a lamp unit being exposed below an opening of a front cowling.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP C ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612