DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogishima (Patent No. 4,515,405).
Re: claim 1, Ogishima teaches a cowling structure (Fig. 3 – 11) for a straddle-type vehicle (Fig. 2 -1), the cowling structure comprising: a cowling (Fig. 8 – 113 & 112) covering a lamp unit (Fig. 8 – 115), wherein a front surface of the cowling (Annotated Fig. 8 – front surface) has an opening (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening) through which a lens surface (Annotated Fig. 8 – lens surface) of the lamp unit (Fig. 8 – 115) is exposed to a front side (Annotated Fig. 8 – front side), and wherein a lower surface of the cowling (Fig. 8 – 112) has an opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) through which a lower surface of the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower surface of lamp unit) is exposed to a lower side (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower side).
Re: claim 2, Ogishima teaches wherein an entire lower surface of the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 8 – lower surface of lamp unit) is exposed through the opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area), and wherein the entire lower surface of the lamp unit is positioned inside the opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) of the cowling (113 & 112).
Re: claim 3, Ogishima teaches wherein the opening (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening) of the cowling (113 & 112) and the opening area (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening area) of the cowling are continuous with each other (See Annotated Fig. 8 – where the lamp unit not being present would provide a continuous path from the opening to the opening area such as in the present application), and wherein the cowling is formed with a crossing portion (Annotated Fig. 8 – crossing portion) crossing the opening (Annotated Fig. 8 – opening) of the cowling (113 & 112) along a lower edge of the lens surface (Annotated Fig. 8 – lens surface) of the lamp unit (115) (See Also Figs. 2 & 3 for a front view).
Re: claim 4, Ogishima teaches wherein both side edges (Annotated Fig. 2 – edge 1 & edge 2), in a vehicle width direction (Annotated Fig. 2 – width), of the opening area (Annotated Fig. 2 – opening area) of the cowling are connected each other via the lamp unit (Annotated Fig. 2 – lamp unit).
Re: claim 5, Ogishima teaches wherein the opening area (Annotated Fig. 2-2 – opening area) of the cowling is formed to be wider from the front side to a rear side (See Annotated Fig. 2-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP H1071980 A & JP 2013151177 A disclose similar structures to the claimed application.
/PHILIP CHARLES ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612