DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the Applicant’s Application filed on November 21, 2025.
Claims 21-25 and 27-40 have been amended.
Claims 21, 29, and 37 are independent. As a result claims 21-25 and 27-41are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 21, 2025 regarding the rejection of claims 21, 29, and 37 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, regarding claims 21, 29, and 37 Amit does not teach or suggest the following limitation, wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request as disclosed in Applicants’ invention.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions.
With regards to a), Examiner appreciates the interpretation of the description given by Applicant in the response. In Figs. 3-4, para [0039], Amit teaches " The connection to the clients and/or the storage devices may be provided via LAN/WAN network. The clients 11a and 11b concurrently and independently send respective access-related requests (illustrated as 30a, 30b) to the same logical data object stored in the storage device 13 as a transformed logical data object (TLO) 32.”, para [0042], Amit teaches “The transformation system 20 intercepts the access-related requests to a certain logical object, and examines the request to discover if the intercepted request requires opening a corresponding LO (e.g., the transformation system may recognize "open file" handle in an NFS request, "open file" request in SCSI protocol, etc.). The requests requiring opening a corresponding LO are referred to hereinafter as "open LO requests." The transformation system further sends corresponding "open LO" requests (illustrated as 30'a, 30'b, 30'c) to the respective transformed logical data object”, para [0045], Amit teaches “Upon intercepting an access-related request with regard to a certain logical data object and discovering an "open LO request" (400), the transformation system identifies (401) a transformed logical data object corresponding to said certain LO and obtains ID from the header of said transformed LO. The transformation system further checks (402) in the ID Map if there exists an open LO with the same ID.”. Therefore, logical data object stored in storage device as transformed logical data object corresponding to identification of the logical data object matching identification of the transformed logical data object prior to request to access stored logical data object that is the transformed logical data object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25, 29-34, 37-39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason in view of Pascale et al. (US 2018/0121447) (hereinafter Pascale), and in further view of Amit et al. (US 2011/0302219) (hereinafter Amit).
Regarding claim 21, Mason teaches a method comprising: generating a transformed snapshot portion based on a transformation to one or more data objects contained within a portion of a snapshot that is stored in a cloud-based storage system (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Figs. 5-6, Fig. 9, col. 3 ln 65 – col. 4 ln 2, col. 9 ln 44-50, col. 10 ln 5-12, discloses generating a transformed data of a local file system to a versioned file system structured data at a point-in-time based on Content Control Service configuration for versions stored in a cloud); and in response to a request to access the portion of the snapshot, providing, by the cloud-based storage system, access to the transformed snapshot portion (see Fig. 3, Fig. 11, col. 9 ln 45-50, col. 9 ln 57-60, discloses Content Control Service providing access to versioned file system).
Mason does not explicitly teach wherein an access policy for the one or more data objects specifies the transformation to apply, wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request.
Pascale teaches wherein an access policy for the one or more data objects specifies the transformation to apply (see Fig. 4, para [0027], para [0030-0031], discloses a policy that applies to transformation of data, specifying data in a specific format, to produce a different representation of data, such as a social security number being replaced with hash value returned by a hash function).
Mason/Pascale are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason to specify the transformation to apply from disclosure of Pascale. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Pascale as “allowing administrators of a service system to access user data in a way that protects the privacy of users” (para [0004]) and specifying the transformation to apply is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Mason/Pascale does not explicitly teach wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request.
Amit teaches wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, para [0039], para [0042], para [0045], discloses logical data object stored in storage device as transformed logical data object corresponding to identification of the logical data object matching identification of the transformed logical data object prior to request to access stored logical data object that is the transformed logical data object ).
Mason/Pascale/Amit are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason/Pascale to transform data prior to request from disclosure of Amit. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Amit as “more powerful and more efficient ways to store information, optimization of storage technologies” (para [0003]) and transforming data prior to request is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claim 29, Mason teaches an apparatus comprising a memory;a processing device operatively coupled to the memory, configured to: (see col. 3 ln 56-58, discloses processor and memory): generate a transformed snapshot portion based on a transformation to one or more data objects contained within a portion of a snapshot that is stored in a cloud-based storage system (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Figs. 5-6, Fig. 9, col. 3 ln 65 – col. 4 ln 2, col. 9 ln 44-50, col. 10 ln 5-12, discloses generating a transformed data of a local file system to a versioned file system structured data at a point-in-time based on Content Control Service configuration for versions stored in a cloud); and in response to a request to access the portion of the snapshot, provide, by the cloud-based storage system, the transformed snapshot portion (see Fig. 3, Fig. 11, col. 9 ln 45-50, col. 9 ln 57-60, discloses Content Control Service providing access to versioned file system).
Mason does not explicitly teach wherein an access policy for the one or more data objects specifies the transformation to apply, wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request.
Pascale teaches wherein an access policy for the one or more data objects specifies the transformation to apply (see Fig. 4, para [0027], para [0030-0031], discloses a policy that applies to transformation of data, specifying data in a specific format, to produce a different representation of data, such as a social security number being replaced with hash value returned by a hash function).
Mason/Pascale are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason to specify the transformation to apply from disclosure of Pascale. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Pascale as “allowing administrators of a service system to access user data in a way that protects the privacy of users” (para [0004]) and specifying the transformation to apply is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Mason/Pascale does not explicitly teach wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request.
Amit teaches wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, para [0039], para [0042], para [0045], discloses logical data object stored in storage device as transformed logical data object corresponding to identification of the logical data object matching identification of the transformed logical data object prior to request to access stored logical data object that is the transformed logical data object ).
Mason/Pascale/Amit are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason/Pascale to transform data prior to request from disclosure of Amit. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Amit as “more powerful and more efficient ways to store information, optimization of storage technologies” (para [0003]) and transforming data prior to request is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claim 37, Mason teaches a system comprising a memory; a processing device operatively coupled to the memory, configured to: (see col. 3 ln 56-58, discloses processor and memory): generate a transformed snapshot portion based on a transformation to one or more data objects contained within a portion of a snapshot that is stored in a cloud-based storage system (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Figs. 5-6, Fig. 9, col. 3 ln 65 – col. 4 ln 2, col. 9 ln 44-50, col. 10 ln 5-12, discloses generating a transformed data of a local file system to a versioned file system structured data at a point-in-time based on Content Control Service configuration for versions stored in a cloud); and in response to a request to access the portion of the snapshot, provide, by the cloud-based storage system, access to the transformed snapshot portion (see Fig. 3, Fig. 11, col. 9 ln 45-50, col. 9 ln 57-60, discloses Content Control Service providing access to versioned file system).
Mason does not explicitly teach wherein an access policy for the one or more data objects specifies the transformation to apply, wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request.
Pascale teaches wherein an access policy for the one or more data objects specifies the transformation to apply (see Fig. 4, para [0027], para [0030-0031], discloses a policy that applies to transformation of data, specifying data in a specific format, to produce a different representation of data, such as a social security number being replaced with hash value returned by a hash function).
Mason/Pascale are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason to specify the transformation to apply from disclosure of Pascale. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Pascale as “allowing administrators of a service system to access user data in a way that protects the privacy of users” (para [0004]) and specifying the transformation to apply is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Mason/Pascale does not explicitly teach wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request.
Amit teaches wherein the transformation was performed prior to the request (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, para [0039], para [0042], para [0045], discloses logical data object stored in storage device as transformed logical data object corresponding to identification of the logical data object matching identification of the transformed logical data object prior to request to access stored logical data object that is the transformed logical data object ).
Mason/Pascale/Amit are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason/Pascale to transform data prior to request from disclosure of Amit. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Amit as “more powerful and more efficient ways to store information, optimization of storage technologies” (para [0003]) and transforming data prior to request is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 22, 30, and 38, Mason/Pascale/Amit teaches a method of claim 21, apparatus of claim 29, and system of claim 37.
Mason does not explicitly teach associating the access policy with the stored snapshot, the access policy specifying the transformation to apply to a predefined data object.
Pascale teaches associating the access policy with the stored snapshot, the access policy specifying the transformation to apply to a predefined data object (see Fig. 4, para [0027], para [0030-0031], discloses a policy that applies to transformation of data, specifying data in a specific format, to produce a different representation of data, such as a social security number (predefined data object) being replaced with hash value returned by a hash function).
Regarding claims 23, 31, and 39, Mason/Pascale/Amit teaches a method of claim 21, apparatus of claim 29, and system of claim 37.
Mason further teaches wherein generating the transformed snapshot portion further comprises: identifying the one or more data objects within the portion of the stored snapshot that match a predefined data object specified in the access policy (see Fig. 6, col. 4 ln 4-13, col. 7 ln 24-32, col. 8 ln 4-10, discloses identifying URI that match a root element of structured data); and creating modified versions of the one or more data objects within the portion of the stored snapshot that match the predefined data object by applying the transformation to apply to the predefined data object (see Figs. 5-6, col. 8 ln 4-13, discloses creating versioned file system with complete integrity to the data store).
Regarding claims 24 and 32, Mason/Pascale/Amit teaches a method of claim 21 and an apparatus of claim 29.
Mason further teaches storing, within the cloud-based storage system, the transformed snapshot portion (see Fig. 7, Fig. 11, col. 10, ln 26-31, discloses root stored in versioned file system, VFS data structure in cloud storage).
Regarding claims 25 and 33, Mason/Pascale/Amit teaches a method of claim 21 and an apparatus of claim 29.
Mason further teaches storing, within the cloud-based storage system, modified versions of the one or more data objects within the portion of the stored snapshot that match a predefined data object specified in the access policy (see Fig. 11, col. 14 ln 29-33, discloses storing versions in versioned file system cloud storage), without storing, within the cloud-based storage system, an additional copy of data objects within the portion of the stored snapshot that do not match the predefined data object specified in the access policy (see Fig. 9, col. 8 ln 57-60, col. 10 ln43-46, discloses a given volume storing copies of metadata and data at multiple clouds for replication).
Regarding claim 34, Mason/Pascale/Amit teaches an apparatus of claim 29.
Mason further teaches receive a request to access the portion of the snapshot; and in response to receiving the request to access the portion of the snapshot, present the transformed snapshot portion stored within the cloud-based storage system (see Fig. 3, col.15 ln 5-11, discloses receiving request to access to storage cloud data via CCS).
Regarding claim 41, Mason/Pascale/Amit teach a method of claim 21.
Mason/Pascale do not explicitly teach generating the transformed snapshot portion in response to the request to access the portion of the snapshot.
Amit teaches generating the transformed snapshot portion in response to the request to access the portion of the snapshot (see Figs. 4-5B, para [0045], para [0048-0049], discloses generating corresponding instance (transformed snapshot portion) in response to access-related request regarding a certain logical data object).
Claims 27-28, 35-36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason in view of Pascale and Amit as applied to claims 21, 29, and 37, and in further view of Arumugam et al. (US 2017/0171246) (hereinafter Arumugam).
Regarding claims 27, 35, and 40, Mason/Pascale/Amit teaches a method of claim 21, apparatus of claim 29, and system of claim 37.
Mason/Pascale/Amit does not explicitly teach wherein the access policy indicates types of information that are to be made inaccessible
Arumugam teaches wherein the access policy indicates types of information that are to be made inaccessible (see para [0040-0043], discloses policies specifying data that should be masked, such as social security number and data of birth).
Mason/Pascale/Amit/Arumugam are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason/Pascale/Amit to indicate types of information that is made inaccessible from disclosure of Arumugam. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Arumugam as “can provide an additional layer of privacy for user data stored in the file system” (para [0009]) and indicate types of information that is made inaccessible is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 28 and 36, Mason/Pascale/Amit teaches a method of claim 21 and an apparatus of claim 29.
Mason/Pascale/Amit does not explicitly teach wherein applying the access policy to the one or more data objects to generate the transformed snapshot portion further comprises masking types of information that are to be made inaccessible.
Arumugam teaches wherein applying the access policy to the one or more data objects to generate the transformed snapshot portion further comprises masking types of information that are to be made inaccessible (see para [0040-0046], discloses applying access policy to portions of data to be masked).
Mason/Pascale/Amit/Arumugam are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mason/Pascale/Amit to indicate types of information that is made inaccessible from disclosure of Arumugam. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Arumugam as “can provide an additional layer of privacy for user data stored in the file system” (para [0009]) and indicate types of information that is made inaccessible is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Courtney Harmon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159