DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/27/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym, SRI, is not defined within the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 2, 4, 10, 12, 14, 16, and 20, the claims recite the acronym, “Session Initiation Protocol Relay Interface (SRI).” After consulting the written specification and performing a search within the prior art, the examiner cannot ascertain the metes as the bounds of the claim term. Broadly speaking, the applicant utilizes the term within the discloses for Figures 5, 7, and 8, respectively, where SRI is some type of signalling protocol between network devices. Yet, the scope, content, and purpose of such a protocol and its signalling escapes a reader. Indeed, only cursory mention is made of the protocol, which yields differentiating the claim from the prior art impossible. A reader is left to wonder what, if any, scope SRI embodies, leaving the reader with significant ambiguity as to the metes and bounds of the term. Therefore, the term is indefinite. See MPEP §§ 2111.01(IV)(A) and 2173.02(II).
As per claims 9-12, independent claim 9 is directed toward a machine (i.e., a terminal, see preamble). The machine is defined as operating within a wireless communication system (see lines 6 and 7), but the claim itself is directed toward the machine. However, the scope of the machine claim is unclear, as lines 10-12 of the claim define parts of the wireless communication system, rather than the terminal. It is unclear whether these elements (see lines 10-12) reside within the terminal or outside of the terminal, rendering the scope of the claim to be indefinite. A radio frequency unit is common within the art, such that its placement (i.e., in the terminal or not) is unclear, whereas the core network cluster would be readily understood as not within a terminal, rendering the scope and the meaning of the limitation to be unclear. Dependent claims 10-12 fail to cure these deficiencies. Therefore, the claims are indefinite. See MPEP §§ 2111.01(IV)(A) and 2173.02(II).
As per claims 13-20, independent claim 13 is directed toward a machine (i.e., a network side device, see preamble). The machine is defined as operating within a wireless communication system (see preamble), but the claim itself is directed toward the machine. However, the scope of the machine claim is unclear, as lines 10-12 of the claim define parts of the wireless communication system, rather than the network side device. It is unclear whether these elements (see lines 10-12) reside within the network side device or outside of the network side device, rendering the scope of the claim to be indefinite. A radio frequency unit is common within the art, such that its placement (i.e., in the network device or not) is unclear, whereas the core network cluster would be readily understood as possibly being within a network side device, rendering the scope and the meaning of the limitation to be unclear. Dependent claims 14-20 fail to cure these deficiencies. Therefore, the claims are indefinite. See MPEP §§ 2111.01(IV)(A) and 2173.02(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP (TR 38.801 V14.0.0, cited on IDS dated 12/27/2023).
As per claim 1, A wireless communication method, applied in a terminal [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, The section applies to managing QoS for transmissions between a terminal (or UE) and a network. A UE is readily understood as containing a transceiver, processor, memory, and software for performing its functions.], the method comprising:
transmitting, via a first interface with a control plane unit cluster in a wireless communication system, a control plane message with the control plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “Note 5: NG1 (defined in TR 23.799 [6]) is a reference point for the control plane between UE and NGC”, NG1 is a signalling interface between a UE (or terminal) and CP functions of the wireless communication system. Multiple CP functions are interpreted as a cluster. The figure shows NAS signalling between the UE and the CP functions. See also section 7.3.3 (pg. 17) for NAS signalling.]; and
transmitting, via a second interface with a user plane unit cluster in the wireless communication system, user data with the user plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9. 1, pg. 42, bullet 3, Fig. 9.1-3, “User plane marking for QoS is carried in encapsulation header on NG-U”, The UE has a separate signalling plane, via a userplane (see figure) to communicate with the UP functions (or user plane cluster) of the wireless communication system. See also section 7.3.7 (pgs. 25 and 26) for user plane.],
wherein the wireless communication system comprises a radio frequency unit [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “New RAN”, A RAN performing signalling with a UE contains a radio frequency unit] and a core network cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, See box around CP functions and UP functions.], and the core network cluster comprises the control plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, CP functions are centralized as a cluster within the core network (see also section 11.2.1, pgs. 70 and 71), which may be achieved via virtualization (see also section 11.3, pg. 75).] and the user plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, UP functions are centralized as a cluster within the core network (see also section 11.2.1, pgs. 70 and 71), which may be achieved via virtualization (see also section 11.3, pg. 75). User plane functions may be scaled as needed (section 11.2.1, bullet 4).].
As per claim 3, The wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein the control plane message comprises at least one of: an NAS message [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “Note 5: NG1 (defined in TR 23.799 [6]) is a reference point for the control plane between UE and NGC”, NG1 is a signalling interface between a UE (or terminal) and CP functions of the wireless communication system. Multiple CP functions are interpreted as a cluster. The figure shows NAS signalling between the UE and the CP functions. See also section 7.3.3 (pg. 17) for NAS signalling.], signaling for access management, signaling for mobility management, signaling for network radio resource management, or radio bearer control signaling for a user packet data unit.
As per claim 9, 3GPP teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when loaded and executed by the processor, implements a wireless communication method [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, The section applies to managing QoS for transmissions between a terminal (or UE) and a network. A UE is readily understood as containing a transceiver, processor, memory, and software for performing its functions.], comprising:
transmitting, via a first interface with a control plane unit cluster in a wireless communication system, a control plane message with the control plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “Note 5: NG1 (defined in TR 23.799 [6]) is a reference point for the control plane between UE and NGC”, NG1 is a signalling interface between a UE (or terminal) and CP functions of the wireless communication system. Multiple CP functions are interpreted as a cluster. The figure shows NAS signalling between the UE and the CP functions. See also section 7.3.3 (pg. 17) for NAS signalling.]; and
transmitting, via a second interface with a user plane unit cluster in the wireless communication system, user data with the user plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9. 1, pg. 42, bullet 3, Fig. 9.1-3, “User plane marking for QoS is carried in encapsulation header on NG-U”, The UE has a separate signalling plane, via a userplane (see figure) to communicate with the UP functions (or user plane cluster) of the wireless communication system. See also section 7.3.7 (pgs. 25 and 26) for user plane.],
wherein the wireless communication system comprises a radio frequency unit [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “New RAN”, A RAN performing signalling with a UE contains a radio frequency unit] and a core network cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, See box around CP functions and UP functions.], and the core network cluster comprises the control plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, CP functions are centralized as a cluster within the core network (see also section 11.2.1, pgs. 70 and 71), which may be achieved via virtualization (see also section 11.3, pg. 75).] and the user plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, UP functions are centralized as a cluster within the core network (see also section 11.2.1, pgs. 70 and 71), which may be achieved via virtualization (see also section 11.3, pg. 75). User plane functions may be scaled as needed (section 11.2.1, bullet 4).].
As per claim 11, 3GPP teaches the terminal according to claim 9. 3GPP also teaches wherein the control plane message comprises at least one of: an NAS message [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “Note 5: NG1 (defined in TR 23.799 [6]) is a reference point for the control plane between UE and NGC”, NG1 is a signalling interface between a UE (or terminal) and CP functions of the wireless communication system. Multiple CP functions are interpreted as a cluster. The figure shows NAS signalling between the UE and the CP functions. See also section 7.3.3 (pg. 17) for NAS signalling.], signaling for access management, signaling for mobility management, signaling for network radio resource management, or radio bearer control signaling for a user packet data unit.
As per claim 13, 3GPP teaches a network side device in a wireless communication system, comprising: a processor; and a memory having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when loaded and executed by the processor, implements a wireless communication method [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, The section applies to managing QoS for transmissions between a terminal (or UE) and a network. A network device is readily understood as containing a transceiver, processor, memory, and software for performing its functions.], comprising:
transmitting, via a first interface between a control plane unit cluster and a terminal, a control plane message with the terminal [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “Note 5: NG1 (defined in TR 23.799 [6]) is a reference point for the control plane between UE and NGC”, NG1 is a signalling interface between a UE (or terminal) and CP functions of the wireless communication system. Multiple CP functions are interpreted as a cluster. The figure shows NAS signalling between the UE and the CP functions. See also section 7.3.3 (pg. 17) for NAS signalling.]; and
transmitting, via a second interface between a user plane unit cluster and the terminal, user data with the terminal [3GPP, section 9. 1, pg. 42, bullet 3, Fig. 9.1-3, “User plane marking for QoS is carried in encapsulation header on NG-U”, The UE has a separate signalling plane, via a userplane (see figure) to communicate with the UP functions (or user plane cluster) of the wireless communication system. See also section 7.3.7 (pgs. 25 and 26) for user plane.],
wherein the wireless communication system comprises a radio frequency unit [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “New RAN”, A RAN performing signalling with a UE contains a radio frequency unit] and a core network cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, See box around CP functions and UP functions.], and the core network cluster comprises the control plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, CP functions are centralized as a cluster within the core network (see also section 11.2.1, pgs. 70 and 71), which may be achieved via virtualization (see also section 11.3, pg. 75).] and the user plane unit cluster [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, UP functions are centralized as a cluster within the core network (see also section 11.2.1, pgs. 70 and 71), which may be achieved via virtualization (see also section 11.3, pg. 75). User plane functions may be scaled as needed (section 11.2.1, bullet 4).].
As per claim 15, 3GPP teaches the network side device according to claim 13. 3GPP also teaches wherein the control plane message comprises at least one of: an NAS message [3GPP, section 9.1, pg. 42, Fig. 9.1-3, “Note 5: NG1 (defined in TR 23.799 [6]) is a reference point for the control plane between UE and NGC”, NG1 is a signalling interface between a UE (or terminal) and CP functions of the wireless communication system. Multiple CP functions are interpreted as a cluster. The figure shows NAS signalling between the UE and the CP functions. See also section 7.3.3 (pg. 17) for NAS signalling.], signaling for access management, signaling for mobility management, signaling for network radio resource management, or radio bearer control signaling for a user packet data unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 10, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (TR 38.801 V14.0.0, cited on IDS dated 12/27/2023) in view of Ryu et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0396000).
As per claim 2, 3GPP teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises a Non Access Stratum Session Management (NAS-SM) protocol, an NAS Mobility Management (NAS-MM) protocol, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP), and a New Radio Physical layer (NR-PHY) protocol; and a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises an NAS-SM protocol, an NAS-MM protocol, an RRC protocol, a PDCP Control Plane (PDCP-CP), and a Session Initiation Protocol Relay Interface (SRI) protocol.
However, in an analogous art, Ryu et al. teach a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises a Non Access Stratum Session Management (NAS-SM) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “NAS-SM”, ¶ 0212], an NAS Mobility Management (NAS-MM) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “NAS-MM”, ¶ 0212], a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP), and a New Radio Physical layer (NR-PHY) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing RRC, PDCP, and a NR Physical Layer.]; and
a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises an NAS-SM protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “NAS-SM”, ¶ 0212], an NAS-MM protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “NAS-MM”, ¶ 0212], an RRC protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2”, The N2 signalling interface carries RRC messaging (see ¶ 0066).], a PDCP Control Plane (PDCP-CP) [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “L2”, PDCP is recognized in the art as being as standard layer two protocol within 5G.], and a Session Initiation Protocol Relay Interface (SRI) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2” and “NG-AP”, Given the ambiguity of the term (see 112 rejection), NG-AP (NG Application Protocol) is deemed as sufficient for the limitation.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 4, 3GPP teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a Packet Data Unit (PDU) protocol, a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), a PDCP, a Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol, a Media Access Control (MAC) protocol, and an NR-PHY protocol; and a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a PDU protocol, an SDAP, a PDCP User Plane (PDCP-UP), an RLC protocol, an MAC protocol, a PHY protocol, and an SRI protocol.
However, in an analogous art, Ryu et al. teach a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a Packet Data Unit (PDU) protocol, a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), a PDCP, a Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol, a Media Access Control (MAC) protocol, and an NR-PHY protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.]; and
a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a PDU protocol, an SDAP, a PDCP User Plane (PDCP-UP), an RLC protocol, an MAC protocol, a PHY protocol, and an SRI protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, Access Network, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, 3GPP teaches the terminal according to claim 9. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises a Non Access Stratum Session Management (NAS-SM) protocol, an NAS Mobility Management (NAS-MM) protocol, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP), and a New Radio Physical layer (NR-PHY) protocol; and a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises an NAS-SM protocol, an NAS-MM protocol, an RRC protocol, a PDCP Control Plane (PDCP-CP), and a Session Initiation Protocol Relay Interface (SRI) protocol.
However, in an analogous art, Ryu et al. teach a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises a Non Access Stratum Session Management (NAS-SM) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “NAS-SM”, ¶ 0212], an NAS Mobility Management (NAS-MM) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “NAS-MM”, ¶ 0212], a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP), and a New Radio Physical layer (NR-PHY) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing RRC, PDCP, and a NR Physical Layer.]; and
a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises an NAS-SM protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “NAS-SM”, ¶ 0212], an NAS-MM protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “NAS-MM”, ¶ 0212], an RRC protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2”, The N2 signalling interface carries RRC messaging (see ¶ 0066).], a PDCP Control Plane (PDCP-CP) [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “L2”, PDCP is recognized in the art as being as standard layer two protocol within 5G.], and a Session Initiation Protocol Relay Interface (SRI) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2” and “NG-AP”, Given the ambiguity of the term (see 112 rejection), NG-AP (NG Application Protocol) is deemed as sufficient for the limitation.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 12, 3GPP teaches the terminal according to claim 9. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a Packet Data Unit (PDU) protocol, a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), a PDCP, a Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol, a Media Access Control (MAC) protocol, and an NR-PHY protocol; and a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a PDU protocol, an SDAP, a PDCP User Plane (PDCP-UP), an RLC protocol, an MAC protocol, a PHY protocol, and an SRI protocol.
However, in an analogous art, Ryu et al. teach a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a Packet Data Unit (PDU) protocol, a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), a PDCP, a Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol, a Media Access Control (MAC) protocol, and an NR-PHY protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.]; and
a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a PDU protocol, an SDAP, a PDCP User Plane (PDCP-UP), an RLC protocol, an MAC protocol, a PHY protocol, and an SRI protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, Access Network, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, 3GPP teaches the network side device according to claim 13. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises a Non Access Stratum Session Management (NAS-SM) protocol, an NAS Mobility Management (NAS-MM) protocol, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP), and a New Radio Physical layer (NR-PHY) protocol; and a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises an NAS-SM protocol, an NAS-MM protocol, an RRC protocol, a PDCP Control Plane (PDCP-CP), and a Session Initiation Protocol Relay Interface (SRI) protocol.
However, in an analogous art, Ryu et al. teach a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises a Non Access Stratum Session Management (NAS-SM) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “NAS-SM”, ¶ 0212], an NAS Mobility Management (NAS-MM) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “NAS-MM”, ¶ 0212], a Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP), and a New Radio Physical layer (NR-PHY) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing RRC, PDCP, and a NR Physical Layer.]; and
a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the first interface comprises an NAS-SM protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “NAS-SM”, ¶ 0212], an NAS-MM protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “NAS-MM”, ¶ 0212], an RRC protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2”, The N2 signalling interface carries RRC messaging (see ¶ 0066).], a PDCP Control Plane (PDCP-CP) [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “L2”, PDCP is recognized in the art as being as standard layer two protocol within 5G.], and a Session Initiation Protocol Relay Interface (SRI) protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2” and “NG-AP”, Given the ambiguity of the term (see 112 rejection), NG-AP (NG Application Protocol) is deemed as sufficient for the limitation.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 16, 3GPP teaches the network side device according to claim 13. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a Packet Data Unit (PDU) protocol, a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), a PDCP, a Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol, a Media Access Control (MAC) protocol, and an NR-PHY protocol; and a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a PDU protocol, an SDAP, a PDCP User Plane (PDCP-UP), an RLC protocol, an MAC protocol, a PHY protocol, and an SRI protocol.
However, in an analogous art, Ryu et al. teach a user-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a Packet Data Unit (PDU) protocol, a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), a PDCP, a Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol, a Media Access Control (MAC) protocol, and an NR-PHY protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, UE, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.]; and
a network-side protocol stack corresponding to the second interface comprises a PDU protocol, an SDAP, a PDCP User Plane (PDCP-UP), an RLC protocol, an MAC protocol, a PHY protocol, and an SRI protocol [Ryu, fig. 23, Access Network, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 5, 6, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (TR 38.801 V14.0.0, cited on IDS dated 12/27/2023) in view of Hegde et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0408353) and Ryu et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0396000).
As per claim 5, 3GPP teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: the control plane unit cluster comprises a centralized control plane fusion unit; the first interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the centralized control plane fusion unit; and the centralized control plane fusion unit comprises an RRC function, a PDCP-CP function, and an access and mobility management function.
However, in an analogous art, Hegde et al. teach the control plane unit cluster comprises a centralized control plane fusion unit [Hedge, ¶ 0030, “In the example shown in FIG. 2, each DU VNF 205, CU-CP VNF 208, CU-UP VNF 210, AMF 212, SMF 214, and UPF 216 is implemented as a software virtualized entity that is executed in the scalable cloud environment 220 on a cloud worker node under the control of the cloud native software executing on that cloud worker node”, The AMF (see fig. 2, element 212) also ¶ 0026), SMF (see element 214), and orchestrator (see element 218) handle control plane functions (as a control plane cluster) and interacts with the CU-CP VNF (see element 208, see ¶ 0031). The central cloud may be a scalable cloud environment, with fused virtualized functions.];
the first interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the centralized control plane fusion unit [Hedge, ¶ 0025, “Each CU-CP is implemented as a CU-CP VNF 208 and each CU-UP is implemented as a CU-UP VNF 210 and, as the name implies, are centralized and deployed in the edge cloud 217. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the CU (including the CU-CP VNF 208 and CU-UP VNFs 210) and the entities used to implement it are communicatively coupled to each DU VNF 205 served by the CU over a midhaul network (for example, a network that supports the Internet Protocol (IP))”, The CU-CP handles the interface between the DU (which receives signals from the UE) and the central cloud.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture of Hegde et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Hegde et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, in another analogous art, Ryu et al. teach the centralized control plane fusion unit comprises an RRC function [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2”, The N2 signalling interface carries RRC messaging (see ¶ 0066).], a PDCP-CP function [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “L2”, PDCP is recognized in the art as being as standard layer two protocol within 5G.], and an access and mobility management function [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “L2”, PDCP is recognized in the art as being as standard layer two protocol within 5G.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into the combination of 3GPP and Hedge. One would have been motivated to do this because the combination of 3GPP and Hedge et al. shows a network architecture, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known signalling within said network architecture, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 6, 3GPP teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: the user plane unit cluster comprises a Distributed Unit (DU) and a centralized user plane fusion unit; the second interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the DU; and the centralized user plane fusion unit comprises a PDCP-UP function, an SDAP function, and a User Plane Function (UPF).
However, in an analogous art, Hegde et al. teach the user plane unit cluster comprises a Distributed Unit (DU) and a centralized user plane fusion unit [Hegde, ¶ 0021, “the 5G network 200 includes a virtualized 5G gNB 201 that is partitioned into one or more central units (CUs), which is composed of one CU-CP virtual network function 208 and one or more CU-UP virtual network functions 210, one or more distributed units (DUs), which are composed of one or more DU virtual network functions 205, and one or more radio units (RUs) 206. In this example, the virtualized 5G gNB 201 is configured so that each CU (including CU-CP VNF 208 and CU-UP VNFs 210) is configured to serve one or more DUs (including DU VNFs 205), and each DU is configured to serve one or more RUs 206”, The UPF (see element 216 within the central cloud and ¶ 0020) may also be virtualized in a centralized location and handle user plane functions. Through virtualization, multiple instances may be spun up to handle network needs in a fused manner (see ¶s 0026 and 0030). The UPF further interacts with the DU 205 for receiving signals from the UE (see fig. 2).];
the second interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the DU [Hegde, ¶ 0032, “the UE 207 is the source UE for packets and the peer application 222 is the destination for packets. Thus, in the 5G network 200, the user plane data, in the uplink, has to traverse a path that starts at an application and then proceeds sequentially to the UE 207, the DU VNF 205”, The DU interfaces with the UE via the RU.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture of Hegde et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Hegde et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, in another analogous art, Ryu et al. teach the centralized user plane fusion unit comprises a PDCP-UP function, an SDAP function, and a User Plane Function (UPF) [Ryu, fig. 23, Access Network, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into the combination of 3GPP and Hedge. One would have been motivated to do this because the combination of 3GPP and Hedge et al. shows a network architecture, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known signalling within said network architecture, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 17, 3GPP teaches the network side device according to claim 13. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: the control plane unit cluster comprises a centralized control plane fusion unit; the first interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the centralized control plane fusion unit; and the centralized control plane fusion unit comprises an RRC function, a PDCP-CP function, and an access and mobility management function.
However, in an analogous art, Hegde et al. teach the control plane unit cluster comprises a centralized control plane fusion unit [Hedge, ¶ 0030, “In the example shown in FIG. 2, each DU VNF 205, CU-CP VNF 208, CU-UP VNF 210, AMF 212, SMF 214, and UPF 216 is implemented as a software virtualized entity that is executed in the scalable cloud environment 220 on a cloud worker node under the control of the cloud native software executing on that cloud worker node”, The AMF (see fig. 2, element 212) also ¶ 0026), SMF (see element 214), and orchestrator (see element 218) handle control plane functions (as a control plane cluster) and interacts with the CU-CP VNF (see element 208, see ¶ 0031). The central cloud may be a scalable cloud environment, with fused virtualized functions.];
the first interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the centralized control plane fusion unit [Hedge, ¶ 0025, “Each CU-CP is implemented as a CU-CP VNF 208 and each CU-UP is implemented as a CU-UP VNF 210 and, as the name implies, are centralized and deployed in the edge cloud 217. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the CU (including the CU-CP VNF 208 and CU-UP VNFs 210) and the entities used to implement it are communicatively coupled to each DU VNF 205 served by the CU over a midhaul network (for example, a network that supports the Internet Protocol (IP))”, The CU-CP handles the interface between the DU (which receives signals from the UE) and the central cloud.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture of Hegde et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Hegde et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, in another analogous art, Ryu et al. teach the centralized control plane fusion unit comprises an RRC function [Ryu, fig. 23, “N2”, The N2 signalling interface carries RRC messaging (see ¶ 0066).], a PDCP-CP function [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “L2”, PDCP is recognized in the art as being as standard layer two protocol within 5G.], and an access and mobility management function [Ryu, fig. 23, AMF, “L2”, PDCP is recognized in the art as being as standard layer two protocol within 5G.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into the combination of 3GPP and Hedge. One would have been motivated to do this because the combination of 3GPP and Hedge et al. shows a network architecture, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known signalling within said network architecture, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, 3GPP teaches the network side device according to claim 13. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein: the user plane unit cluster comprises a Distributed Unit (DU) and a centralized user plane fusion unit; the second interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the DU; and the centralized user plane fusion unit comprises a PDCP-UP function, an SDAP function, and a User Plane Function (UPF).
However, in an analogous art, Hegde et al. teach the user plane unit cluster comprises a Distributed Unit (DU) and a centralized user plane fusion unit [Hegde, ¶ 0021, “the 5G network 200 includes a virtualized 5G gNB 201 that is partitioned into one or more central units (CUs), which is composed of one CU-CP virtual network function 208 and one or more CU-UP virtual network functions 210, one or more distributed units (DUs), which are composed of one or more DU virtual network functions 205, and one or more radio units (RUs) 206. In this example, the virtualized 5G gNB 201 is configured so that each CU (including CU-CP VNF 208 and CU-UP VNFs 210) is configured to serve one or more DUs (including DU VNFs 205), and each DU is configured to serve one or more RUs 206”, The UPF (see element 216 within the central cloud and ¶ 0020) may also be virtualized in a centralized location and handle user plane functions. Through virtualization, multiple instances may be spun up to handle network needs in a fused manner (see ¶s 0026 and 0030). The UPF further interacts with the DU 205 for receiving signals from the UE (see fig. 2).];
the second interface comprises an interface between the terminal and the DU [Hegde, ¶ 0032, “the UE 207 is the source UE for packets and the peer application 222 is the destination for packets. Thus, in the 5G network 200, the user plane data, in the uplink, has to traverse a path that starts at an application and then proceeds sequentially to the UE 207, the DU VNF 205”, The DU interfaces with the UE via the RU.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture of Hegde et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Hegde et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, in another analogous art, Ryu et al. teach the centralized user plane fusion unit comprises a PDCP-UP function, an SDAP function, and a User Plane Function (UPF) [Ryu, fig. 23, Access Network, “5G Access Layer”, ¶ 0212, 5G Access Layer is understood within the art as containing PDU, SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and NR-PHY.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture and signalling of Ryu et al. into the combination of 3GPP and Hedge. One would have been motivated to do this because the combination of 3GPP and Hedge et al. shows a network architecture, whereas Ryu et al. further expands on known signalling within said network architecture, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (TR 38.801 V14.0.0, cited on IDS dated 12/27/2023) in view of Hegde et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0408353) and Ryu et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0396000).
As per claim 7, 3GPP teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein the second interface is configured to perform at least one of the following transmission functions of: transmitting user data to a DU for demodulation and decoding by the DU; transmitting a PDU of a user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the PDU to a centralized user plane fusion unit; and transmitting a Session Data Unit (SDU) of the user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the SDU to the centralized user plane fusion unit
However, in an analogous art, Hedge et al. teach transmitting a PDU of a user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the PDU to a centralized user plane fusion unit [Hegde, ¶ 0019, “In 5G networks, user plane data has to traverse a defined path. In the uplink, the path starts at an application and then proceeds sequentially from the UE to the DU, the CU-UP, a UPF, an application server, and a peer application. In the downlink, the path starts at the peer application and then proceeds sequentially to the application server, the UPF, the CU-UP, the DU, the UE, and the application. The user plane data has to traverse this path irrespective of the locality of the application, application server, and the peer application, and this path determines the latency for the packets from source to destination”, The UPF may be placed to allow exchange of PDUs from a UE via to DU to a core network function.]; and transmitting a Session Data Unit (SDU) of the user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the SDU to the centralized user plane fusion unit.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture of Hegde et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Hegde et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 19, 3GPP teaches the network side device according to claim 13. 3GPP does not explicitly teach wherein the second interface is configured to perform at least one of the following transmission functions of: transmitting user data to a DU for demodulation and decoding by the DU; transmitting a PDU of a user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the PDU to a centralized user plane fusion unit; and transmitting a Session Data Unit (SDU) of the user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the SDU to the centralized user plane fusion unit.
However, in an analogous art, Hedge et al. teach transmitting a PDU of a user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the PDU to a centralized user plane fusion unit [Hegde, ¶ 0019, “In 5G networks, user plane data has to traverse a defined path. In the uplink, the path starts at an application and then proceeds sequentially from the UE to the DU, the CU-UP, a UPF, an application server, and a peer application. In the downlink, the path starts at the peer application and then proceeds sequentially to the application server, the UPF, the CU-UP, the DU, the UE, and the application. The user plane data has to traverse this path irrespective of the locality of the application, application server, and the peer application, and this path determines the latency for the packets from source to destination”, The UPF may be placed to allow exchange of PDUs from a UE via to DU to a core network function.]; and transmitting a Session Data Unit (SDU) of the user to the DU, for the DU to transmit the SDU to the centralized user plane fusion unit.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network architecture of Hegde et al. into 3GPP. One would have been motivated to do this because 3GPP lays out the generic architecture for UP and CP signalling, whereas Hegde et al. further expands on known structure within the logical diagrams of 3GPP, and combining such teachings would be operable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0189208), teaches an aggregated CPF node containing an AMF and SMF (see at least fig. 2).
The reference, Yang et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0153095), teaches aggregating core network functions to service a URLLC environment (see at least fig. 3).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417