DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/397,157 filed on 03/03/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-15, 17, and 18-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S 20240333582, Oct. 3, 2024) in view of Huang et al. (US 20230130514, Apr. 27, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Song discloses a first DBNG user plane device that is an active DBNG user plane device for a subscriber group (SGRP), a first message indicating that the first DBNG user plane device is to be a backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP),
sending, by the DBNG control plane device(page 4, par(0068), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP replies a PFCP Node Report Response message(sending by the DBNG status report), and notifies the status information (e.g. standby) of the protection group member to the DBNG-UP2), and to a second DBNG user plane device that is the backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP, a second message indicating that the second DBNG user plane device is to be the active DBNG user plane device for the SGRP(page 4, par(0070), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP triggers protection switching according to the received failure information, and notifies, by replying the PFCP Node Report Response message, the DBNG-UP2 (second DBNG) that the status of the protection group member is switched to active, notifies the DBNG-UP2 that the status of the protection group member is switched to active UP members(wherein second DBNG user plane device for the SGRP)); and
causing, by the DBNG control plane device and based on the first message and the second message, the first DBNG user plane device to be offlined(page 1-2, par(0015-0022), line 1-20, a PFCP node reporting the failure information of the first DBNG-UP, and to notify the status information of the redundancy group members the failure information of the first DBNG-UP is reported by a PFCP node report request message(first message), and the status information of the redundancy group members is notified by a PFCP node report response message(wherein the response message is a second message), wherein redundancy group members managed by the DBNG-CP at least include a first DBNG-UP and a second DBNG-UP; and an negotiation module, configured to perform, by the DBNG-CP, UP redundancy capability negotiation with the first DBNG-UP and the second DBNG-UP respectively, to complete active/standby election between the first DBNGUP and the second DBNG-UP(wherein standby election of the DBNG to be active of offlined)).
Song discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending, by a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device.
Huang is the same field of invention teaches sending, by a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device (page 4, par (0073), line 1-10, a forwarding plane of a broadband access system (DBNG) transmits a public network address range allocate request to a control plane via a control interface channel between the forwarding plane and the control plane, where the public network address range allocate request is used for applying to the control plane for a public network address range).
Song and Huang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sending, by a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device the teaching of Song to include the public network address range allocate request is used for applying to the control plane for a public network address range teaching of Huang because it is providing carrier grade network address translation and applied to a forwarding plane of a forwarding and control separated broadband access system.
Regarding Claim 3, Song discloses the SGRP is a track-logical-port (TLP) SGRP (page 5, par (0094), line 1-5, a Logical Port IE is used to perform detection of physical port or logical port status and IP accessibility detection, etc.).
Regarding Claim 4, Song discloses each of the first message and the second message is an SGRP modify message(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(second modified message) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 6, Song discloses sending, after sending the first message and the second message, and to the first DBNG user plane device, a third message indicating that the first DBNG user plane device is to be offlined(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP(offlined DBNG user plane device), and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 8, Song discloses a first DBNG user plane device that is an active DBNG user plane device for a subscriber group (SGRP), a first message indicating that the first DBNG user plane device is to be a backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP),
sending, by the DBNG control plane device(page 4, par(0068), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP replies a PFCP Node Report Response message(sending by the DBNG status report), and notifies the status information (e.g. standby) of the protection group member to the DBNG-UP2), and to a second DBNG user plane device that is the backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP, a second message indicating that the second DBNG user plane device is to be the active DBNG user plane device for the SGRP(page 4, par(0070), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP triggers protection switching according to the received failure information, and notifies, by replying the PFCP Node Report Response message, the DBNG-UP2 (second DBNG) that the status of the protection group member is switched to active, notifies the DBNG-UP2 that the status of the protection group member is switched to active UP members(wherein second DBNG user plane device for the SGRP)); and
wherein the one or more instructions, to cause, by the DBNG control plane device and based on the first message and the second message, the first DBNG user plane device to be offlined(page 1-2, par(0015-0022), line 1-20, a PFCP node reporting the failure information of the first DBNG-UP, and to notify the status information of the redundancy group members the failure information of the first DBNG-UP is reported by a PFCP node report request message(first message), and the status information of the redundancy group members is notified by a PFCP node report response message(wherein the response message is a second message), wherein redundancy group members managed by the DBNG-CP at least include a first DBNG-UP and a second DBNG-UP; and an negotiation module, configured to perform, by the DBNG-CP, UP redundancy capability negotiation with the first DBNG-UP and the second DBNG-UP respectively, to complete active/standby election between the first DBNGUP and the second DBNG-UP(wherein standby election of the DBNG to be active of offlined)).
Song discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending, by a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device.
Huang is the same field of invention teaches sending, by a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device (page 4, par (0073), line 1-10, a forwarding plane of a broadband access system (DBNG) transmits a public network address range allocate request to a control plane via a control interface channel between the forwarding plane and the control plane, where the public network address range allocate request is used for applying to the control plane for a public network address range).
Song and Huang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sending, by a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device the teaching of Song to include the public network address range allocate request is used for applying to the control plane for a public network address range teaching of Huang because it is providing carrier grade network address translation and applied to a forwarding plane of a forwarding and control separated broadband access system.
Regarding Claim 9, Song discloses the one or more instructions, to cause the DBNG user plane device to cause the role of the DBNG user plane device for the SGRP to change cause the role of the DBNG user plane device for the SGRP to change from an active role to a backup role(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 10, Song discloses the one or more instructions, to cause the DBNG user plane device to cause the role of the DBNG user plane device for the SGRP to change cause a logical port of the DBNG user plane device that is associated with the SGRP to have a backup state(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 11, Song discloses the one or more instructions, to cause the DBNG user plane device to cause the role of the DBNG user plane device for the SGRP to change cause the role of the DBNG user plane device for the SGRP to change from a backup role to an active role(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 12, Song discloses the one or more instructions, to cause the DBNG user plane device to cause the role of the DBNG user plane device for the SGRP to change cause a logical port of the DBNG user plane device that is associated with the SGRP to have an active state(page 4, par(0070), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP triggers protection switching according to the received failure information, and notifies, by replying the PFCP Node Report Response message, the DBNG-UP2 (second DBNG) that the status of the protection group member is switched to active, notifies the DBNG-UP2 that the status of the protection group member is switched to active UP members(wherein second DBNG user plane device for the SGRP)).
Regarding Claim 13, Song discloses the SGRP is a track-logical-port (TLP) SGRP (page 5, par (0094), line 1-5, a Logical Port IE is used to perform detection of physical port or logical port status and IP accessibility detection, etc.).
Regarding Claim 14, Song discloses the message is an SGRP modify message(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(second modified message) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 15, Song discloses the one or more instructions further cause the DBNG user plane device to send, based on causing the role of the DBNG user plane device for the SGRP to change, an acknowledgement message(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 17, Song discloses a first message indicating that the first DBNG user plane device is to cease having an active role for a subscriber group (SGRP) and is to have a backup role for the SGRP(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP);
send, to a second DBNG user plane device (page 4, par (0068), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP replies a PFCP Node Report Response message (sending by the DBNG status report), and notifies the status information (e.g. standby) of the protection group member to the DBNG-UP2), a second message indicating the second DBNG user plane device is to cease having a backup role for the SGRP and is to have an active role for the SGRP(page 4, par(0070), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP triggers protection switching according to the received failure information, and notifies, by replying the PFCP Node Report Response message, the DBNG-UP2 (second DBNG) that the status of the protection group member is switched to active, notifies the DBNG-UP2 that the status of the protection group member is switched to active UP members(wherein second DBNG user plane device for the SGRP));
and cause, based on the first message and the second message, the first DBNG user plane device to be offlined(page 1-2, par(0015-0022), line 1-20, a PFCP node reporting the failure information of the first DBNG-UP, and to notify the status information of the redundancy group members the failure information of the first DBNG-UP is reported by a PFCP node report request message(first message), and the status information of the redundancy group members is notified by a PFCP node report response message(wherein the response message is a second message), wherein redundancy group members managed by the DBNG-CP at least include a first DBNG-UP and a second DBNG-UP; and an negotiation module, configured to perform, by the DBNG-CP, UP redundancy capability negotiation with the first DBNG-UP and the second DBNG-UP respectively, to complete active/standby election between the first DBNGUP and the second DBNG-UP(wherein standby election of the DBNG to be active of offlined)).
Song discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device, comprising one or more memories; and one or more processors to send, to a first DBNG user plane device.
Huang is the same field of invention teaches a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device, comprising one or more memories; and one or more processors to send, to a first DBNG user plane device(page 4, par (0073), line 1-10, a forwarding plane of a broadband access system (DBNG) transmits a public network address range allocate request to a control plane via a control interface channel between the forwarding plane and the control plane, where the public network address range allocate request is used for applying to the control plane for a public network address range).
Song and Huang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sending, by a disaggregated broadband network gateway (DBNG) control plane device the teaching of Song to include the public network address range allocate request is used for applying to the control plane for a public network address range teaching of Huang because it is providing carrier grade network address translation and applied to a forwarding plane of a forwarding and control separated broadband access system.
Regarding Claim 18, Song discloses sending the first message to the first DBNG user plane device causes a first logical port of the first DBNG user plane device that is associated with the SGRP to have a backup state(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP); and sending the second message to the second DBNG user plane device causes a second logical port of the second DBNG user plane device that is associated with the SGRP to have an active state(page 4, par(0070), line 1-10, the DBNG-CP triggers protection switching according to the received failure information, and notifies, by replying the PFCP Node Report Response message, the DBNG-UP2 (second DBNG) that the status of the protection group member is switched to active, notifies the DBNG-UP2 that the status of the protection group member is switched to active UP members(wherein second DBNG user plane device for the SGRP)).
Regarding Claim 19, Song discloses the SGRP is a track-logical-port (TLP) SGRP (page 5, par (0094), line 1-5, a Logical Port IE is used to perform detection of physical port or logical port status and IP accessibility detection, etc.).
Regarding Claim 20, Song discloses the one or more processors are further to send, after sending the first message and the second message, a third message to the first DBNG user plane device to cause the first DBNG user plane device to be offlined(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP(offlined DBNG user plane device), and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP).
Regarding Claim 21, Song discloses the one or more instructions further cause the DBNG user plane device to send an acknowledge message based on receiving the message(page 3, par(0043), line 1-10, when a user plane interface failure occurs in the active DBNG-UP, the DBNG-UP notifies failure information, carries the failure information and reports same to the DBNG-CP, and the DBNG-CP performs protection switching according to a preconfigured UP Redundancy algorithm mechanism, and notifies a new active DBNG-UP(backup DBNG user plane device for the SGRP) to be switched to an active UP).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 5 or 7 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 8 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 5 or 7 are incorporated into the independent claim 8.
Claim 17 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 5 or 7 are incorporated into the independent claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
PENG et al. (US 20230156005, May 18, 2023) teaches Service Processing Method, Apparatus, Device, and System.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464