DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/397,168 filed on 04/11/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notice
Claim 27 would be allowable if (i) claim 30 or 31 are incorporated into the independent claim 27.
Claim 33 would be allowable if (i) claims 36 are incorporated into the independent claim 33.
Claim 38 would be allowable if (i) claims 40 are incorporated into the independent claim 38.
Claim 42 would be allowable if (i) claims 45 are incorporated into the independent claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 27-29, 32-35, 37-39, 41-44 and 46 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YANG (U.S 20250055652, Feb. 13, 2025) in view of Raghavan et al. (US 20220159772, May 19, 2022).
1-26. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 27, YANG discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising receiving, by a wireless device from a network device, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling indicating one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (page 7, par (0158), line 1-10, the plurality of TCI states, that is indicated by sixth information and that is used for the fifth signal, where the sixth information is used for activating or indicating a TCI state, the network has activated a plurality of TCI states by using a MAC CE command before indicating a TCI state by using the first indication information).
YANG discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states.
Raghavan is the same field of invention teaches performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states (page 21, par (0166), line 1-10, Communications between the RAN node (network device) and the UE (wireless device) based on one or more TCI states (performing a communication according to one or more TCI states). A TCI state used to establish a quasi-co-location (QCL) connection between the nodes).
YANG and Raghavan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states the teaching of YANG to include the Communications between the RAN node and the UE based on one or more TCI states teaching of Raghavan because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data or voice connectivity, or both, between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 28, YANG discloses the one or more indicated TCI states is from a subset of one or more TCI states, and wherein the subset of one or more TCI states is activated or selected by another MAC CE signaling(page 13, par (03728), line 1-10, a TCI state that is used for the signal and that is indicated by a tenth command for activating or indicating the TCI states, when a plurality of TCI states are activated by using a MAC CE, the MAC CE further indicates whether each TCI state is used for the signal, and indicates a specific signal for which each TCI state is used, or specific identification information associated
with a signal for which each TCI state is used).
Regarding Claim 29, YANG discloses the subset of one or more TCI states is from a set of one or more TCI states (page 13, par (0372), line 1-10, the MAC CE further indicates whether each TCI state is used for the signal, and indicates a specific signal for which each TCI state is used, or specific identification information associated with a signal for which each TCI state is used).
Regarding Claim 32, YANG discloses apparatus for wireless communication, comprising one or more processors configured to perform the method of claim 27(page 31, par (1021), line 1-3, a communication device, including a processor and a memory).
Regarding Claim 33, YANG discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising receiving, by a wireless device from a network device, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling activating and indicating one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states(page 7, par (0158), line 1-10, the plurality of TCI states, that is indicated by sixth information and that is used for the fifth signal, where the sixth information is used for activating or indicating a TCI state, the network has activated a plurality of TCI states by using a MAC CE command before indicating a TCI state by using the first indication information).
YANG discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more activated and indicated TCI states.
Raghavan is the same field of invention teaches performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more activated and indicated TCI states (page 21, par (0166), line 1-10, Communications between the RAN node (network device) and the UE(wireless device) based on one or more TCI states(performing a communication according to one or more TCI states). A TCI state used to establish a quasi-co-location (QCL) connection between the nodes).
YANG and Raghavan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states the teaching of YANG to include the Communications between the RAN node and the UE based on one or more TCI states teaching of Raghavan because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data or voice connectivity, or both, between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 34, YANG discloses the one or more activated and indicated TCI states is from a set of one or more TCI states (page 13, par (0372), line 1-10, the MAC CE further indicates whether each TCI state is used for the signal, and indicates a specific signal for which each TCI state is used, or specific identification information associated with a signal for which each TCI state is used).
Regarding Claim 35, YANG discloses the set of one or more TCI states is configured by radio resource control, RRC, signaling (page 13, par (0372), line 1-10, the MAC CE further indicates whether each TCI state is used for the signal, and indicates a specific signal for which each TCI state is used).
Regarding Claim 37, YANG discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors configured to perform the method of claim 33(page 31, par (1021), line 1-3, a communication device, including a processor and a memory).
Regarding Claim 38, YANG discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising transmitting, by a network device to a wireless device, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling indicating one or more transmission configuration indication(TCD) states (page 7, par (0158), line 1-10, the plurality of TCI states, that is indicated by sixth information and that is used for the fifth signal, where the sixth information is used for activating or indicating a TCI state, the network has activated a plurality of TCI states by using a MAC CE command before indicating a TCI state by using the first indication information).
YANG discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states.
Raghavan is the same field of invention teaches performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states (page 21, par (0166), line 1-10, Communications between the RAN node (network device) and the UE (wireless device) based on one or more TCI states (performing a communication according to one or more TCI states). A TCI state used to establish a quasi-co-location (QCL) connection between the nodes).
YANG and Raghavan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states the teaching of YANG to include the Communications between the RAN node and the UE based on one or more TCI states teaching of Raghavan because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data or voice connectivity, or both, between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 39, YANG discloses the one or more indicated TCI states is from a subset of one or more TCI states, and wherein the subset of one or more TCI states is activated or selected by another MAC CE signaling, and wherein the subset of one or more TCI states is from a set of one or more TCI states(page 13, par (03728), line 1-10, a TCI state that is used for the signal and that is indicated by a tenth command for activating or indicating the TCI states, when a plurality of TCI states are activated by using a MAC CE, the MAC CE further indicates whether each TCI state is used for the signal, and indicates a specific signal for which each TCI state is used, or specific identification information associated
with a signal for which each TCI state is used).
Regarding Claim 41, YANG discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors configured to perform the method of claim 33(page 31, par (1021), line 1-3, a communication device, including a processor and a memory).
Regarding Claim 42, YANG discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising transmitting, by a network device to a wireless device, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling activating and indicating one or more transmission configuration indication, TCI, states(page 7, par (0158), line 1-10, the plurality of TCI states, that is indicated by sixth information and that is used for the fifth signal, where the sixth information is used for activating or indicating a TCI state, the network has activated a plurality of TCI states by using a MAC CE command before indicating a TCI state by using the first indication information).
YANG discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more activated and indicated TCI states.
Raghavan is the same field of invention teaches performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more activated and indicated TCI states (page 21, par (0166), line 1-10, Communications between the RAN node (network device) and the UE (wireless device) based on one or more TCI states (performing a communication according to one or more TCI states). A TCI state used to establish a quasi-co-location (QCL) connection between the nodes).
YANG and Raghavan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the performing a communication between the wireless device and the network device according to one or more indicated TCI states the teaching of YANG to include the Communications between the RAN node and the UE based on one or more TCI states teaching of Raghavan because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data or voice connectivity, or both, between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 43, YANG discloses the one or more activated and indicated TCI states is from a set of one or more TCI states (page 13, par (0372), line 1-10, the MAC CE further indicates whether each TCI state is used for the signal, and indicates a specific signal for which each TCI state is used, or specific identification information associated with a signal for which each TCI state is used).
Regarding Claim 44, YANG discloses the set of one or more TCI states is configured by radio resource control, RRC, signaling (page 13, par (0372), line 1-10, the MAC CE further indicates whether each TCI state is used for the signal, and indicates a specific signal for which each TCI state is used).
Regarding Claim 46, YANG discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors configured to perform the method of claim 45(page 31, par (1021), line 1-3, a communication device, including a processor and a memory).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Zhu et al. (US 20230050480) teaches Method and Apparatus for TCI state indication for a control channel.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464