DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim(s) 1-17 are amended.
Claims 19 and 20 are new.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) CN202110733932.7 submitted on June 30th, 2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on November 20th, 2024 and December 23rd, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e. “MOBILE RELAY POSITIONING USING PHYSICAL CELL IDENTIFIERS (PCI)”).
Applicant’s amendment to the specification of the disclosure filed May 31st, 2024 is being considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2013/0303081 A1) hereinafter “Chang” in view of Teyeb et al. (US 2012/0329461 A1) hereinafter “Teyeb”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 7,
Chang discloses an apparatus for use as a mobile relay device [see fig. 3, pg. 3, ¶24 lines 1-16, a mobile relay “102”], comprising:
at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions [see fig. 3, pg. 3, ¶24 lines 1-16, a controller, a memory storing data, and power circuitry], wherein the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to [see fig. 3, pg. 3, ¶24 lines 1-16, the stored data implemented by the controller to]:
move to a permitted area in which the mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function [see fig. 7: Step “702”, pg. 7, ¶57 lines 1-3, the mobile relay is moved along the path traversing the first service area and the second service area]; and
obtain in the permitted area [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-5, the mobile relay monitors the sync channel to receive signals transmitted from nearby base stations], a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a relay cell accessed by a terminal device and through which the relay function is provided for the terminal device [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-5, and deciphers the sync channel to obtain the physical cell identifier (PCI) of the transmitting base station].
Although Chang discloses moving to a permitted area in which the mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function, Chang does not explicitly teach “the permitted area is a cell covered by a donor base station”.
However Teyeb discloses move to a permitted area in which the mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function [see fig. 2: Step “200”, pg. 3, ¶44 lines 1-13, detecting the occurrence of a defined condition which characteristically indicates that movement of a mobile relay node (RN) “16” has rendered previously obtained neighbor cell information incomplete or invalid], wherein the permitted area is a cell covered by a donor base station [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 3, ¶44 lines 1-13, responsive to detecting the occurrence of that defined condition, sending a request for neighbor cell information to a donor base station]; and
obtain in the permitted area [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 3, ¶44 lines 1-13, receiving], a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a relay cell accessed by a terminal device and through which the relay function is provided for the terminal device [see fig. 2: Step “210”, pg. 3, ¶44 lines 1-13; pg. 4, ¶52 lines 1-9, the requested neighbor cell information (i.e. a Physical Cell Identity (PCI)) responsive to the request].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the permitted area is a cell covered by a donor base station” as taught by Teyeb in the system of Chang to facilitate efficient handover of mobile terminals and reduce likelihood of service interruption due to handover failures [see Teyeb, pg. 8, ¶88 lines 1-7].
Regarding Claims 2 and 8,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 7.
Chang further discloses wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to further:
send first information to a network device [see fig. 7: Step “712”, pg. 7, ¶62 lines 1-3, the mobile relay sends to the first base station], wherein the first information indicates at least one of a provider of the mobile relay device and an application layer service supported by the mobile relay device [see fig. 7: Step “712”, pg. 7, ¶62 lines 1-3, the measurement report including the measurement of the reference signal].
Regarding Claims 3 and 9,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 7.
Chang further discloses wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to further:
receive second information from the network device [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, a second single cell ID and the group cell ID is transmitted with a second service area by the second base station], wherein the second information indicates the permitted area [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, the second base station transmits a S1B1 message 400 that includes the Single Cell ID (402) representing the single cell ID 128 of the second base station and includes the Group Cell ID 404 representing the group cell ID 132 of the second base station]; and
obtaining the PCI of the relay cell [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-5, obtaining the physical cell identifier (PCI) of the transmitting base station] comprises:
obtaining [see pg. 6, ¶43 lines 1-13, the mobile relay compares the PCI received], based on the second information [see pg. 6, ¶43 lines 1-13, from the second base station], the PCI of the relay cell [see pg. 6, ¶43 lines 1-13, to the PCI in memory which, for the example, is the PCI of the first base station].
Regarding Claims 4 and 10,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 8.
Chang further discloses wherein obtaining the PCI of the relay cell [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-5, obtaining the physical cell identifier (PCI) of the transmitting base station] comprises:
receiving third information from the network device [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, a second single cell ID and the group cell ID is transmitted with a second service area by the second base station], wherein the third information indicates at least one PCI corresponding to the permitted area [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, the second base station transmits a S1B1 message 400 that includes the Single Cell ID (402) representing the single cell ID 128 of the second base station and includes the Group Cell ID 404 representing the group cell ID 132 of the second base station]; and
obtaining [see pg. 6, ¶43 lines 1-13, the mobile relay compares the PCI received], based on the at least one PCI corresponding to the permitted area and the first information [see pg. 6, ¶43 lines 1-13, from the second base station], the PCI of the relay cell [see pg. 6, ¶43 lines 1-13, to the PCI in memory which, for the example, is the PCI of the first base station].
Regarding Claims 5 and 11,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 8.
Chang further discloses wherein obtaining the PCI of the relay cell [see fig. 7: Step “704”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-5, obtaining the physical cell identifier (PCI) of the transmitting base station] comprises:
receiving fourth information from the network device [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, a second single cell ID and the group cell ID is transmitted with a second service area by the second base station], wherein the fourth information indicates the PCI of the relay cell [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, the second base station transmits a S1B1 message 400 that includes the Single Cell ID (402) representing the single cell ID 128 of the second base station and includes the Group Cell ID 404 representing the group cell ID 132 of the second base station].
Regarding Claims 6 and 12,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 8.
Chang further discloses wherein the network device comprises of the donor base station [see pg. 1, ¶16 lines 1-4, the mobile relay is wirelessly connected to the fixed base stations (donor macro cells)].
Regarding Claim 13,
Chang discloses an apparatus for use as a network device [see fig. 1B, pg. 4, ¶30 lines 1-10, a base station (BS) “106”/ “108”], comprising:
at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions [see fig. 1B, pg. 4, ¶30 lines 1-10, a controller, a memory storing data, and power circuitry], wherein the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to [see fig. 1B, pg. 4, ¶30 lines 1-10, the stored data implemented by the controller to]:
determine a permitted area in which a mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function [see fig. 1B, pgs. 3-4, ¶27 lines 1-58, each base station communicates with the mobile relay “102” as it travels through the service areas “118”, “120” of the base stations “106”, “108”]; and
determine that the mobile relay device has moved to the permitted area [see fig. 1B, pgs. 3-4, ¶27 lines 1-58, the controller is tasked with managing communication between the base stations “106”, “108” and the mobile relay “102” such that each base station transmits signals to the mobile relay at the appropriate times and allocates resources for receiving signals from the mobile relay when the mobile relay is in the service area of the base station].
Although Chang discloses determining a permitted area in which a mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function, Chang does not explicitly teach “the permitted area is a cell covered by a donor base station”.
However Teyeb discloses determine a permitted area in which a mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function [see pgs. 3-4, ¶46 lines 1-18, a condition is defined for a mobile relay node (RN) “16” to move between geographic areas … defined for instance as particular groups of base stations “12” or cells “18”, which characteristically have different neighbor cells], wherein the permitted area is a cell covered by a donor base station [see pgs. 3-4, ¶46 lines 1-18, the condition is defined to be the mobile RN “16” being handed over from one donor base station to another]; and
determine that the mobile relay device has moved to the permitted area [see pgs. 3-4, ¶46 lines 1-18, the mobile RN “16” dynamically detects the occurrence of handover from a source donor base station (e.g., base station 12-2) to a target donor base station (e.g., base station 12-1), and sends the request for neighbor cell information responsive to that occurrence].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the permitted area is a cell covered by a donor base station” as taught by Teyeb in the system of Chang to facilitate efficient handover of mobile terminals and reduce likelihood of service interruption due to handover failures [see Teyeb, pg. 8, ¶88 lines 1-7].
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 13.
Chang further discloses wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to further:
receive first information from the mobile relay device [see fig. 7: Step “712”, pg. 7, ¶62 lines 1-3, the mobile relay sends to the first base station], wherein the first information indicates at least one of a provider of the mobile relay device and an application layer service supported by the mobile relay device [see fig. 7: Step “712”, pg. 7, ¶62 lines 1-3, the measurement report including the measurement of the reference signal].
Regarding Claim 15,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 13.
Chang further discloses wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to further:
send second information to the mobile relay device [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, a second single cell ID and the group cell ID is transmitted with a second service area by the second base station], wherein the second information indicates the permitted area [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, the second base station transmits a S1B1 message 400 that includes the Single Cell ID (402) representing the single cell ID 128 of the second base station and includes the Group Cell ID 404 representing the group cell ID 132 of the second base station].
Regarding Claim 16,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 14.
Chang further discloses wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to further:
send third information to the mobile relay device [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, a second single cell ID and the group cell ID is transmitted with a second service area by the second base station], wherein the third information indicates at least one PCI corresponding to the permitted area [see pg. 6, ¶40 lines 1-10, the second base station transmits a S1B1 message 400 that includes the Single Cell ID (402) representing the single cell ID 128 of the second base station and includes the Group Cell ID 404 representing the group cell ID 132 of the second base station].
Regarding Claim 17,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 14.
Chang further discloses wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to further:
determining fourth information [see pg. 6, ¶42 lines 1-11, it is determined], wherein the fourth information indicates a PCI of a relay cell via which the mobile relay device provides the relay function for a terminal device [see pg. 6, ¶42 lines 1-11, whether the group cell ID should be monitored for purposes of handover management]; and
send the fourth information to the mobile relay device [see pg. 6, ¶45 lines 1-15, a group cell ID message is sent to the mobile relay to instruct the mobile relay to use the group cell ID].
Regarding Claim 18,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the apparatus according to claim 13.
Chang further discloses wherein the network device comprises of the donor base station [see pg. 1, ¶16 lines 1-4, the mobile relay is wirelessly connected to the fixed base stations (donor macro cells)].
Regarding Claim 19,
Chang discloses a method of sending information [see fig. 5, pg. 5, ¶38 lines 1-14, a method performed in a network of a wireless communication system with a mobile relay], the method [see fig. 5, pg. 5, ¶38 lines 1-14, the method] comprising:
determining [see fig. 5: Step “508”, pg. 6, ¶42 lines 1-11, evaluating], by a network device [see fig. 5: Step “508”, pg. 6, ¶42 lines 1-11, by the network], that a mobile relay device has moved to a cell [see fig. 5: Step “508”, pg. 6, ¶42 lines 1-11, at least the speed of the mobile relay to determine whether the group cell ID or the single cell ID should be monitored by the mobile relay], in which the mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function [see fig. 5: Step “508”, pg. 6, ¶42 lines 1-11, for purposes of handover management];
sending to the mobile relay device [see fig. 5: Step “514”, pg. 6, ¶45 lines 1-15, sending to the mobile relay], by the network device [see fig. 5: Step “514”, pg. 6, ¶45 lines 1-15, when it is determined by the network that the group cell ID should be used for handovers], notification information indicating the mobile relay device to obtain a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a relay cell through which the relay function is provided for a terminal device [see fig. 5: Step “514”, pg. 6, ¶45 lines 1-15, a group cell ID message to instruct the mobile relay to use the group cell ID].
Although Chang discloses moving to a permitted area in which the mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function, Chang does not explicitly teach the mobile relay device is “covered by a donor base station”.
However Teyeb discloses determining [see fig. 8: Step “810”, pg. 6, ¶70 lines 1-21, determining], by a network device [see fig. 8: Step “810”, pg. 6, ¶70 lines 1-21, by the source donor base station 12-2], that a mobile relay device has moved to a cell [see fig. 8: Step “810”, pg. 6, ¶70 lines 1-21, to hand over the mobile RN “16”], covered by a donor base station [see fig. 8: Step “810”, pg. 6, ¶70 lines 1-21, to the target donor base station 12-1], in which the mobile relay device is allowed to use a relay function [see fig. 8: Step “810”, pg. 6, ¶70 lines 1-21, upon receiving the identifying information that identifies the one or more cells “18” currently neighboring the mobile cell “20” (Step “800”)];
sending to the mobile relay device [see fig. 8: Step “820”, pg. 6, ¶71 lines 1-21, sending to the mobile RN “16”], by the network device [see fig. 8: Step “820”, pg. 6, ¶71 lines 1-21, upon extracting by the target donor base station 12-1], notification information indicating the mobile relay device to obtain a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a relay cell through which the relay function is provided for a terminal device [see fig. 8: Step “820”, pg. 6, ¶71 lines 1-21, identifying information (e.g., PCI) from the handover message received from the source donor base station 12-2 to then select and send the subset of neighbor cell information at different times].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “covered by a donor base station” as taught by Teyeb in the system of Chang to facilitate efficient handover of mobile terminals and reduce likelihood of service interruption due to handover failures [see Teyeb, pg. 8, ¶88 lines 1-7].
Regarding Claim 20,
The combined system of Chang and Teyeb discloses the method of claim 19.
Chang discloses the method further comprising receiving from the mobile relay device [see fig. 7: Step “712”, pg. 7, ¶62 lines 1-3, the mobile relay sends], by the network device [see fig. 7: Step “712”, pg. 7, ¶62 lines 1-3, to the first base station], first information indicating at least one of a provider of the mobile relay device and an application layer service supported by the mobile relay device [see fig. 7: Step “712”, pg. 7, ¶62 lines 1-3, the measurement report including the measurement of the reference signal].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Wang et al. (US 2013/0229946 A1); see fig. 2, pg. 2, Embodiment 1, ¶32-¶37.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469