DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 07/07/2026. The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 34-53 were previously pending. Claims 34, 39-42, 48-50, 52, 53 have been amended. Claims 35-38, 43, 45-47, 51 are canceled. Claims 54-61 are added, Claims 34, 39-42, 44, 48-50, 52-61 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
An initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 submitted 01/08/2007, is attached to the instant office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 34, 39-42, 44, 48-50, 52-61 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34, 39-42, 44, 48-50, 52-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0007916 A1 (provisional application no. 63/356,815, filed on June 29, 2022) to Farag et al. (hereinafter “Farag’916’) in view of US 2021/0314927 A1 to Noh et al. (hereinafter “Noh”)
Regarding Claim 34, 53, Farag’916 teaches A method and apparatus of/for wireless communication, implemented by/in a wireless device, the method/apparatus comprising: (Figure 3B and [0060], discloses a UE)
One or more processors configured to: (Figure 3B and [0060], discloses a UE comprising a processor)
receiving, from a network device, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures separate transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state pools for one or more candidate cells, or one or more target cells, or one or more serving cells; ([0006], discloses The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists (i.e. TCI state pools) associated with the one or more candidate cells. Figure 8 and [0126], discloses the network performs RRC (re-)configuration towards the UE 803. For example, a reconfiguration message (i.e. RRC signaling) may include information related to one or more target (or candidate) cells. For example, the information may include… TCI states of target (or candidate) cell(s) as aforementioned)
receiving, from the network device, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling that activates a set of TCI states from a configured TCI state pool for a candidate cell of the one or more candidate cells; and (Figure 8 and [0131], disclose At step 850 of FIG. 8, source cell 801 determines which TCI states to activate. For example, the TCI states to activate may belong to the source cell or to one or more target (or candidate) cells. In one example, the activated TCI states (i.e. activated set of TCI states)) may be indicated by MAC CE signaling (i.e. first MAC CE signaling))
receiving, from the network device, a second MAC CE signaling of a cell switch command that indicates one or more TCI states for candidate cells or target cells from a set of activated TCI states, (Figure 8 and [0133], disclose At step 870 of FIG. 8, a TCI state code point is indicated to UE 803 (i.e. indicate one or more TCI states from a set of activated TCI states). In one example, the TCI state code point may be indicated in a MAC CE (i.e. second MAC CE signaling) as illustrated in FIG. 8. This may trigger a handover (i.e. cell switch command) to the target (or candidate) cell after a beam application delay as illustrated in FIG. 9)
wherein a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block or a tracking reference signal (TRS) in a TCI state is quasi-colocated (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) wherein QCL type is QCL type A and QCL type D. ([0115], discloses The TCI states may be associated, through a QCL relation, with an SSB or reference signal of serving cell, or an SSB or reference signal associated with a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell)
Farag’916 teaches a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block or a tracking reference signal (TRS) in a TCI state is quasi-colocated (QCLed) ( [0095], the TCI states have a source RS that is directly or indirectly associated, through a quasi-co-location relation, e.g., spatial relation, with an SSB of a serving cell (e.g., the TCI state is associated with a TRP of a serving cell))
a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0083], discloses A DMRS is transmitted only in the BW of a respective PDCCH or PDSCH)
wherein QCL type is QCL type A and QCL type D. ([0100]-[0104], discloses Quasi-co-location (QCL) relation, may be quasi-location with respect to one or more of the following relations [38.214—section 5.1.5]: Type A, {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}, Type D, {Spatial Rx parameter})
Farag’916 does not explicitly teach wherein a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block or a tracking reference signal (TRS) in a TCI state is quasi-colocated (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) wherein QCL type is QCL type A and QCL type D.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Noh discloses in [0078] and [0136], tci-StatesPDCCH (simply, referred to as a TCI state) configuration information may include information of one or plurality of SS/PBCH block indices or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) indices that are Quasi Co-Located (QCL) with a DMRS transmitted in the corresponding control resource set. [0139], A QCL relationship may be configured for a UE through RRC parameter TCI-State and QCL-Info, as shown in Table 13 below. Referring to Table 13, a base station may configure at least one TCI state for a UE to notify a maximum of two QCL relationships (qcl-Type 1 and qcl-Type2) for a RS (that is, a target RS) referring to an ID of the TCI state. [0142] and Table 14, illustrates TCI state configurations including SSBs and TRS associated with QCL-TypeA and QCL-TypeD.
Farag’916 further discloses in [0124], the TCI state may include a DL or Joint TCI state (DLorJoint-TCIState) that includes for example one or more of: (1) TCI state ID; (2) first QCL info; (3) second QCL info. The QCL-Info may include:…(4) QCL Type (e.g., typeA, typeB, typeC, or typeD); and (5) PCI index, alternatively the PCI Index may be part of the reference signal ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Farag’916 to include the above limitations as suggested by Noh, thus allowing for channel parameters to be shared between QCL’ed antennas as indicated in [0136].
Regarding Claim 39, Farag’916/Noh teaches the method of claim 34, wherein Farag’916 further teaches an indicated TCI state is applied from a starting time that is determined based on a reference time and a time interval. ([0110], discloses the UE applies the TCI state(s) associated with the activated codepoint after a beam application time. Figure 9 and [0133], discloses In one example, the TCI state code point may be indicated in a MAC CE as illustrated in FIG. 8. This may trigger a handover to the target (or candidate) cell after a beam application delay (i.e. time interval) as illustrated in FIG. 9. Examiner notes Figure 9 illustrates Beam application time starting after a HARQ-ACK of TCI state indication (i.e. reference time). Figures 11, 13, and 17 illustrate similar alternative embodiments involving beam application delay or cell switch time that occur in part based on an HARQ-ACK)
Regarding Claim 40, Farag’916/Noh teaches the method of claim 39, wherein Farag’916 further teaches the reference time is an ending time of a transmission of an acknowledgement corresponding to a signaling that is used for receiving the cell switch command. (Figure 9, illustrates Beam application time starting at the end of HARQ-ACK of TCI state indication (i.e. acknowledgement) corresponding to UE signaled TCI state associated with a PCI of a target serving cell (i.e. signaling that is used for receiving the cell switch command). Figures 11, 13, and 17 illustrate similar alternative embodiments involving beam application delay or cell switch time that occur in part based on an HARQ-ACK)
Regarding Claim 41, Farag’916/Noh teaches the method of claim 39, wherein Farag’916 further teaches the time interval is a time gap comprising a plurality of time units, and wherein a time unit comprises a sub-frame, a slot, a symbol, or a frame. (Figure 9, illustrates beam application time (i.e. time interval is a time gap comprising a plurality of time units). [0081], discloses A unit for DL signaling or for UL signaling on a cell is referred to as a slot and may include one or more symbols)
Regarding Claim 42, Farag’916/Noh teaches the method of claim 34, wherein Farag’916 further teaches the cell switch command includes at least one of a target cell identification, a time advance (TA), an SS/PBCH block index, a TCI state index, or one or multiple activated TCI states. ([0133], discloses At step 870 of FIG. 8, a TCI state code point is indicated to UE 80. In one example, the TCI state code point may be indicated in a MAC CE as illustrated in FIG. 8. This may trigger a handover to the target (or candidate) cell after a beam application delay as illustrated in FIG. 9. [0146], further discloses the TCI state may include a DL or Joint TCI state (DLorJoint-TCIState) that includes for example one or more of: (1) TCI state ID; (2) first QCL info; (3) second QCL info; (4) UL power control ID; (5) path loss reference signal ID; and (6) associated PCI (alternatively, the associated PCI may be included in the QCL Info). The QCL-Info may include (1) serving cell index; (2) BWP ID; (3) reference signal ID (e.g., CSI-RS resource ID or SSB-Index); (4) QCL Type (e.g., typeA, typeB, typeC, or typeD); and (5) PCI index, alternatively the PCI Index may be part of the reference signal ID.)
Regarding Claim 44, 52, Farag’916 teaches A method and apparatus of/for wireless communication, implemented by/in a network device, the method/network device comprising: (Figure 3A and [0051], discloses a gNB)
One or more processors configured to: (Figure 3A and [0051], discloses a gNB comprising processor)
transmitting, to a wireless device, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures separate transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state pools for one or more candidate cells, or one or more target cells, or one or more serving cells; ([0006], discloses The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists (i.e. TCI state pools) associated with the one or more candidate cells. Figure 8 and [0126], discloses the network performs RRC (re-)configuration towards the UE 803. For example, a reconfiguration message (i.e. RRC signaling) may include information related to one or more target (or candidate) cells. For example, the information may include… TCI states of target (or candidate) cell(s) as aforementioned)
transmitting, to the wireless device, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling that activates a set of TCI states from a configured TCI state pool for a candidate cell of the one or more candidate cells; and (Figure 8 and [0131], disclose At step 850 of FIG. 8, source cell 801 determines which TCI states to activate. For example, the TCI states to activate may belong to the source cell or to one or more target (or candidate) cells. In one example, the activated TCI states (i.e. activated set of TCI states)) may be indicated by MAC CE signaling (i.e. first MAC CE signaling))
transmitting, to the wireless device, a second MAC CE signaling of a cell switch command that indicates one or more TCI states for candidate cells or target cells from a set of activated TCI states, (Figure 8 and [0133], disclose At step 870 of FIG. 8, a TCI state code point is indicated to UE 803 (i.e. indicate one or more TCI states from a set of activated TCI states). In one example, the TCI state code point may be indicated in a MAC CE (i.e. second MAC CE signaling) as illustrated in FIG. 8. This may trigger a handover (i.e. cell switch command) to the target (or candidate) cell after a beam application delay as illustrated in FIG. 9)
wherein a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block or a tracking reference signal (TRS) in a TCI state is quasi-colocated (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) wherein QCL type is QCL type A and QCL type D. ([0115], discloses The TCI states may be associated, through a QCL relation, with an SSB or reference signal of serving cell, or an SSB or reference signal associated with a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell)
Farag’916 teaches a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block or a tracking reference signal (TRS) in a TCI state is quasi-colocated (QCLed) ( [0095], the TCI states have a source RS that is directly or indirectly associated, through a quasi-co-location relation, e.g., spatial relation, with an SSB of a serving cell (e.g., the TCI state is associated with a TRP of a serving cell))
a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0083], discloses A DMRS is transmitted only in the BW of a respective PDCCH or PDSCH)
wherein QCL type is QCL type A and QCL type D. ([0100]-[0104], discloses Quasi-co-location (QCL) relation, may be quasi-location with respect to one or more of the following relations [38.214—section 5.1.5]: Type A, {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}, Type D, {Spatial Rx parameter})
Farag’916 does not explicitly teach wherein a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block or a tracking reference signal (TRS) in a TCI state is quasi-colocated (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) wherein QCL type is QCL type A and QCL type D.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Noh discloses in [0078] and [0136], tci-StatesPDCCH (simply, referred to as a TCI state) configuration information may include information of one or plurality of SS/PBCH block indices or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) indices that are Quasi Co-Located (QCL) with a DMRS transmitted in the corresponding control resource set. [0139], A QCL relationship may be configured for a UE through RRC parameter TCI-State and QCL-Info, as shown in Table 13 below. Referring to Table 13, a base station may configure at least one TCI state for a UE to notify a maximum of two QCL relationships (qcl-Type 1 and qcl-Type2) for a RS (that is, a target RS) referring to an ID of the TCI state. [0142] and Table 14, illustrates TCI state configurations including SSBs and TRS associated with QCL-TypeA and QCL-TypeD.
Farag’916 further discloses in [0124], the TCI state may include a DL or Joint TCI state (DLorJoint-TCIState) that includes for example one or more of: (1) TCI state ID; (2) first QCL info; (3) second QCL info. The QCL-Info may include:…(4) QCL Type (e.g., typeA, typeB, typeC, or typeD); and (5) PCI index, alternatively the PCI Index may be part of the reference signal ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Farag’916 to include the above limitations as suggested by Noh, thus allowing for channel parameters to be shared between QCL’ed antennas as indicated in [0136].
Claims 48-50 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 39, 41, and 42, respectively, except the claims are in the method perspective of the network device.
Claims 54-57 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 39-42, respectively, except the claims are in the apparatus perspective of the wireless device.
Claims 58-61 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 39-42, respectively, except the claims are in the apparatus perspective of the network device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477