DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the communication filed on 07/02/2026. The claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending, of which the claim(s) 1, 11, & 15 is/are in independent form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are partly persuasive and partly not persuasive.
As to claims 11 & 15 and against prior cited Yoscovich reference, applicant argues following:
For clarification, Applicant has amended claims 11 and 15….Claim 11, as amended, recites scanning a table identifier of a solar table and associating
the geographical information for the solar table to each of a plurality of solar panels in the solar table. Yoscovich does not even disclose a solar table that comprises a torque tube and multiple solar tables, let alone scanning a table identifier to associate the geographical information for the solar table to each solar panel in the solar table.
Therefore, Applicants respectfully assert that Yoscovich fails to disclose each claim
element within claim 11.
The above mentioned remarks regarding independent claim 11 are also applicable to
amended independent claim 15. Therefore, independent claim 15 is also patentably distinct from Yoscovich.
Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner withdraw the claim
rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 for claims 11 and 15 and corresponding dependent claims 11-14 and 16-20.
Remarks, pages 7- 8.
In substance, applicant argues that Yoscovich does not teach (1) “scanning a table identifier to associate the geographical information for the solar table to each solar panel in the solar table” and (2) “a solar table that comprises a torque tube”.
Persuasive Arguments:
Examiner’s Response: Firstly, examiner agrees that Yoscovich does not teach “a solar table that comprises a torque tube” as required by amended limitation and argued in point (2). This is so because its “PV strings, PV substrings” of figs. 17/19 are silent on stating using of a torque tube.
In this Office action, examiner relies on newly discovered Herrera ( US 20240146232 A1) reference to cure this deficiency as fully discussed below.
Not-Persuasive arguments:
Secondly, as to the argument that alleges Yoscovich failing to scanning a table identifier to associate the geographical information for the solar table to each solar panel in the solar table, examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoscovich teaches:
[0158] Reference is now made to FIG. 19, which illustrates a portion of a photovoltaic installation and a mapping Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) according to an illustrative embodiment, Photovoltaic (PV) installation 199 may comprise PV modules 191. One or more Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) 190 may be used to obtain Estimated Layout Map (ELM) of PV installation 199, such as to determine the relative order and/or location of PV modules 191. PV modules 191 may comprise PV generators (such as one or more PV cells, PV strings, PV substrings, PV panels, PV shingles, and/or the like) coupled to photovoltaic power devices (such as PV optimizers, DC/DC converters, DC/AC inverters). In some embodiments, each PV module 191 may comprise an identification label (ID label) which may be readable by UAV 190. The ID label may be a barcode, serial number, RFID tag, memory device or any other medium for containing information that may be read by an external device, with UAV 190 comprising an appropriate device for reading the ID label. For example, each PV module 191 may have an RFID tag, while UAV 190 may have an RFID reader. In some embodiments, each PV module 191 may have a barcode sticker, tag, while UAV 190 may have a barcode scanner. UAV 190 may have various functional devices similar to those comprising combined device 700 of FIG. 7. For example, UAV 190 may comprise controller 195, communication device 196, GPS device 194, ID reader 193, and
[0159] In some embodiments, UAV 190 may automatically read the ID tag of each of PV modules 191. In some embodiments, UAV 190 may be in proximity to each PV module at the time the PV module's ID tag is read, and use GPS device 194 to estimate the coordinates of the PV module being scanned
Therefore, when PV modules 191 (figs. 17 & 19) implement “PV strings, PV substrings” correspond to claimed “solar table”, along with “each PV module 191 may comprise an identification label (ID label)” and “UAV 190 may automatically read the ID tag of each of PV modules 191”, Yoscovich will have its PV string (corresponds to claimed “solar tables”) also with “an identification label” similar to that shown in fig. 6 but for the solar string/table as well in addition to that of PV devices/panels 602. In this situation, Yoscovich clearly teaches using its UAV 190 to scan each string (solar tables 191) and creating/generating an Estimated Layout Map (ELM) of PV installation 199 based on the identifier of the PV string (PV tables) obtained by causing the UVA to scan the label of the PV modules 191. See para. 0158-0160.
As to claim 1: Applicant argues that
(1) Yoscovich does not teach the element of assigning the recorded geographical information at the installation location to the one or more solar panels in the solar table and “associating an installation of a solar table to solar panels in the solar table” and “using a geographical information of the string to associate all PV modules of the string” and
(2) There is no motivation to combine Yoscovich and Campbell for the rejection of the claims. See Remarks, page 9.
Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As to (1):
As stated above for claims 11 & 15, Yoscovich clearly teaches assigning the recorded geographical information at the installation location to the one or more solar panels in the solar table in paras. 0158- 0160 when the PV modules 191 comprise “solar string” (correspond to claimed “solar table”). Here, both the solar strings (tables) and solar panels can have labels that can be scanned to obtain ELM that “determine the relative order and/or location of PV modules 191”. See para. 0158.
Thus, the PV modules 191’s comprising solar strings’ bar codes are scanned by the UAV 190 and used to obtain Estimated Layout Map (ELM) and locations of tables and panels in the PV installation 99. Therefore, in this situation Yoscovich clearly teaches the argued feature including associating an installation of a solar table to solar panels in the solar table since location reported to the panels and tables can correspond as can be clear to PHOSITA. Once the labels of the PV modules 191s are scanned, the various information about the modules 191s (strings) stored in the memory are clearly obtained by the UAV’s controller per para. 0158.
As to (2): Applicant contends that there is no motivation to combine Yoscovich and Campbell for the rejection of the claims because the rejection merely provides conclusory statements and claim 1 is related to solar panel tracking, which is absent in Campbell.
Examiner has provided specific reasons (to allow “assemble Yoscovich’s large numbers of PV modules/panels into PV strings to quickly place the PV modules in appropriate location”) for combining Campbell with Yoscovich as shown below in the art rejection section. Furthermore, both Yoscovich and Campbell are analogous arts to the claimed invention because solar panel tracking requires constructing of the solar farm with solar tables (strings) with panels on it. Therefore, furthermore, just like in applicant’s specification, Campbell discloses installing large solar farms using delivered solar panels at an installation site and provides solution to the problem faced by the applicant. Accordingly, per MPEP 2141.01(a), Campbell is analogous art and is combinable contrary to applicant’s arguments. The outstanding 103 rejections stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15- 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11, the claim recites “the computing device associates the geographical information the solar table each of the multiple solar panels”. However, meaning of this limitation is unclear and hence indefinite. Specifically, the limitation does not clarify whether “geographical information” is associated with “the solar table” or with “each of the multiple solar panels” or something else.
For the examining purpose, this limitation is interpreted as “associating the geographical information for the solar table to each of the plurality of solar panel” as in claim 11.
Regarding claims 16- 20, they are also rejected because of their dependency with the rejected claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoscovich et al. (US 20200279963 A1, reference of record).
Regarding claim 15, Yoscovich teaches a system [“FIG. 19, which illustrates a portion of a photovoltaic installation and a mapping Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) according to an illustrative embodiment, Photovoltaic (PV) installation 199 may comprise PV modules 191… UAV 190 may have various functional devices similar to those comprising combined device 700 of FIG. 7.”] for solar panel tracking comprising: (Figs.1, 19, 6-7);
a scanner [“each PV module 191 may have a barcode sticker, tag, while UAV 190 may have a barcode scanner”. A means like camera or barcode reader of the UAV or other computer that read the tag/barcode is interpreted as “a scanner”] that reads a table identifier [“each PV module 191 may comprise an identification label (ID label) which may be readable by UAV 190”. When PV module 191 represent “PV strings, PV substrings” and its label is scanned, the barcode scanner receives table/string identifier] of a solar table [“PV modules 191 may comprise PV generators (such as one or more PV cells, PV strings, PV substrings, PV panels, PV shingles, and/or the like) coupled to photovoltaic power devices (such as PV optimizers, DC/DC converters, DC/AC inverters)”. Hence, PV modules 191 of Yoscovich can be understood to encompass PV string/table as “PV generators” that includes multiple PV devices/panels as in fig. 7/17] installed in a solar farm [“a photovoltaic installation”] to obtain panel information [Figs. 1, 6 & 19 clearly show that a scanning device scans multiple labels and establish location relationship for each label] for each of multiple solar panels in the solar table ([0158, 059- 060], Figs. 6, 19);
a geographical information receiver [“UAV 190 may be in proximity to each PV module at the time the PV module's ID tag is read, and use GPS device 194 to estimate the coordinates of the PV module being scanned”] to record geographical information of the solar table ([060, 0159]);
a computing device [a controller 195+ data logging device 192 or any other computing device of the UAV of fig. 19 or computing device that performs the steps of fig. 1] coupled to the scanner and the geographical information receiver, the computing device associates the geographical information the solar table each of the multiple solar panel; a geographical database [“one or more Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) 190 may be used to obtain Estimated Layout Map (ELM) of PV installation 199, such as to determine the relative order and/or location of PV modules 191”, “relative locations of PV modules may be estimated for generating an ELM, using methods disclosed herein”] for the multiple solar panels [PV devices 602/107s of each PV module 191 when they include PV string per para. 0158], each solar panel having an entry [label of fig. 6 for the solar panel 602] of solar panel information and associated geographical information (Fig. 1, 19, [0158-0161, 056, 063-067]).
It can be argued that the cited portions of Yoscovich are from multiple embodiments (Fig. 7 and fig. 19) and hence it can be argued that Yoscovich may not necessarily anticipate the invention of the claim 15.
However, Yoscovich explicitly states that-- “elements of one embodiment may be
combined with elements from other embodiments in appropriate combinations
or subcombination” (para. 0181), it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the filing of this application to combine above cited different embodiments (Figs. 1/7 and 19) of Yoscovich and arrive in the claimed invention. In summary, invention of the claim 15 would have been obvious over Yoscovich.
Regarding claim 16, Yoscovich teaches/suggests the system of claim 15, wherein the geographical database [“each time a device is scanned, the module's identifying information (such as barcode, ID number, picture, RFID tag) as well as the GPS coordinates of the locating device at the time of scanning may be logged and stored into memory”] is stored [“matching algorithm may be run by an appropriate computing device, such as a computer, server, DSP”] locally or in a cloud for authorized access and/or updates ([059-063]).
Regarding claim 17, Yoscovich teaches/suggests the system of claim 15 wherein the solar panel information comprises one or more of: panel manufacturer information; manufacturing time; a solar panel model number; and a solar panel serial number [“utilizing a camera to identify serial numbers, obtaining identifying information”] ([059-063, 0158]).
Regarding claim 18, Yoscovich teaches/suggests the system of claim 15 wherein the geographical information receiver is a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, the geographical information of each solar panel is a GPS coordinate ([060-063, 0159]).
Regarding claim 19, Yoscovich teaches/suggests the system of claim 18 the GPS receiver is integrated [“scanning and localization device 601 may capture or record data provided by the ID marker 600”] with the scanner or attached to the scanner, the GPS coordinate of each solar panel is recorded when the scanner is in proximity to each solar panel for panel identifier scanning (Fig. 6, [087, 0158-0162]).
Regarding claim 20, Yoscovich teaches/suggests the system of claim 15 wherein the scanner is a handheld scanner [“locating device may be a smartphone running an application”] or a vehicle-mounted scanner that is moved in proximity to each solar panel for scanning ([059, 0158]).
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoscovich et al. (US 20200279963 A1, reference of record) in view of Campbell et al. (US 20230029665 A1, Publication Date: 2023-02-02, reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Yoscovich teaches a method for solar panel tracking comprising:
receiving a plurality of solar panels [“At step 112 each PV device in the current row may be scanned” means they are received from a manufacturer of the PV devices] with each solar panel having a panel identifier [“a serial number or other identifying information on the PV device”] for solar panel information; ([055 060, 086]);
assembling, Figs. 9, 17, 19 show assembled solar panels into multiple PV strings/tables);
recording [“the GPS coordinates of the locating device at the time of scanning may be logged and stored into memory”] geographical information of the installation location for the solar table [“each PV module 191 may have a barcode… UAV 190 may automatically read the ID tag of each of PV modules 191”, wherein the “PV modules 191 may comprise PV generators (such as one or more PV cells, PV strings, PV substrings, PV panels, PV shingles, and/or the like) coupled to photovoltaic power devices”]; assigning [“(GPS) coordinates may be used to match modules to physical. locations on a PIM.”] the recorded geographical information at the installation location to the one or more solar panels in the solar table [solar string that holds PV modules for the same row]; and creating [“the matching algorithm may generate, based on the input received at step 120, a map of the PV installation”] or updating a geographical database for solar panels, with each of the one or more solar panel having an entry of the solar panel information and associated geographical information (Fig.1, [0158-0160, 056-064]).
Yoscovich does not disclose the detail about how its PV installation with large numbers of PV generators (“PV strings, PV substrings, PV panels”) are arranged/assembled so that they can form pluralities of PV strings of a PV installation. Thus, it fails to teach limitations shown above with strikethrough emphasis. Put differently, Yoscovich does not teach the steps of:
assembling, at a centralized assembling factory, one or more solar panels into a solar table according to a panel assembling layout;
delivering, by a mobile transport, the solar table to an installation location for the solar table in a solar farm for installation but are cured by Campbell.
Campbell teaches a centralized solar installation system for a large scall solar farm comprising pluralities of the solar tables each with pluralities of solar panels, wherein the centralized solar installation system’s computer 340 generates the installation process 350 by considering various inputs and resource and personnel information ([043-046], Figs. 4, 2). Specifically, Campbell teaches a method for solar panel tracking comprising:
receiving [Fig. 1-2 of Campbell clearly shows receiving of the resources/panels via the Access Road in the similar manner of applicant’s figs. 1-2] a plurality of solar panels with each solar panel having a panel identifier for solar panel information; assembling [“resources are delivered to one or more assembly factories 202 where a coordinated and centralized solar table assembly process is performed”], at a centralized assembling factory [item 202], one or more solar panels into a solar table according to a panel assembling layout; delivering [“assembled solar tables and equipment are moved from a factory 202 to a point of installation 220 via motorized vehicles 210”], by a mobile transport [“motorized vehicles 210 may be driven by personnel, may be controlled by remote control or autonomously driven by a computer system”], the solar table to an installation location [“a point of installation 220” between two piles as shown in fig. 2] for the solar table in a solar farm for installation (Fig. 2, [024-030, 052]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Campbell and Yoscovich because they both related to installing large solar farms using delivered solar panels at an installation site and (2) modify the method of Yoscovich to include missing limitations (assembling the panels locally and delivering using a transport system) as in Campbell. Campbell teaches an exemplary technique that can be used to assemble Yoscovich’s large numbers of PV modules/panels into PV strings to quickly place the PV modules in appropriate location. Furthermore, using the installation technique of Campbell in Yoscovich would reduce the complexity and cost of the installation of large-scale solar panel systems (Campbell [007]). Accordingly, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches each element of the claim and renders invention thereof obvious to PHOSITA.
Regarding claim 2, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the solar panel information comprises one or more of: panel manufacturer information; manufacturing time information; a solar panel model number; and a solar panel serial number (Yoscovich [054, 0158], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographical information of the installation location is a Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinate recorded by a GPS receiver on the mobile transport (Yoscovich [059, 0160], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographical information of the installation location is a Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinate recorded by a piece of equipment [“using a locating device”] at the installation location (Yoscovich [059], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographic information of the installation location is a local geographical information comprising a row number and a column number for each pile supporting the solar table at the installation location (Yoscovich, Fig. 2B & 8B and & Campbell [025] show rows and column for the local geographical information along with piles that need to hold the solar string/tables so that PV panels are not placed directly on the floor).
Regarding claim 6, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographical database [data storage like memory for the “map”] is stored locally or in a cloud for authorized access and/or updates (Yoscovich [060- 064])
Regarding claim 7, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein a table identifier is used to identify the solar table and is associated with one or more solar panels (See, Yoscovich [0067], Fig. 9: PV devices with same row are given same location ID and this is same as PV string/table 916).
Regarding claim 8, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the panel identifiers of the one or more solar panels are scanned [Fig. 9 shows scanning of the PV module and the “reset button” is pressed for each row means PV modules are grouped] during or after the assembling of the solar table such that the panel identifiers are grouped and associated to the solar table in consistent with the panel assembling layout (Yoscovich, [054-056, 067]).
Regarding claim 9, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 further comprising: upon receiving a recall [e.g., “troubleshooting problems”] issued by a solar panel manufacturer, identifying one or more involved solar panels in the solar farm using the geographical database for solar panels based on the recall; wherein the recall comprises one or more of: information of manufacturing date [“timestamp of the time of scanning may also be logged or stored” gives idea about manufacturing date]; a model number or model numbers for solar panels covered by the recall; and a serial number or serial numbers of solar panels covered by the recall (Yoscovich [033, 054-055, 060]).
Regarding claim 10, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 9 wherein an identification result [“easily physically locate the particular module (such as solar panel, DC-DC converter or micro-inverter, combiner box) that may be responsible for the power loss.”] is rendered in a solar panel geographical map with the one or more involved solar panels highlighted (Yoscovich [054-055]).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoscovich et al. (US 20200279963 A1, reference of record) in view of Herrera et al. (US 20240146232 A1, Filing Date:2023-09-06).
Regarding claim 11, Yoscovich teaches a method for solar panel tracking comprising:
given a solar table [when the PV module 191 (fig. 19) performing PV generator like PV string such as item 916s/318 as part of “PV modules 191 may comprise PV generators (such as one or more PV cells, PV strings, PV substrings, PV panels, PV shingles, and/or the like) coupled to photovoltaic power devices (such as PV optimizers, DC/DC converters, DC/AC inverters)”. The para. 0158 clarifies that PV modules also encompass “PV strings, PV substrings”. For example, “installation may include a plurality of PV strings 916a, 916b, to 916n” as in fig. 9 or “String 318 may comprise a plurality of serially-connected PV devices 107, such as PV devices 107a, 107b, to 107k” as in fig. 19] PV devices”, wherein “PV devices 903 may be PV cells or panels”] installed in a solar farm [“illustrative PV installation”] with each solar panel having a panel identifier [Fig. 6 shows each PV devices like item 602 to have an identifier marker/label 600] for solar panel information, scanning, by a scanner [scanning device like scanning device 601 of fig. 6 or UVA 190 of fig. 19], a table identifier [“each PV module 191 may comprise an identification label (ID label) which may be readable by UAV 190.”] that identifies [reading the entire data of the memory of the PV module 191 allows identifying the solar table identity and panel assembling layout since the label includes “memory device or any other medium for containing information that may be read by an external device”] the solar table and a panel assembling layout [“grouping power devices into strings”, “the controller may control a thermal imaging device (such as camera 197) to obtain a thermal image of the group of PV modules”] for the plurality of solar panels ([0101, 0147, 0158, 0171]);
recording [“the GPS coordinates of the locating device at the time of scanning may be logged”, “data logging device 192, which may be similar to or the same as ID reader 203, GPS device 201, data logging device 202, controller 205, and communication device 206 of FIG. 7.”] geographical information of an installation location for the solar table at a time of scanning ([059-060, 0158]);
associating the geographical information for the solar table to each of the plurality of solar panels; and creating or updating a geographical database [“one or more Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) 190 may be used to obtain Estimated Layout Map (ELM) of PV installation 199, such as to determine the relative order and/or location of PV modules 191”, “relative locations of PV modules may be estimated for generating an ELM, using methods disclosed herein”] for solar panels, with each of the plurality of solar panels having an entry of solar panel information and associated geographical information ([0158-0161, 063-0067]).
Yoscovich fails to teach “a solar table comprising a torque tube”. That is, Yoscovich fails to teach its solar string with multiple PV devices/panels to use “a torque tube” to hold and control panels as part of grouping of the solar devices/panels to generate a solar table/string.
However, Herrera in the field of solar farm construction, teaches a solar farm comprising: given a solar table comprising a torque tube [“activate the one or more motors to rotate the torque tubes to track the sun”] and a plurality of solar panels installed in a solar farm, rotate the solar tables to track the sun (Abstract, [089, 0101, 0127]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Herrera and Yoscovich because they both related to forming of solar farm by first forming of the solar tables of solar panels and (2) modified the system/method of Yoscovich to have its solar tables to include a torque tube as in Herrera. Doing so would allow the solar strings/tables of Yoscovich to track the position of the sun to generate more power by causing the panels to face perpendicular direction towards the sun (Herrera [004]).
Regarding claim 12, Yoscovich teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the solar panel information comprises one or more of: panel manufacturer information; manufacturing time information; a solar panel model number; and a solar panel serial number [“identify serial numbers”] ([059]).
Regarding claim 13, Yoscovich teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the geographical information of the installation location is a Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinate recorded by a GPS receiver that is integrated with the scanner or attached to the scanner ([057, 066]).
Regarding claim 14, Yoscovich teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the scanner is a handheld scanner [“scanning may be carried out using a locating device …locating device may be a smartphone running an application”] or a vehicle-mounted scanner that is moved in proximity to each solar panel for scanning ([059]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Hoffmann (US 20130319077 A1) teaches recording geographical information of an installation location for the solar table [“for each string and for each solar position or each solar altitude are stored.”] ([070]).
2) Jiang et al. (US 20200266630 A1) determining a physical address of a PV table [photovoltaic string] ([005]).
Contacts
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115