DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the communication received on 12/27/2023. The claims 1- 20 are pending, of which the claim(s) 1, 11, & 15 is/are in independent form.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 8, in line 2 “such that the the panel identifiers” should be changed to “such that .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
in claims 15- 17& 20:
“a geographical information receiver” (see line 4 claim 15): Spec, [028-029]: “Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver 450”, “geographical sensor 530, such as a GPS receiver”; [033]: “the GPS receiver located on the mobile transport 405”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
,
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Yoscovich et al. (US 20200279963 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yoscovich teaches a method [“an automatic or semi-automatic method of generating physical maps of PV installations, to save work and reduce errors, while allowing system monitoring personnel to obtain the benefits of having a map which indicates the locations and ID numbers of PV modules”] for solar panel tracking comprising: ([004, 056-071], Fig. 1);
given a plurality of solar panels [“arrays of PV generators (such as modules, cells, panels”, e.g., Fig. 6, PV device 602, Fig.9, 903s are plural panels of the arrays/(solar strings/tables)] installed in a solar farm [“PV installation may include one or more arrays of PV generators” of Yoscovich] with each solar panel having a panel identifier [“identify serial numbers, obtaining identifying information from an RFID tag, or any combinations thereof.”] for solar panel information, scanning [Fig. 1, Steps 112- 113, “scanning an identifying barcode on PV devices while using GPS to obtain the global coordinates at each scanned location that combines scanning capabilities with a GPS receiver”], by a scanner [“scanning may be carried out using a locating device… may be a smartphone”], the panel identifier of each solar panel ([002, 007, 059-061]);
recording geographical information [“using GPS to obtain the global coordinates at location”, “the GPS coordinates of the locating device at the time of scanning may be logged”] of an installation location for each solar panel at a time of scanning each solar panel ([007, 054, 060, 1080]);
associating [“module identifiers may be associated with a location in the map”] the geographical information for each solar panel to the solar panel information of each solar panel ([007, 058-064]); and
creating [“may produce a map displaying the physical placement and location of devices along with identifying information”] or updating a geographical database [any storage used by the computer to store both map with panel information and their GPS coordinates: “map and/or GPS coordinates may he loaded from memory”] for solar panels, with each of the plurality of solar panels having an entry of solar panel information and associated geographical information ([007, 058-066, 0103]).
Regarding claim 12, Yoscovich teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the solar panel information comprises one or more of: panel manufacturer information; manufacturing time information; a solar panel model number; and a solar panel serial number [“identify serial numbers”] ([059]).
Regarding claim 13, Yoscovich teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the geographical information of the installation location is a Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinate recorded by a GPS receiver that is integrated with the scanner or attached to the scanner ([057, 066]).
Regarding claim 14, Yoscovich teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the scanner is a handheld scanner [“scanning may be carried out using a locating device …locating device may be a smartphone running an application”] or a vehicle-mounted scanner that is moved in proximity to each solar panel for scanning ([059]).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Yoscovich teaches a system for solar panel tracking comprising: (Figs. 6, 1, 19, [059, 066]);
a scanner [“utilizing a camera to identify serial numbers, obtaining identifying information from an RFID tag, or any combinations thereof”] that reads a panel identifier of each of multiple solar panels [“step 112 each PV device in the current row may be scanned.”] installed in a solar farm to obtain panel information of each solar panel ([059-060]);
a geographical information receiver [“scanning device may be configured to determine and/or estimate a global position at the time of each scan, by utilizing localization systems such as Global Positioning System (GPS)”] to record geographical information of each solar panel ([060, 080]);
a computing device [“method of FIG. 1 may be performed by components of a computer system”] coupled to the scanner and the geographical information receiver, the computing device associates the geographical information for each solar panel to the solar panel information of each solar panel ([056, 063]); and
a geographical database [memory storing the map of PV device information and corresponding location information] for the multiple solar panels, each solar panel having an entry of solar panel information and associated geographical information receiver ([056-071, 089]).
Regarding claim 16, Yoscovich teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the geographical database [“each time a device is scanned, the module's identifying information (such as barcode, ID number, picture, RFID tag) as well as the GPS coordinates of the locating device at the time of scanning may be logged and stored into memory”] is stored [“matching algorithm may be run by an appropriate computing device, such as a computer, server, DSP”] locally or in a cloud for authorized access and/or updates ([059-063]).
Regarding claim 17, Yoscovich teaches the system of claim 15 wherein the solar panel information comprises one or more of: panel manufacturer information; manufacturing time; a solar panel model number; and a solar panel serial number [“utilizing a camera to identify serial numbers, obtaining identifying information”] ([059-063]).
Regarding claim 18, Yoscovich teaches the system of claim 15 wherein the geographical information receiver is a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, the geographical information of each solar panel is a GPS coordinate ([060-063]).
Regarding claim 19, Yoscovich teaches the system of claim 18 the GPS receiver is integrated [“scanning and localization device 601 may capture or record data provided by the ID marker 600”] with the scanner or attached to the scanner, the GPS coordinate of each solar panel is recorded when the scanner is in proximity to each solar panel for panel identifier scanning (Fig. 6, [087]).
Regarding claim 20, Yoscovich teaches the system of claim 15 wherein the scanner is a handheld scanner [“locating device may be a smartphone running an application”] or a vehicle-mounted scanner that is moved in proximity to each solar panel for scanning ([059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoscovich et al. (US 20200279963 A1) in view of Campbell et al. (US 20230029665 A1, Publication Date: 2023-02-02).
Regarding claim 1, Yoscovich teaches a method for solar panel tracking comprising:
receiving a plurality of solar panels [“At step 112 each PV device in the current row may be scanned” means they are received from a manufacturer of the PV devices] with each solar panel having a panel identifier [“a serial number or other identifying information on the PV device”] for solar panel information; ([055 060, 086]);
assembling,
recording [“the GPS coordinates of the locating device at the time of scanning may be logged and stored into memory”] geographical information of the installation location; assigning [“(GPS) coordinates may be used to match modules to physical. locations on a PIM.”] the recorded geographical information at the installation location to the one or more solar panels in the solar table [solar string that holds PV modules for the same row]; and creating [“the matching algorithm may generate, based on the input received at step 120, a map of the PV installation”] or updating a geographical database for solar panels, with each of the one or more solar panel having an entry of the solar panel information and associated geographical information (Fig.1, [056-064]).
Yoscovich does not detail about how its PV installation with large numbers of PV generators are arranged, thus it fails to teach limitations shown above with strikethrough emphasis. That is, Yoscovich does not teach the method comprising:
assembling, at a centralized assembling factory, one or more solar panels into a solar table according to a panel assembling layout;
delivering, by a mobile transport, the solar table to an installation location in a solar farm for installation but are cured by Campbell.
Campbell teaches a centralized solar installation system for a large scall solar farm comprising pluralities of the solar tables each with pluralities of solar panels, wherein the centralized solar installation system’s computer 340 generates the installation process 350 by considering various inputs and resource and personnel information ([043-046], Figs. 4, 2) . Specifically, Campbell teaches a method for solar panel tracking comprising:
receiving [Fig. 1-2 of Campbell clearly shows receiving of the resources/panels via the Access Road in the similar manner of applicant’s figs. 1-2] a plurality of solar panels with each solar panel having a panel identifier for solar panel information; assembling [“resources are delivered to one or more assembly factories 202 where a coordinated and centralized solar table assembly process is performed”], at a centralized assembling factory [item 202], one or more solar panels into a solar table according to a panel assembling layout; delivering [“assembled solar tables and equipment are moved from a factory 202 to a point of installation 220 via motorized vehicles 210”], by a mobile transport [“motorized vehicles 210 may be driven by personnel, may be controlled by remote control or autonomously driven by a computer system.”], the solar table to an installation location [“a point of installation 220” between two piles as shown in fig. 2] in a solar farm for installation (Fig. 2, [027-030]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Campbell and Yoscovich because they both related to installing large solar farms using delivered solar panels at an installation site and (2) modify the method of Yoscovich to include missing limitations (assembling the panels locally and delivering using a transport system) as in Campbell. Campbell teaches an exemplary technique that can be used to assemble Yoscovich’s large numbers of PV modules/panels to quickly place the PV modules in appropriate location. Furthermore, using the installation technique of Campbell in Yoscovich would reduce the complexity and cost of the installation of large-scale solar panel systems (Campbell [007]). Accordingly, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches each elements of the claim and renders invention of this claim obvious to PHOSITA.
Regarding claim 2, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the solar panel information comprises one or more of: panel manufacturer information; manufacturing time information; a solar panel model number; and a solar panel serial number (Yoscovich [054], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographical information of the installation location is a Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinate recorded by a GPS receiver on the mobile transport (Yoscovich [059], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographical information of the installation location is a Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinate recorded by a piece of equipment [“using a locating device”] at the installation location (Yoscovich [059], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographic information of the installation location is a local geographical information comprising a row number and a column number for each pile supporting the solar table at the installation location (Yoscovich, Fig. 2B & 8B and & Campbell [025] show rows and column for the local geographical information along with piles that need to hold the solar string/tables so that PV panels are not placed directly on the floor).
Regarding claim 6, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the geographical database [data storage like memory for the “map”] is stored locally or in a cloud for authorized access and/or updates (Yoscovich [060- 064])
Regarding claim 7, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein a table identifier is used to identify the solar table and is associated with one or more solar panels (See, Yoscovich [0067], Fig. 9: PV devices with same row are given same location ID and this is same as PV string/table 916).
Regarding claim 8, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 wherein the panel identifiers of the one or more solar panels are scanned [Fig. 9 shows scanning of the PV module and the “reset button” is pressed for each row means PV modules are grouped] during or after the assembling of the solar table such that the panel identifiers are grouped and associated to the solar table in consistent with the panel assembling layout (Yoscovich, [054-056, 067]).
Regarding claim 9, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 1 further comprising: upon receiving a recall [e.g., “troubleshooting problems”] issued by a solar panel manufacturer, identifying one or more involved solar panels in the solar farm using the geographical database for solar panels based on the recall; wherein the recall comprises one or more of: information of manufacturing date [“timestamp of the time of scanning may also be logged or stored” gives idea about manufacturing date]; a model number or model numbers for solar panels covered by the recall; and a serial number or serial numbers of solar panels covered by the recall (Yoscovich [033, 054-055, 060]).
Regarding claim 10, Yoscovich in view of Campbell teaches/suggests the method of claim 9 wherein an identification result [“easily physically locate the particular module (such as solar panel, DC-DC converter or micro-inverter, combiner box) that may be responsible for the power loss.”] is rendered in a solar panel geographical map with the one or more involved solar panels highlighted (Yoscovich [054-055]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Adest et al. (WO 2008125915 A2) teaches a central management unit may analyze the data from all panels, wherein ,during installation, parameters such as serial number, physical and the array connection topology may be in the NVRAM 713. ([030, 045, 086]).
2) Lee et al. (KR 102265097 B1) teaches information in which the GPS information of the unit panel and the installation location information on the solar power plant of the unit panel are matched is stored in advance ([051]).
3) White (US 20110118888 A1) teaches each network element includes a unique identifier, which may be a serial number. In this embodiment, the enclosure of the BD 100 has a barcode that the installer scans to record the serial number. The installer also records the location of the installed device. This information (the identifying information and location) is provided to a network administrator to input the information into the PLS ([0170]).
Contacts
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 “scanning device may be configured to determine and/or estimate a global position at the time of each scan, by utilizing localization systems such as Global Positioning System (GPS).”