DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of embodiment 1, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 17, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites in part “one or more tooth clamps coupled with said clamp support arm for clamping onto teeth inside a patient’s mouth;” in lines 5-6 should be “one or more tooth clamps coupled with said clamp support arm configured for clamping onto teeth inside a patient’s mouth; “
Claim 10 recites in part “The dental anchoring system of claim 1,” in line 1 should be “The dental anchoring assembly of claim 1, “
Claim 17 recites in part “The dental anchoring assembly of claim 10,” in line 1 should be “The dental anchoring assembly of claim 1,”
Claim 18 recites in part “The dental anchoring assembly of claim 10,” in line 1 should be “The dental anchoring assembly of claim 17,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mushabac U.S Pat 5,562,448.
Claim 1: Mushabac discloses
a dental anchoring assembly as best seen in figure 16 comprising: a clamp support arm 258, a tongue protector arm 264, and a connector member 262 coupled between said clamp support arm 258 and said tongue protector arm 264; one or more tooth clamps 256 coupled with said clamp support arm for clamping onto teeth inside a patient's mouth; a tongue protector 210 (fig. 13 which has a similar structure as in fig.16) associated with said tongue protector arm and adapted for insertion into the patient's mouth adjacent to said one or more tooth clamps.
Claims 2, 11: Mushabac discloses wherein the connector member is a base plate (it is noted that a bridge member 262 is equivalent as an attachment base).
Claims 3, 12: Mushabac discloses further comprising a medical device (drill 38/260) mounted to the base plate.
Claims 4, 13: Mushabac discloses
wherein said one or more tooth clamps 256 are adapted to be clamped to teeth of the lower mandible and wherein said medical device 38/260 to adapted for use in the patient's mouth on the teeth of the lower mandible opposite of said one or more tooth clamps.
Claims 5, 14: Mushabac discloses further comprising a chin engaging element (it is noted that a support bracket 258 is attached to a patient’s jaw in fig, 16) adapted to engage an underside of the patient’s chin.
Claims 6, 15: Mushabac discloses wherein the tongue protector arm 264 is adapted to abut teeth of the lower mandible.
Claims 7, 16: Mushabac discloses further comprising a vertical support arm 258 extending from the tongue protector arm 264, the chin engaging element being associated with the vertical support arm (see fig. 16).
Claims 8, 17: Mushabac discloses wherein the clamp support arm and the tongue protector arm form a U-shape with the connector member (see fig. 16).
Claims 9, 18: Mushabac discloses the clamp support arm 258 is linearly extendable (see fig. 16).
Claim 10: Mushabac discloses the tongue protector 210 associated with the protector arm 264 and adapted for insertion into the patient’s mouth is adapted to be located between the patient’s tongue and a medical device 38/260 to be used in the patient’s mouth on teeth of a second side of a patient’s mouth opposite the first side of a patient’s mouth.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19: the prior arts fail to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed including a base plate upon a medical device be mounted; a clamp support arm extending from the plate in a first plane, a vertical support arm extending from the plate in a second plane, generally perpendicular to the first plane, wherein the protector arm from the vertical support arm is in a third plane, generally coplanar or parallel to the first plane, the tongue protector associated with the protector arm and adapted for insertion into the patient’s mouth engages the patient’s tongue on a side opposite the one or more tooth clamps.
Claims 20-23 are also allowed by virtual of their dependency from claim 19.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771