DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on December 27, 2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 20, 2024 and May 09, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the non-connected state" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-4 are at least rejected for their dependencies on claim 2 and are therefore rejected as set forth above.
Claim 10-13 recites the limitation "the non-connected state" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-13 are at least rejected for their dependencies on claim 10 and are therefore rejected as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0119762 A1 (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL) 28 April 2016 (2016-04-28).
Regarding claim 1, ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL. disclose “a multicast service transmission indication method, comprising: sending, by a network side device” (see figure 33, describing eNB) state indication information to a terminal (see figure 33, step 5; paragraph [0155] describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type); and “wherein the state indication information is used to assist the terminal in determining a state when a receiving multicast service” (see paragraph [0155] describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156] describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid).
As per claim 2, (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) disclose “wherein the state indication information comprises: reception state information; wherein the reception state information comprises at least one of the following: the terminal receives a multicast service in a connected state; the terminal can maintain reception of a multicast service in the current state; the terminal can receive a multicast service in the connected state and the non-connected state; a proportion parameter of terminals that can enter the connected state to receive a multicast service; and a proportion parameter of terminals that are allowed to receive a multicast service without entering the connected state” (see paragraphs [0155]-[0158]).
The additional features of claim 3 are also disclosed by (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) (see paragraph [0155]: describing group call setup for multicast/broadcast transmission The paging message includes the G-RNTI, the group ID": this is, the reception state information is applicable to a first multicast service),
The additional features of claim 4 are also disclosed by (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) (see paragraph [0156]).
The additional features of claims 5 and 11 are also disclosed by (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) (see paragraph [0158]: describing signal quality threshold).
The additional features of claims 6 and 15 are also disclosed by (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) (see figure 33, step 5).
As per claim 7, (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) disclose “wherein the sending, by the network side device, state indication information to the terminal comprises: sending, by the network side device, target information to the terminal, wherein the target information carries the state indication information; and the target information comprises at least one of the following: a system information block (SIB); and a paging message used for multicast service activation notification” (see figure 33, describing eNB) see figure 33, step 5; paragraph [0155] describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type); (see paragraph [0155] describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156] describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid).
As per claim 8, (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) disclose “receiving, by the network side device, auxiliary information sent by the terminal; wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of the following: power saving demand indication information;
reception effect indication information; and reception state indication information” (see figure 33, describing eNB state indication information to a terminal and see figure 33, step 5; paragraph [0155] describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type); (see paragraph [0155] describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156] describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid).
Regarding claim 9, ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL. disclose “a multicast service transmission method”, comprising: “receiving, by a terminal” (see figure 33, UE), “state indication information sent by a network side device” (see figure 33, step 5; see also paragraph [0155]: describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type), “wherein the state indication information is used to assist the terminal in determining a state when receiving a multicast service” (see paragraph [0155]: describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156]: describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid); and “receiving, by the terminal, a multicast service according to the state indication information” (see paragraphs [0156] describing target UEs should be in an RRC connected state to receive the multicast/broadcast data transmission); [0157] describing target UEs in an RRC idle state need not change to an RRC connected state to receive the multicast/broadcast data transmission; and [0158] describing target UEs need not enter an RRC connected state to receive multicast/broadcast data transmission if a target UE has a receiving signal quality less than a signal quality threshold the target UE may enter an RRC connected state).
As per claim 10, (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) disclose “wherein the state indication information comprises: reception state information; wherein the reception state information comprises at least one of the following: the terminal receives a multicast service in a connected state; the terminal can maintain reception of a multicast service in the current state; the terminal can receive a multicast service in the connected state and the non-connected state; a proportion parameter of terminals that can enter the connected state to receive a multicast service; and a proportion parameter of terminals that are allowed to receive a multicast service without entering the connected state” (see paragraphs [0155]-[0158]).
As per claims 12-14 (ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL.) disclose “a target state” (see figure 33, describing eNB state indication information to a terminal and see figure 33, step 5; paragraph [0155] describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type); (see paragraph [0155] describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156] describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid).
As per claims 16-18 a proportion parameter of terminals that can enter the connected state to receive a multicast service” (see figure 33, describing eNB state indication information to a terminal and see figure 33, step 5; paragraph [0155] describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type); (see paragraph [0155] describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156] describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid).
Regarding claim 19, ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL. disclose “a network side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instruction stored on the memory and executable on the processor” (See Figure 33), “wherein when the program or instruction is executed by the processor”, steps of the multicast service transmission indication method according to claim 1 are implemented. Particularly, “a multicast service transmission indication method, comprising: sending, by a network side device” (see figure 33, describing eNB) “state indication information to a terminal” and see figure 33, step 5; paragraph [0155] describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type); “wherein the state indication information is used to assist the terminal in determining a state when a receiving multicast service” (see paragraph [0155] describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156] describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid).
Regarding claim 20, ZHU XIPENG [CN] ET AL. disclose “a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or instruction is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented: “receiving, by a terminal” (see figure 33, UE), “state indication information sent by a network side device” (see figure 33, step 5; see also paragraph [0155]: describing in step 5, each eNB sends paging to the group. The paging message includes the receiving type), “wherein the state indication information is used to assist the terminal in determining a state when receiving a multicast service” (see paragraph [0155]: describing in step 7, depending on the receiving type, the target UEs that receive the paging may enter a connected mode remain in a connected mode, change to an idle mode, or remain in an idle mode; see also paragraph [0156]: describing the receiving type may be connected, hybrid or idle; see also paragraphs [0156], [0157] and [0158] for the different behaviours depending on each one of three different receiving types: connected, idle or hybrid); and “receiving, by the terminal, a multicast service according to the state indication information” (see paragraphs [0156] describing target UEs should be in an RRC connected state to receive the multicast/broadcast data transmission); [0157] describing target UEs in an RRC idle state need not change to an RRC connected state to receive the multicast/broadcast data transmission; and [0158] describing target UEs need not enter an RRC connected state to receive multicast/broadcast data transmission if a target UE has a receiving signal quality less than a signal quality threshold the target UE may enter an RRC connected state).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-10, 15, 19 and 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/041601 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 4 March 2021 (2021-03-04).
It is further noted that WO 2021/041601 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 4 March 2021 (2021-03-04) (see figure 5, steps 520, 525 and 535; see also paragraphs [0148]: "At 520, the base station 105-b determines a UE connection state for receiving the multicast/broadcast traffic For example, for relatively high QoS traffic, the connection state may be a CONNECTED mode state for relatively low QoS traffic, the connection state may be any of IDLE, INACTIVE, or CONNECTED mode status"; [0149]: "At 525, the UE 115-k receives a connection state information that identifies whether the UE is to be in CONNECTED mode state in order to receive the multicast/broadcast traffic";
and [0150]: "At 535, the base station 105-b transmits the multicast/broadcast
traffic to the UE 115-k using the selected radio bearer mode") anticipate also the subject-matter of claims 1, 9, 19 and 20.
As per claim 2, WO 2021/041601 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 4 March 2021 (2021-03-04) disclose “wherein the state indication information comprises: reception state information; wherein the reception state information comprises at least one of the following: the terminal receives a multicast service in a connected state; the terminal can maintain reception of a multicast service in the current state; the terminal can receive a multicast service in the connected state and the non-connected state; a proportion parameter of terminals that can enter the connected state to receive a multicast service; and a proportion parameter of terminals that are allowed to receive a multicast service without entering the connected state” (see paragraph [0148]).
The additional features of claim 3 are also disclosed by WO 2021/041601 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 4 March 2021 (2021-03-04) (see paragraph [0149]:
"broadcast page" means that it is applicable in the cell where the state
indication information was sent, whereas "service announcement via MBCCH"
means that it is applicable to a first multicast service).
The additional features of claim 4 are also disclosed by WO 2021/041601 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 4 March 2021 (2021-03-04) (see paragraph [0148]).
The additional features of claims 6 and 15 are also disclosed by WO 2021/041601 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 4 March 2021 (2021-03-04) (see paragraph [0149]: "broadcast page").
As per claim 10, WO 2021/041601 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 4 March 2021 (2021-03-04) disclose “wherein the state indication information comprises: reception state information; wherein the reception state information comprises at least one of the following: the terminal receives a multicast service in a connected state; the terminal can maintain reception of a multicast service in the current state; the terminal can receive a multicast service in the connected state and the non-connected state; a proportion parameter of terminals that can enter the connected state to receive a multicast service; and a proportion parameter of terminals that are allowed to receive a multicast service without entering the connected state” (see paragraph [0148]).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 15, 17, and 19-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by INTEL CORPORATION: "MBS L2 Architecture, Control Plane and SA2 LS Discussion", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2101051, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG2, no. Electronic meeting; 20200125 - 20200105 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), XP051974065, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://tp3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG2_RL2/TSGR2_113-e/Docs/ R2-2101051.zip R2-2101051-MBS L2 Architecture, Control plane and SA2 LS Discussion.docx [retrieved on 2021-01-15].
Furthermore, it is noted that INTEL CORPORATION: "MBS L2 Architecture, Control Plane and SA2 LS Discussion", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2101051, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG2, no. Electronic meeting; 20200125 - 20200105 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), XP051974065, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://tp3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG2_RL2/TSGR2_113-e/Docs/ R2-2101051.zip R2-2101051-MBS L2 Architecture, Control plane and SA2 LS Discussion.docx [retrieved on 2021-01-15] (see paragraph 2.3, proposals 5, 6 and 7) anticipate also the subject-matter of claims 1, 9, 19 and 20.
As per claim 2, INTEL CORPORATION: "MBS L2 Architecture, Control Plane and SA2 LS Discussion", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2101051, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG2, no. Electronic meeting; 20200125 - 20200105 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), XP051974065, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://tp3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG2_RL2/TSGR2_113-e/Docs/ R2-2101051.zip R2-2101051-MBS L2 Architecture, Control plane and SA2 LS Discussion.docx [retrieved on 2021-01-15] disclose “wherein the state indication information comprises: reception state information; wherein the reception state information comprises at least one of the following: the terminal receives a multicast service in a connected state; the terminal can maintain reception of a multicast service in the current state; the terminal can receive a multicast service in the connected state and the non-connected state; a proportion parameter of terminals that can enter the connected state to receive a multicast service; and a proportion parameter of terminals that are allowed to receive a multicast service without entering the connected state” (see paragraph 2.3, proposals 5, 6 and 7).
The additional features of claim 3 are also disclosed by INTEL CORPORATION: (see paragraph 2.3, proposal 9: describing Introduce a new SIB to MBS for service indication": this is, the reception state indication is applicable to the cell).
The additional features of claim 4 are also disclosed by INTEL CORPORATION (see paragraph 2.3.1: describing high QoS… otherwise).
The additional features of claims 6 and 15 are also disclosed by INTEL CORPORATION (see paragraph 2.3, proposal 9: "SIB").
The additional features of claims 7 and 17 are also disclosed by INTEL CORPORATION (see paragraph 2.3.2, proposal 11).
As per claim 10, INTEL CORPORATION: "MBS L2 Architecture, Control Plane and SA2 LS Discussion", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2101051, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG2, no. Electronic meeting; 20200125 - 20200105 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), XP051974065, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://tp3gpp.org/tsg_ran/WG2_RL2/TSGR2_113-e/Docs/ R2-2101051.zip R2-2101051-MBS L2 Architecture, Control plane and SA2 LS Discussion.docx [retrieved on 2021-01-15] disclose “wherein the state indication information comprises: reception state information; wherein the reception state information comprises at least one of the following: the terminal receives a multicast service in a connected state; the terminal can maintain reception of a multicast service in the current state; the terminal can receive a multicast service in the connected state and the non-connected state; a proportion parameter of terminals that can enter the connected state to receive a multicast service; and a proportion parameter of terminals that are allowed to receive a multicast service without entering the connected state” (see paragraph 2.3, proposals 5, 6 and 7).
Other Reference(s) Cited
WO-2014071784-A1 describing method that involves obtaining user service information and business broadcast/multicast service real-time state information. The service information is obtained according to a current service state. Monitoring result or adjusting information is transmitted to a real time state information monitoring mobile network. The real time state information is obtained according to a preset dimension unit and a preset index value. The real time state information is included with the user service information according to real time traffic. The dimension unit is associated with the preset index value.
WO-2011047532-A1 describing method that involves receiving wireless resource state information by a packet kernel network from a multi-residual area/multicast cooperation entity. An evolutionary multimedia broadcast multicast service is controlled by the packet kernel network according to the received wireless resource state information under the state of multiplexing the evolutionary multimedia broadcast multicast service and confirming the multiplexing service through the packet kernel network. Initial wireless resource state information is acquired by the network via configuring or utilizing an initializing message.
US 20210068003 describing method that involves receiving an indication from a core network to serve multicast-broadcast traffic to one or more user equipment (UEs) (115) at a base station (105). A radio bearer mode is selected from radio bearer modes for delivery of the multicast-broadcast traffic to UE based on the indication. The multicast-broadcast traffic is transmitted to the UE using the selected radio bearer mode.
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
January 23, 2026