DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 17, 18, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bogie et al. (European Patent Application Publication # EP2383851A2).
Regarding Claim 1, Bogie discloses a busbar-side voltage transformer cabinet (i.e. switch panel 10), comprising:
a busbar chamber (i.e. housing 11 which comprises busbars 13), configured to install a busbar (i.e. busbars 13) therein;
an inflation chamber (i.e. central housing part 15), arranged below the busbar chamber and configured to install an electrical device (i.e. circuit breaker 16/interrupter 17) therein, and filled with insulating gas; and
a cable chamber (i.e. lower housing part 21), arranged below the inflation chamber and configured to install a feeder (i.e. current transformer 22) therein,
wherein the cable chamber is installed with a voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24), the inflation chamber is provided with an isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) configured to switch the voltage transformer between an on state and a grounded state, the voltage transformer is connected with the busbar when the voltage transformer is in the one state (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027).
Regarding Claim 7, Bogie discloses a transformer bushing (i.e. through insulator 23) connected with the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24), the isolation device is connected with the transformer bushing through a hard copper rod (Fig. 1A; Paragraph 0016-0017).
Regarding Claim 8, Bogie discloses that the electrical device (i.e. circuit breaker 16/interrupter 17) is a circuit breaker or an isolation switch (Fig. 1A; Paragraph 0014-0016).
Regarding Claim 10, Bogie discloses that the busbar- side voltage transformer cabinet with the isolation device has same height, width and depth with an electrical cabinet filled with SF6 gas and having no voltage transformer isolation function (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027).
Regarding Claim 11, Bogie discloses a busbar-side voltage transformer cabinet(i.e. switch panel 10), comprising:
a busbar chamber (i.e. housing 11 which comprises busbars 13), configured to install a busbar (i.e. busbars 13) therein;
an inflation chamber (i.e. central housing part 15) arranged below the busbar chamber, the inflation chamber configured to install an electrical device (i.e. circuit breaker 16/interrupter 17) therein and filled with insulating gas;
a cable chamber (i.e. lower housing part 21) arranged below the inflation chamber, the cable chamber configured to install a feeder (i.e. current transformer 22) therein;
a voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24) installed in the cable chamber; and
an isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) provided in the inflation chamber and configured to switch the voltage transformer between an on state and a grounded state, wherein the voltage transformer is connected with the busbar when the voltage transformer is in the on state and is disconnected from the busbar when the voltage transformer is in the grounded state (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027).
Regarding Claim 17, Bogie discloses a transformer bushing (i.e. through insulator 23) connected with the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24), the isolation device is connected with the transformer bushing through a hard copper rod (Fig. 1A; Paragraph 0016-0017).
Regarding Claim 18, Bogie discloses that the electrical device (i.e. circuit breaker 16/interrupter 17) is a circuit breaker or an isolation switch (Fig. 1A; Paragraph 0014-0016).
Regarding Claim 20, Bogie discloses that the busbar- side voltage transformer cabinet with the isolation device has same height, width and depth with an electrical cabinet filled with SF6 gas and having no voltage transformer isolation function (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027).
Claims 2, 3, 6, 12, 13, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bogie et al. (European Patent Application Publication # EP2383851A2) in view of Jin et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN206041327U).
Regarding Claim 2, Bogie discloses that a busbar bushing connected to the busbar (i.e. busbars 13) extends from the busbar chamber (i.e. housing 11 which comprises busbars 13) into the inflation chamber (i.e. central housing part 15), the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24) is connected with the busbar by being connected with the busbar bushing (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027). Although a busbar bushing isn’t mentioned or shown, busbar bushings would inherently be present and needed in order to feed busbars through metal walls of the housing without shorting and furthermore because a seal is needed for the central housing part to be filled with an insulating gas as described in Paragraph 0015.
Alternatively, Jin teaches that a busbar bushing connected to the busbar (i.e. bus 7, 8, & 9) extends from the busbar chamber (i.e. cabinet body) into the inflation chamber (i.e. chamber 4), the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 10) is connected with the busbar by being connected with the busbar bushing (Fig. 3; Abstract; Paragraph 0022). Fig. 3 clearly shows at least one busbar bushing. It would have been obvious to use a busbar bushing for the busbars of Bogie, as taught by Jin, in order to properly insulate said busbars and seal the space or chamber filled with insulating gas.
Regarding Claim 3, Bogie discloses a mechanism chamber arranged outside the inflation chamber (i.e. central housing part 15) and configured to be accessible from outside, an operating mechanism for operating the isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) to switch the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24) between the on state and the grounded state (i.e. connected to ground/earth) is arranged in the mechanism chamber (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0009, 0012-0027). One terminal of the isolator/earthing switch 18 is connected to ground and although an operating mechanism is not shown, Bogie discusses that isolator/earthing switch 18 can be used to interrupt a connection by switching to earth/ground. The invention of Bogie is a switch panel which would inherently have some external or connected operating mechanism or switch for a user to control said isolator/earthing switch 18.
Regarding Claim 6, Bogie discloses that the isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) is installed close to the busbar bushing (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027). Although a busbar bushing isn’t mentioned or shown, busbar bushings would inherently be present and needed in order to feed busbars through metal walls of the housing without shorting and furthermore because a seal is needed for the central housing part to be filled with an insulating gas as described in Paragraph 0015.
Alternatively, Jin teaches that that the isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) is installed close to the busbar bushing (Fig. 3; Abstract; Paragraph 0022). Fig. 3 clearly shows at least one busbar bushing. It would have been obvious to use a busbar bushing for the busbars of Bogie, as taught by Jin, in order to properly insulate said busbars and seal the space or chamber filled with insulating gas.
Regarding Claim 12, Bogie discloses that a busbar bushing connected to the busbar (i.e. busbars 13) extends from the busbar chamber (i.e. housing 11 which comprises busbars 13) into the inflation chamber (i.e. central housing part 15), the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24) is connected with the busbar by being connected with the busbar bushing (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027). Although a busbar bushing isn’t mentioned or shown, busbar bushings would inherently be present and needed in order to feed busbars through metal walls of the housing without shorting and furthermore because a seal is needed for the central housing part to be filled with an insulating gas as described in Paragraph 0015.
Alternatively, Jin teaches that a busbar bushing connected to the busbar (i.e. bus 7, 8, & 9) extends from the busbar chamber (i.e. cabinet body) into the inflation chamber (i.e. chamber 4), the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 10) is connected with the busbar by being connected with the busbar bushing (Fig. 3; Abstract; Paragraph 0022). Fig. 3 clearly shows at least one busbar bushing. It would have been obvious to use a busbar bushing for the busbars of Bogie, as taught by Jin, in order to properly insulate said busbars and seal the space or chamber filled with insulating gas.
Regarding Claim 13, Bogie discloses a mechanism chamber arranged outside the inflation chamber (i.e. central housing part 15) and configured to be accessible from outside, an operating mechanism for operating the isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) to switch the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer 24) between the on state and the grounded state (i.e. connected to ground/earth) is arranged in the mechanism chamber (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0009, 0012-0027). One terminal of the isolator/earthing switch 18 is connected to ground and although an operating mechanism is not shown, Bogie discusses that isolator/earthing switch 18 can be used to interrupt a connection by switching to earth/ground. The invention of Bogie is a switch panel which would inherently have some external or connected operating mechanism or switch for a user to control said isolator/earthing switch 18.
Regarding Claim 16, Bogie discloses that the isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) is installed close to the busbar bushing (Fig. 1A; Abstract; Paragraph 0013-0027). Although a busbar bushing isn’t mentioned or shown, busbar bushings would inherently be present and needed in order to feed busbars through metal walls of the housing without shorting and furthermore because a seal is needed for the central housing part to be filled with an insulating gas as described in Paragraph 0015.
Alternatively, Jin teaches that that the isolation device (i.e. isolator/earthing switch 18) is installed close to the busbar bushing (Fig. 3; Abstract; Paragraph 0022). Fig. 3 clearly shows at least one busbar bushing. It would have been obvious to use a busbar bushing for the busbars of Bogie, as taught by Jin, in order to properly insulate said busbars and seal the space or chamber filled with insulating gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogie et al. (European Patent Application Publication # EP2383851A2) in view of Jin et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN206041327U), as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Yang et al. (WIPO Publication # WO/2020/019335).
Regarding Claim 4, Bogie in view of Jin does not explicitly disclose that the isolation device comprises a drive shaft configured to rotate between a first shaft position and a second shaft position, in the first shaft position, the voltage transformer is connected with the busbar bushing, and in the second shaft position, the voltage transformer is grounded.
Yang teaches that the isolation device (i.e. switch assembly 100) comprises a drive shaft (i.e. shaft 101) configured to rotate between a first shaft position (i.e. close position) and a second shaft position (i.e. open position), in the first shaft position, the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer VT) is connected with the busbar bushing (i.e. bushing 105), and in the second shaft position, the voltage transformer is grounded (Fig. 3, 4; Paragraphs 0007-0008, 0032-0040).
Bogie does not explicitly illustrate the mechanical structure of isolator/earthing switch 18 although the exact same function is described regarding the grounding and connecting of the voltage transformer. Yang teaches the mechanical structure of a switch with a drive shaft that rotates between two positions in which one connects the voltage transformer and the other disconnects the voltage transformer by connecting it to ground. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use such a mechanical structure for the switch of Bogie, as taught by Yang, in order to reliably connect and disconnect the voltage transformer.
Regarding Claim 5, Bogie in view of Jin does not explicitly disclose that the drive shaft is connected with the operating mechanism, the operating mechanism drives the drive shaft to rotate between the first shaft position and the second shaft position.
Yang teaches that the drive shaft (i.e. shaft 101) is connected with the operating mechanism (i.e. switch), the operating mechanism drives the drive shaft to rotate between the first shaft position (i.e. close position) and the second shaft position (i.e. open position) (Fig. 3, 4; Paragraphs 0007-0008, 0032-0040).
Bogie does not explicitly illustrate the mechanical structure of isolator/earthing switch 18 although the exact same function is described regarding the grounding and connecting of the voltage transformer. Yang teaches the mechanical structure of a switch with a drive shaft that rotates between two positions in which one connects the voltage transformer and the other disconnects the voltage transformer by connecting it to ground. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use such a mechanical structure for the switch of Bogie, as taught by Yang, in order to reliably connect and disconnect the voltage transformer.
Regarding Claim 14, Bogie in view of Jin does not explicitly disclose that the isolation device comprises a drive shaft configured to rotate between a first shaft position and a second shaft position, in the first shaft position, the voltage transformer is connected with the busbar bushing, and in the second shaft position, the voltage transformer is grounded.
Yang teaches that the isolation device (i.e. switch assembly 100) comprises a drive shaft (i.e. shaft 101) configured to rotate between a first shaft position (i.e. close position) and a second shaft position (i.e. open position), in the first shaft position, the voltage transformer (i.e. voltage transformer VT) is connected with the busbar bushing (i.e. bushing 105), and in the second shaft position, the voltage transformer is grounded (Fig. 3, 4; Paragraphs 0007-0008, 0032-0040).
Bogie does not explicitly illustrate the mechanical structure of isolator/earthing switch 18 although the exact same function is described regarding the grounding and connecting of the voltage transformer. Yang teaches the mechanical structure of a switch with a drive shaft that rotates between two positions in which one connects the voltage transformer and the other disconnects the voltage transformer by connecting it to ground. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use such a mechanical structure for the switch of Bogie, as taught by Yang, in order to reliably connect and disconnect the voltage transformer.
Regarding Claim 15, Bogie in view of Jin does not explicitly disclose that the drive shaft is connected with the operating mechanism, the operating mechanism drives the drive shaft to rotate between the first shaft position and the second shaft position.
Yang teaches that the drive shaft (i.e. shaft 101) is connected with the operating mechanism (i.e. switch), the operating mechanism drives the drive shaft to rotate between the first shaft position (i.e. close position) and the second shaft position (i.e. open position) (Fig. 3, 4; Paragraphs 0007-0008, 0032-0040).
Bogie does not explicitly illustrate the mechanical structure of isolator/earthing switch 18 although the exact same function is described regarding the grounding and connecting of the voltage transformer. Yang teaches the mechanical structure of a switch with a drive shaft that rotates between two positions in which one connects the voltage transformer and the other disconnects the voltage transformer by connecting it to ground. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use such a mechanical structure for the switch of Bogie, as taught by Yang, in order to reliably connect and disconnect the voltage transformer.
Claims 9 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogie et al. (European Patent Application Publication # EP2383851A2) in view of Mo et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN112421467A)
Regarding Claim 9, Bogie does not explicitly disclose that the insulating gas is dry air.
Mo teaches that the insulating gas is dry air (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031).
Mo teaches that it is well known in the art of gas-insulated voltage transformer switch cabinets to use dry air as the insulating gas inside the gas box or chamber. Mo teaches a similar structure to that of Bogie, but Bogie uses SF6 as an example of the insulating gas although does not particularly limit the invention only to using SF6. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use dry air instead of SF6 in the housing of Bogie, as taught by Mo, in order to insulate the device in a more economical way.
Regarding Claim 19, Bogie does not explicitly disclose that the insulating gas is dry air.
Mo teaches that the insulating gas is dry air (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0031).
Mo teaches that it is well known in the art of gas-insulated voltage transformer switch cabinets to use dry air as the insulating gas inside the gas box or chamber. Mo teaches a similar structure to that of Bogie, but Bogie uses SF6 as an example of the insulating gas although does not particularly limit the invention only to using SF6. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use dry air instead of SF6 in the housing of Bogie, as taught by Mo, in order to insulate the device in a more economical way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Bogie does not teach or suggest “a busbar chamber, configured to install a busbar therein” because the Applicant alleges that busbars 13 are located outside housing 11. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First of all, the “busbar chamber” is not defined or described in or by the claim and is not necessarily an enclosed space according to the claim. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the “busbar chamber” is just a place somewhere on or in the transformer cabinet and busbars 13 of Bogie are certainly located in or on a place in or on housing 11 of the switch panel 10. Secondly, busbars 13 are clearly not merely just placed outside housing 11 since they must inherently go through the wall of that housing to be connected to internal components. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is appropriate in view of Bogie.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847