DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on January 20, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-12, and 16-19 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrzic et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0231124; hereinafter as "Vrzic") in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0406690; hereinafter as "Liu"), and further in view of Yao et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0236923; hereinafter as "Yao").
As per claim 1, Vrzic discloses a sensing operation management function (SOMF) (see e.g., Fig. 5; para. [0018], [0020] & [0022]) comprising:
a processor configured to: receive a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)-initiated (UE 510) sensing request from a network node (eNB 512) (see e.g., para. [0062]-[0063]: UE 510 sends an uplink request to serving node 512 for a device-to-device (D2D) communication; the serving node 512 may send a request to Spectrum Manager 520 for an additional frequency band; the SM 520 further requests all neighbouring nodes, including node 522 and node 524, to initiate a spectrum sensing event broadcast/multicast), the WTRU-initiated sensing request comprising at least one parameter for periodic sensing (e.g., para. [0091]: “The UEs may be requested to report the sensing event only once per broadcast of events or may be requested to periodically measure and report sensing feedback.”) and one or more of a requested sensing area, a requested service area, a WTRU location, information associated with a serving SOMF, or a periodic service request (e.g., para. [0063]-[0068]: the request may include, but is not limited to, various parameters such as: the location of the UE that made the request for D2D; the frequency band over which the sensing has to be performed; the criteria for sensing, such as or example interference level and the frequency resolution, Δf, for sensing; and the timing intervals for sensing opportunities for different locations);
select one or more WTRUs to perform a sensing operation based on the WTRU-initiated sensing request (e.g., para. [0082] & [0108]);
send one or more sensing requests to the one or more selected WTRUs, the one or more sensing requests comprising one or more of a periodicity for performing the sensing operation, a periodicity for sending sensing responses, or a requested sensing mechanism (e.g., para. [0091]: “The UEs may be requested to report the sensing event only once per broadcast of events or may be requested to periodically measure and report sensing feedback.”);
receive one or more sensing responses from the one or more WTRUs, the one or more sensing responses comprising sensing data (e.g., para. [0084], [0098]-[0102] & [0114]-[0115]); and
send the sensing responses to a WTRU that initiated the WTRU-initiated sensing request via the network node (see e.g., para. [0115]-[0120]).
Vrzic discloses receiving the sensing request from a network/serving node based on an uplink request sent by a UE/WRTU (para. [0062]-[0063]), but does not explicitly disclose the sensing request is WTRU-initiated sensing request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses: receiving a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)-initiated sensing request (see e.g., Figs. 1, 3; para. [0074]: “…the UE firstly sends the sensing request to the AMF. In this way, the AMF, as a function of access and mobility management for the UE, may select an appropriate SF, as required, for providing the sensing parameters to the UE.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vrzic to incorporate the teachings of Liu to provide the WTRU-initiated sensing request. Doing so allows the AMF, as a function of access and mobility management for the UE, to select an appropriate sensing function (SF), as required, for providing the sensing parameters to the UE, as recognized by Liu (para. [0074]).
Vrzic in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one parameter for periodic sensing comprises a start time or end time.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses: wherein the at least one parameter for periodic sensing comprises a start time or end time (see e.g., para. [0123]-[0124]: “The sensing requirement further includes second indication information, and the second indication information indicates time corresponding to the sensing result requested by the sensing requirement”; “The time may be at least one of starting time, ending time, duration, a period, and a period number. Optionally, the time may be a time point or a time window. The time may be aperiodic time or periodic time”; and para. [0126]: “the sensing requirement may further include a type of sensing feedback, such as immediate feedback, periodic feedback, and event-triggered feedback.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vrzic in view of Liu to incorporate the teachings of Yao to provide a start time or end time for periodic sensing. Doing so enables to report sensing start time or end time when periodic feedback is requested, as recognized by Yao (para. [0124]).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Vrzic does not explicitly disclose: wherein the WTRU-initiated sensing request further comprises an event-based Quality of Service (QoS) determination associated with the requested sensing mechanism.
However, Liu discloses: wherein the sensing request further comprises an event-based Quality of Service (QoS) determination associated with the requested sensing mechanism (see e.g., para. [0089]-[0091] & [0201]: “The sensing request of the UE may also carry the QoS information, requested by the UE, indicating the QoS that the sensing service needs to meet.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vrzic to incorporate the teachings of Liu to provide the sensing mechanism including an event-based Quality of Service (QoS) determination. Doing so allows the network to configure appropriate sensing parameters, as recognized by Liu (para. [0091]).
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao discloses: wherein the one or more sensing requests sent to the one or more WTRUs further comprise one or more of a WTRU list, a base station list, or configuration information for performing sensing (see Vrzic, e.g., para [0093]-[0102]; also see Liu, e.g., para. [0076]-[0084] & [0093]).
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao discloses: wherein the WTRU-initiated sensing request is received from a WTRU via an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see Liu, e.g., Figs. 1, 3; para. [0074]: “…the UE firstly sends the sensing request to the AMF. In this way, the AMF, as a function of access and mobility management for the UE, may select an appropriate SF, as required, for providing the sensing parameters to the UE.”).
As per claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated and Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao discloses: wherein the WTRU-initiated sensing request further comprises a requested sensing report type, a service request ID, the requested sensing mechanism with a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement, a list of base stations and WTRUs involved, an application ID, a target area, or an address of SOMF (see Vrzic, e.g., para. [0063]-[0068]; and Liu, e.g., para. [0076]-[0084]).
As per claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated and Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao discloses: wherein the requested sensing report type is a periodic service report or an event triggered sensing service report; and wherein at least one parameter for periodic sensing further comprises a periodicity of sensing (see Vrzic, e.g., para. [0091]; Liu, e.g., para. [0113] & [0130]-[0135]; and Yao, e.g., para. [0123]-[0124] & [0126]).
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao discloses: wherein the processor is further configured to receive an indication of a target area or a list of WTRUs or base stations (BSs) from an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see Liu, e.g., Figs. 1, 3; para. [0074]).
As per claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and Vrzic discloses: wherein the processor is further configured to: generate coordination information for controlling the sensing operation of one or more WTRUs of a WTRU list according to the requested sensing mechanism (see Vrzic, e.g., para. [0063]-[0068] & [0093]-[0102]).
Vrzic does not explicitly disclose: generating coordination information according to a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement.
However, Liu discloses: wherein the processor is further configured to: generate coordination information for controlling the sensing operation of one or more WTRUs of a WTRU list according to the requested sensing mechanism and a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (see e.g., para. [0076]-[0084] & [0089]-[0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vrzic to incorporate the teachings of Liu to provide generating coordination information according to a QoS requirement. Doing so allows the network to configure appropriate sensing parameters, as recognized by Liu (para. [0091]).
As per claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated and Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao discloses: wherein the sensing operation comprises determining a sender of a sensing signal, determining a receiver of a sensing signal, determining a sensing period, or determining a waveform of a sensing signal (see Vrzic, e.g., para. [0063]-[0068] & [0098]-[0102]; and Liu, e.g., para. [0076]-[0093]).
Method claims 11-13 and 15-20 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claims 1-3 and 5-10. Therefore, method claims 11-13 and 15-20 correspond to apparatus claims 1-3 and 5-10 and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao, and further in view of Cheng et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0370820; hereinafter as "Cheng").
As per claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated and Vrzic in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration information for performing sensing is frame structure or resource assignment information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses: wherein the configuration information for performing sensing is frame structure or resource assignment information (e.g., para. [0059] & [0114]-[0115]: “The sensing configuration may identify the resources (e.g., time, frequency, spatial, etc., resources), the sensing target(s) (e.g., which object(s) are being sensed), the format for reporting the result of sensing the object(s), etc., that the UE will use to perform sensing operations. The UE may perform the sensing operations according to the sensing configuration.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to provide configuration information for performing sensing including frame structure or resource assignment information. Doing so provides mechanisms where the network may configure various sensing configurations to WTRUs/UEs, as recognized by Cheng (para. [0005]).
Method claim 14 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 4. Therefore, method claim 14 corresponds to apparatus claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment. Vrzic in view of Liu and Yao is demonstrated to meet the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN AZIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687 adnan.aziz@uspto.gov