DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/15/2026 has been entered. No amendment has been made and claims 1-20 have been argued by the applicant. Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11-12, 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki Sungkwan (KR – 20200141743 A, Examiner disclosed English machined translation for rejection reference) and further in view of Nakano et al. (US – 2020/0208707 A1).
As per claim 1, Sungkwan discloses Shock Absorber comprising:
A pressure tube (Sungkwan discloses invention is Shock Absorber so that its obviously disclose pressure tube);
a piston body (110, Fig: 1) slidably positioned within the pressure tube;
a blowoff disc (131, Fig: 3) having a first surface in contact with a surface of the piston body (As per Fig; 1-6, the first disk 131 is contact with piston body) and an opposite second surface (opposite surface of fist surface, Attached figure and Fig: 1-6);
a disc stack 132, 133, 134, Fig: 3); and
a preload ring (133, Fig: 3) axially positioned between the disc stack (132, 134, Fig: 3) and the blowoff disc (131, Fig: 3), the preload ring being in direct contact with the second surface of the blowoff disc (Fig: 1-6), wherein the preload ring includes an outer surface and a substantially constant thickness (133, Fig: 3).
Sungkwan discloses invention is Shock Absorber so that its obviously disclose pressure tube, but fails to explicitly disclose a pressure tube;
a piston body slidably positioned within the pressure tube;
wherein, the preload ring including a cross- sectional width that varies along its circumference.
Nakano discloses Hydraulic Shock Absorber And Damping Force Generation Mechanism comprising:
a pressure tube (11, Fig: 1);
a piston body (30, Fig: 1) slidably positioned within the pressure tube (Fig: 1);
wherein, the preload ring (513s, [0030]) including a cross- sectional width that varies along its circumference ([0073] and [0079], Fig: 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Shock Absorber of the Sugkwan to make the a piston body slidably positioned within the pressure tube and wherein, the preload ring including a cross- sectional width that varies along its circumference as taught by Nakano in order to provide the damping force is set low, and the shock absorber can improve riding comfort by absorbing vibrations caused by irregularities on the road surface during driving.
As per claim 2, Sungkwan discloses wherein the outer surface of the preload ring (133, Fig: 3) is uninterrupted and contiguously circular in shape (Fig: 3).
As per claim 3, Sungkwan discloses wherein the preload ring (133) includes an inner surface defining a central hole (Fig: 3), and
NAKANO further discloses the inner surface being shaped as an ellipse having a center offset from a center of the outer surface (As per Fig: 7A, two center of circle O1 and center of inner circle O2, both are offset, therefore an ellipse shape.).
As per claim 4, Sungkwan discloses wherein the preload ring (133) includes a hole extending through the thickness of the preload ring (Fig: 3) , the hole being concentric with the outer surface of the preload ring (two different centers O1, O2, Fig: 7A), the hole having an elliptical shape (The minor axis of the ellipse coincides with the vertical direction of the figure, and the major axis of the ellipse coincides with the horizontal direction of the figure, [0079], Fig: 7A).
As per claim 6, Sungkwan discloses wherein the preload ring (133) includes a hole extending through the thickness of the preload ring (Fig: 3), and
Nakano further discloses the hole being eccentric with the outer surface of the preload ring (two centers O1 and O2, Fig: 7A), the hole having a circular shape (Fig: 7aA).
As per claims 7 and 8, Nakano further discloses wherein the preload ring (513S) has one or more orientation features configured to orient the preload ring with respect to the piston body (Claim 7) and wherein one or more of the blowoff disc and the preload ring have one or more orientation features configured to orient one or more of the blowoff disc and the preload ring with respect to the piston body (As shown in FIG. 5, the preload plate 513S includes the ring-shaped portion 513a formed in a ring shape and the axis alignment portions 513b protruding radially outward from the outer periphery 513c of the ring-shaped portion 513a and performing axis alignment. In FIG. 5, the boundary between the ring-shaped portion 513a and each axis alignment portion 513b is shown by the dotted line T1 on the preload plate 5135. More specifically, the axis alignment portions 513b of the preload plate 5135 protrude from the outer periphery of the ring-shaped portion 513a toward a radially inward portion of the annular protrusion 38. The axis alignment portions 513b thus contact the radially inward portion of the annular protrusion 38, whereby axis alignment is made, [0073], Fig: 5, 7A).
As per claim 11, Sungkwan discloses Shock Absorber comprising:
a pressure tube (Sungkwan discloses invention is Shock Absorber so that its obviously disclose pressure tube);
a piston body (110, Fig: 1) slidably positioned within the pressure tube;
a blowoff disc (131, Fig: 3) having a first surface facing a surface of the piston body (As per Fig; 1-6, the first disk 131 is contact with piston body) and an opposite second surface (Attached figure and Fig: 1-6); and
a preload ring (133, Fig: 3) having:
a first surface (Attached figure and Fig: 3) in contact with the second surface of the blowoff disc (Attached figure and Fig: 3);
a second surface opposite the first surface of the preload ring (Attached figure and Fig: 3);
a circular outer surface (outer surface of 133, Fig: 3) extending from the first surface of the preload ring to the second surface of the preload ring (Fig: 3), the circular outer surface having a first center (Attached figure and Fig: 3); and
an inner surface extending from the first surface of the preload ring (133) to the second surface of the preload ring (Attached figure and Fig: 3), the inner surface defining a hole through the preload ring (Attached figure and Fig: 3).
Sungkwan discloses invention is Shock Absorber so that its obviously disclose pressure tube, but fails to explicitly disclose;
preload ring the inner surface having a second center, and wherein the second center is offset from the first center.
Nakano discloses Hydraulic Shock Absorber And Damping Force Generation Mechanism comprising:
preload ring the inner surface having a second center (O2, Fig: 7a), and wherein the second center is offset from the first center (O1 and O2 are offset, Fig: 7A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Shock Absorber of the Sugkwan to make the preload ring the inner surface having a second center, and wherein the second center is offset from the first center as taught by Nakano in order to provide the damping force is set low, and the shock absorber can improve riding comfort by absorbing vibrations caused by irregularities on the road surface during driving.
As per claim 12, Nakano discloses wherein the inner surface (513d, Fig: 7A) is circular in shape, elliptical in shape, irregular in shape, or wavy in shape (Fig: 7A).
As per claim 15, Sungkwan discloses Shock Absorber comprising:
a pressure tube (Sungkwan discloses invention is Shock Absorber so that its obviously disclose pressure tube);
a piston body (110, Fig: 1) slidably positioned within the pressure tube;
a blowoff disc (131, Fig: 3) having a first surface facing a surface of the piston body (As per Fig; 1-6, the first disk 131 is contact with piston body ) and an opposite second surface (Attached figure and Fig: 1-6); and
a preload ring (133, Fig: 3) having:
a first surface in contact with the second surface of the blowoff disc (Attached figure And Fig: 3);
a second surface opposite the first surface of the preload ring (Attached figure And Fig: 3);
a circular outer surface extending from the first surface of the preload ring to the second surface of the preload ring (133, Fig: 3), the circular outer surface having a first center (Attached figure and Fig: 3).
Sungkwan discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a piston body slidably positioned within the pressure tube; and
an elliptical inner surface extending from the first surface of the preload ring to the second surface of the preload ring, the elliptical inner surface defining an elliptical hole through the preload ring.
Nakano discloses Hydraulic Shock Absorber And Damping Force Generation Mechanism comprising:
a piston body (30, Fig: 1) slidably positioned within the pressure tube (Fig: 1); and
an elliptical inner surface extending from the first surface of the preload ring to the second surface of the preload ring, the elliptical inner surface defining an elliptical hole through the preload ring (The minor axis of the ellipse coincides with the vertical direction of the figure, and the major axis of the ellipse coincides with the horizontal direction of the figure [0079], Fig: 7A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Shock Absorber of the Sugkwan to make the piston body slidably positioned within the pressure tube; and an elliptical inner surface extending from the first surface of the preload ring to the second surface of the preload ring, the elliptical inner surface defining an elliptical hole through the preload ring as taught by Nakano in order to provide the damping force is set low, and the shock absorber can improve riding comfort by absorbing vibrations caused by irregularities on the road surface during driving.
As per claim 16, Nakano further discloses the elliptical inner surface having a second center (O, Fig: 7C), and wherein the second center is concentric with the first center (O, Fig: 7C).
As per claim 17, Nakano further discloses the elliptical inner surface having a second center (O2, Fig: A), and wherein the second center is offset from the first center (01 and O2 are offset, Fig: 7A).
As per claim 19, Nakano further discloses wherein one or more of the blowoff disc (511, 512, [0157], Fig: 4) and the preload ring have one or more orientation features configured to orient one or more of the blowoff disc and the preload ring with respect to the piston body (As shown in FIG. 5, the preload plate 513S includes the ring-shaped portion 513a formed in a ring shape and the axis alignment portions 513b protruding radially outward from the outer periphery 513c of the ring-shaped portion 513a and performing axis alignment. In FIG. 5, the boundary between the ring-shaped portion 513a and each axis alignment portion 513b is shown by the dotted line T1 on the preload plate 5135. More specifically, the axis alignment portions 513b of the preload plate 5135 protrude from the outer periphery of the ring-shaped portion 513a toward a radially inward portion of the annular protrusion 38. The axis alignment portions 513b thus contact the radially inward portion of the annular protrusion 38, whereby axis alignment is made, [0073], Fig: 5, 7A).
As per claim 20, Nakano further discloses wherein the elliptical inner surface has a minor axis and a major axis, and wherein neither the minor axis nor the major axis of the elliptical inner surface passes through the first center (Fig: 7C show that inner circle 513d is ellipse shape and offset without circle 513c, therefore it is inherently disclose that neither the minor axis nor the major axis of the elliptical inner surface passes through the first center).
Claim(s) 5, 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ki Sungkwan (KR – 20200141743 A) as modified by NAKANO et al. (US - 2020/0208707 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SAWANISHI (JP - 2010112464 A, Examiner disclosed English machined translation for reference).
As per claims 5 and 18, Sungkwan as modified by NAKANO discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the blowoff disc and the preload ring have one or more orientation features configured to orient the blowoff disc and the preload ring with respect to one another.
SAWANISHI discloses Leaf Valve For Buffer Of Vehicle comprising: wherein one or more of the blowoff disc (14, Fig: 1, 3) and the preload ring (12, Fig: 1, 3) have one or more orientation features configured to orient the blowoff disc (914a, Fig: 3) and the preload ring (12a, Fig: 3) with respect to one another (In contrast, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, the leaf valve 2 is an annular valve having a notch 12a that functions as a throttling orifice that opens from the outer periphery, and an opposite valve of the leaf valve 12 The sub leaf valve 13 is stacked on the lower side in FIG. 1 serving as the disc side to close the valve disc side of the notch 12a, and is stacked on the piston 3 side in the upper side in FIG. And an annular plate 14 provided with a tongue-like valve body 14a that constitutes a check valve for opening and closing the notch 12a, [0022], English translation, Fig: 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Shock Absorber of the Sungkwan as modified by NAKANO to make the one or more of the blowoff disc and the preload ring have one or more orientation features configured to orient the blowoff disc and the preload ring with respect to one another as taught by SAWANISHI in order to Ensures that the leaf valve which can set independently and separately the damping property on the side of expansion and damping property on the side of contraction of a buffer when piston speed exists in a low-speed area without impairing economical efficiency.
As per claim 13, Sungkwan as modified by NAKANO discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the blowoff disc and the preload ring have one or more orientation features configured to orient the blowoff disc and the preload ring with respect to one another and/or the piston body.
SAWANISHI discloses Leaf Valve For Buffer Of Vehicle comprising:
wherein one or more of the blowoff disc (14, Fig: 1, 3) and the preload ring (12, Fig: 1, 3) have one or more orientation features configured to orient the blowoff disc (914a, Fig: 3) and the preload ring (12a, Fig: 3) with respect to one another and/or the piston body (In contrast, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, the leaf valve 2 is an annular valve having a notch 12a that functions as a throttling orifice that opens from the outer periphery, and an opposite valve of the leaf valve 12 The sub leaf valve 13 is stacked on the lower side in FIG. 1 serving as the disc side to close the valve disc side of the notch 12a, and is stacked on the piston 3 side in the upper side in FIG. And an annular plate 14 provided with a tongue-like valve body 14a that constitutes a check valve for opening and closing the notch 12a, [0022], English translation, Fig: 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Hydraulic Shock Absorber of the Sungkwan as modified by NAKANO to make the one or more of the blowoff disc and the preload ring have one or more orientation features configured to orient the blowoff disc and the preload ring with respect to one another and/or the piston body as taught by SAWANISHI in order to Ensures that the leaf valve which can set independently and separately the damping property on the side of expansion and damping property on the side of contraction of a buffer when piston speed exists in a low-speed area without impairing economical efficiency.
Claim(s) 9-10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkwan (KR – 20200141743 A) as modified by NAKANO et al. (US - 2020/0208707 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KIM (US - 2017/0268593 A1).
As per claim 9, Sungkwan as modified by NAKANO discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cross-section width at one angular position along the outer surface is not equal to any other cross-sectional width at any other angular position along the outer surface.
KIM discloses Shock Absorber For Railway Vehicle comprising:
wherein the cross-section width at one angular position along the outer surface is not equal to any other cross-sectional width at any other angular position along the outer surface (angular position at 133a, Fig: 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Shock Absorber of the Sungkwan as modified by NAKANO to make the cross-section width at one angular position along the outer surface is not equal to any other cross-sectional width at any other angular position along the outer surface as taught by KIM in order to provide an initial opening position of the valve disk to a relatively low value and continuously open the valve disk from the initial opening position of the valve disk during strokes, thereby controlling a damping force in a low speed section and realizing a soft damping force due to nonoccurrence of a blow-off phenomenon.
As per claim 10, KIM further disclose wherein: the preload ring has a first cross-sectional width at a first angular position along the outer surface (the uppermost position along the vertical axis of Fig: 6); and the preload ring (130) has a second cross-sectional width at a second angular position along the outer surface, the second angular position being 180 degrees from
the first angular position (the lowermost position along the same vertical axis of Fig: 6), and the second cross-sectional width equal to the first cross-sectional width (Fig: 6).
As per claim 14, KIM discloses Shock Absorber For Railway Vehicle comprising: wherein:
the preload ring has a first cross-sectional width between the circular outer surface (the uppermost position along the vertical axis of Fig: 6) and the inner surface at a first angular position along the circumference of the preload ring (the uppermost position along the vertical axis of Fig: 6); and
the preload ring (130) has a second cross-sectional width between the circular outer surface and the inner surface at a second angular position along the circumference of the preload ring (the lowermost position along the same vertical axis of Fig: 6), the second cross-sectional width being different from the first cross-sectional width (Fig: 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Shock Absorber of the Sungkwan as modified by NAKANO to make the preload ring has a first cross- sectional width between the circular outer surface and the inner surface at a first angular position along the circumference of the preload ring and the preload ring has a second cross-sectional width between the circular outer surface and the inner surface at a second angular position along the circumference of the preload ring the second cross- sectional width being different from the first cross-sectional width as taught by KIM in order to provide an initial opening position of the valve disk to a relatively low value and
continuously open the valve disk from the initial opening position of the valve disk during strokes, thereby controlling a damping force in a low speed section and realizing a soft damping force due to nonoccurrence of a blow-off phenomenon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 06/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ki Sungkwan (KR – 20200141743 A), and further in view of Nakano et al. (US – 2020/0208707 A1), SAWANISHI (JP - 2010112464 A,), and KIM (US - 2017/0268593 A1).
Regarding Nakano reference, examiner traches only inner circumference of the preload ring and offset center only.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616