DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carter et al1 [Carter] PGPUB 2022/0319178.
Referring to claim 1, Carter teaches the bather load detection system for a swimming pool system having a pool and at least one pool device, the bather load detection system comprising:
a data capture device associated with the pool system designed to capture at least one image [70 Fig. 3].
a controller communicatively coupled to the data capture device; the controller designed to:
detect one or more bathers based on the at least one image [72 Fig. 3, 0017, 0019].
determine a bather load based on the one or more detected bathers [78 Fig. 3, 0017, 0019].
predict at least one operational change for the at least one pool device based on the bather load [80 Fig. 3, 0017-0019].
provide instructions to the at least one pool device of the pool system to change at least one operational parameter of the at least one pool device based on the predicted operational change [82 Fig. 3, 0017-0019].
In summary Carter teaches a pool monitoring system where a camera images a pool to determine the bather load and calculates (i.e., predicts) the adjustments to sanitation and pump operation accordingly.
Referring to claim 2, Carter teaches the camera is an infrared or thermal camera [0013].
Referring to claims 3-4, Carter teaches adjusting sanitation and/or pump speed [0018-0019].
Referring to claim 7, this is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove with respect to claims 1-2. Carter teaches the system and therefore teaches the method performed by the system.
Referring to claim 11, Carter teaches that the image processing and operational parameter prediction discussed above is performed via CPU executing video processing algorithms [Fig. 4 and 0022].
Referring to claims 12-13, because the image data is being analyzed via algorithms executed by the CPU, it is inherent that the image data is stored in memory. Without saving the image data in memory, the image data would not be available to be analyzed by the CPU as it would not be retained. As stated above, the image data is processed in order to predict the change to an operational parameter (i.e., adjustments to the sanitation system and/or pump operation).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eames et al [Eames] PGPUB 2024/0046651.
Referring to claim 1, Eames teaches the bather load detection system for a swimming pool system having a pool and at least one pool device, the bather load detection system comprising:
a data capture device associated with the pool system designed to capture at least one image [0028].
a controller communicatively coupled to the data capture device; the controller designed to:
detect one or more bathers based on the at least one image [0028, 0050].
determine a bather load based on the one or more detected bathers [0050].
predict at least one operational change for the at least one pool device based on the bather load [0050].
provide instructions to the at least one pool device of the pool system to change at least one operational parameter of the at least one pool device based on the predicted operational change [0050].
In summary Eames teaches a pool monitoring system where a camera images a pool to determine the bather load and calculates (i.e., predicts) how to sanitize the water based on the load and implements chemical dosing to sanitize the water accordingly.
Referring to claim 2, Eames teaches the camera is an infrared camera [0028].
Referring to claim 4, Eames teaches the pool device sanitizing the water [0050].
Referring to claim 7, this is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove with respect to claims 1-2. Eames teaches the system and therefore teaches the method performed by the system.
Referring to claims 8-9, Eames teaches the infrared camera can be integrated with a robotic pool cleaner or pool light [0021, 0030].
Referring to claim 11, Eames teaches that the image data is received by controller (114) and the image processing and operational parameter prediction discussed above is performed via controller including a processor and memory [104, 114 Fig. 2, 0031, 0033].
Referring to claims 12-13, Eames teaches that the controller which performs the image processing and control is performed via computer processor and memory [0031]. The examiner is taking official notice that a computer processor performs execution on stored data. As indicated above with respect to Carter, the same applies to Eames in that without saving the image data in memory, the image data would not be available to be analyzed by the CPU as it would not be retained. Therefore, it is interpreted that Eames also stores the image data for processing so that the controller can determine how to adjust sanitation operation.
Referring to claim 14, Eames teaches sending a summary of the actions taken (i.e., adjustments to sanitation operation) based on a number of occupants detected (i.e., bather load) [0046].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter as applied to claims 1-4, 7 and 11-13 above.
Referring to claim 14, Carter teaches transmitting “alerts or commands to pool/spa users and devices to modify operation thereof” [abstract]. It is presumed that the commands to modify operation would include the operational parameter to modify sanitation and/or pump operation. While Carter teaches that indicated above, it is not explicitly taught that the commands are sent to the devices to modify operation while simultaneously notifying the users of the action taken. In other words, it is unclear if notifying the user is an alternative to automatic control to allow the user to modify operation in place of allowing the system to modify itself. The examiner is taking official notice that the concept of providing operational information to users is a well-known practice in the art of control systems and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art to provide the user with the operational parameter that the system is using to modify sanitation/pump operation because it would provide the predictable benefit of keeping the user informed with how the pool is operating.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter as applied to claims 1-4, 7 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Zima, PGPUB 2022/0137021.
Referring to claims 5-6, while Carter teaches adjusting the sanitation according to bather load, it is not explicitly taught to measure at least one chemical at a first and second time after the instruction to adjust sanitation is issued. Zima teaches testing chlorine/acidity/alkalinity in the water over time to determine trends in the water chemistry [0025-0026]. Identifying trends implies that comparisons are made between the samples to determine if the chlorine/pH levels are increasing or decreasing over time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Zima into Carter because it would allow the user to detect trends in the water chemistry to determine if there is need for further pool maintenance.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter as applied to claims 1-4, 7 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Eames.
Referring to claims 8-9, while Carter teaches including an infrared camera, it is not explicitly taught that the camera is provided in a robotic pool cleaner or within at least one light or drain of the pool. Eames teaches the infrared camera can be integrated with a robotic pool cleaner or pool light [0021, 0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Eames into Carter because Carter does not explicitly teach where cameras could be placed and Eames teaches where cameras can be placed to determine bather load which Carter is also directed towards.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter as applied to claims 1-4, 7 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Mullaly et al [Mullaly] PGPUB 2017/0337485.
Referring to claim 10, while Carter teaches determining bather load via analyzing thermal imaging [0013, 0018-0019] it is not explicitly taught that imaging data is provided as a rolling average of a pixel count. The examiner is taking official notice that occupancy detection via thermal imaging is based on pixel count data2. Mullaly teaches determining real-time occupancy by using either real-time values or using short-term moving averages (i.e., rolling averages) of an occupancy sensor [0026, 0057]. While Mullaly determining a rolling average of occupancy is not necessarily for identifying bather load, it still would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include modify Carter to identify occupancy as a rolling average because Mullaly teaches that both real-time and short-term rolling averages are both usable metrics for real time occupancy detection and a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. Because Carter detects swimmers via thermal imaging, determining a rolling average of swimmers via thermal imaging would necessarily involve a rolling average of the thermal imaging pixels (see above). Lastly, utilizing a rolling average additionally provides the known benefit of presenting the bather load data in a non-erratic manner. In an environment where swimmers are constantly entering and exiting a pool, this could cause erratic operation (known in some arts as “thrashing”) where operations change erratically due to a measured value changing about a triggering threshold(s). For example, Carter adjusts both chemical dosing and pump operation based on bather load. If the number of swimmers briefly exceeds a threshold that would trigger increased dosing, too much chlorine could be added to the pool because the instantaneous measurement would not be representative of the overall pool occupancy. Additionally, constant varying occupancy could also cause the pump to constantly adjust its speed leading to inefficient operation and possible premature wear.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eames as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 7-9 and 11-14 above, and further in view of Carter.
Referring to claim 3, while Eames teaches on controlling bather load and adjusting sanitation accordingly, it is not further taught to also control a pool pump. Carter teaches not only adjusting sanitation but also that a pump speed can also be adjusted in response to bather load [0018-0019]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Carter into Eames because Carter teaches that both sanitation and pool pump speed are necessary to adjust to optimize their usage in response to bather load [0019].
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eames as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 7-9 and 11-14 above, and further in view of Zima, PGPUB 2022/0137021.
Referring to claims 5-6, while Eames teaches adjusting the sanitation according to bather load, it is not explicitly taught to measure at least one chemical at a first and second time after the instruction to adjust sanitation is issued. Zima teaches testing chlorine/acidity/alkalinity in the water over time to determine trends in the water chemistry [0025-0026]. Identifying trends implies that comparisons are made between the samples to determine if the chlorine/pH levels are increasing or decreasing over time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Zima into Eames because it would allow the user to detect trends in the water chemistry to determine if there is need for further pool maintenance.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eames as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 7-9 and 11-14 above, and further in view of Mullaly.
Referring to claim 10, while Eames teaches determining bather load via analyzing thermal imaging [0028, 0050] it is not explicitly taught that imaging data is provided as a rolling average of a pixel count. The examiner is taking official notice that occupancy detection via thermal imaging is based on pixel count data3. Mullaly teaches determining real-time occupancy by using either real-time values or using short-term moving averages (i.e., rolling averages) of an occupancy sensor [0026, 0057]. While Mullaly determining a rolling average of occupancy is not necessarily for identifying bather load, it still would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include modify Eames to identify occupancy as a rolling average because Mullaly teaches that both real-time and short-term rolling averages are both usable metrics for real time occupancy detection and a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. Because Eames detects swimmers via thermal imaging, determining a rolling average of swimmers via thermal imaging would necessarily involve a rolling average of the thermal imaging pixels (see above). Lastly, utilizing a rolling average additionally provides the known benefit of presenting the bather load data in a non-erratic manner. In an environment where swimmers are constantly entering and exiting a pool, this could cause erratic operation (known in some arts as “thrashing”) where operations change erratically due to a measured value changing about a triggering threshold(s). For example, Eames adjusts chemical dosing based on bather load. If the number of swimmers briefly exceeds a threshold that would trigger increased dosing, too much chlorine could be added to the pool because the instantaneous measurement would not be representative of the overall pool occupancy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
PGPUB 2020/0082840 to Montavon teaches determining a people count in a thermal image by identifying “centroids” which are clusters of pixels within an average distance of each other [0059].
PGPUB 2018/0300884 to Schulte teaches counting people in a thermal image heat map by determining a volume and average pixel intensity [0010].
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest either individually or in combination, providing thermal image data in the form of a rolling average of a pixel count in order to predict a third cumulative bather load for a third period of time and dose the pool prior to the third period of time (claim 15).
Conclusion
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 2/27/26
1 Cited by applicant
2 Please refer below to Montavon and Schulte cited below in the REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE who show that counts of pixels (i.e., pixel clusters and volume/average pixel intensities respectively) are used to determine people count.
3 Please refer below to Montavon and Schulte cited below in the REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE who show that counts of pixels (i.e., pixel clusters and volume/average pixel intensities respectively) are used to determine people count.