DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because although a bushing pocket(s) appears to be shown in figures and discussed in the specification, however, no reference characters is used to identify a bushing pocket in the drawings or the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-20 which are withdrawn from further consideration are objected to because of the following informalities: Independent claim 16 has been presented with inaccurate status identifiers, such as “Original.” Claims 16-20 were restricted in the Office Action of 03 June 2026. Although non-elected claims 17-20 are correctly shown to have status identifiers “Withdrawn,” however, claim 16 still is identified as “Original” which is incorrect (See MPEP 714(C).
In the interest of advancing prosecution, the examiner will treat the claims as if they were presented with appropriate status identifiers.
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, the limitation “A jig for machining firearm frames, comprising:” need to be amended to - - A jig for machining firearm frames, the jig comprising: - -.
In claim 5, line 2, the limitation “a precision fastener securing the bushing insert within the bushing pocket” may need to be amended to - - a precision fastener for securing the bushing insert within the bushing pocket - -.
In claim 8, line 1, the limitation “A jig for machining firearm frames, comprising:” need to be amended to - - A jig for machining firearm frames, the jig comprising: - -.
In claim 13, line 2, the limitation “a precision fastener securing the bushing insert within the bushing pocket” may need to be amended to - - a precision fastener for securing the bushing insert within the bushing pocket - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, line 2 recites the limitation “a bushing insert positioned within the bushing pocket.” It is unclear if the positioning of the bushing insert is positively recited or it is meant to be intended use limitation that the bushing insert is configured to be positioned within the bushing pocket. For examination purposes, this limitation is considered as an intended use limitation.
In claim 8, line 3 recites the limitation “a top plate covering the main body, and securing a firearm frame within the main body.” It is unclear if the firearm frame is secured to the top plate and as such, claim 8 is a combination claim that requires the firearm frame in addition to the top plate or it is meant to be an intended use limitation similar to claim 1. For examination purposes, this limitation is considered as an intended use limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 10,099,329),
As applied to claim 1, Smith teaches a jig for machining firearm frames, the jig comprising a main body (combination of 26’s, 28 and 30, Figs, 1-2); a top plate (90, Fig. 7) covering the main body and shaped and sized to secure a firearm frame (12) within the main body (90 is bolted down onto 28 portion of main body and thus is shaped and sizzed to secure the firearm 12); a bushing pocket (64) extending at least partially through the main body (extending into element 30 of the combination of 26’s, 28 and 30); a rear matched-geometry insert (74) fastened within the main body and positioned to register a location of a proximal end of the firearm frame (12) within the main body; and a front matched-geometry insert (76) fastened within the main body and positioned to register a location of a distal end of the firearm frame (12) within the main body.
As applied to claim 2, Smith teaches the invention cited including wherein the top plate comprises a top plate hole sized and shaped to receive a fastener (holes 96); and a top plate slot sized and shaped to receive a cutting tool (98 receiving a portion of a router).
As applied to claim 3, Smith teaches the invention cited including further comprising a bushing insert (32) positioned within the bushing pocket (64).
As applied to claim 4, Smith teaches the invention cited including wherein the bushing insert (32) comprises a bushing guide passing therethrough (the aperture going through 32, Fig. 5).
As applied to claim 5, Smith teaches the invention cited including a precision fastener securing the bushing insert within the bushing pocket (the treads on outside of 32 which fastens 32 into bore 64 of 30, Figs. 4 and 5).
As applied to claim 8, Smith teaches a jig for machining firearm frames, the jig comprising a main body (combination of 26’s, 28 and 30, Figs, 1-2); a top plate (90, Fig. 7) covering the main body and securing a firearm frame (12) within the main body, the top plate having a top plate hole being sized and shaped to receive a fastener (pair of holes not labeled but receive fasteners 114, Figs. 7-9), a cover slot being sized and shaped to receive a cutting tool (slot 98 receiving a portion of a router), and a guide plate attachment hole being sized and shaped to receive a fastener (holes in intermediate shelf 100 and coaxial with holes in top surface of top plate 90 for receiving fasteners 114); a secondary guide plate covering at least a portion of the top plate (108 covering portion of intermediate shelf 100); a bushing pocket (64) extending at least partially through the main body (extending into element 30 of the combination of 26’s, 28 and 30); a rear matched-geometry insert (74) fastened within the main body and positioned to register a location of a proximal end of the firearm frame (12) within the main body; and a front matched-geometry insert (76) fastened within the main body and positioned to register a location of a distal end of the firearm frame (12) within the main body.
As applied to claim 9, Smith teaches the invention cited including wherein the secondary guide plate comprises a guide plate channel sized and shaped to receive a cutting tool (channel in collar 110 for receiving router); and a guide plate hole sized and shaped to receive a fastener (the holes not labeled but for receiving fasteners 114).
As applied to claim 10, Smith teaches the invention cited including wherein the secondary guide plate (108) is fastened to the top plate (90) so that the guide plate hole (the holes not labeled but for receiving fasteners 114) is aligned with the guide plate attachment hole (holes in intermediate shelf 100 and coaxial with holes in top surface of top plate 90 for receiving fasteners 114) and the guide plate channel (channel in collar 110 for receiving router) is at least partially aligned with the cover slot (98, Figs. 7-9).
As applied to claim 11, Smith teaches the invention cited including wherein at least one bushing insert (32) corresponding with the at least one bushing pocket (64, Fig. 3-4).
As applied to claim 12, Smith teaches the invention cited including wherein the bushing insert (32) comprises a bushing guide passing therethrough (the aperture going through 32, Fig. 5).
As applied to claim 13, Smith teaches the invention cited including a precision fastener securing the bushing insert within the bushing pocket (the treads on outside of 32 which fastens 32 into bore 64 of 30, Figs. 4 and 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the claimed jig having the claimed structure including wherein a bushing notch is sized and shaped top accommodate the precision fastener and in combination with all the limitations of the base claim and all the intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US 11,796,298) teaches machining tool assembly for manufacturing a firearm lower receiver includes a first and second side jigs and removable drill block jig (abstract).
Vinore (US 11,117,199) teaches a custom-made tool including a two-part jig is used for building a handgun receiver from a pre-shaped metal works without the need for other tools (abstract).
Partington (US 11,000,930) teaches an advanced jig for manufacturing of firearm lower receiver (abstract).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 09/17/2026