DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed 05/22/2026 is accepted, in which, claims 1, 2, 6, 16, 20, 23, 24, and 33 are amended. Claims 1 and 24 are amended. Claims 1-46 await an action on the merits as follows.
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of the amended title.
The rejection of claim 23 under USC 112b is withdrawn in view of the amended claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected for indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 16, paragraph [0067] defines the pattern portion 120, "Therefore, the pattern portion 120 can be expressed as terms such as a groove, a slit, a trench, a bank slit and a bank trench." These elements define the pattern portion as a lack of material in the overcoat layer. A lack of material cannot have an index of refraction.
The specification is silent as to an index of refraction of the pattern portion. Instead, paragraph [0117] states, "The second layer 1132 having a refractive index higher than that of the first layer 1131 can be formed on the first layer 1131. A path of the light, which is directed toward the adjacent subpixel SP, among the light emitted from the light emitting element layer E can be changed toward the reflective portion 130 in accordance with a difference in the refractive index between the second layer 1132 and the first layer 1131."
In view of no discussion of the index of refraction for the pattern portion along with the understanding the pattern portion is not a physical layer, Examiner is uncertain how to interpret the amended limitation of claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15, 23, 31, and 41-42 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 13-15, 31, and 41-42, please see previous office action for objection reasons.
Having overcome the 112 issue addressed above, claim 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 23, prior art fails to teach or suggest a gate line and a sensing line are disposed between the circuit area of the first subpixel and the fifth subpixel, and the first color filter of the fifth subpixel overlaps the gate line and the sensing line and does not overlap the circuit area of the first subpixel. No prior art found in the search discloses extending the color filter into the circuit area between two pixel units so that the first color filter of the fifth subpixel overlaps the gate line and sensing line and does not overlap the circuit area of the first subpixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12, 17-22, 24-27, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20170110522 A1), and further in view of Choi (US 20210183900 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display apparatus (100, Fig 1) comprising:
a substrate (201, Fig 5) including a plurality of pixels (Px: pixel depicted in Fig 2) having a plurality of subpixels (SP: subpixels SP1-SP4, Fig 2);
an overcoat layer (208) on (shown on) the substrate (201),
a plurality of lines (VL: lines RVL/DVL/DL) configured to drive (driving each subpixel, [0066]) the plurality of subpixels (SP),
wherein the plurality of subpixels (SP) include a light emission area (EA: area directly above the topographical projection of the regions where anode 211 directly contacts organic layer 212) and a non-light emission area (NEA: area between EAs directly above regions where anode 211 does not directly contact organic layer 212) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the light emission area (EA),
wherein the non-light emission area (NEA, Fig 5) includes a first area (A1: portion of NEA directly adjacent to either side of EA; please see annotated figure below) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the light emission area (EA) and
a second area (A2: portion of NEA between A1; please see annotated figure below) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first area (A1) and spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the light emission area (EA),
the plurality of lines (VL) are disposed in (shown in) the non-light emission area (NEA),
Lee fails to explicitly teach the overcoat layer including a pattern portion formed to be concave between the plurality of subpixels; the pattern portion includes an inclined surface formed in the first area and a bottom surface extended from the inclined surface and formed up to the second area, the pattern portion extends partially into the overcoat layer such that the bottom surface of the pattern portion is an upper surface of the overcoat layer.
However, Choi teaches the overcoat layer including a pattern portion (145, Fig 17) formed to be concave (shown concave) between (shown between) the plurality of subpixels;
the pattern portion (145) includes an inclined surface (ES1) formed in (formed in; when combined with Lee, the pattern portion of the overcoat layer of Choi would center on Y1 of Lee in the figure above placing inclined surface ES1 in the first area) the first area and a bottom surface (145B: bottom most surface of 145) extended (shown extended) from the inclined surface (ES1) and formed up to (shown formed up to) the second area,
the pattern portion (145) extends partially into (shown extending partially into) the overcoat layer such that the bottom surface (145B) of the pattern portion (145) is an upper surface (shown as an upper surface) of the overcoat layer,
Lee goes on to teach the pattern portion surrounds (shown surrounding) the light emission area (EA), and
at least one (RVL/DVL/DL) of the plurality of lines (VL) partially overlaps (shown overlapping) the pattern portion.
Lee and Choi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee with the features of Choi to create a display wherein the overcoat layer including a pattern portion formed to be concave between the plurality of subpixels; the pattern portion includes an inclined surface formed in the first area and a bottom surface extended from the inclined surface and formed up to the second area, the pattern portion extends partially into the overcoat layer such that the bottom surface of the pattern portion is an upper surface of the overcoat layer because the light extraction portion has a shape that can maximize external extraction efficiency of light emitted from a pixel based on an effective light emission area of the light emitting device layer (Choi, [0119]) so the device has good characteristics in view of power consumption due to low voltage driving and have good characteristics for color realization, a response speed, a viewing angle, and a contrast ratio (Choi, [0003]) in order to improve light extraction efficiency of the light emitting display apparatus (Choi, [0008]) in which luminance and a color temperature of a display image can be improved (Choi, [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 1. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of lines (VL) are disposed in (shown in) at least one (shown in both) of the first area (A1) and the second area (A2) of the non-light emission area (NEA).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Lee goes on to teach wherein the second area (A2, Fig 5; please see annotated figure above) overlaps (shown overlapping) a boundary portion (STP) between (shown between) the plurality of subpixels (SP).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Lee goes on to teach wherein each of the plurality of subpixels (SP; shown as 214 in Fig 7) includes a bank (216) disposed in (shown in) the non-light emission area (NEA), and
the banks (216) of the plurality of subpixels (SP) are disposed in (shown in, please see annotated figure below) the first area (A1) and are spaced apart (shown spaced) from each other based on the second area (A2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Lee goes on to teach wherein the reflective portion (213R, Fig 7) includes a flat surface (213RF: flat portion shown in A2) disposed in (shown in) the second area (A2), and a curved surface (213RC: curved portion connected to 213RF) connected (shown connected) to the flat surface (213RF).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Choi teaches the pattern portion (145, Fig 17).
Lee goes on to teach further comprising a color filter (230, Fig 6) between (shown between) the plurality of lines (VL) and the pattern portion,
wherein the color filter (230) extends (shown extending) from the light emission area (EA) of the plurality of subpixels (SP; shown as 214 in Fig 6) to the second area (A2) and partially overlaps (shown overlapping) at least one (DL) of the plurality of lines (VL) disposed in (shown in) the at least one of the first area (A1) and the second area (A2).
Choi goes on to teach the bottom surface (145B, Fig 14) of the pattern portion (145) covers (shown covering) at least a portion of the color filter, and
the bottom surface (145B) of the pattern portion (145) is spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the color filter.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Lee on to teach further comprising a light emitting element layer (214, Fig 5) in the plurality of subpixels (SP),
wherein the light emitting element layer (214) includes: a pixel electrode (211) in (shown in) the light emission area (EA);
a light emitting layer (212) on (shown on) the pixel electrode (211) and the non-light emission area (NEA); and
a reflective electrode (213) on (shown on) the light emitting layer (212),
wherein the reflective portion (213R) is a portion (shown as a portion) of the reflective electrode (213).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Choi goes on to teach wherein the inclined surface (ES1, Fig 17) of the pattern portion (145) forms an obtuse angle (shown forming an obtuse angle) with the bottom surface (145B).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 1. Choi teaches the pattern portion (145, Fig 17).
Lee goes on to teach wherein the pattern portion is spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the light emission area (EA).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 1. Choi teaches the pattern portion (145, Fig 17).
Lee goes on to teach wherein the pattern portion has a width (W: horizontal width between inclined sides of 208) that decreases (shown decreasing) from the reflective portion (213R) toward the substrate (201).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Choi teaches the plurality of concave portions (153, Fig 14). Lee-2 teaches the bottom surface (145B) and the inclined surface (ES1).
Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of subpixels (SP, Fig 2) include an overcoat layer (208, Fig 5) on (shown on) the substrate (201, Fig 5) and a pixel electrode (211) on (shown on) the overcoat layer (208),
the overcoat layer (208) includes a first layer (OC1: first layer of overcoat layer 208; overcoat layer 208 is comprised of 2 parts, please see annotated figure below) including (when combined with Choi, the concave portions would reside in OC1) the plurality of concave portions, and a second layer (OC2) between (shown between) the first layer (OC1) and the pixel electrode (211), and
the second layer (OC2) extended (shown extended) to the first area (A1) and is in contact (shown in indirect contact) with a portion of the bottom surface of the pattern portion (208P) while covering (shown covering) the inclined surface of the pattern portion (208P).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 20. Choi teaches the bottom surface (145B) and the inclined surface (ES1) of the pattern portion (145).
Lee goes on to teach further comprising a bank (216, Fig 5) covering (shown covering) an edge (211E: left edge of anode 211) of the pixel electrode (211),
wherein the bank (216) covers (shown covering; please see annotated figure above) the second layer (OC2) covering (shown covering) the inclined surface and is in contact (shown in contact) with a portion of the bottom surface of the pattern portion.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 21. Choi teaches the bottom surface (145B, Fig 17) of the pattern portion (145).
Lee goes on to teach wherein each of the second layer (OC2, Fig 5; please see annotated figure above) and the bank (216) on (shown on) the bottom surface of the pattern portion is discontinuous (shown discontinuous, Fig 7).
Regarding claim 24, Lee teaches a display apparatus (100, Fig 1) comprising:
a substrate (201, Fig 5) including a plurality of subpixels (SP; subpixels SP1-SP4, Fig 2) having a light emission area (EA: area directly above the topographical projection of the regions where anode 211 directly contacts organic layer 212) and a non-light emission area (NEA: area between EAs directly above regions where anode 211 does not directly contact organic layer 212) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the light emission area (EA);
an overcoat layer (208) on (shown on) the substrate (201),
a plurality of lines (VL: lines RVL/DVL/DL) configured to drive (driving each subpixel, [0066]) the plurality of subpixels (SP),
wherein the non-light emission area (NEA, Fig 5) includes a first area (A1: portion of NEA directly adjacent to either side of EA; please see annotated figure below) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the light emission area (EA) and
a second area (A2: portion of NEA between A1; please see annotated figure below) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first area (A1) and spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the light emission area (EA), and
a line (DL, Fig 3A), which is disposed in (shown in) the first area (A1), among the plurality of lines (VL) is a reflective line (DL; shown as reflective).
Lee fails to explicitly teach the overcoat layer including a pattern portion formed to be concave on the substate, and surrounding the light emission area of the plurality of subpixels; the pattern portion includes an inclined surface formed in the first area and a bottom surface extended from the inclined surface and formed up to the second area, the pattern portion extends partially into the overcoat layer such that the bottom surface of the pattern portion is an upper surface of the overcoat layer.
However, Choi teaches the overcoat layer including a pattern portion (145, Fig 17) formed to be concave (shown concave) on (shown on) the substrate, and surrounding (shown surrounding) the light emission area of the plurality of subpixels;
the pattern portion (145) includes an inclined surface (ES1) formed in (formed in; when combined with Lee, the pattern portion of the overcoat layer of Choi would center on Y1 of Lee in the figure above placing inclined surface ES1 in the first area) the first area and a bottom surface (145B: bottom most surface of 145) extended (shown extended) from the inclined surface (ES1) and formed up to (shown formed up to) the second area,
the pattern portion (145) extends partially into (shown extending partially into) the overcoat layer such that the bottom surface (145B) of the pattern portion (145) is an upper surface (shown as an upper surface) of the overcoat layer,
Lee goes on to teach a reflective portion (213R: portion of cathode 213 on 212 overlapping bank 216 in the vertical direction of Fig 5) on (shown on) the pattern portion.
Lee and Choi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee with the features of Choi to create a display wherein the overcoat layer including a pattern portion formed to be concave on the substate, and surrounding the light emission area of the plurality of subpixels; the pattern portion includes an inclined surface formed in the first area and a bottom surface extended from the inclined surface and formed up to the second area, the pattern portion extends partially into the overcoat layer such that the bottom surface of the pattern portion is an upper surface of the overcoat layer because the light extraction portion has a shape that can maximize external extraction efficiency of light emitted from a pixel based on an effective light emission area of the light emitting device layer (Choi, [0119]) so the device has good characteristics in view of power consumption due to low voltage driving and have good characteristics for color realization, a response speed, a viewing angle, and a contrast ratio (Choi, [0003]) in order to improve light extraction efficiency of the light emitting display apparatus (Choi, [0008]) in which luminance and a color temperature of a display image can be improved (Choi, [0011]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 24. Lee goes on to teach wherein each of the plurality of subpixels (SP, Fig 2) includes a bank (216, Fig 7) disposed in (shown in) the non-light emission area (NEA),
the first area (A1) is an area in which the banks (216) of the respective subpixels (SP) are disposed (shown disposed in A1; please see annotated figure below), and
the second area (A2) is an area between (shown between) the banks (216) of the respective subpixels (SP).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 25. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of subpixels (SP, Fig 2) include a first subpixel (SP1) and a second subpixel (SP2) disposed to be adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first subpixel (SP1),
the first subpixel (SP1) further includes a color filter (230, Fig 3A) disposed between (shown between) the reflective line (DL) and the pattern portion (208P), and
the color filter (230) does not overlap (shown not overlapping) the first area (A1) of the second subpixel (SP2).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 26. Lee goes on to teach wherein the first area (A1, Fig 3A; please see annotated figure below) of the second subpixel (SP2) is an area between (shown as area between) the light emission area (EA) of the second subpixel (SP2, shown as white subpixel) and the second area (A2).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 25. Lee goes on to teach further comprising a light emitting element layer (214, Fig 5) in (shown in) the plurality of subpixels (SP),
wherein the light emitting element layer (214) includes: a pixel electrode (211) in (shown in) the light emission area (EA);
a light emitting layer (212) on (shown on) the pixel electrode (211) and the non-light emission area (NEA); and
a reflective electrode (213) on (shown on) the light emitting layer (212), and
the reflective portion (213R) is a portion (shown as a portion) of the reflective electrode (213).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 25. Lee teaches the plurality of subpixels (SP, Fig 2), the light emission area (EA), the first area (A1), and the second area (A2).
Choi goes on to teach wherein the plurality of subpixels include a light extraction portion (150, Fig 15) that overlaps (shown overlapping) the light emission area and includes a plurality of concave portions (153),
the light extraction portion (150) is disposed to be adjacent (shown adjacent) to the pattern portion (145), and
the pattern portion (145, Fig 17) includes an inclined surface (ES1) formed in (shown in) the first area and a bottom surface (145B: bottom most surface of 145) extended (shown extended) from the inclined surface (ES1) and formed up to (shown formed up to) the second area.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 32. Choi teaches the plurality of concave portions (153, Fig 14), the bottom surface (145B), and the inclined surface (ES1) of the pattern portion (145).
Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of subpixels (SP, Fig 2) include an overcoat layer (208, Fig 5) on (shown on) the substrate (201, Fig 5) and a pixel electrode (211) on (shown on) the overcoat layer (208),
the overcoat layer (208) includes a first layer (OC1: first layer of overcoat layer 208; overcoat layer 208 is comprised of 2 parts, please see annotated figure below) including (when combined with Choi, the concave portions would reside in OC1) the plurality of concave portions, and a second layer (OC2) between (shown between) the first layer (OC1) and the pixel electrode (211), and
the second layer (OC2) extends (shown extended) to the first area (A1) and is in contact (shown in indirect contact) with a portion of the bottom surface of the pattern portion while covering (shown covering) the inclined surface of the pattern portion.
Claims 7-11, 28-29, 34-40, and 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20170110522 A1), in view of Choi (US 20210183900 A1), and further in view of Hwang (US 20220069259 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Lee teaches the second data line (DL(4n-2)), and the second area (A2).
Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of subpixels (SP, Fig 2) include:
a first subpixel (SP1) configured to emit red light (red, [0008]);
a second subpixel (SP2) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first subpixel (SP1), and configured to emit white light (white, [0008]);
a third subpixel (SP3) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the second subpixel (SP2), and configured to emit blue light (blue, [0008]); and
a fourth subpixel (SP4) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the third subpixel (SP3), and configured to emit green light (green, [0008]),
the plurality of lines (VL) include a first data line (DL(4n-3)) configured to drive (configured to drive, [0069]) the first subpixel (SP1) and a second data line (DL(4n-2)) spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the first data line (DL(4n-3)) and configured to drive (configured to drive, [0069]) the second subpixel (SP2),
the first data line (DL(4n-3)) is disposed in (shown in) the first area (A1).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the second data line is disposed in the second area.
However, Huang teaches the second data line is disposed in (shown disposed in; please see annotated figure below) the second area.
Lee teaches a base product of two data lines disposed in area 1 of the non-light emission area which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that light can be reflected off the data lines to the reflective portion and emitted out of the emission area, increasing light emission efficiency. Huang teaches a known technique of data lines disposed in both area 1 and area 2 of the non-light emission area that is comparable to the base product.
Huang’s known technique, as cited above, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base product of Lee and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the data lines being more central to the non-light emission area making them less likely to interfere with light emitted from the emission area, which results in an improved product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Lee, Choi, and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee with the features of Huang to create a device wherein the second data line is disposed in the second area thereby suppressing light leakage between adjacent sub-pixel areas, and improving a lifetime (Huang, [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 7. Lee goes on to teach further comprising:
a first color filter (230, Fig 5) provided in (shown in) the first subpixel (SP1);
a second color filter (231) disposed in (shown in) the third subpixel (SP3);
a third color filter (232) disposed in (shown in) the fourth subpixel (SP4); and
a reference line (RVL) overlapped between (shown overlapped between) the second subpixel (SP2) and the third subpixel (SP3),
wherein the reference line (RVL, Fig 7; please see annotated figure above) extends (shown extending) from the first area (A1) of the second subpixel (SP2) to the second area (A2) adjacent to the first area (A1) of the third subpixel (SP3), and
the second color filter (231, Fig 8) extends (shown extending) from the light emission area (EA) of the third subpixel (SP3) to the second area (A2) adjacent to the first area (A1) of the second subpixel (SP2) and partially overlaps (shown overlapping) the reference line (RVL).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 8. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of lines (VL, Fig 17) include a third data line (DL(4n-1)) configured to drive (configured to drive, [0069]) the third subpixel (SP3), and
the second color filter (231) overlaps (shown overlapping) the third data line (DL(4n-1)) in the first area (A1) and overlaps (shown overlapping) the third color filter (232) in the second area (A2).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 8. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of lines (VL, Fig 17) include a fourth data line (DL(4n)) configured to drive (configured to drive, [0069]) the fourth subpixel (SP4),
the fourth data line (DL(4n)) is disposed in (shown in) the first area (A1) of the fourth subpixel (SP4), and
the third color filter (232) overlaps (shown overlapping) the fourth data line (DL(4n)) in the first area (A1) and overlaps (shown overlapping) the second color filter (231) in the second area (A2).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 8. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of lines (VL, Fig 5) include a pixel power line (DVL) overlapped between (shown overlapped between; Fig 5 would repeat to form the display, placing SP1 next to SP4) the first subpixel (SP1) and the fourth subpixel (SP4) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first subpixel (SP1), and
the first color filter (230) overlaps (shown overlapping) the pixel power line (DVL) in the first area (A1) and … the color filter (232) of the adjacent fourth subpixel (SP4) and the pixel power line (DVL) in the second area (A2).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the first color filter overlaps the pixel power line in the first area and overlaps the color filter of the adjacent fourth subpixel and the pixel power line in the second area.
However, Lee teaches a base product of color filters overlapping lines in the non-emission area between subpixels covered by a patterned portion which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the flat film, or patterned portion, also has a function of suppressing outgassing in the color filters (Lee, [0079]).
Lee goes on to teach a known technique of the two neighboring color filters overlapping one another in the second area of the non-light emission area that is comparable to the base process/product. Figure 17 shows the second and third color filters overlapping across the second area so that light leakage defect is suppressed (Lee, [0151]).
Lee’s known technique, as cited above, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base product of Lee to have the first and fourth color filters overlap in the second area between the first and fourth subpixels when Fig 17 is repeated to form the display. The results would have been predictable and resulted in suppressing light leakage defect between the first and fourth subpixels which results in an improved product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 26. Lee teaches the plurality of lines (VL, Fig 5), the second area (A2), and the color filter (230).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the plurality of lines further include a line disposed in the second area, and the color filter partially overlaps the line disposed in the second area.
However, Huang teaches wherein the plurality of lines further include a line (DL, Fig 4; please see annotated figure below) disposed in (shown in) the second area, and the color filter partially overlaps (shown partially overlapping) the line (DL) disposed in (shown in) the second area.
Lee teaches a base product of two data lines disposed in area 1 of the non-light emission area which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that light can be reflected off the data lines to the reflective portion and emitted out of the emission area, increasing light emission efficiency. Huang teaches a known technique of data lines disposed in both area 1 and area 2 of the non-light emission area that is comparable to the base product.
Huang’s known technique, as cited above, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base product of Lee and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the data lines being more central to the non-light emission area making them less likely to interfere with light emitted from the emission area, which results in an improved product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Lee, Choi, and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee and Choi with the features of Huang to create a device wherein the plurality of lines further include a line disposed in the second area, and the color filter partially overlaps the line disposed in the second area thereby suppressing light leakage between adjacent sub-pixel areas, and improving a lifetime (Huang, [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 26. Lee teaches the plurality of lines (VL, Fig 5), the first area (A1), the second area (A2), and the color filter (230).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the plurality of lines further include a line formed over the first area and the second area, and a portion of the color filter overlaps the entire line in the second area.
However, Huang teaches wherein the plurality of lines further include a line (DL, Fig 4; please see annotated figure above) formed over (shown over) the first area and the second area, and
a portion of the color filter overlaps the entire line (shown overlapping the entire line) in the second area.
Lee, Choi, and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee and Choi with the features of Huang to create a device wherein the plurality of lines further include a line formed over the first area and the second area, and a portion of the color filter overlaps the entire line in the second area thereby suppressing light leakage between adjacent sub-pixel areas, and improving a lifetime (Huang, [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 7. Lee goes on to teach a first color filter (230, Fig 5) provided in (shown in) the first subpixel (SP1); and a second color filter (231) provided in (shown in) the third subpixel (SP3).
Huang goes on to teach wherein the second color filter includes an extended color filter (CF_B', Fig 4) extended (shown extended) from the third subpixel to the second subpixel and disposed to surround (shown surrounding) the second subpixel, and
the second color filter and the extended color filter (CF_B') are blue color filters (shown as blue color filters).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 34. Lee teaches the light emission area (EA, Fig 5) of the second subpixel (SP2).
Huang goes on to teach wherein the extended color filter (CF_B', Fig 4) does not overlap (shown not overlapping) the light emission area of the second subpixel.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 34. Lee goes on to teach the first color filter (230, Fig 5) in (shown in) the non-light emission area (NEA) between the first subpixel (SP1) and the second subpixel (SP2).
Huang goes on to teach wherein the extended color filter (CF_B', Fig 4) partially overlaps (shown partially overlapping) the first color filter in the non-light emission area between the first subpixel and the second subpixel.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 34. Lee teaches the second data line (DL(4n-2)) and the second area (A2).
Lee goes on to teach the plurality of lines (VL) include a first data line (DL(4n-3)) for driving (configured to drive, [0069]) the first subpixel (SP1) and a second data line (DL(4n-2)) spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the first data line (DL(4n-3)) to drive (configured to drive, [0069]) the second subpixel (SP2),
the first data line (DL(4n-3)) is disposed in (shown in) the first area (A1).
Huang goes on to teach the second data line is disposed in (shown disposed in; please see annotated figure below) the second area,
the extended color filter (CF_B') partially overlaps (shown overlapping) the first data line, and
the extended color filter (CF_B') partially overlaps (shown overlapping) the second data line.
Lee teaches a base product of two data lines disposed in area 1 of the non-light emission area which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that light can be reflected off the data lines to the reflective portion and emitted out of the emission area, increasing light emission efficiency. Huang teaches a known technique of data lines disposed in both area 1 and area 2 of the non-light emission area that is comparable to the base product.
Huang’s known technique, as cited above, would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base product of Lee and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the data lines being more central to the non-light emission area making them less likely to interfere with light emitted from the emission area, which results in an improved product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 37. Lee teaches the non-light emission area (NEA, Fig 5) between the first subpixel (SP1) and the second subpixel (SP2), the first data line (DL(4n-3)), and the first color filter (230).
Huang goes on to teach wherein the extended color filter (CF_B', Fig 4) includes a first color filter area (CFA; please see annotated figure below) disposed in (shown in) the non-light emission area between the first subpixel and the second subpixel, and,
the first color filter area (CFA) includes:
a first side sub-color filter area (CFA1) in which the extended color filter (CF_B'), the first data line and the first color filter overlap (shown overlapping) one another;
a second side sub-color filter area (CFA2) in which the extended color filter (CF_B') and the first color filter overlap (shown overlapping) each other; and
a third side sub-color filter area (CFA3) in which the extended color filter (CF_B') and the second data line overlap (shown overlapping) each other.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 38. Huang goes on to teach wherein light emitted through the second side sub-color filter area (CFA2, Fig 4; please see annotated figure above) has a blackish color (this stack structure may perform a function similar to that of a black bank, [0093]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 34. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of lines (VL, Fig 5) include a reference line (RVL) disposed to be spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from an upper side (EAU: upper side of light emission area) of the light emission area (EA) of the second subpixel (SP2), the reference line (RVL) is disposed in (shown in) the first area (A1).
Huang goes on to teach the extended color filter (CF_B', Fig 4) partially overlaps (shown partially overlapping along a diagonal direction) the reference line.
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Lee and Choi discloses the display of claim 2. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of subpixels (SP, Fig 2) include:
a first subpixel (SP1) emitting red light (red, [0008]);
a second subpixel (SP2) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first subpixel (SP1) and emitting white light (white, [0008]);
a third subpixel (SP3) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the second subpixel (SP2) and emitting blue light (blue, [0008]); and
a fourth subpixel (SP4) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the third subpixel (SP3) and emitting green light (green, [0008]),
the first subpixel (SP1) includes a first color filter (230),
the third subpixel (SP3) includes a second color filter (231).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the second color filter includes an extended color filter extended from the third subpixel to the second subpixel and disposed to surround the second subpixel, and the second color filter and the extended color filter are blue color filters.
However, Huang teaches the second color filter includes an extended color filter (CF_B', Fig 4) extended (shown extended) from the third subpixel to the second subpixel and disposed to surround (shown surrounding) the second subpixel, and
the second color filter and the extended color filter (CF_B') are blue color filters (shown as blue color filters).
Lee, Choi, and Huang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Lee and Choi with the features of Huang to create a device wherein the second color filter includes an extended color filter extended from the third subpixel to the second subpixel and disposed to surround the second subpixel, and the second color filter and the extended color filter are blue color filters thereby suppressing light leakage between adjacent sub-pixel areas, and improving a lifetime (Huang, [Abs.]).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 43. Lee goes on to teach wherein the plurality of lines (VL, Fig 5) include a first data line (DL(4n-3)) for driving (configured to drive, [0069]) the first subpixel (SP1) and a second data line (DL(4n-2)) spaced apart (shown spaced apart) from the first data line (DL(4n-3)) to drive (configured to drive, [0069]) the second subpixel (SP2),
the first data line (DL(4n-3)) is disposed in (shown in) the first area (A1) of the first subpixel (SP1),
the second data line (DL(4n-2)) is disposed in (shown in) the first area (A1) of the second subpixel (SP2).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 44. Lee teaches the non-light emission area (NEA, Fig 5) between the first subpixel (SP1) and the second subpixel (SP2), the first data line (DL(4n-3)), and the first color filter (230).
Huang goes on to teach wherein the extended color filter (CF_B', Fig 4) includes a first color filter area (CFA; please see annotated figure below) disposed in (shown in) the non-light emission area between the first subpixel and the second subpixel, and,
the first color filter area (CFA) includes:
a first side sub-color filter area (CFA1) in which the extended color filter (CF_B'), the first data line and the first color filter overlap (shown overlapping) one another;
a second side sub-color filter area (CFA2) in which the extended color filter (CF_B') and the first color filter overlap (shown overlapping) each other; and
a third side sub-color filter area (CFA3) in which the extended color filter (CF_B') and the second data line overlap (shown overlapping) each other.
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Lee, Choi, and Huang discloses the display of claim 45. Huang goes on to teach wherein light emitted through the second side sub-color filter area (CFA2, Fig 4; please see annotated figure above) has a blackish color (this stack structure may perform a function similar to that of a black bank, [0093]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura (US 20240423027 A1) - Display with concave areas with overlapping color filters between subpixels.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897