DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 11/19/2024 havingclaims 1-20 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 12/27/2023 is a CON of PCT/CN2021/143932 12/31/2021
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS CHINA 202110725522.8 06/29/2021 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 12/27/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 11/19/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 15-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub US 20230397073 A1 to Naseer-Ul-Islam et al (hereinafter Naseer-Ul-Islam) further view of US PG Pub US 20180352491 A1 to SHIH et al (hereinafter SHIH).
As per claim 1, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches a method, comprising: sending by a source network slice management function (NSMF) device, to a target NSMF a resource request, wherein the resource request carries first information about a source network slice subnet, and wherein the resource request requests to provide a first resource in a target network slice subnet (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3, sending by source network slice management device gnb1 to a target NSMF a resource request wherein request carries information about source slice information wherein the request includes requests to provide a first resource in a target network slice subnet); receiving by the source NSMF, from the target NSMF device, a response to the resource request, wherein the response comprises second information about the target network slice subnet, wherein the second information comprises an identifier (ID) of the target network slice subnet, third information about a target base station, or fourth information about a target cell, and wherein the second information is based on the first information (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3,receiving by the source NSMF from the target network system a response wherein the response comprises second information about the admitted slice id associated with target and target acknowledgment information about the network and the information is about the incoming handover information, wherein the target network slice subnet includes 21, 25 and 23); and sending by the source NSMF device , a handover configuration message (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3,, sending, to a source network slice subnet management function device, a handover configuration message ), wherein the handover configuration message comprises the second information, and wherein the second information instructs the source device to trigger a source base station to hand over a to-be-handed-over user equipment (UE) from a first cell covered by the source base station to a second cell that is covered by the target base station (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3,, wherein the handover confirmation triggers handover of UE from source base station to target base station from a first cell covered by the source base station to a second cell that is covered by the target base station). 20200022033
SHIH teaches sending, to a target network slice management function (NSMF) device, a resource request (para [0164], sending to network slice management function (NSMF) device for resource request to the core network), sending, to a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device, a handover configuration message and , and wherein the second information instructs the source NSSMF device (para [0164,, sending, to a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device, a handover configuration message and instructs the source NSSMF device which is part of the core network). 20180317134
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Naseer-Ul-Islam by sending, to a target network slice management function (NSMF) device, a resource request, sending, to a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device, a handover configuration message and , and wherein the second information instructs the source NSSMF device as suggested by LEROUX, this modification would benefit Naseer-Ul-Islam for an efficient resource management during handover in a mobile communication network.
As per claim 4, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the resource request further carries fifth information about the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the fifth information is for determining a first correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target base station or a second correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target cell, wherein the response further comprises the first correspondence or the second correspondence, wherein the handover configuration message further comprises the first correspondence or the second correspondence, and wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is for instructing to hand over the to-be-handed-over UE from the source base station or a source cell to the target base station or the target cell (para 0189], handover information contains correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target base station or a second correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target cell and correspondence, and wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is for instructing to hand over the to-be-handed-over UE from the source base station or a source cell to the target base station or the target cell ).
As per claim 5, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the resource request further carries quality of service (QoS) information of the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the QoS information is for determining a quantity of second resources provided by the target base station or the target cell for the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the first correspondence is a third correspondence among the target base station, the to-be-handed-over UE, and the quantity of second resources, and wherein the third correspondence indicates the quantity of second resources (para 0204], request based on quality of service information for handover and provided by the target base station or the target cell for the to-be-handed-over UE and a third correspondence among the target base station, the to-be-handed-over UE, and the quantity of second resources, and wherein the third correspondence indicates the quantity of second resources).
As per claim 6, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the resource request further carries a handover cause, and wherein the handover cause is for determining whether to provide the first resource for the to-be-handed-over UE (para (para 0204],, handover cause is quality of service at serving base station and for determining whether to provide the first resource for the to-be-handed-over UE).
As per claim 7, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving by the source NSMF device resource utilization or a performance indicator of the source network slice subnet (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3, determines the performance of the signal quality to the source base station); and determining by the source NSMF device, based on the resource utilization or the performance indicator and based on a first preset condition of the resource utilization or a second preset condition of the performance indicator, a handover policy for handing over the to-be-handed-over UE from the source network slice subnet to the target network slice subnet, wherein the handover policy comprises content carried in the resource request (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3, when there is triggering condition such as the signal quality is below a certain level or preset condition handover policy for handing over the to-be-handed-over UE from the source network slice subnet to the target network slice subnet, wherein the handover policy comprises content carried in the resource request).
As per claim 8, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the handover configuration message further comprises a handover cause, and wherein the handover cause instructs the source base station to determine whether to trigger UEs that access the source network slice subnet to be handed over to the target network slice subnet through the target base station (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3, handover is based on the measurement result from UE because the source base station signal is weaker and performs handover access the source network slice subnet to be handed over to the target network slice subnet through the target base station).
As per claim 9, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 8, wherein sending by the source NSMF device the resource request comprises sending by the source NSMF device, based on a network deployment requirement of a source network slice, resource planning of the source network slice, or a service peak resource requirement loaded to the source network slice, the resource request (para 0171-0172], fig. 2, 3 sending, based on a network deployment requirement of a source network slice, resource planning of the source network slice).
As per claim 10, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 1, SHIHteaches wherein sending the resource request and receiving the response comprise: sending, by a source NSMF device and via a source communication service management function (CSMF) device and a target CSMF device, the resource request, and receiving, by the source NSMF device, the response ( para 0164],sending by NSMF a target CSMF device, the resource request, and receiving, by the source NSMF device, the response ); sending, by the source NSMF device and to the target CSMF device, the resource request, and receiving, by the source NSMF and from the target CSMF, the response; or sending, by the source NSMF device and to the target NSMF device, the resource request, and receiving, by the source NSMF device and from the target NSMF device, the response ( para 0164], sending, by the source NSMF device and to the target NSMF device, the resource request, and receiving, by the source NSMF device and from the target NSMF device, the response);.
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 11, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches a method, comprising: receiving by a target network slice management function device a resource request, wherein the resource request carries first information about a source network slice subnet, and wherein the resource request requests to provide a first resource in a target network slice subnet (para 0171-0172], fig. 2-3, receiving a target network slice management function device a resource request wherein request carries information about source slice information wherein the request includes requests to provide a first resource in a target network slice subnet);; determining by the target NSMF device, based on the first information, second information about the target network slice subnet, wherein the second information comprises an identifier (ID) of the target network slice subnet, third information about a target base station, or fourth information about a target cell ((para 0171-0172], fig. 2-3,, determining based on the information and target network information wherein the second information comprises an identifier (ID) of the target network slice subnet); and sending by the target NSMF device a first response to the resource request, wherein the first response comprises the second information, and wherein the second information instructs a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device to trigger a source base station to hand over a to-be-handed-over user equipment (UE) from a first cell covered by the source base station to a second cell that is covered by the target base station ((para 0171-0172], fig. 2-3,, sending a request comprising source and target slice information and instructs device to trigger a source base station to hand over a to-be-handed-over user equipment (UE) from a first cell covered by the source base station to a second cell that is covered by the target base station).
SHIHteaches send to a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device, a handover configuration message and , and wherein the second information instructs the source NSSMF device (para [0164] , fig. 26,, sending, to a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device, a handover configuration message and instructs the source NSSMF device). 20180317134
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 15, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the resource request further carries quality of service (QoS) information of the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the resource requirement request further comprises the QoS information, wherein the QoS information is for determining a quantity of resources provided by the target base station for the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the first correspondence is among the target base station, the to-be-handed-over UE, and the quantity of resources, and wherein the first correspondence is for indicating the quantity of resources (para 0204], request based on quality of service information for handover and provided by the target base station or the target cell for the to-be-handed-over UE and a third correspondence among the target base station, the to-be-handed-over UE, and the quantity of second resources, and wherein the third correspondence indicates the quantity of second resources).
As per claim 16, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches A source network slice management function (NSMF) apparatus, comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions that cause the source NSMF to: send, to a target network slice management function device, a resource request, wherein the resource request carries first information about a source network slice subnet, and wherein the resource request requests to provide a first resource in a target network slice subnet(para 0171-0172], fig. 2-3,sending to a target network system a resource request wherein request carries information about source slice information wherein the request includes requests to provide a first resource in a target network slice subnet); receive, from the target device, a response to the resource request, wherein the response comprises second information about the target network slice subnet, wherein the second information comprises an identifier (ID) of the target network slice subnet, third information about a target base station, or fourth information about a target cell, and wherein the second information is based on the first information(para 0171-0172], fig. 2-3,, receiving from the target network system a response wherein the response comprises second information about the admitted slice id associated with target and target acknowledgment information about the network and the information is about the incoming handover information); and send, to a source network slice subnet management function device, a handover configuration message (para 0171-0172], fig. 2-3,, sending, to a source network slice subnet management function device, a handover configuration message ), wherein the handover configuration message comprises the second information, and wherein the second information instructs the source device to trigger a source base station to hand over to-be-handed-over user equipment (UE) from a first cell covered by the source base station to a second cell that is covered by the target base station(para 0171-0172], fig. 2-3,, wherein the handover confirmation triggers handover of UE from source base station to target base station from a first cell covered by the source base station to a second cell that is covered by the target base station)..
SHIH teaches sending, to a target network slice management function (NSMF) device, a resource request (para [0164] , sending to network slice management function (NSMF) device for resource request), sending, to a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device, a handover configuration message and , and wherein the second information instructs the source NSSMF device (para para [010164] , sending, to a source network slice subnet management function (NSSMF) device, a handover configuration message and instructs the source NSSMF device). 20180317134
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 1.
As per claim 19, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the source NSMF of claim 16, wherein the resource request further carries fifth information about the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the fifth information is for determining a first correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target base station or a second correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target cell, wherein the response further comprises the first correspondence or the second correspondence, wherein the handover configuration message further comprises the first correspondence or the second correspondence, and wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is for instructing to hand over the to-be-handed-over UE from the source base station or a source cell to the target base station or the target cell(para 0204], handover information contains correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target base station or a second correspondence between the to-be-handed-over UE and the target cell and correspondence, and wherein the first correspondence or the second correspondence is for instructing to hand over the to-be-handed-over UE from the source base station or a source cell to the target base station or the target cell ).
As per claim 20, Naseer-Ul-Islam, SHIH teaches the source NSMF of claim 19, wherein the resource request further carries quality of service (QoS) information of the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the QoS information is for determining a quantity of second resources provided by the target base station or the target cell for the to-be-handed-over UE, wherein the first correspondence is a third correspondence among the target base station, the to-be-handed-over UE, and the quantity of second resources, and wherein the third correspondence indicates the quantity of second resources (para 0204], request based on quality of service information for handover and provided by the target base station or the target cell for the to-be-handed-over UE and a third correspondence among the target base station, the to-be-handed-over UE, and the quantity of second resources, and wherein the third correspondence indicates the quantity of second resources).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-3, 12-14, 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20200359244 A1; US Patent Publication US 20200382386 A1, US Patent Publication US 20200359244 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented inthis Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467