DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite “wherein a first part of the at least two parts of the housing is integrated into the module support[,] as an integral component of the housing.” It is unclear how “an integral component of the housing” is intended to modify this language. That is, it would seem that “a first part of the… housing” would inherently be a “component of the housing,” and it is not clear how this relates to the “first part... [being] integrated into the module support.”
Claims 2-10 and 12-14 are deemed indefinite because they are dependent on indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US Patent Number 11485260).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Cho discloses a vehicle seat comprising a seat frame structure (while not shown, the device is described as installed in a seat, which would inherently include at least some frame structure) and a module support arrangement (100), the module support arrangement being suspended from the vehicle seat frame structure via a suspension (extending wires, springs) for attachment to the seat frame structure of the motor vehicle seat and for fixing pneumatic components or non-pneumatic components (at least 132 for instance), the module support arrangement having a module support (including 110) with a front side and a rear side opposite the front side, wherein the module support arrangement comprises a housing (130, 140) for receiving a pneumatic pump (132), the housing comprising at least two parts (at least 130 and 140) wherein a first part of the at least two parts of the housing is integrated into the module support as an integral component of the housing (both 130 and 140 are “integrated into the module support” at least in that they are connected to form an integral unit, while they are similarly both “integral component[s]” of the housing), wherein the first part of the housing integrated into the module support has a first receiving space formed therein for receiving the pneumatic pump (at least portion 130 has such a receiving space).
Regarding claim 2, Cho further discloses the first part that is integrated into the module support is molded into the module support or formed into the module support (it would be viewed at least as formed into the support via 140 for instance).
Regarding claim 3, Cho further discloses the at least two parts are connected to one another (this is the general arrangement).
Regarding claim 6, Cho further discloses at least one of the pneumatic components is fixed to the module support arrangement, and the pneumatic components are selected from the group consisting of a pump, a valve block, a fluid actuator, and fluid ducts (132 is a pump fixed to the module support arrangement).
Regarding claim 7, Cho further discloses the first part of the at least two parts that is integrated into the module support is molded or formed into the module support (it would be viewed at least as formed into the support via 140 for instance) and a second part of the at least two parts of the housing is a part which is separate from the module support and which is attached to the first part that is integrated into the module support (e.g. 140 is attached in this manner).
Regarding claim 8, Cho further discloses at least one part of an air routing duct is integrated into at least one of the at least two parts (the upper portion forms such a duct; see figures).
Regarding claim 12, Cho further discloses the two parts are connected to one another via a connection means selected from the group consisting of a hinge, an elastic connection or a living hinge (based on the synthetic resin construction of 140, it is viewed at least as an elastic connection).
Regarding claim 13, Cho further discloses the second part of the housing that is a part which is separate from the module support is attached to the first part by an attachment means selected from the group consisting of laser welding, high-frequency welding, vibration welding, gluing, or clipping (they are at least viewed as clipped).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho.
Regarding claims 4 and 5 Cho discloses an arrangement as explained above including at least plastic and felt material, and molding in general, but may not disclose the materials or molding specifics in relation the parts as claimed. However, changes in material and the claimed molding operations are well-known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the materials and molding as claimed based on normal variation to improve manufacture and performance for various users.
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses an arrangement as explained above including at least one compensator region (at 180) is formed at the module support and the first part of the housing or in the first part, which compensator region is designed to reduce the transmission of vibrations generated by a pump received in the housing (this is the general arrangement), but may not disclose the particular arrangement as claimed. Rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art however, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and performance for various users.
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Cho discloses an arrangement as explained above including electrical components but does not disclose it specifically in relation to the pump. Such arrangements and components are well-known and as duplication and rearrangement requires only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and performance for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112 have been considered and the prior 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendment introduced new 35 USC 112 issues as noted above.
The remainder of Applicant's arguments filed 1 February 2026 and entered with the RCE filed 5 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Cho does not disclose every element of the invention as currently claimed. While it is appreciated that the invention may differ somewhat from the cited art, it is maintained that Cho discloses an arrangement as currently claimed as explained above. Applicant has not specifically pointed out what claimed element is lacking in Cho or how Cho specifically fails to meet the claimed limitations. The rejections have accordingly been maintained.
Conclusion
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636