DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al (US 2019/0196213; hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a display apparatus (Figure 10; Display Device 1J) configured to display an aerial image (Figure 10; Aerial Image I) using retroreflection (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0123]), the apparatus (Figure 10; Display Device 1J) comprising:
a retroreflecting layer (Figure 10; Retro-Reflection Portion 6) in which a design including an opening for generating an aerial image (Figure 10; Aerial Image I) is formed (see Figure 10; wherein there exists openings between retro-reflection portions 6 which facilitate the generation of the aerial image I);
a light source (Figure 10; Display Portion 3) disposed on one principal surface side of the retroreflecting layer (see Figure 10); and
a beam splitter (Figure 10; Light Splitting Portion 4) disposed on another principal surface side of the retroreflecting layer (Figure 10; Retro-Reflection Portion 6) opposite to the one principal surface (see Figure 10),
wherein an aerial image (Figure 10; Aerial Image I) of the design is displayed above the beam splitter (see Figure 10; wherein the aerial image I is displayed above light splitting portion 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the opening (see Figure 10; wherein the opening corresponds to the gaps between the retro-reflection portions 6) is provided with a reflection inhibiting member (Figure 10; Light Blocking Portion 8) for reducing or eliminating diffused reflection of light (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0066]; wherein it is disclosed that the first light blocking portion blocks the first emission light L1 or the surface-reflected light L4).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the reflection inhibiting member (Figure 10; Light Blocking Portion 8) comprises a light absorbing layer on an inner wall of the opening (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0066]; wherein it is disclosed that the light blocking portion 8 is black paper, plastic, a metal plate, Raxa paper or a light absorbing sheet).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the light absorbing layer (Figure 10; Light Blocking Portion 8) comprises a layer coating the inner wall of the opening in black (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0066]; wherein it is disclosed that the light blocking portion 8 is black paper, plastic, a metal plate, Raxa paper or a light absorbing sheet).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the reflection inhibiting member (Figure 10; Light Blocking Portion 8) comprises a light-transmissive optical element fitted in the opening (see Figure 10 and Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the retro-reflection portion 6 is a retro-reflection sheet and wherein it is inherent there is a light-transmissive optical element fitted in the opening due to the fact that the retro-reflecting portion 6 and light blocking portion 8 are not floating in space and must inherently be supported by a light-transmissive optical element which also allows light L1-L4 to pass therethrough).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (US 2019/0196213; hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto) as applied to claim 1, in view of Overes et al (US 2015/0355505; hereinafter referred to as Overes).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose a diffusion layer between the light source and the retroreflecting layer.
Overes discloses a diffusion layer (Figure 1; Light Diffusing Surfaces 140) between a light source (Figure 1; Light Source 110) and a retroreflecting layer (Figure 1; Retroreflectors 130; Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Yamamoto such that a diffusion layer is between the light source and the retroreflecting layer, as taught by Overes, because doing so would reduce a loss of light energy and enable a higher energy efficiency of the lighting device (see Overes Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamamoto as modified by Overes discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Overes further discloses the diffusion layer (Figure 1; Light Diffusing Surfaces 140) includes a protrusion to be fitted in the opening of the retroreflecting layer (see Figure 1; wherein the light diffusing structures 140 are fitted in openings of the retroreflectors 130).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (US 2019/0196213; hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto) in view of Yamamoto et al (US 2018/0284470; hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto ‘470).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose a polarizer between the retroreflecting layer and the light source, wherein the retroreflecting layer includes a λ/4 phase film, and wherein the beam splitter comprises a polarizing beam splitter.
Yamamoto ’470 discloses a display apparatus (Figure 4; Display Device 1B) configured to display an aerial image (Figure 4; Aerial Image I) using retroreflection (see Figure 4), the apparatus (Figure 4; Display Device 1B) comprising: a retroreflecting layer (Figure 4; First Retro-Reflective Part 2A); a light source (Figure 4; Light Source S1) disposed on one principal surface side of the retroreflecting layer (see Figure 4); and a beam splitter (Figure 4; Light Splitting Part 4) disposed on another principal surface side of the retroreflecting layer (Figure 4; First Retro-Reflective Part 2A) opposite to the one principal surface (see Figure 4), wherein an aerial image (Figure 4; Aerial Image I) of the design is displayed above the beam splitter (see Figure 4; wherein the aerial image I is displayed above the light splitting part 4), and
a polarizer (Figure 4; Wavelength Plate 21) between the retroreflecting layer (Figure 4; First Retro-Reflective Part 2A) and the light source (Figure 4; Light Source S1), wherein the retroreflecting layer (Figure 4; First Retro-Reflective Part 2A) includes a λ/4 phase film (Figure 4; Wavelength Plate 22), and wherein the beam splitter (Figure 4; Light Splitting Part 4) comprises a polarizing beam splitter (see Paragraph [0090]; wherein the first light-separating part 4 is a reflective polarizing film, and others generally called a beam splitter may be exemplified).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Yamamoto to include a polarizer between the retroreflecting layer and the light source, wherein the retroreflecting layer includes a λ/4 phase film, and wherein the beam splitter comprises a polarizing beam splitter, as taught by Yamamoto ‘470, because doing so would allow for a user to observe the aerial image displayed in the two areas from an observation direction on the side opposite to the first light source with respect to the first light-separating part (see Yamamoto ‘470 Paragraph [0096]).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882