DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B drawn to Fig. 57, Species G drawn to Fig. 48-49, and Species N drawn to Fig. 46 in the reply filed on 2/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3, 8-9 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Although Applicant identifies claims 4-20 are encompassing the elected species, claims 8-9 and 18 are determined to recite limitations pertaining to a non-elected species. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 13. Claim 13 recites “a distance between the dam structure and the at least one groove structure.” There is no known or disclosed distance between the recited said dam structure and the at least one groove structure as disclosed in Applicant’s specification. The commonly known definition of “distance” refers to at least the spacing of when one element begins and another ends. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “distance” in claim 13 is used by the claim to mean “width of the dam structure,” while the accepted meaning is “spacing between the dam structure and groove structure.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. For examination purposes “a distance between the dam structure and the at least one groove structure” will be interpreted to be the width of the dam structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200332592 A1 to Mun et al.
Regarding Claim 4. Mun discloses a dimming member, wherein the dimming member comprises a dimming film (Fig. 1 window 100), and the dimming film comprises a first substrate (Fig. 1 film 10, para 56), a functional layer (Fig. 1 light modulating layer 30), and a second substrate (Fig. 1 film 40, para 56) that are stacked in sequence; and the functional layer is provided with a sealing structure at a periphery of the functional layer (See Fig. 1 seal line 20), and the sealing structure is formed by wrapping the functional layer with the first substrate and the second substrate (As shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5. Mun further discloses the first substrate and the second substrate each comprise a substrate body portion and a substrate edge portion (See at least Fig. 1), the functional layer is disposed between the substrate body portion of the first substrate and the substrate body portion of the second substrate (See at least Fig. 1), and the sealing structure is formed by the substrate edge portion of the first substrate and the substrate edge portion of the second substrate and configured to wrap the functional layer (See at least Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun as applied to claim 4 in view of US 20090086325 A1 to Liu et al.
Regarding Claim 6. As stated above Mun discloses all the limitations of base claim 4.
Mun does not specifically disclose that the sealing structure is formed by the first substrate and the second substrate being melted and abutting against each other (it is noted that this limitation may be a product-by-process limitation "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
However, Liu discloses that the sealing structure is formed by the first substrate and the second substrate being melted and abutting against each other (See at least para 39), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the sealing structure is formed by the first substrate and the second substrate being melted and abutting against each other.
Claims 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun as applied to claim 4 in view of US 20200259114 A1 to Jiang.
Regarding Claim 7. As stated above Mun discloses all the limitations of base claim 4.
Mun does not specifically disclose that the dimming member defines at least one groove structure at a periphery of the dimming member, and the sealing structure is disposed at the at least one groove structure.
However, Jiang discloses that the dimming member defines at least one groove structure at a periphery of the dimming member (See Fig. 7c sealing holes k), and the sealing structure is disposed at the at least one groove structure (See Fig. 2), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the dimming member defines at least one groove structure at a periphery of the dimming member, and the sealing structure is disposed at the at least one groove structure.
Regarding Claim 11. Jiang further discloses the at least one groove structure extends through the functional layer at the periphery of the functional layer, and is in communication with a surface of the functional layer close to the first substrate and/or a surface of the functional layer close to the second substrate (See Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12. Jiang further discloses the at least one groove structure comprises a stepped structure or a trench structure (See Fig. 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun and Jiang as applied to claim 7 in view of US 20090086325 A1 to Liu et al.
Regarding Claim 10. As stated above Mun and Jiang discloses all the limitations of base claim 7.
Jiang further discloses the at least one groove structure is defined by the first substrate and/or the second substrate (See at least Fig. 7c).
Mun and Jiang do not specifically disclose that the first substrate and/or the second substrate being melted and contracted towards the functional layer (it is noted that this limitation may be a product-by-process limitation "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
However, Liu discloses that the first substrate and/or the second substrate being melted and contracted towards the functional layer (See at least Fig. 1 and para 39), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the first substrate and/or the second substrate being melted and contracted towards the functional layer.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun and Jiang as applied to claim 12 in view of US 20150062524 A1 to Kim et al.
Regarding Claim 13. As stated above Mun and Jiang discloses all the limitations of base claim 12.
Mun and Jiang do not specifically disclose a dam structure is disposed around a periphery of the at least one groove structure, and a distance between the dam structure and the at least one groove structure ranges from 0.5 mm to 10 mm.
However, Kim discloses a dam structure is disposed around a periphery of the at least one sealing structure (See at least Fig. 4 layer 410), and a distance between the dam structure and the at least one groove structure ranges from 0.5 mm to 10 mm (See para 123, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). (See MPEP 2144.05)), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include a dam structure is disposed around a periphery of the at least one groove structure, and a distance between the dam structure and the at least one groove structure ranges from 0.5 mm to 10 mm.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200332592 A1 to Mun et al. in view of US 20190270284 A1 to Couillard et al.
Regarding Claim 14. Mun discloses a vehicle, comprising a dimming member; the dimming member comprises a dimming film (Fig. 1 window 100), and the dimming film comprises a first substrate (Fig. 1 film 10, para 56), a functional layer (Fig. 1 light modulating layer 30), and a second substrate (Fig. 1 film 40, para 56) that are stacked in sequence; and the functional layer is provided with a sealing structure at a periphery of the functional layer (See Fig. 1 seal line 20), and the sealing structure is formed by wrapping the functional layer with the first substrate and the second substrate (As shown in Fig. 1).
Mun does not specifically disclose a light-transmitting assembly, wherein the light-transmitting assembly comprises a first light-transmitting member, a second light-transmitting member, and the dimming member is disposed between the first light-transmitting member and the second light-transmitting member.
However, Couillard discloses a light-transmitting assembly (See at least Fig. 1 pane 100), wherein the light-transmitting assembly comprises a first light-transmitting member (Fig. 1 panel 130), a second light-transmitting member (Fig. 1 panel 140), and the dimming member is disposed between the first light-transmitting member and the second light-transmitting member (See Fig. 1 transmission control layer 110), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include a light-transmitting assembly, wherein the light-transmitting assembly comprises a first light-transmitting member, a second light-transmitting member, and the dimming member is disposed between the first light-transmitting member and the second light-transmitting member.
Regarding Claim 15. Mun further discloses the first substrate and the second substrate each comprise a substrate body portion and a substrate edge portion (See at least Fig. 1), the functional layer is disposed between the substrate body portion of the first substrate and the substrate body portion of the second substrate (See at least Fig. 1), and the sealing structure is formed by the substrate edge portion of the first substrate and the substrate edge portion of the second substrate and configured to wrap the functional layer (See at least Fig. 1).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun and Couillard as applied to claim 14 in view of US 20090086325 A1 to Liu et al.
Regarding Claim 16. As stated above Mun and Couillard discloses all the limitations of base claim 4.
Mun and Couillard do not specifically disclose that the sealing structure is formed by the first substrate and the second substrate being melted and abutting against each other (it is noted that this limitation may be a product-by-process limitation "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
However, Liu discloses that the sealing structure is formed by the first substrate and the second substrate being melted and abutting against each other (See at least para 39), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the sealing structure is formed by the first substrate and the second substrate being melted and abutting against each other.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun and Couillard as applied to claim 14 in view of US 20200259114 A1 to Jiang.
Regarding Claim 17. As stated above Mun and Couillard discloses all the limitations of base claim 14.
Mun and Couillard do not specifically disclose that the dimming member defines at least one groove structure at a periphery of the dimming member, and the sealing structure is disposed at the at least one groove structure.
However, Jiang discloses that the dimming member defines at least one groove structure at a periphery of the dimming member (See Fig. 7c sealing holes k), and the sealing structure is disposed at the at least one groove structure (See Fig. 2), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the dimming member defines at least one groove structure at a periphery of the dimming member, and the sealing structure is disposed at the at least one groove structure.
Regarding Claim 20. Jiang further discloses the at least one groove structure extends through the functional layer at the periphery of the functional layer, and is in communication with a surface of the functional layer close to the first substrate and/or a surface of the functional layer close to the second substrate (See Fig. 2).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun, Couillard and Jiang as applied to claim 17 in view of US 20090086325 A1 to Liu et al.
Regarding Claim 19. As stated above Mun, Couillard and Jiang discloses all the limitations of base claim 17.
Jiang further discloses the at least one groove structure is defined by the first substrate and/or the second substrate (See at least Fig. 7c).
Mun, Couillard and Jiang do not specifically disclose that the at least one groove structure is defined by the first substrate and/or the second substrate being melted and contracted towards the functional layer (it is noted that this limitation may be a product-by-process limitation "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
However, Mun, Couillard and Jiang in view of Liu discloses that the first substrate and/or the second substrate being melted and contracted towards the functional layer (See at least Fig. 1 and para 39), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the at least one groove structure is defined by the first substrate and/or the second substrate being melted and contracted towards the functional layer.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871