DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 1/12/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-13 is pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morvillo (US 2010/0022146) in view of Tamura et al (US 2017/0351259)
With respect to claims 1, 5 and 9, Morvillo discloses a marine vessel/ship 10 comprising: an engine 202 that outputs a driving force; a jet propulsion device that generates a propulsion force of the ship using the driving force output from the engine; a ship controller 130 that controls the engine and the jet propulsion device; and a ship position detection unit that detects an actual ship position which is an actual position of the ship,
wherein the jet propulsion device includes a nozzle 158 that ejects a jet stream generated by the driving force output from the engine, and a bucket 154 that changes a direction of the jet stream ejected from the nozzle (see Fig. 6, Para [0107]), the position of the bucket includes at least a forward position where the jet propulsion device generates a propulsive force for moving the ship forward, a neutral position where the jet propulsion device does not generate a propulsive force for moving the ship, and a forward-side intermediate position between the forward position and the neutral position (see Figs. 13G, 13H & 21A-C), a reverse position where the jet propulsion device generates a propulsive force for moving the ship backward, and a reverse-side intermediate position between the reverse position and the neutral position (see Figs. 13C-F& 21A-C) as recited in claims 5 and 9, the ship controller has a ship fixed point holding mode in which feedback control of the engine and the jet propulsion device is performed (see Figs. 9A-C, Para [0130]-[0131]),
However, Morvillo fails to disclose or fairly suggest the ship controller as a ship fixed point holding mode in which feedback control of the engine and the jet propulsion device is performed based on a deviation between a target ship position, which is a preset target position of the ship, and the actual ship position, and both control of the position of the bucket including the forward-side intermediate position and control of a rotational speed of the engine are performed in the ship fixed point holding mode.
Tamura et al discloses a ship handling device comprising the ship controller 15 as a ship fixed point holding mode in which feedback control of the engine and the jet propulsion device is performed based on a deviation between a target ship position P(t)/At, which is a preset target position Az(n)/Ar,Br,Cr of the ship, and the actual ship position P(n), and both control of the position of the bucket including the forward-side intermediate position and control of a rotational speed of the engine are performed in the ship fixed point holding mode (see Figs. 4A-B, 5. 8A, 8B-1~2, 8C, Para [0021], [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide ship handling control device as taught by Tamura et al in order to turn in a target orientation toward target coordinates without monitoring the behavior of the ship against disturbance or the characteristics of the ship (see Tamura et al’s abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Morvillo discloses the forward-side intermediate position (Fig. 24 A-C, S) between the forward position (Fig. 24A, S) and the neutral position (Fig. 24A, R) includes a plurality of forward-side intermediate positions (0, 15 and 30 degree- nozzles), and the control performed by the ship controller in the ship fixed point holding mode includes control of setting the rotational speed of the engine to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position and setting the position of the bucket to any of the forward position, the neutral position, and the plurality of forward-side intermediate positions (see Para [0210]-[0214]).
With respect to claim 3, Movillo discloses the forward-side intermediate position between the forward position and the neutral position includes a linear forward-side intermediate position that is linearly adjustable between VCx1 and the output AC1, and the control performed by the ship controller in the ship fixed point holding mode includes control of setting the rotational speed of the engine to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position and adjusting the linear forward-side intermediate position (see Fig. 9A-C, Para [0093], [0129]).
With respect to claim 4, Morvillo fails to disclose or fairly suggest the actual ship position is located behind the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the neutral position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the forward-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position, and when the actual ship position is located ahead of the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the forward position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the forward-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position.
Tamura et al discloses a ship handling device comprising the ship controller 15 having a ship fixed point holding mode having the actual ship position located behind the target ship position (see Figs. 4A-B, 5, 11B-2, Para [0017], [0018], [0024]) if the position of the bucket is set to the neutral position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the forward-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position, and when the actual ship position is located ahead of the target ship position (see Figs. 4A-B, 5, 11B-1, Para [0017], [0018], [0024]) if the position of the bucket is set to the forward position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the forward-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position (See Para [0106]-[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide ship handling control device as taught by Tamura et al in order to turn in a target orientation toward target coordinates/position from the actual ship coordinates/position without monitoring the behavior of the ship against disturbance or the characteristics of the ship (see Tamura et al’s abstract).
With respect to claim 6, Morville discloses the reverse-side intermediate position (Fig. 24 A-C, Q) between the reverse position (Fig. 24A, Q) and the neutral position (Fig. 24A, R) includes a plurality of reverse-side intermediate positions (0, 15, 30 degree-nozzles), and the control performed by the ship controller in the ship fixed point holding mode includes control of setting the rotational speed of the engine to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position and setting the position of the bucket to any of the reverse position, the neutral position, and the plurality of reverse-side intermediate positions. (see Para [0210]-[0214]).
With respect to claim 7, Morville discloses the reverse-side intermediate position between the reverse position and the neutral position includes a linear reverse-side intermediate position that is linearly adjustable between VCx1 and the output AC1,, and the control performed by the ship controller in the ship fixed point holding mode includes control of setting the rotational speed of the engine to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position and adjusting the linear reverse-side intermediate position. (see Fig. 9A-C, 11A-B, Para [0093], [0135], [0136]).
With respect to claim 8, Morville fails to disclos or fairly suggest the actual ship position is located ahead of the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the neutral position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the reverse-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position, and when the actual ship position is located behind the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the reverse position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the reverse-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position.
Tamura et al discloses a ship handling device comprising the ship controller 15 having a ship fixed point holding mode having the actual ship position located behind the target ship position (see Figs. 4A-B, 5, 11B-2, Para [0017], [0018], [0024]) if the position of the bucket is set to the neutral position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the reverse-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position, and when the actual ship position is located ahead of the target ship position (see Figs. 4A-B, 5, 11B-1, Para [0017], [0018], [0024]) if the position of the bucket is set to the reverse position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the reverse-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position (See Para [0106]-[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide ship handling control device as taught by Tamura et al in order to turn in a target orientation toward target coordinates/position from the actual ship coordinates/position without monitoring the behavior of the ship against disturbance or the characteristics of the ship (see Tamura et al’s abstract).
With respect to claim 10, Morville discloses the forward-side intermediate position (Figs. 24A-C, S) between the forward position and the neutral position includes a plurality of forward-side intermediate positions (see Figs. 24 A-C, S), the reverse-side intermediate position (see Fig. 24 A-C, Q) between the reverse position and the neutral position (24A-C, R) includes a plurality of reverse-side intermediate positions by single or twin water jets, and the control performed by the ship controller in the ship fixed point holding mode includes control of setting the rotational speed of the engine to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position and setting the position of the bucket to any of the forward position, the neutral position, the reverse position, the plurality of forward-side intermediate positions, and the plurality of reverse- side intermediate positions. (see Para [0210]-[0214]).
With respect to claim 11, Moville discloses the forward-side intermediate position between the forward position and the neutral position includes a linear forward-side intermediate position that is linearly adjustable between VCx1 and the output AC1 (See Fig. 9A-C Para [0093], [0129]), the reverse-side intermediate position between the reverse position and the neutral position includes a linear reverse-side intermediate position that is linearly adjustable between VCx1 and the output AC1 (Fig. 9A-C, 11A-B, Para [0093], [0135], [0136]), and the control performed by the ship controller in the ship fixed point holding mode includes control of setting the rotational speed of the engine to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position and adjusting the linear forward-side intermediate position and the linear reverse-side intermediate position.
With respect to claims 12 and 13, Moville fails to disclose or fairly suggest when the actual ship position is located behind the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the neutral position in the ship fixed point holding mode, and when the actual ship position is located ahead of the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the forward position, the position of the bucket is set to the forward-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position as to claim 12,
When the actual ship position is located ahead of the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the neutral position in the ship fixed point holding mode, and when the actual ship position is located behind the target ship position if the position of the bucket is set to the reverse position, the position of the bucket is set to the reverse-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position as to claim 13.
Tamura et al discloses a ship handling device comprising the ship controller 15 having a ship fixed point holding mode having the actual ship position located behind the target ship position (see Figs. 4A-B, 5, 11B-2, Para [0017], [0018], [0024]) if the position of the bucket is set to the neutral position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the reverse-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position, and when the actual ship position is located ahead of the target ship position (see Figs. 4A-B, 5, 11B-1, Para [0017], [0018], [0024]) if the position of the bucket is set to the reverse position in the ship fixed point holding mode, the position of the bucket is set to the reverse-side intermediate position, and the rotational speed of the engine is set to a predetermined value so that the ship is held at a fixed point of the target ship position (See Para [0106]-[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide ship handling control device as taught by Tamura et al in order to turn in a target orientation toward target coordinates/position from the actual ship coordinates/position without monitoring the behavior of the ship against disturbance or the characteristics of the ship (see Tamura et al’s abstract).
Relevant Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210387710 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CONTROLLING A WATERJET-DRIVEN MARINE VESSEL
US 20180004209 A1 MARINE VESSEL
WO 2016063610 A1 Steering apparatus for ship, generates thrust with propulsion apparatus of ship for movement control when moving to direction spaced apart from target position
US 20080189001 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CONTROLLING A WATER-JET DRIVEN MARINE VESSEL
WO 2008025169 A1 Trim and reverse system for a jet propulsion watercraft has an actuator-movement transfer mechanism that adjusts trim angle and gate orientation via a movement sequence having trimming and obstructing segments
CA 2588707 A1 SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING A WATERJET DRIVEN VESSEL
AU 2002323062 A1 Integral reversing and trim deflector and control mechanism
US 20010029134 A1 Water jet driven boat has joystick with different directions of movement to control rotation of nozzle and movement of reversing bucket
US 4073258 A Lateral maneuvering control for water-jet propulsion systems
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jong-Suk (James) Lee whose telephone number is (571) 272-7044. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Thursday 6AM- 4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Allana Bidder can be reached on 571-272-5560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: httos://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Avww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875