DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 12/27/2023.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-19, and 20 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 4, 12, and 18 is/are objected to.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO_2022056665_A1_Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a device, comprising: a wireless communications interface; and one or more processors (Zhang figure 3) to: assign a first protocol data unit (PDU) set and a second PDU set to at least one of a quality of service (QOS) flow or a data radio bearer (DRB) (Zhang abstract, “…a first subset of PDUs of a set of PDU s of voice data to a first QoS flow, and a second subset of PDU s of the set of PDU s of the voice data to a second QoS flow, where the first subset of PDU s and the second subset of PDU s may be interleaved within the set of PDUs…”); identify a first metric of the first PDU set and a second metric of the second PDU set (Zhang abstract, the metric of the first subset of PDUs can be being voice data, and the metric of the second subset of PDUs can be being voice data too); determine, based at least on the first metric and the second metric, one or more entities for communication of the first PDU set and the second PDU set to a remote device (Zhang figure 12, relay UEs 1206 and 1218); and cause the wireless communications interface to communicate the first PDU set and the second PDU set from the at least one of the QoS flow or the DRB according to the determination (Zhang figure 12, second QoS flow 1210, and third QoS flow 1220).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more entities comprise at least one of a radio link control (RLC) channel or a logical channel (LCH) (Zhang paragraphs 55, 59).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 11, 13, 14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO_2022056665_A1_Zhang in view of US_20240196265_A1_Starsinic.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first metric of the first PDU and the second metric of the second PDU are importance values.
Starsinic discloses wherein the first metric of the first PDU and the second metric of the second PDU are importance values (Starsinic paragraph 9, “…Determining a priority level may include receiving a message including a header and the PDU, inspecting the header for an PDU Set Importance value and comparing the PDU Set Importance value with the PDU Set Importance to priority mapping rule set”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Starsinic’s Importance value in Zhang’s system to handle different kind of PDUs properly. This method for improving the system of Zhang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Starsinic. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Starsinic to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are to select the one or more entities, based at least on the first metric being greater than the second metric, such that the first PDU set is communicated with a higher priority than the second PDU set.
Starsinic discloses wherein the one or more processors are to select the one or more entities, based at least on the first metric being greater than the second metric, such that the first PDU set is communicated with a higher priority than the second PDU set (Starsinic paragraphs 81, and 118, higher priority).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Starsinic’s Importance value in Zhang’s system to handle different kind of PDUs properly. This method for improving the system of Zhang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Starsinic. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Starsinic to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are to: assign the first PDU set and the second PDU set to the same QoS flow, responsive to the first PDU set and the second PDU set having a same value for at least one QoS parameter; but does not disclose and assign the first PDU set and the second PDU set to different entities, responsive to the first metric and the second metric being different.
Starsinic discloses wherein the one or more processors are to: assign the first PDU set and the second PDU set to the same QoS flow, responsive to the first PDU set and the second PDU set having a same value for at least one QoS parameter (Starsinic paragraphs 81, “…and PDU Sets that share other QoS requirements, such as Packet Delay Budget, can still be mapped to the same QoS Flow”).; and assign the first PDU set and the second PDU set to different entities, responsive to the first metric and the second metric being different (Starsinic paragraphs 81, “…the RAN Node may determine a different Priority Level for each DL PDU of a QoS Flow…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Starsinic’s Importance value in Zhang’s system to handle different kind of PDUs properly. This method for improving the system of Zhang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Starsinic. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Starsinic to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang and Starsinic disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang and Starsinic disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang and Starsinic disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang and Starsinic disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang and Starsinic disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO_2022056665_A1_Zhang in view of US_20250344098_A1_Xu.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein: the one or more entities comprise at least a first RLC channel to operate in acknowledged mode (AM) and a second RLC channel to operate in unacknowledged (UM) mode; and the one or more processors are to assign the first PDU set to the first RLC channel and the second PDU set to the second RLC channel.
Xu discloses wherein: the one or more entities comprise at least a first RLC channel to operate in acknowledged mode (AM) and a second RLC channel to operate in unacknowledged (UM) mode (Xu paragraph 76, “…The RLCs 213 and 223 may support three transmission modes: transparent mode (TM); unacknowledged mode (UM); and acknowledged mode (AM)…”); and the one or more processors are to assign the first PDU set to the first RLC channel and the second PDU set to the second RLC channel (Xu paragraphs 287, “…the first RLC channel or the first LCH is associated with the first PDU set may indicate that the first PDU set is mapped to the first RLC channel or the first LCH. The first RLC channel or the first LCH may indicate its importance, an important type, high priority, and/or the like, based on that the first PDU set may be a type A (e.g., I frame) as described above. The first PDU set may be transmitted via the first RLC channel and/or the first LCH for the wireless device. The second RLC channel or the second LCH is associated with the second PDU set may indicate that the second PDU set is mapped to the second RLC channel or the second LCH.…”, also read paragraphs 286, 294-295, 352-354).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Xu’s The RLCs may support three transmission modes: transparent mode (TM); unacknowledged mode (UM); and acknowledged mode (AM) in Zhang’s system to efficiently handle diverse traffic types in mobile networks by balancing reliability, speed, and overhead. This method for improving the system of Zhang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Xu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Xu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang and Xu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO_2022056665_A1_Zhang in view of US_20250261037_A1_Chun.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are to cause communication of the first PDU set according to a prioritized bit rate (PBR) associated with a priority of the one or more entities.
Chun discloses wherein the one or more processors are to cause communication of the first PDU set according to a prioritized bit rate (PBR) associated with a priority of the one or more entities (Chun paragraph 368, “…the NAS message may indicate the QoS ( e.g., PER, PBR, PSER, PSDB) that the NG-RAN currently fulfills for the QoS flow transporting the one or more importance level, and/or for the importance level (the importance level 3, for the PDU set type 3).…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Chun’s indicate the QoS ( e.g., PER, PBR, PSER, PSDB) that currently fulfills for the QoS flow in Zhang’s system to select the proper relay device. This method for improving the system of Zhang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Chun. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhang and Chun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang and Chun disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471