DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12-27-2023 and 12-18-2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KR 20180096903 A [cited in IDS filed 12-18-2024] hereinafter Jeong.
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong teaches an electrode for a secondary battery (paragraphs 4, 23), the electrode comprising: a copper foil (substrate) [100] having a first surface [MS] and a second surface [SS], and a coating (middle) layer [215] formed on the first surface; and an active material [310] formed on the coating (middle) layer (paragraph 80), wherein the surface roughness of the first surface of the copper foil (substrate) is larger than the surface roughness of the second surface of the copper foil (paragraph 46) (see annotated figures below).
Alternatively, the Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, " [w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. _,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 -97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 , E.).
Regarding Claim 2, Jeong teaches that the coating (middle) layer [215] is provided along protrusions and depressions on the first surface of the copper foil (see figure 6b).
Regarding Claim 3, Jeong teaches that the coating layer [215] has a thickness of 0.3 to 1 µm (paragraph 60) and the electrode has a thickness of up to 70 µm (paragraph 67, 158).
Regarding Claims 4-5, Jeong teaches that the coating layer [215] has a thickness of 0.3 to 1 µm (paragraph 60).
Regarding Claims 6-8, Jeong teaches that the surface roughness of the coating layer [215] is 1 µm or less (paragraph 73), the surface roughness of the first surface is different from the surface roughness of the second surface, and the surface roughness is about 1 µm (paragraph 46). In addition, the prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Regarding Claims 9-11, Jeong teaches that the electrode comprises a first active material layer and a second active material layer, wherein the active material comprises carbon (paragraphs 82-84), and wherein an average particle size of the active material is larger than the gap between protrusions on one surface of the copper foil (paragraphs 91-95).
Regarding Claims 12-14, Jeong teaches that the coating (middle) layer comprises a carbon-based conductive material and a binder, wherein the carbon-based conductive material is included in the active material layer, and the substrate is a copper foil (paragraphs 84, 91-95, 158).
Regarding Claims 15-16, Jeong teaches a secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly (i.e., cathode, anode, and separator disposed therebetween) (paragraph 23); and an electrolyte expected to be accommodated in a battery casing (paragraph 97).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0062199 teaches a copper foil with surface roughness, and the copper foil having a coating (middle) layer and active material layer formed on the coating layer.
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752