DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the… network device configured to” in claims 1-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2016/0170849 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a data processing system (Abstract: systems for leveraging an offload programming model for local checkpoints), comprising:
a first network device ([0035] A processing entity comprising a host machine and operating as a “source” 200); and
a second network device ([0035] A processing entity comprising a host machine and operating as a “source” 200 is coupled in communication with three offload machines comprising “sinks” 202, 204, and 206 via an interconnect 208.; wherein a sink corresponds to the second network device);
wherein the first network device is configured to obtain a first request message (Abstract: A job dispatcher dispatches jobs comprising executable code to the source(s); [0052]), and send the first request message to the second network device (Fig. 2, shows #Offload_function_Foo sent to Sink 1 202), wherein the first request message carries a first process context corresponding to a target task, wherein the first process context comprises a program code set, first indication information, and at least one target parameter, and wherein the program code set comprises at least one line of program code ([0038] First, in block 314, an offload context is constructed. Generally, the offload context should contain enough information for the offload to get restarted upon request. It should contain information such as sink identifications (i.e., target parameter), program binary or library reference, buffer data, environment variables and/or function parameters relevant to the workload (i.e., target task). In one embodiment, the offload context includes the link address (of the sink to execute the offload code) (i.e., first indication information), program code section binary (i.e., program code set) or a reference to a previously distributed library that includes the one or more functions corresponding to the offloaded code section, environmental variables, function parameters, and buffer mapping information.); and
wherein the second network device is configured to:
receive the first request message, and determine, based on the first indication information, a location of a first start line in the program code set from the at least one line of program code comprised in the program code set ([0040] As depicted in a block 320 and a decision block 322 of sink 306, the sink device includes a listener that listens for requests from source 302. For example, such listeners are well-known in the art, and may include listening on a particular port used for communicating with source 302 or otherwise listening for communication from source 302 (e.g., detected using the source address for a communication originating from source 302). Once the offload context is received via the detected request, the function or function(s) defined in the offload context code is run (i.e., executed) by sink 306 until completion, as depicted by a block 324 and a completion block 326.; [0053] As shown in FIG. 2, toward the beginning of the Main( ) code section is a #Offload_Function_Foo pragma, which representative of a compiler instruction that is generated to offload function Foo( ). For example, as described below, the developer of software to be executed using offloaded functions may use pragmas or the like in the source code to indicate to the compiler what portions of code are to be offloaded. In response to encountering and/or detecting the offload instruction, the applicable function code is offload by generating an offload context in block 314, with the offload context being sent to sink 202 and a corresponding context object (CO) 210 being generated and pushed to network storage 108 in block 318.); and
complete at least one to-be-executed sub-task of the target task by running, based on the at least one target parameter and using the first start line of the at least one line of program code as a start point, the at least one line of program code of the program code set, wherein the at least one target parameter is a parameter required when the at least one to-be-executed sub-task is executed ([0054] Each of sinks 202, 204, and 206 execute the code sections that are offloaded to them, resulting in parallel execution of the Main( ) code. Upon completion of execution of a function (or during execution of a function that generates a set of data to support pipelined execution), the function result data is returned to the source by writing the result data to an applicable memory buffer that may be identified via buffer mapping data included in the offload context or otherwise setup in advance. For example, the buffer mapping data may identify the address of the beginning of a buffer to which the result data is to be written. This is performed in a similar manner for each of offloaded functions Foo( ) Bar( ) and Qux( ), with result data being written to applicable buffers that are accessible to source 200.; wherein functions Foo, Bar and Qux correspond to the target parameter and sub-tasks; each functions’ pragma #Offload_Function_ corresponds to the start point see Fig. 2 below); and
wherein the at least one target parameter comprises at least one target parameter input by a user, and the program code set carries at least one of the at least one target parameter ([0053] As shown in FIG. 2, toward the beginning of the Main( ) code section is a #Offload_Function_Foo pragma, which representative of a compiler instruction that is generated to offload function Foo( ). For example, as described below, the developer of software to be executed using offloaded functions may use pragmas or the like in the source code to indicate to the compiler what portions of code are to be offloaded. In response to encountering and/or detecting the offload instruction, the applicable function code is offload by generating an offload context in block 314, with the offload context being sent to sink 202 and a corresponding context object (CO) 210 being generated and pushed to network storage 108 in block 318. Similar offload indicia is detected during subsequent execution of the Main( ) code, resulting in function Bar( ) being offloaded to sink 204 in conjunction with pushing a corresponding context object 212 to network storage 108, and function Qux( ) being offloaded to sink 206 in conjunction with pushing a corresponding context object 214 to network storage 108. [0083] In general, the offload pragmas rely on the programmer to explicitly specify what to do. But in some cases, there is a default, for ease of programming. In one embodiment, data transfer of variables to and from the coprocessor for offloaded code is explicitly named with map(to: . . . ), map(from: . . . ) and map(tofrom: . . . ) clauses, but the map(tofrom: . . . ) clause is implicitly used for all variables that are visible in the scope of a construct during compilation. The coprocessor offload target is explicitly specified, e.g. device (1). It's the programmer's responsibility to explicitly synchronize data between coprocessors as needed.).
While Cheng does not explicitly recite sub-tasks, Cheng as cited does teach a main code with a plurality of functions that are offloaded to the remote Sinks for execution. Given that these functions are within the main code and can be pipelined as shown in [0086], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to find Cheng’s teachings to encompass the claimed limitations. Accordingly, Cheng reasonably teaches the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches wherein the second network device is further configured to:
execute target program code, wherein the target program code is disposed in the program code set, and wherein the target program code is associated with execution of a packet encapsulation operation to obtain a second request message (See Fig. 2 above, specifically #Offload_Function_Bar() which corresponds to the second request message; [0038]; [0054]); and
send the second request message to a third network device (See Fig. 2 above, specifically #Offload_Function_Bar() in Sink 2),
wherein the second request message comprises a second process context, wherein the second process context comprises the program code set, second indication information, and at least one intermediate result, wherein the second indication information indicates a location, in the program code set, of a second start line of the at least one line of program code disposed in the program code set, wherein the locations of the second start line and the first start line in the program code set are different, and wherein the intermediate result is intermediate data generated by the second network device in a process of running the at least one line of program code by the second network device ([0038]; [0054]; [0057] [0057] In addition, in some embodiments employing pipelined data structures the data structures can be marked such that an accessing code section can detect whether the data is valid. For example, suppose a sink that is writing data to a first buffer that is accessed by another offloaded code section (or even a code section that is executed by a source) fails. The buffer may be marked such that if the other offloaded code section attempts to access stale data, it will wait until updated data is written to the buffer by the replacement sink.; [0086] As shown in the sink-side code of FIG. 12b, the sink executes a main process that includes a set up run functions that are executed in a pipelined manner.).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches wherein the first request message further comprises a first mapping relationship, wherein the program code set, the first indication information, the at least one target parameter, and the first mapping relationship all belong to a same program virtual machine, wherein the first mapping relationship is associated with storing a mapping relationship between a first address and a second address, wherein the first address indicates a virtual address of the target parameter in the program virtual machine, and wherein the second address indicates a storage address of the target parameter in a network device that stores the target parameter ([0034]; [0054] Upon completion of execution of a function (or during execution of a function that generates a set of data to support pipelined execution), the function result data is returned to the source by writing the result data to an applicable memory buffer that may be identified via buffer mapping data included in the offload context or otherwise setup in advance. For example, the buffer mapping data may identify the address of the beginning of a buffer to which the result data is to be written. This is performed in a similar manner for each of offloaded functions Foo( ) Bar( ) and Qux( ), with result data being written to applicable buffers that are accessible to source 200. [0058] In one aspect, sink entities within a managed cluster are grouped into different virtual or logical domains; [0342] virtual machines; ).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng teaches wherein the system is applied to a remote procedure call (RPC) scenario, and wherein the target task comprises at least two RPC tasks ([0077] Coprocessor Offload Infrastructure (COI); [0085] A COI process is used to facilitate offloading of code sections to the COI engines. The COI process abstracts the remote process executing on a sink. APIs are provided to start and stop remote processes, as well as load dynamic libraries. The COI process is also used to lookup functions in remote processes so they can be invoked.; Fig. 2 shows at least 3 RPC/COI tasks).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng teaches wherein a target intermediate language is used for associated with the program code set, wherein the first request message further comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates a type of the target intermediate language ([0053]; [0079] Under one approach, offloading code sections is facilitated through the use of offload indicia added to the source code to instruct the compiler to include instructions or the like in the binary code generated by the compiler to instruct the host processor (operating as a source) to offload particular sections of code. The offload indicia include: [0080] language pragmas, e.g., #pragma omp target data device (1) map ( ) used by various compilers, e.g., from Intel® and CAPS (Compiler and Architecture for Embedded and Superscalar Processors project, and #pragma off load, an Intel-specific extension; [0081] language keywords, e.g. the Shared keyword used by the Intel® compiler or with language constructs used by CUDA (Compute Unified Device Architecture) or OpenCL such as Intel® SDK for OpenCL Applications XE for the coprocessor; and [0082] library calls, e.g. Intel® Math Kernel Library (MKL), MAGMA (Matrix Algebra on GPU and Multicore Architectures) or NAG (Numerical Algorithms Group) calls that divide work across the host and coprocessor.).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng teaches wherein the program code set comprises program code corresponding to an inline function, and the inline function is a function whose function body is in the program code set (Fig. 2, shows offload sections within the Main () function body).
Regarding claim 8, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claims 1+6 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2016/0170849 A1) in further view of Flanagan et al. (US 2006/0129990 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng teaches the functionality of the claim limitations but for inline code as noted from the citations above. Further, Cheng teaches wherein the first network device is further configured to obtain a function number that is of a target non-inline function and that corresponds to a function name of the target non-inline function, wherein the target non-inline function is a non-inline function of the at least one non-inline function corresponding to the program code set, and wherein the first request message carries the function number of the target non-inline function ([0034]; [0053-54]; [0057]); and
wherein the second network device is specifically configured to obtain a call address of the target non-inline function in the second network device based on the function number of the target non-inline function, wherein the call address is associated with running to run the target non-inline function ([0034]; [0054]).
Cheng does not expressly teach wherein the program code set comprises program code corresponding to at least one non-inline function, and wherein the non-inline function is a function whose function body is not in the program code set.
However, Flanagan teaches wherein the program code set comprises program code corresponding to at least one non-inline function, and wherein the non-inline function is a function whose function body is not in the program code set ([0002] Each processor executes a software program comprising a plurality of software commands. Portions of the plurality of software commands that are frequently executed are referred to as mainline software commands. Portions of the plurality of software commands that are infrequently executed are referred to as non-mainline software commands.; [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Flanagan of non-inline code sections with the teachings of Cheng. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of combining known elements to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 16-17, they are method claims having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it is a method claim having similar limitations as claim 8 above. Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant argues:
In contrast, each independent claim 1, 8, and 12 as amended recites that the target parameter comprises at least one target parameter input by a user. Assuming for the sake of argument only that identification of a sink, e.g. processing node, could be considered a "target parameter", Cheng nowhere teaches or suggests that a user provides such information. Furthermore, each independent claim further recites that the program code set carries at least one of the at least one target parameter. However, [0038] of Cheng, as cited by the Office, recites that "the offload context includes the link address (of the sink to execute the offload code), program code section binary or a reference to a previously distributed library that includes the one or more functions corresponding to the offloaded code section, environmental variables, function parameters, and buffer mapping information" (emphasis added). Thus, and again assuming for the sake of argument that the sink identification could be construed as corresponding to the target parameter, Cheng teaches that such information is provided separately from the program code, rather than the program code set carrying at least one of the at least one target parameter. Accordingly, independent claims 1, 8, and 12 as amended are allowable over Cheng.
In view of the arguments above, Examiner submits the following:
As to point (I)
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant for at least the following reason. Cheng as now cited teaches
[0053] As shown in FIG. 2, toward the beginning of the Main( ) code section is a #Offload_Function_Foo pragma, which representative of a compiler instruction that is generated to offload function Foo( ). For example, as described below, the developer of software to be executed using offloaded functions may use pragmas or the like in the source code to indicate to the compiler what portions of code are to be offloaded. In response to encountering and/or detecting the offload instruction, the applicable function code is offload by generating an offload context in block 314, with the offload context being sent to sink 202 and a corresponding context object (CO) 210 being generated and pushed to network storage 108 in block 318. Similar offload indicia is detected during subsequent execution of the Main( ) code, resulting in function Bar( ) being offloaded to sink 204 in conjunction with pushing a corresponding context object 212 to network storage 108, and function Qux( ) being offloaded to sink 206 in conjunction with pushing a corresponding context object 214 to network storage 108.
[0083] In general, the offload pragmas rely on the programmer to explicitly specify what to do. But in some cases, there is a default, for ease of programming. In one embodiment, data transfer of variables to and from the coprocessor for offloaded code is explicitly named with map(to: . . . ), map(from: . . . ) and map(tofrom: . . . ) clauses, but the map(tofrom: . . . ) clause is implicitly used for all variables that are visible in the scope of a construct during compilation. The coprocessor offload target is explicitly specified, e.g. device (1). It's the programmer's responsibility to explicitly synchronize data between coprocessors as needed.
As shown above, the pragmas are provided by the user as part of the code. As such, Cheng reasonably teaches the claim as amended. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE A CHU JOY-DAVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195