DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 SEPTEMBER 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 10 SEPTEMBER 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Applicant has elected Group I: Claims 1-6 on 10 SEPTEMBER 2026. Current pending claims are Claims 1-6 and are considered on the merits below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 27 DECEMBER 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 JUNE 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 3, character S32 and S70. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “switching unit … configured to select one of the plurality of sensor” in claim 4.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the ‘switching unit’ to be “a first input terminal 221a connected to the oscillator 240, a plurality of first output terminals 222a connected to the pins of the second connector 210 each connected to one end of the sensor 120, a second output terminal 222b connected to the receiver 250, and a plurality of second input terminals 221b connected to the pins of the second connector 210 each connected to the other end of the sensor 120.” ; in [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NOZAKI, US Patent 7,036,375 B2.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference NOZAKI discloses a multi-channel drug detection device, Figure 15, sensor, Column 15 line 3-23, comprising:
a sensor board comprising a plurality of sensors into each of which a sample is inserted, Figure 15, block 26 with resonators X1to X4, Column 15 line 3-23; and
a main body connected to the sensor board, Figure 15, substrate 25, Column 15 line -23, the main body configured to analyze an electrical signal provided from the sensor board and determine whether a target material is preset in the sample, Figure 1, 2 and 15, connecting terminals TA and TB e connected to two measuring terminals of an admittance measuring unit 2, Figure 2, Column 5 line 34-48.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 5: wherein the multi-channel drug detection device according to claim 1, wherein: the main body comprises: an oscillator configured to provide electrical signals of predetermined frequencies to the plurality of sensors of the sensor board, Figure 7, voltage controlled oscillator 11, Column 6 line 60 -65; a receiver configured to generate a signal representing a magnitude of an electrical signal obtained from the sensor, Figure 7, phase detectors PD1, PD2, Column 7 line 6 line 60-65; and a processor configured to control the oscillator so that the predetermined frequencies are generated and to determine whether a target material is present in the sample based on a signal obtained from the receiver, the processor configured to determine an amount of the target material with reference to a reference table to correct a change in a resonance frequency of the sensors according to temperature and humidity, Figure 2, processor 3, Figure 11, Column 11 line 47-Column 12 line 29. ; and Claim 6: wherein the multi-channel drug detection device according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to determine a weight according to a speed of the resonance frequency that changes immediately after the sample is inserted into the sensor board, Column 3 line 52-63, Column 20 line 16-21, 48-Column 21 line 5, and predict a frequency range within which the resonance frequency is to be searched for using a Kalman filter using the weight.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-1655302 B1 to LEE, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 27 DECEMBER 2026,
Applicant’s invention is directed to a device.
Regarding Claim 1 the LEE reference discloses a multi-channel drug detection device, abstract, comprising:
a sensor board comprising a plurality of sensors into each of which a sample is inserted, Figure 1-4, piezoelectric substrate 200 with sensors 310/320/300; and
a main body connected to the sensor board, Figure 1, base substrate 110, the main body configured to analyze an electrical signal provided from the sensor board and determine whether a target material is preset in the sample, The driving principle of the second or third unit sensor 320 or 330 is exemplified. An electrical signal is transmitted through the IDT electrode 301 to generate a mechanical wave. This wave is changed by a physical, chemical, and electrical reaction by binding the receptor and the target substance or the binding substance contained in the reaction film 700 on the surface of the SAW sensor.
Additional Disclosure Included is: Claim 2 : wherein the multi-channel drug detection device according to claim 1, wherein: the sensor board comprises a first connector electrically connected to the plurality of sensors, the main body comprises a second connector connected to the first connector, and the first connector and the second connector are pin array-type connectors, Figure 1, electrodes 400.
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BARKER, US Publication No. 2008/0241933 A1.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 1, the BARKER reference discloses a multi-channel drug detection device, Figure 1, comprising:
a sensor board comprising a plurality of sensors into each of which a sample is inserted, Figure 1 and 2, bottom unit 41, [0034]; and a main body connected to the sensor board, Figure 1, SAW printed circuit board 49, [0033-0035], the main body configured to analyze an electrical signal provided from the sensor board and determine whether a target material is preset in the sample, [0033, 0035, 0036, 0039, 0045].
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 2; wherein the multi-channel drug detection device according to claim 1, wherein: the sensor board comprises a first connector electrically connected to the plurality of sensors, [0038], Figure 2, device 29 has electrical connections 31, the main body comprises a second connector connected to the first connector, and the first connector and the second connector are pin array-type connector, Figure 1 and 2, [0035], SAW PCB 49 contains pins. ; and Claim 5: wherein the multi-channel drug detection device according to claim 1, wherein: the main body comprises: an oscillator configured to provide electrical signals of predetermined frequencies to the plurality of sensors of the sensor board, Figure 7, voltage controlled oscillator 11, Column 6 line 60 -65; a receiver configured to generate a signal representing a magnitude of an electrical signal obtained from the sensor, Figure 7, phase detectors PD1, PD2, Column 7 line 6 line 60-65; and a processor configured to control the oscillator so that the predetermined frequencies are generated and to determine whether a target material is present in the sample based on a signal obtained from the receiver, the processor configured to determine an amount of the target material with reference to a reference table to correct a change in a resonance frequency of the sensors according to temperature and humidity, Figure 2, processor 3, Figure 11, Column 11 line 47-Column 12 line 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-1655302 B1 to LEE, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 27 DECEMBER 2026 or BARKER, US Publication No. 2008/0241933 A1, and further in view of GIRI, US Publication No. 2018/021777 A1.
Regarding Claim 3, the reference LEE or BARKER disclose the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to further comprising a calibration board.
GIRI discloses a multi-channel drug detection device, Figure 3, comprising: a sensor board comprising a sensor into which a sample is inserted, Figure 7, [0082], cassette 1010 receives sample; and a main body connected to the sensor board, the main body configured to analyze an electrical signal provided from the sensor board and determine whether a target material is preset in the sample, Figure 7, cassette interface 1200, [0082, 0083], wherein: the sensor board comprises a first connector electrically connected to the sensor, Figure 7, electrical connectors 1016 comprises pins, [0083], the main body comprises a second connector connected to the first connector, and the first connector and the second connector are pin array-type connector, Figure 7 electrical connector 1206, which comprises prongs, [0126, 0129]; further comprising a calibration board which comprises a third connector connected to the second connector and coupled to the main body to perform calibration before connecting a sensor board having a different operating frequency, Figure 7, cassette interface 1200 is reusable with multiple exchanged cassettes 1010 that has electrical connectors 1016 and cassette board 1012, of which one is interpreted to be a calibration cassette, [0125].
Additional Disclosure Included is: Claim 4: wherein the multi-channel drug detection device according to claim 3, wherein: the main body comprises: a switching unit connected to the second connector and configured to select one of the plurality of sensors of the sensor board, Figure 7, printed circuit board 1210, [0131]; and a matching circuit connected to the switching unit and configured to match impedance of a path through which an electrical signal is transmitted to one of the sensors of the sensor board to a reference value, [0131], and calibration is configured to be performed while the calibration board is connected to the second connector, [0125].
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797