DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1 and 3-20 have been examined in this application. Claims 1, 3, and 14 are amended. Claims 4-8, 10-13, and 15-20 are original. Claim 9 is as previously presented. Claim 2 is cancelled.
This is a non-final office action in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 8/25/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Office Action Formatting
The following is an explanation of the formatting used in the instant Office Action:
• [0001] – Indicates a paragraph number in the most recent, previously cited source;
• [0001, 0010] – Indicates multiple paragraphs (in example: paragraphs 1 and 10) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• [0001-0010] – Indicates a range of paragraphs (in example: paragraphs 1 through 10) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1 – Indicates a column number and a line number (in example: column 1, line 1) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1, 2:1 – Indicates multiple column and line numbers (in example, column 1, line 1 and column 2, line 2) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1-10 – Indicates a range of lines within one column (in example: all lines spanning, and including, lines 1 and 10 in column 1) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• 1:1-2:1 – Indicates a range of lines spanning several columns (in example: column 1, line 1 to column 2, line 1 and including all intervening lines) in the most recent, previously cited source;
• p. 1, ln. 1 – Indicates a page and line number in the most recent, previously cited source;
• ¶1 – The paragraph symbol is used solely to refer to Applicant's own specification (further example: p. 1, ¶1 indicates first paragraph of page 1); and
• BRI – the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application KR10-2022-0188865 filed in the Republic of Korea on 12/29/2022. Per Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/17/2026 (p. 9-10), the priority document electronically retrieved and in the file wrapper, dated 2/8/2024, is acknowledged as the priority document. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 8/25/2026, have been fully considered.
Regarding the arguments pertaining to the claim rejections under 112 (presented on p. 10), the arguments and amendments are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the arguments pertaining to the claim rejections under 103 (presented on p. 10-12), the arguments and amendments are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the additional prior art of US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.) and Patent U.S. 5,731,979 A (Yano et al.). as well as the previously relied upon prior art of US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.), US2012/0123659A1 (Sato et al.), US2024/0157938A1 (Toda), US2023/0322229A1 (Kumazaki), US2017/0106876A1 (Gordon et al.), US2018/0082583A1 (Fujii), US2021/0264788A1 (Vladimerou et al.), US2015/0130607A1 (MacArthur), US2025/0218435A1 (Mix et al.).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitations are:
(a) “a controller” configured to receive input and control the display, in Claim 1
(b) “a controller” controlling the display, in Claim 14.
The limitation(s) invoke 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) use the generic placeholder “controller” that is coupled with the above functional language, without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and without the generic placeholder being preceded by a structural modifier.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
(a) and (b), specification p. 10, ln. 24-28 state that the controller may be a processors, an ECU, or microcontroller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, the claims recite control the second display area to disappear, “in response to tapping an arbitrary location within the second display area.” The disclosure as originally filed (p. 8) recites “when a user taps (touches) the second display area 112, the controller 120 may control the second display area 112 to disappear,” however this does not specify an arbitrary location within the second display area. The disclosure is broad enough to encompass various possibilities such as touching within the second display area or touching the border of the second display area or touching a particular area within the second display area. The limitations narrow the claims by introducing elements or limitations not supported by the as-filed disclosure and therefore are rejected under 112(a) (see MPEP 2163.05). Therefore, the subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 3-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as being dependent on rejected Claim 1 or 14 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Regarding Claim 3, the claim recites, in response to tapping, controlling movement “to center the desired location on the display screen.” The disclosure as originally filed (e.g. p. 8) recites that the controller 120 may control scrolling (movement) the map to the corresponding location. However, this language is more broad than the claim and could encompass various scrolling movements such as scrolling toward the tapped location (but not all the way to the center of the screen) or movement to zoom to a region including the tapped location. The limitations narrow the claims by introducing elements or limitations not supported by the as-filed disclosure and therefore are rejected under 112(a) (see MPEP 2163.05). Therefore, the subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsujino et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a display (see [0031] first display unit 24) configured to display, on a display screen, at least one of a first display area on which navigation information is displayed (see Figure 4, [0058] all display area 80 showing map and route) or a second display area disposed on the first display area (see Figure 5, [0059] second display area 82 on part of the first display area 80) and on which advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) information (see [0063-0065] e.g. road condition, preceding vehicle V1, speed, as part of adaptive cruise control (ACC) operation or peripheral vehicle related to lane change assist (LCA) system) and route guidance information are displayed (see [0063] lane of travel); and
a controller (see [0034-0035] device 10 having CPU [0069] performing function of Figure 7) configured to:
receive surrounding information of the vehicle as input (see Figure 2, [0051-0055] units 60-68 having data about vehicle state, e.g. map around the vehicle, peripheral information such as lane marking, other vehicles),
control the display (see Figure 7, control display in S13 or S15 based on decision at S11) based on the input (see Figure 7, [0070], based on acquired data at S10 from units 60-68), so that only the first display area is displayed on the display screen (see [0071] S13 as illustrated in Figure 4, only first display area 80 displayed), both the first display area and the second display area are displayed on the display screen (see [0071] S15 as illustrated in Figure 5, first and second display areas), or a size ratio of the second display area relative to the first display area is adjusted (see [0060] changed size relationship between the first display area 80 and second display area 82 according to the driving state of driver acquired by the unit 66).
Examiner's note: since the claim uses the conjunction "or," only one of the recited alternatives is necessary in the prior art to read on this claim.
Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the controller to:
receive a touch operation of the display screen as input,
control the display based on the inputs, and
control the second display area to disappear, in response to tapping an arbitrary location within the second display area by a user in a state where both the first display area and the second display area are displayed.
However, Winton et al. teaches a technique for a vehicle user interface (see e.g. [0019-0020]), configured to:
receive a touch operation of the display screen as input (see [0020] touch screen),
control the display based on the touch input (see [0072] tapping to close informational window), and
control the second display area to disappear, in response to tapping an arbitrary location within the second display area by a user in a state where both the first display area and the second display area are displayed (see Figure 12, [0072] informational window 1202 may additionally or alternatively be closed by tapping anywhere in the window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second display area of Tsujino et al. to be able to be hidden by a tapping operation in a second display area inside of a first area as taught by Winton et al. (resulting in overall display control based on both the surrounding information input and touch input), with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving user convenience and customization to display desired information (see Winton et al. [0072]).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsujino et al. discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the ADAS information includes at least one of:
driving information of the vehicle for driver assistance (see [0063-0065] e.g. road condition, preceding vehicle V1, speed, as part of adaptive cruise control (ACC) operation or peripheral vehicle related to lane change assist (LCA) system), information about a distance to another vehicle (see Figure 5, [0063] icons show space between subject vehicle and preceding vehicle), information about surrounding traffic volume (see [0063-0064] preceding or peripheral vehicle, i.e. non-zero volume), information about a location of entering a highway or a tollgate or transferring to another highway, information about a location of a left or right turn, a U-turn, or a lane-changing location, information about weather and road environment (see [0063] road condition), information about a driving time, or information about a speed of a nearby vehicle.
Examiner's note: since the claim uses the phrase "at least one," only one of the recited alternatives is necessary in the prior art to read on this claim.
Regarding Claim 13, Tsujino et al. discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the display is mounted on at least one of an audio, video, navigation, telematics (AVNT) area, a cluster (see Figure 1, [0028] instrument panel, or alternatively cluster of displays), and a head-up display (HUD) area of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 14, Tsujino et al. discloses a control method of a vehicle display (see Figure 7), the control method comprising:
displaying, on a display screen of a display, both a first display area on which navigation information is displayed (see Figure 4 or 5, display including display area 80 showing map and route) and a second display area disposed on the first display area (see Figure 5, [0059] second display area 82 on part of the first display area 80) and on which advance driver assistance system (ADAS) information (see [0063-0065] e.g. road condition, preceding vehicle V1, speed, as part of adaptive cruise control (ACC) operation or peripheral vehicle related to lane change assist (LCA) system) and route guidance information are displayed (see [0063] lane of travel);;
receiving surrounding information of a vehicle as input (see Figure 2, [0051-0055] units 60-68 having data about vehicle state); and
controlling, by a controller, the display (see Figure 7, control display in S13 or S15 based on decision at S11) based on the input (see Figure 7, [0070], based on acquired data at S10 from units 60-68), so that only the first display area is displayed on the display screen (see [0071] S13 as illustrated in Figure 4, only first display area 80 displayed), both the first display area and the second display area are displayed on the display screen (see [0071] S15 as illustrated in Figure 5, first and second display areas), or a size ratio of the second display area relative to the first display area is adjusted (see [0060] changed size relationship between the first display area 80 and second display area 82 according to the driving state of driver acquired by the unit 66).
Examiner's note: since the claim uses the conjunction "or," only one of the recited alternatives is necessary in the prior art to read on this claim.
Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the method including:
receiving a touch operation of the display screen as input; and
controlling the display based on the inputs, and
wherein the second display area is controlled to disappear, in response to tapping an arbitrary location within the second display area by a user in a state where both the first display area and the second display area are displayed.
However, Winton et al. teaches a technique for a vehicle user interface (see e.g. [0019-0020]), configured for:
receiving a touch operation of the display screen as input (see [0020] touch screen),
control the display based on the touch input (see [0072] tapping to close informational window), and
wherein the second display area is controlled to disappear, in response to tapping an arbitrary location within the second display area by a user in a state where both the first display area and the second display area are displayed (see Figure 12, [0072] informational window 1202 may additionally or alternatively be closed by tapping anywhere in the window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second display area of Tsujino et al. to be able to be hidden by a tapping operation in a second display area inside of a first area as taught by Winton et al. (resulting in overall display control based on both the surrounding information input and touch input), with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving user convenience and customization to display desired information (see Winton et al. [0072]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Patent U.S. 5,731,979 A (Yano et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein, in response to tapping a desired location by the user on a map displayed on the first display area, the controller is configured to control movement of the map to center the desired location on the display screen, and in response to a displayed map view deviating from a current driving route according to the movement of the map, control the second display area to disappear.
However, Yano et al. teaches a technique to display information in a vehicle (see 2:17-25),
wherein, in response to tapping a desired location by the user on a map displayed on the first display area (see Figure 7), the controller is configured to control movement of the map to center the desired location on the display screen (see 4:63-67, display unit can be switched into fixed mode in which the center of the map image shows a point on the map image which corresponds to the touched part of the screen), and in response to a displayed map view deviating from a current driving route according to the movement of the map (see Figure 7, and 7:50-55, when the user touches part of base screen region 21 (when in fixed mode per 4:63-67)), control the second display area to disappear (see7:54-56, display unit 7 is displays a single map image as shown in Figure 8, i.e. second area 22 has disappeared).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of the map in the first area of Tsujino et al. to use touch inputs as taught by Yano et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving intuitive display of multiple screens of information (see Yano et al., 2:10-25).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Publication US2012/0123659A1 (Sato et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsujino et al. discloses wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about surrounding traffic volume (see [0063-0064] preceding or peripheral vehicle, i.e. non-zero volume).
Tsujino et al. further discloses the first display area and the second display area to be displayed in response to a driver assistance function being activated (see Claim 7).
Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein:
the controller is configured to control only the first display area to be displayed on the display screen in response to the surrounding traffic volume being less than a predetermined value, and control both the first display area and the second display area to be displayed on the display screen in response to the surrounding traffic volume exceeding the predetermined value.
However, Sato et al. teaches a way to activate a driver assistance function (see Figure 3, [0063], S109 deceleration assistance), wherein:
the controller is configured to not perform assistance in response to the surrounding traffic volume being less than a predetermined value (see Figure 3, “no” at S102), and perform assistance in response to the surrounding traffic volume exceeding the predetermined value (see Figure 3, “yes” at S102 leading to S109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of a cruise control function of Tsujino et al. to further display the deceleration control features as taught by Sato et al., which are activated based on traffic volume, resulting in the display of the second area when traffic volume exceeds the threshold, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving driver convenience and safety by providing additional assistance and (see Sato et al. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 15, all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 5. Claim 15 pertains to a method corresponding to the vehicle of Claim 5. Claim 15 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 5, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Published Application US2024/0157938A1 (Toda).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about a location of the vehicle entering a highway or a tollgate or transferring to another highway, and
the controller is configured to control both the first display area and the second display area to be displayed on the display screen in response to the vehicle reaching the location.
However, Toda teaches a technique to display driver assistance information (see Figure 4, [0049], notification),
wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about a location of the vehicle entering a highway or a tollgate or transferring to another highway (see [0047] tollgate present in front), and
the controller is configured to display the driver assistance in response to the vehicle reaching the location (see Figure 4, notification at S4 based on reaching within first distance in S3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of assistance information in Tsujino et al. (which comprises both the first display area and the second display area to be displayed on the display screen) to be used for at tollgate notification as taught by Toda, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of enhancing the robustness and flexibility of the system to provide additional types of assistance and improving rider experience when approaching tollgates (see Toda, [0003-0004]).
Regarding Claim 16, all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 6. Claim 16 pertains to a method corresponding to the vehicle of Claim 6. Claim 16 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 6, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Published Application US2023/0322229A1 (Kumazaki).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes at least one of: information about a location of a left or right turn, a U-turn, or a lane- changing location, and
the controller is configured to control both the first display area and the second display area to be displayed on the display screen in response to the vehicle reaching the location.
However, Kumazaki teaches a technique to display driver assistance information (see [0050] notification of traveling information),
wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes at least one of: information about a location of a left or right turn, a U-turn, or a lane-changing location (see [0073] lane change start zone), and
the controller is configured to provide a notification in response to the vehicle reaching the location (see [0073] vehicle control unit 16 notifies the driver via the UI 7 that a lane change is to be started manually).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of assistance information of the second area of Tsujino et al. (which includes controlling both the first display area and the second display area to be displayed on the display screen), to be used to further display lane change information as taught by Kumazaki, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving driver awareness and integration between assistance and manual driving by responding to driver preference and responding to conditions where automatic lane change cannot be carried out (see Kumazaki, [0008, 0073]).
Regarding Claim 17, all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 7. Claim 17 pertains to a method corresponding to the vehicle of Claim 7. Claim 17 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 7, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Publication US2017/0106876A1 (Gordon et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsujino et al. discloses controlling the second display area to be additionally displayed on the display screen based on a driver assist being active (see Figure 7), and further discloses in response to driver information and both the first display area and the second display area being displayed on the display screen, increase the scale of the second display area according to a predetermined value (see [0060] changing size relationship between first and second areas based on driver information from 66, [0054] including whether driver is in hands on or hands off state).
Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about weather and road environment, and
the controller is configured to determine a driving difficulty level based on the information about weather and road environment,
in response to the driving difficulty level exceeding a predetermined value and only the first display area being displayed on the display screen, control the second display area to be additionally displayed on the display screen, and
in response to the driving difficulty level exceeding the predetermined value and both the first display area and the second display area being displayed on the display screen, increase the scale of the second display area according to a predetermined value.
However, Gordon et al. teaches a technique for driving control in a vehicle (see [0020]),
wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about weather and road environment (see [0028] weather, terrain, potholes, traffic), and
the controller is configured to determine a driving difficulty level based on the information about weather and road environment (see [0028] driving difficulty for a beginner is based on the weather, terrain, etc.),
in response to the driving difficulty level exceeding a predetermined value, activate driving assistance (see [0028] self-driving mode), and
wherein driver information is based on the driving difficulty level exceeding the predetermined value (see [0028] self-driving (hands off) based on difficulty level exceeding threshold ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of the driver assistance data in the second display area (which occurs in response to only the first display area being displayed on the display screen) in Tsujino et al. to occur for activation of a self-driving mode as taught by Gordon et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving driver awareness of the vehicle situation (see Gordon et al., [0005-0007]).
Regarding Claim 18, all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 8. Claim 18 pertains to a method corresponding to the vehicle of Claim 8. Claim 18 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 8, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Publication US2018/0082583A1 (Fujii).
Regarding Claim 9, Tsujino et al. discloses controlling the second display area to be additionally displayed on the display screen based on a driver assist being active (see Figure 7), and further discloses in response to driver information and both the first display area and the second display area being displayed on the display screen, increase the scale of the second display area according to a predetermined value (see [0060] changing size relationship between first and second areas based on driver information from 66, [0054] including whether driver is in hands on or hands off state).
Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to the driving time of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined value and only the first display area being displayed on the display screen, control the second display area to be additionally displayed on the display screen, and
in response to the driving time exceeding the predetermined value and both the first display area and the second display area being displayed on the display screen, increase the scale of the second display area according to a predetermined value.
However, Fujii teaches a technique for displaying and performing a driver assistance function (see Figure 6, block 450), configured to:
in response to the driving time of the vehicle (see [0123] arrival time T) exceeding a predetermined value (see Figure 6, [0125], “no” at 630) control assistance information to be additionally displayed on the display screen (see [0125] block 450), and
the driving time exceeding the predetermined value indicative of driver information (see [0021-0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of assistance information in the second area (which occurs in a condition where only the first display area being displayed on the display screen) of Tsujino et al. to further be used for display of driver assistance as taught by Fujii, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving driver safety by providing information related to intersections and traffic lights (see Fujii, [0003-0008]).
Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite that the changing of scale is increasing, however, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, increasing scale, because there are a finite number of possible solutions of changing scale (increasing or decreasing) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to try these solutions with the motivation of further optimizing the user experience.
Regarding Claim 19, all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 9. Claim 19 pertains to a method corresponding to the vehicle of Claim 9. Claim 19 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 9, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Publication US2021/0264788A1 (Vladimerou et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Tsujino et al. further discloses
in response to display of assistance information not occurring, control only the first display area to be displayed on the display screen (see Figure 7), and
in response to display of assistance information occurring, control both the first display area and the second display area to be displayed on the display screen (see Figure 7).
Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about a speed of a nearby vehicle, and
the controller is configured to:
in response to the speed of the nearby vehicle exceeding a predetermined value, control only the first display area to be displayed on the display screen, and
in response to the speed of the nearby vehicle being less than the predetermined value, control both the first display area and the second display area to be displayed on the display screen.
However, Vladimerou et al. teaches a technique to display assistance information (see [0029] message/warning),
wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about a speed of a nearby vehicle (see [0029] remote vehicle speed), and
the controller is configured to:
in response to the speed of the nearby vehicle exceeding a predetermined value, do not display assistance (see [0029] display warning only for speed less than 20 mph), and
in response to the speed of the nearby vehicle being less than the predetermined value, display assistance information (see [0029] display warning for remote vehicle speed less than 20 mph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of assistance information in the second area of Tsujino et al. to further occur for remote vehicle speed warnings as taught by Vladimerou et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving driving safety (see Vladimerou et al., [0004-0007]).
Regarding Claim 20, all limitations as recited have been analyzed with respect to Claim 10. Claim 20 pertains to a method corresponding to the vehicle of Claim 10. Claim 20 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond Claim 10, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Publication US2015/0130607A1 (MacArthur).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about a speed of a vehicle approaching from behind, and
the controller is configured to control the second display area to be additionally displayed on the display screen, in response to the speed exceeding a predetermined value and only the first display area being displayed on the display screen.
However, MacArthur teaches a technique to display driving assistance information (see [0049] warning alert),
wherein the surrounding information of the vehicle includes information about a speed of a vehicle approaching from behind (see [0049] closing velocity from rear), and
the controller is configured to display assistance information, in response to the speed exceeding a predetermined value (see [0049] for vehicle approaching above a threshold closing velocity, the interior warning alert is activated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the activating of the second display area of Tsujino et al. (which occurs when only the first display area being displayed on the display screen) to occur for closing vehicles from the rear as taught by MacArthur, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving safety and avoiding collisions (see MacArthur, [0004-0008, 0019]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US2024/0210201A1 (Tsujino et al.) in view of Publication US2018/0181365A1 (Winton et al.), further in view of Published Application US2025/0218435A1 (Mix et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsujino et al. does not explicitly recite the vehicle of claim 1, wherein, in response to receiving a plurality of pieces of surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is configured to control the display based on an input value with a highest priority according to predetermined priorities.
However, Mix et al. teaches a technique to display plural pieces of driving assistance information (see Claim 12, displaying graphics assigned to the plurality of vehicle functions),
wherein, in response to receiving a plurality of pieces of surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is configured to control the display based on an input value with a highest priority according to predetermined priorities (see Claim 12, simultaneously displaying graphics assigned to the plurality of vehicle functions on a screen of the vehicle with the displayed graphic for a vehicle function of the plurality of vehicle functions having a highest priority being distinctively marked).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display of a vehicle function of Tsujino et al. to display plural functions with priority as taught by Mix et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of improving convenience and user experience while interfacing with vehicle functions (see Mix et al., [0001-0003]).
Conclusion
/P.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669