DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US Publication 2019/0037629 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 2, Ryu et al. (US Publication 2019/0037629 A1), a user equipment comprising transceiver circuitry and processing circuitry operatively associated with the transceiver circuitry and configured to execute processes of (see the all the UEs in the figures; the presence of the UE implies the transceiver and processor since transmission to and receiving from the eNB takes place): receiving, when the user equipment is in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state (see figure 12, step 5 and paragraph 249; RRC Connection Resume Complete, the network indicates which Data Radio Bearer (DRB) is to be resumed and also includes a Resume ID, and includes updated second/first layer parameters; the resuming implies the UE being in RRC Connected state), from a network, RRC message including an instruction to transition to from the RRC Connected state a specific state where an RRC connection of the user equipment is suspended (see figure 12, step 11 and paragraph 255; the eNB may suspend the RRC connection and implicitly indicate that the user plane has been received successfully through the RRC connection suspend message), the RRC message including information indicating a radio resource for uplink transmission (see figure 12, step 11, the RRC Connection Suspend message includes Bearer description, resume ID); transitioning from the RRC connected state to the specific state, storing the resource information included in the received RRC message and performing the uplink transmission using the radio resource when the user equipment is in the specific state (see figure 12 subsequent to step 11, the Uplink data transmission takes place, thus the transition to RRC connection suspend has taken place and the resource information is stored.).
Ryu further teaches, RRC message including resource information indicating time domain position of a radio resource for uplink transmission and frequency domain position of the radio resource (see the bearer description above; also see figure 5 and paragraph 122; the physical channel delivers signaling and data through radio resources including one or more subcarriers in frequency domain and one or more symbols in time domain).
In regards to claim 5, Ryu teaches, wherein the RRC message includes information indicating periodicity of the uplink transmission, performing the uplink transmission using the radio resource comprising transmitting the uplink transmission according to the periodicity indicated by the information (see figure 5, paragraphs 1222-123; Referring to FIG. 5, the physical channel delivers signaling and data through radio resources including one or more subcarriers in frequency domain and one or more symbols in time domain. One subframe that has a length of 1.0 ms includes a plurality of symbols. A specific symbol (s) of subframe (e.g., the first symbol of subframe) may be used for PDCCH. The PDCCH carries information for resources which are dynamically allocated (e.g., resource block, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), etc.); the length of the subframe and the resource allocation reads on the periodicity and the uplink transmission according to the periodicity).
In regards to claim 3, Ryu teaches network node comprising transceiver circuitry and processing circuitry operatively associated with the transceiver circuitry and configured to execute processes of (see the all the eNBs in the figures; the presence of the eNB implies the transceiver and processor since transmission to and receiving from the UE takes place): transmitting to a user equipment, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including an instruction to transition from the RRC connected (see figure 12, step 5 and paragraph 249; RRC Connection Resume Complete, the network indicates which Data Radio Bearer (DRB) is to be resumed and also includes a Resume ID, and includes updated second/first layer parameters; the resuming implies the UE being in RRC Connected state) to a specific state where an RRC connection of the user equipment is suspended (see figure 12, step 11 and paragraph 255; the eNB may suspend the RRC connection and implicitly indicate that the user plane has been received successfully through the RRC connection suspend message), the RRC message including information indicating a radio resource for uplink transmission ((see figure 12, step 11, the RRC Connection Suspend message includes Bearer description, resume ID)); transitioning from the RRC connected state to the specific state, storing the resource information included in the received RRC message and receiving the uplink transmission transmitted by the user equipment using the radio resource when the user equipment is in the specific state (see figure 12 subsequent to step 11, the Uplink data transmission takes place, thus the transition to RRC connection suspend has taken place and the resource information is stored).
Ryu further teaches, RRC message including resource information indicating time domain position of a radio resource for uplink transmission and frequency domain position of the radio resource (see the bearer description above; also see figure 5 and paragraph 122; the physical channel delivers signaling and data through radio resources including one or more subcarriers in frequency domain and one or more symbols in time domain).
In regards to claim 4, Ryu teaches, a system comprising a user equipment and a network node (see all the figures with the UEs and eNB), wherein the network node configured to transmit to the user equipment, in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including an instruction to transition from the RRC connected state (see figure 12, step 5 and paragraph 249; RRC Connection Resume Complete, the network indicates which Data Radio Bearer (DRB) is to be resumed and also includes a Resume ID, and includes updated second/first layer parameters; the resuming implies the UE being in RRC Connected state) to a specific state where an RRC connection of the user equipment is suspended ((see figure 12, step 11 and paragraph 255; the eNB may suspend the RRC connection and implicitly indicate that the user plane has been received successfully through the RRC connection suspend message)), the RRC message including information indicating a radio resource for uplink transmission ((see figure 12, step 11, the RRC Connection Suspend message includes Bearer description, resume ID)), the user equipment is configured to receive the RRC message from the network node (see figure 12, step 5 and paragraph 249; RRC Connection Resume Complete, the network indicates which Data Radio Bearer (DRB) is to be resumed and also includes a Resume ID, and includes updated second/first layer parameters; the resuming implies the UE being in RRC Connected state), and the user equipment is configured to perform the uplink transmission using the radio resource when the user equipment is in the specific state ((see figure 12 subsequent to step 11, the Uplink data transmission takes place, thus the transition to RRC connection suspend has taken place and the resource information is stored).
Ryu further teaches, RRC message including resource information indicating time domain position of a radio resource for uplink transmission and frequency domain position of the radio resource (see the bearer description above; also see figure 5 and paragraph 122; the physical channel delivers signaling and data through radio resources including one or more subcarriers in frequency domain and one or more symbols in time domain).
Relevant Prior Art
Prior art Lehtovirta et al. (US Publication 2019/0037395 A1) teaches, in the background section, introducing procedures for RRC Suspend and RRC Resume to reduce signaling overhead.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/30/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466