DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to communications received 09/04/2025. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Bitterfeld does not disclose (1) each edge specifies an edge value that defines access provided to the user designated as the manager for the respective resources among the resources…(2) modifying the graph structure based on input from the user designated as the manager….
In response to argument (1), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bitterfeld discloses generate a mapping between the first computer resource and the authentication system…the mapping may indicate that the first computing resource utilizes the authentication system to control access to the first computing resource (interpreted as defines access provided to the user)…the mapping may be visually displayed by discovery application to illustrate each of the first computing resource and the authentication system as nodes…these nodes may be connected to one another by an edge to show that access to the first computing resource is controlled by the authentication system…authentication system may include user pool(s)…user pool(s) may define a plurality of service identifiers usable to access one or more computing resources… authentication system may be configured to issue access tokens in response to receiving authentication credentials that match a record found in user pool(s)…user pool(s) may be used, for example, to provide authentication services to a software application hosted by computing resources of remote computing system…see par. 131, 162. Therefore Examiner maintains that Bitterfeld does disclose this limitation.
In response to argument (2), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bitterfeld discloses a user may manually provide the unique resource identifier of the authentication system, thus initiating discovery and mapping of the authentication system, see par. 163-165. Therefore Examiner maintains that Bitterfeld does disclose this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bitterfeld et al (Pub. No. US 2020/0403994).
As per claim 1, Bitterfeld discloses a method of controlling access to resources provided to a customer via a host (see par. 71), the method comprising: generating a graph structure defining access control to the resources, the graph structure designating a user associated with the customer as a manager, wherein the graph structure includes a user node associated with the user designated as the manager, resource nodes, each resource node associated with a respective resource among the resources, and edges, each edge extending from the user node associated with the user designated as the manager to each of the resource nodes, each edge specifies an edge value that defines access provided to the user designated as the manager for the respective resource among the resources (…based on or in response to determining that the first and second unique identifiers match, discovery application may be configured to generate a mapping between the first computing resource and the authentication system… the mapping may indicate that the first computing resource utilizes the authentication system to control access to the first computing resource…the mapping may be visually displayed by discovery application to illustrate each of the first computing resource and the authentication system as nodes…these nodes may be connected to one another by an edge to show that access to the first computing resource is controlled by the authentication system…based on or in response to generating the mapping, discovery application and persistent storage may be configured to store the mapping…see par. 131, 162), and modifying the graph structure based on input from the user designated as the manager to modify the access control to the resources (…one or more additional computing resources may be mapped to the authentication system to indicate that these additional computing resources also use authentication system for access control…similarly, further computing resources may be mapped to the first computing resource, thus generating a large map that indicates how each of the computing resources within remote computing system relate to and coordinate with one another…a user may manually provide the unique resource identifier of the authentication system, thus initiating discovery and mapping of the authentication system, see par. 163-165).
As per claim 13, Bitterfeld discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when processed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement a method of controlling access to resources provided to a customer via a host, the method comprising: generating a graph structure defining access control to the resources, the graph structure designating a user associated with the customer as a manager, wherein the graph structure includes a user node associated with the user designated as the manager, resource nodes, each resource node associated with a respective resource among the resources, and edges, each edge extending from the user node associated with the user designated as the manager to each of the resource nodes, each edge specifies an edge value that defines access provided to the user designated as the manager for the respective resource among the resources (…based on or in response to determining that the first and second unique identifiers match, discovery application may be configured to generate a mapping between the first computing resource and the authentication system… the mapping may indicate that the first computing resource utilizes the authentication system to control access to the first computing resource…the mapping may be visually displayed by discovery application to illustrate each of the first computing resource and the authentication system as nodes…these nodes may be connected to one another by an edge to show that access to the first computing resource is controlled by the authentication system…based on or in response to generating the mapping, discovery application and persistent storage may be configured to store the mapping…see par. 131, 162), and modifying the graph structure based on input from the user designated as the manager to modify the access control to the resources (…one or more additional computing resources may be mapped to the authentication system to indicate that these additional computing resources also use authentication system for access control…similarly, further computing resources may be mapped to the first computing resource, thus generating a large map that indicates how each of the computing resources within remote computing system relate to and coordinate with one another…a user may manually provide the unique resource identifier of the authentication system, thus initiating discovery and mapping of the authentication system, see par. 163-165).
As per claim 2, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the generating the graph structure includes each edge specifying the edge value to define that the user designated as the manager is permitted to add one or more other user nodes and corresponding edges (see par. 126-127).
As per claim 3, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the modifying the graph structure includes adding an additional user node corresponding to an additional user associated with the customer (see par. 164).
As per claim 4, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the modifying the graph structure includes obtaining input from the user designated as the manager and adding one or more edges from the additional user node to one or more of the resources and specifying an edge value for each of the one or more edges (see par. 162).
As per claims 5, 15, Bitterfeld discloses assigning a token to the additional user associated with the customer when the additional user associated with the customer logs in to access the resources (see par. 139).
As per claim 6, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the token is a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) web token (JWT) (see par. 135).
As per claims 7, 16, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the token includes a unique identifier for the additional user associated with the customer and a specification of user interface features available to the additional user associated with the customer (see par. 147).
As per claims 8, 17, Bitterfeld discloses obtaining additional input from the user designated as the manager and further modifying the graph structure based on further input from the user designated as the manager (see par. 162-163).
As per claim 9, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the further modifying the graph structure includes changing the edge value for one of the one or more edges from the additional user node to one of the one or more resources (see par. 104-105).
As per claim 10, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the further modifying the graph structure includes removing the additional user node and the one or more edges from the additional user node (see par. 104-105).
As per claims 11, 19, Bitterfeld discloses removing the user node associated with the user designated as the manager from the graph structure to prevent modifying the graph structure based on input from the user designated as the manager (see par. 104-107).
As per claims 12, 20, Bitterfeld discloses implementing a Merkel tree to provide decentralized access control to the resources shared by two or more customers, wherein the implementing the Merkel tree provides access control to the resources to one of the two or more customers through an encrypted graph structure not modified by others of the two or more customers (see par. 60, 162-163).
As per claim 14, Bitterfeld discloses wherein: the generating the graph structure includes each edge specifying the edge value to define that the user designated as the manager is permitted to add one or more other user nodes and corresponding edges, the modifying the graph structure includes adding an additional user node corresponding to an additional user associated with the customer, and the modifying the graph structure also includes obtaining input from the user designated as the manager and adding one or more edges from the additional user node to one or more of the resources and specifying an edge value for each of the one or more edges (see par. 126-127, 162-164).
As per claim 18, Bitterfeld discloses wherein the method further comprises: further modifying the graph structure by changing the edge value for one of the one or more edges from the additional user node to one of the one or more resources, or further modifying the graph structure by removing the additional user node and the one or more edges from the additional user node (see par. 104-105).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to access management via a graphical specification.
Ravizza et al (Pub. No. US 20190251272); “Dynamic Access Control for Knowledge Graph”;
-Teaches managing a knowledge graph and more specifically, to a method for dynamic access control to a node in a knowledge graph…see par. 1.
Campagna et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0181756); “Amazon Technologies”;
-Teaches producing signed attestations as evidence of the integrity of a virtual computing environment…see par. 18.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GHAZAL B SHEHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499