Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the application filed on 09/22/2026.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1 and 8 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the claim interpretations of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), limitation stating “minimizing…using an optimization device” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretations for the limitation stating “minimizing…using an optimization device” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been withdrawn. However, the remaining 112(f) interpretations have not been addressed and therefore maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that no reference teaches the limitations stating “simulating a quantum algorithm”, since the cited portions state “that quantum computing itself may be useful for simulating quantum systems”, and “simulating of the transverse intensity profile of single mode propagation in a waveguide”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, Morgado has been found to teach the argued limitations, since section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach “we apply a (two-dimensional) CNN encoder to the audio spectrogram” to output “feature maps” (audio object) of “high-level features” (audio element) in “25ms segments” (time period) and reduced dimensionality of the audio (spatial position).
Further, Morgado_2020 was cited in alternative and is maintained as teaching since sections 3.2-3.3 teach a transformer network processing features from audio and video clips to output a image/audio representations (objects) of a specific clip time, image/audio feature (element), image feature viewing angle (spatial positioning) and audio feature listening angle (spatial positioning).
Applicant is encouraged to add clarifying amendments regarding the “audio object” so it cannot be read as broadly.
See 35 U.S.C 103 section for full mapping of claim limitations necessitated by applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that no reference teaches the amended limitations stating “manipulating, using a polarization manipulation device, a polarization of the electromagnetic waves to correspond to the polarization state representation”, since “O'Brien merely discloses that a polarization can be rotated, not manipulating the polarization to correspond to the polarization state representation mapped from the quantum state representation”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, O'Brien has been found to teach the argued limitations, since Figs 1B-C teach “b An arbitrary state of a qubit can be represented on the Poincaree or Bloch sphere (correspond to the polarization state representation). c A half wave plate ([lambda]/2) can be used to rotate this polarization (manipulating…a polarization of the electromagnetic waves)”. Further, section “Secure communication with photons” teaches “A quantum bit (or qubit) of information can be encoded in any of several degrees of freedom-polarization, path, time-bin etc. Manipulation at the single photon level is usually straightforward-using birefringent waveplates in the case of polarization for example (Fig. 1)” on a processor.
Applicant is encouraged to add clarifying amendments regarding the “manipulating” so it cannot be read as broadly.
See 35 U.S.C 103 section for full mapping of claim limitations necessitated by applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues at a high level that no reference teaches the amended limitations stating “optimizing a configuration of the polarization manipulation device to minimize a cost function using an optimization device”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, Radin has been found to teach the argued limitations, since paragraphs 0065 teach “The result of running the quantum circuit is measured. The classical computer (optimization device/a data interpretation device) then calculates the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function (optimal clustering solution). The optimizer routine is run iteratively to minimize the cost function in each iteration until predetermined convergence value is reached (interpreting)”; wherein the cost function includes an optimization routine of a “unitary coupled cluster ansatz (UCC) (clustering)”.
See 35 U.S.C 103 section for full mapping of claim limitations necessitated by applicant amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“manipulating…using a polarization manipulation device” and “interpreting…using a data interpretation device” of claims 1 and analogous 8
“a detection module for measuring” and “a data input device for inputting” of claim 8
“the data input device for inputting” of claim 13
“data interpretation device interprets” of claim 14
“a measurement module configured to measure” of claim 15
Further, the limitations of “module[s]” for the above corresponding operations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, however, applicant’s paragraphs 0030 and 0035-0037 recite sufficient structure stating “devices, systems, or methods described in accordance with the teachings herein may be implemented as a combination of hardware and software…device having a processor”, and “program code…may comprise modules”, thus modules can be interpreted as software executed on hardware.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Brien et al (“Photonic quantum technologies”, 2010) hereinafter O’Brien, in view of Radin et al (US Pub 20220284337) hereinafter Radin.
Regarding claim 1, O’Brien teaches a method for simulating a quantum algorithm (abstract teaches "Photonics is destined for a central role in such technologies owing to the need for high-speed transmission and the outstanding low-noise properties of photons. These technologies may use single photons or quantum states of bright laser beams, or both, and will undoubtably apply and drive state-of-the-art developments in photonics.” Further page 1 teaches "Perhaps the most profound (and distant) anticipated future technology is a quantum computer that promises exponentially faster operation for particular task, including factoring, database searches, and simulating important quantum systems"), comprising:
providing a light source for emitting electromagnetic waves (abstract teaches "These technologies may use single photons or quantum states of bright laser beams"; further sections “Quantum technologies with bright laser beams” and “Photonics for Quantum Technologies teach “a bright laser beam” as a laser light);
mapping a quantum state representation to a polarization state representation (Figs. 1A-B teach “A qubit can be encoded as the polarization of a single photon. b An arbitrary state of a qubit can be represented on the Poincaree or Bloch sphere.” Further, section “Secure communication with photons” teaches “A quantum bit (or qubit) of information can be encoded in any of several degrees of freedompolarization, path, time-bin etc.”);
manipulating, using a polarization manipulation device, a polarization of the electromagnetic waves to correspond to the polarization state representation; (Figs 1B-C teach “b An arbitrary state of a qubit can be represented on the Poincaree or Bloch sphere (correspond to the polarization state representation). c A half wave plate ([lambda]/2) can be used to rotate this polarization (manipulating…a polarization of the electromagnetic waves)”. Further, section “Secure communication with photons” teaches “A quantum bit (or qubit) of information can be encoded in any of several degrees of freedom-polarization, path, time-bin etc. Manipulation at the single photon level is usually straightforward-using birefringent waveplates in the case of polarization for example (Fig. 1)” on a processor);
inputting data through a data input device (sections “Generalized quantum teleportation” and “Semiconductor-based single photon sources” teaches input source providing laser beam data);
However, O’Brien does not explicitly teach optimizing a configuration of the polarization manipulation device to minimize a cost function using an optimization device, thereby producing an optimal clustering solution; and interpreting the optimal clustering solution using a data interpretation device.
Radin teaches optimizing a configuration of the polarization manipulation device to minimize a cost function using an optimization device, thereby producing an optimal clustering solution; and interpreting the optimal clustering solution using a data interpretation device (paragraphs 0065 teach “The result of running the quantum circuit is measured. The classical computer (optimization device/a data interpretation device) then calculates the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function (optimal clustering solution). The optimizer routine is run iteratively to minimize the cost function in each iteration until predetermined convergence value is reached (interpreting)”; wherein the cost function includes an optimization routine of a “unitary coupled cluster ansatz (UCC) (clustering)”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Radin’s teachings of a computer for quantum cost function minimization and threshold comparison into O’Brien‘s teaching of laser beam data quantum state polarization determination in order to tune parameters for increasing model accuracy (Radin, paragraphs 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 above; and further teach wherein the electromagnetic waves are laser beams (O’Brien, section “Quantum technologies with bright laser beams” teaches the light used is of a “bright laser beam”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 above; and further teach wherein the quantum state representation is a Bloch sphere (O’Brien, section “Secure communication with photons” and Fig. 1B teach “An arbitrary state of a qubit can be represented on the Poincaree or Bloch sphere”, and “A quantum bit (or qubit) of information can be encoded in any of several degrees of freedom-polarization”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 3 above; and further teach wherein the polarization state representation is a Poincare sphere (O’Brien, section “Secure communication with photons” and Fig. 1B teach “An arbitrary state of a qubit can be represented on the Poincaree or Bloch sphere”, and “A quantum bit (or qubit) of information can be encoded in any of several degrees of freedom-polarization”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 above; and further teach wherein the polarization manipulation device comprises a plurality of plates and polarizers (O’Brien, section “Secure communication with photons” teach "Manipulation at the single photon level is usually straightforward-using birefringent waveplates in the case of polarization for example "; further Figs. 1C-D and 2D teach “half wave plate can be used to rotate this polarization.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 above; and further teach wherein the cost function is a clustering cost function (Radin, paragraphs 0065 teach calculating “the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function” including an optimization routine of a “unitary coupled cluster ansatz (UCC) (clustering cost function)”).
O’Brien and Radin are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 above; and further teach wherein the data is a set that is to be clustered (Radin, paragraphs 0035-0036 and 0065 teach input data ansatz “state preparation” including “coupled-cluster methods”).
O’Brien and Radin are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, O’Brien teaches a system for simulating a quantum algorithm (abstract teaches "Photonics is destined for a central role in such technologies owing to the need for high-speed transmission and the outstanding low-noise properties of photons. These technologies may use single photons or quantum states of bright laser beams, or both, and will undoubtably apply and drive state-of-the-art developments in photonics.” Further page 1 teaches "Perhaps the most profound (and distant) anticipated future technology is a quantum computer that promises exponentially faster operation for particular task, including factoring, database searches, and simulating important quantum systems"), comprising:
a light source for emitting electromagnetic waves (abstract teaches "These technologies may use single photons or quantum states of bright laser beams"; further sections “Quantum technologies with bright laser beams” and “Photonics for Quantum Technologies teach “a bright laser beam” as a laser light);
a polarization manipulation device for manipulating a polarization of the electromagnetic waves (Figs. 1A-B teach “A qubit can be encoded as the polarization of a single photon. b An arbitrary state of a qubit can be represented on the Poincaree or Bloch sphere.” Further, section “Secure communication with photons” teaches “A quantum bit (or qubit) of information can be encoded in any of several degrees of freedompolarization, path, time-bin etc.”);
a detection module for measuring a polarization of the electromagnetic waves to correspond to a polarization state representation, the polarization state representation mapped from a quantum state representation (Figs 1B-C teach “b An arbitrary state of a qubit can be represented on the Poincaree or Bloch sphere (correspond to the polarization state representation). c A half wave plate ([lambda]/2) can be used to rotate this polarization (manipulating…a polarization of the electromagnetic waves)”. Further, section “Secure communication with photons” teaches “A quantum bit (or qubit) of information can be encoded in any of several degrees of freedom-polarization, path, time-bin etc. Manipulation at the single photon level is usually straightforward-using birefringent waveplates in the case of polarization for example (Fig. 1)” on a processor);
However, O’Brien does not explicitly teach an optimization device for optimizing a configuration of the polarization manipulation device to minimize a cost function, thereby producing an optimal clustering solution; and a data interpretation device for interpreting the optimal clustering solution.
Radin teaches an optimization device for optimizing a configuration of the polarization manipulation device to minimize a cost function, thereby producing an optimal clustering solution; a data input device for inputting the cost function; and a data interpretation device for interpreting the optimal clustering solution (paragraphs 0065 teach “The quantum circuit is run using the initial parameters (data). The result of running the quantum circuit is measured (data). The classical computer (optimization device/a data input device/a data interpretation device) then calculates the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function (optimal clustering solution). The optimizer routine is run iteratively to minimize the cost function in each iteration until predetermined convergence value is reached (interpreting)”; wherein the cost function includes an optimization routine of a “unitary coupled cluster ansatz (UCC) (clustering)”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Radin’s teachings of a computer for quantum cost function minimization and threshold comparison into O’Brien‘s teaching of laser beam data quantum state polarization determination in order to tune parameters for increasing model accuracy (Radin, paragraphs 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 8 above; and further teach wherein the light source is a laser beam (O’Brien, section “Quantum technologies with bright laser beams” teaches the light used is of a “bright laser beam”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 8 above; and further teach wherein the polarization manipulation device comprises plates and polarizers (O’Brien, section “Secure communication with photons” teach "Manipulation at the single photon level is usually straightforward-using birefringent waveplates in the case of polarization for example "; further Figs. 1C-D and 2D teach “half wave plate can be used to rotate this polarization.”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 8 above; and further teach wherein the optimization device is a classical optimizer (Radin, paragraphs 0065 teach “The classical computer (optimization device) then calculates the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function.”).
O’Brien and Radin are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 8 above; and further teach wherein the cost function is a clustering cost function (Radin, paragraphs 0065 teach calculating “the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function” including an optimization routine of a “unitary coupled cluster ansatz (UCC) (clustering cost function)”).
O’Brien and Radin are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 8 above; and further teach wherein the data input device inputs the cost function depending on a data set that is to be clustered (Radin, paragraphs 0035-0036 and 0065 teach input data ansatz “state preparation” including “coupled-cluster methods” (that is to be clustered), and “The quantum circuit is run using the initial parameters (depending on a data set). The result of running the quantum circuit is measured (depending on a data set). The classical computer (data input device) then calculates the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters (depending on a data set) using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function (optimal clustering solution). The optimizer routine is run iteratively to minimize the cost function in each iteration until predetermined convergence value is reached”; wherein the cost function includes an optimization routine of a “unitary coupled cluster ansatz (UCC) (that is to be clustered)”).
O’Brien and Radin are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 13 above; and further teach wherein the data interpretation device interprets the optimal clustering solution in terms of the data set that is to be clustered (Radin, paragraphs 0035-0036 and 0065 teach input data ansatz “state preparation” including “coupled-cluster methods” (that is to be clustered), and “The quantum circuit is run using the initial parameters (in terms of the data set). The result of running the quantum circuit is measured. The classical computer (data interpretation device) then calculates the cost function and updates the set of initial parameters (in terms of the data set) using a classical optimizer routine to minimize the cost function (optimal clustering solution). The optimizer routine is run iteratively to minimize the cost function in each iteration until predetermined convergence value is reached (interpreting)”; wherein the cost function includes an optimization routine of a “unitary coupled cluster ansatz (UCC) (that is to be clustered)”).
O’Brien and Radin are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of O’Brien and Radin teach all the claim limitations of claim 8 above; and further teach wherein the detection module further comprises a measurement module configured to measure the polarization of the electromagnetic waves (O’Brien, section “Quantum information processing” teaches “The requirements for realizing a quantum computer are confounding: scalable physical qubitstwo state quantum systems-that can be well isolated from the environment, but also initialised, measured”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2123
/ALEXEY SHMATOV/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2123