Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to prior USC 112 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC USC 112 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) USC 102 rejection of claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall (U.S. Publication 20220334192) in view of Abou (U.S. Publication 20070205748).
Regarding claim 1, Kendall discloses a magnetic detection device (fig. 16 (16-1) “current/magnetic sensors such as the magnetometers or Hall sensors previously described may be placed between each cell to measure the current flow in the busbar link between neighboring cells” [0064, [0101]]) comprising:
a plurality of magnetic sensor units (fig. 16 (16-2)) each including an excitation coil (fig. 16 (16-3,4) [0022, 0101]) and a signal coil (fig. 16 (16-5,6) [0022, 0101]) formed as conductor patterns on a board (fig. 15 (15-3, 4 on 15-2)) and a magnetic core layer arranged on the board (fig. 15 (15-7 on 15-2));
a driving circuit (fig. 16 (16-7)) configured to output an AC current to the excitation coil (16-7 to drive coil via 16-3, 4);
and a detection circuit (fig. 16 16-8) configured to acquire a detection signal from the signal coil (fig. 16 via 16-7 sense),
wherein the signal coils of the plurality of magnetic sensor units are connected to each other (fig. 16 (coils from each 16-2 are connected at 16-5 of sense unit 16-7)).
Kendal does not expressly teach series connection of the signal coils.
However, Abou in a relevant art teaching magnetic sensing device in which detection coils (signal coils) are connected in series (“the signal output section may comprise a series connection of the pair of detection coils” [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kendall’s magnetic detection device such that the signal coils of the plurality of magnetic sensor units are connected in series, as taught by Abou to effectively combine detection outputs and improve sensitivity and noise performance of the acquired detection signal [Abou [0020]].
Regarding claim 2, Kendall as modified further discloses wherein the excitation coils of the plurality of magnetic sensor units are connected to each other and are configured to flow an AC current output from the driving circuit, the driving circuit being common to the excitation coils (fig. 16 coils from 16-2 connected to 16-3, 4 to 16-7 drive unit).
Regarding claim 5, Kendall as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of magnetic sensor units is arranged side by side along a main surface of the board (fig. 1 (16-2)).
Regarding claim 6, Kendall as modified further discloses wherein the excitation coil and the signal coil of each of the plurality of magnetic sensor units are formed as conductor patterns on the board, the board being common to the excitation coil and the signal coil (fig. 15 board 15-2 with 15-3, 4 around).
Regarding claim 8, Kendall as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of magnetic sensor units includes a first magnetic sensor unit and a second magnetic sensor unit, and wherein the first magnetic sensor unit and the second magnetic sensor unit are connected such that the excitation coils are connected in series (fig. 16 (16-2 excitation coils connected in series with drive 16-7)) in a forward direction equal in polarity and the signal coils are connected in series in a reverse direction different in polarity (fig. 16 (16-2) connected to 16-7).
Regarding claim 9, Kendall as modified further discloses wherein the excitation coils of the plurality of magnetic sensor units have a common winding number, and wherein the signal coils of the plurality of magnetic sensor units have a common winding number (fig. 15 (15-3,4 have common windings numbers)).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall (U.S. Publication 20220334192) Abou (U.S. Publication 20070205748) as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above and further in view of Takatsuji (U.S. Publication 20110241665).
Kendall as modified by Abou discloses the claimed invention above:
Regarding claim 3, Kendall as modified by Abou further teaches arranged as a layer formed on the board along a main surface of the board (fig. 15 shows the coil wrapped around in an annular form on 15-7 which is on the board 15-2), and wherein the excitation coil and the signal coil are each arranged on the board so as to wind around the magnetic core layer by connecting the conductor pattern formed on one side in a direction intersecting the main surface of the board and the conductor pattern formed on the other side so as to sandwich the magnetic core layer (fig. 15 (15-1)).
Kendall as modified by Abou does not explicitly teach wherein the magnetic core layer has an annular shape.
However, Takatsuji in a relevant art of multi-axis fluxgate magnetic sensor teaches wherein the magnetic core layer has an annular shape (“a toroidal winding is provided to a ring-shaped magnetic core” [0013]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the core of Kendall as modified by Abou with Takatsuji ring shape core to gain the advantage of reducing electromagnetic interferences improving sensor accuracy [Takatsuji [0023]].
Kendall as modified by Abou discloses the claimed invention above:
Regarding claim 4, Kendall as modified by Abou does not explicitly teach wherein the excitation coil and the signal coil are arranged so as to alternately wind around the magnetic core layer along a circumferential direction of the magnetic core layer of an annular shape, wherein the signal coil is arranged while changing a winding direction every half circumference of the magnetic core layer, and wherein the plurality of magnetic sensor units is arranged with their detection directions aligned with a mutually common direction, the detection direction being a direction along a line passing positions where a winding direction of the signal coil is changed in the magnetic core layer.
However, Takatsuji in a relevant art of multi-axis fluxgate magnetic sensor teaches wherein the excitation coil and the signal coil are arranged so as to alternately wind around the magnetic core layer along a circumferential direction of the magnetic core layer of an annular shape (fig. 5 (windings of coils 3 and 4) around ring-shaped magnetic core), wherein the signal coil is arranged while changing a winding direction every half circumference of the magnetic core layer (fig. 5 (windings of coils 3 and 4)), and wherein the plurality of magnetic sensor units is arranged with their detection directions aligned with a mutually common direction, the detection direction being a direction along a line passing positions where a winding direction of the signal coil is changed in the magnetic core layer (“A solenoidal winding is further provided to the outer side of the ring-shaped magnetic core as a first detection coil 3 in such a manner that the axis is orthogonal to the second detection coil 4. The ring-shaped magnetic core, the excitation coil 2-1, the first detection coil 3 and the second detection coil 4 are included in a first/second sensor unit 110” [0013]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the core of Kendall as modified by Abou with Takatsuji ring shape core to gain the advantage of reducing electromagnetic interferences improving sensor accuracy [Takatsuji [0023]].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall (U.S. Publication 20220334192) Abou (U.S. Publication 20070205748) as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above and further in view of Laville (U.S. Publication 20210111335).
Kendall as modified by Abou discloses the claimed invention above:
Regarding claim 7, Kendall as modified by Abou does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of magnetic sensor units is arranged so that the boards each including the excitation coil, the signal coil, and the magnetic core layer are stacked along a direction intersecting the main surface of the board.
Laville in a relevant art stacked die assembly teaches wherein the plurality of magnetic sensor units is arranged so that the boards each including the excitation coil, the signal coil, and the magnetic core layer are stacked along a direction intersecting the main surface of the board (fig. 2 shows individual sensors 204 a,b stacked with individual substrates 202a, b).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor arrangement of Kendall as modified by Abou with Laville to gain the advantage of improving the match of the results provided by the first and second semiconductor die taken from different wafers, this may reduce the risk of a common cause failure mode related to wafer processing [Laville [0152]].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall (U.S. Publication 20220334192) Abou (U.S. Publication 20070205748) as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above and further in view of Fischer (U.S. Publication 20120206134).
Kendall as modified by Abou discloses the claimed invention above:
Regarding claim 10, Kendall as modified by Abou does not explicitly teach a magnetic convergence section arranged on a detection direction side of the magnetic core layer in each of the plurality of magnetic sensor units, the magnetic convergence section being configured to converge a magnetic flux with respect to the magnetic core layer.
However, Fischer in a relevant art teaching a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) device for sensing a magnetic field teaches a magnetic convergence section arranged on a detection direction side of the magnetic core layer in each of the plurality of magnetic sensor units, the magnetic convergence section being configured to converge a magnetic flux with respect to the magnetic core layer (fig. 2B (sections 42 and 44 on both sides of 35 to align the magnetic field [0045])).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concentrators of Fischer in Kendall as modified by Abou to gain the advantage of an improved MEMS cantilever flux concentrator, which provides a greater dynamic range of motion to allow for larger modulation and more space for a magnetic sensor. [Fischer [0038]].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858