DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-13, 15-16 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 11-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. US 2021/0409335 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Zhu”) in view of Thaweethai et al. US 5,546,379 (hereinafter referred to as “Thaweethai”). Note: Zhu was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 13 August 2025.
As to claim 1, Zhu teaches a method for wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, comprising:
transmitting a first message over a wireless channel to a target device;
listening for a response from the target device following the transmission of the first message;
determining that the target device is unreachable based at least in part on listening for a threshold period without receiving the response from the target device (¶94: transmit a message and wait for a timer duration where a response is expected, after the timer timeout the target device is unreachable); and
refraining from retransmitting the first message to the target device while the target device is unreachable (¶94: retransmit message before timeout and stop retransmission after timeout and target device declared unreachable).
Although Zhu teaches “A method…the target device; and refraining from…is unreachable,” Zhu does not explicitly disclose “storing the first…from the transmission queue”.
However, Thaweethai teaches storing the first message in a transmission queue prior to transmitting the first message to the target device (cols 4 and 7: packet that needs to be routed to a remote network/device is queued); and
discarding the first message from the transmission queue responsive to determining that the target device is unreachable while the target device is unreachable (col 7: if the target device is unreachable, discard the packet from the queue).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhu by including “storing…unreachable” as taught by Thaweethai because it provides Zhu’s method with the enhanced capability of saving resources (Thaweethai, cols 4 and 7).
As to claim 2, Zhu in view of Thaweethai teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein the response comprises an acknowledgement (ACK) message indicating that the first message has been successfully received by the target device (¶¶88, 84, and 96).
As to claim 3, Zhu in view of Thaweethai teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein the determining that the target device is unreachable comprises:
performing a number (N) of retransmissions of the first message over the threshold period (¶¶88, 84, and 96).
As to claim 5, Zhu in view of Thaweethai teaches the method of claim 1. Zhu further teaches further comprising:
receiving the first message from a host processor; and
notifying the host processor that the target device failed to receive the first message based on determining that the target device is unreachable (¶¶356-357).
As to claim 6, Zhu in view of Thaweethai teaches the method of claim 5. Zhu further teaches the notification to the host processor includes an indication that the target device is unreachable (¶¶356-357).
As to claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As to claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As to claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As to claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
As to claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Thaweethai as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively above, and further in view of Komandur et al. US 2003/0137948 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Komandur”). Note: Komandur was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 13 August 2025.
As to claim 9, Zhu in view of Thaweethai teaches the method of claim 1.
Although Zhu in view of Thaweethai teaches “The method of claim 1,” Zhu in view of Thaweethai does not explicitly disclose “receiving a second…the second message”.
However, Komandur teaches receiving a second message over the wireless channel from the target device after determining that the target device is unreachable; and
determining that the target device is reachable responsive to receiving the second message (¶¶45 and 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhu in view of Thaweethai by including “receiving…message” as taught by Komandur because it provides Zhu in view of Thaweethai’s method with the enhanced capability of removing excess transmission (Komandur, ¶¶45 and 64).
As to claim 10, Zhu in view of Thaweethai, and further in view of Komandur teaches the method of claim 9.
Komandur further teaches receiving, from a host processor, a third message for transmission to the target device; and
transmitting the third message to the target device based on determining that the target device is reachable (¶¶356-357).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhu in view of Thaweethai, and further in view of Komandur by including “receiving…reachable” as further taught by Komandur for the same rationale as set forth in claim 9 (Komandur, ¶¶45 and 64).
As to claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 9.
As to claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Koskinen US 2021/0306929 A1 - DESTINATION SPECIFIC EGRESS LINK UNAVAILABILITY IN INTEGRATED ACCESS AND BACKHAUL (IAB)
Ganichev et al. US 9,419,855 B2 - Static Routes For Logical Routers
Manohar et al. US 2025/0047594 A1 - FALLBACK-AWARE POLICY-BASED ROUTING
Xu et al. US 2023/0049788 A1 - DATA TRANSMISSION METHOD, APPARATUS, AND DEVICE
Ogier et al. US 2022/0012320 A1 - Mobile Ad Hoc Extensions For The Internet
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469