DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al (US 2021/0050968 A1), in view of Yang et al (US 2017/0332268 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 8 and 15, Yi teaches a method/device/computer-readable medium comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one second reference signal of a second cell ([0254], “the wireless device may monitor one or more reference signals for a beam failure associated with either the first TRP or the second TRP when the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with a cell”, also see Fig. 19, Pcell and Scell#1 are associated with a first TRP (TRP1)) that is configured as a resource of a first cell, wherein the first cell comprises a primary cell of the wireless device ([0251], “A base station may have a first TRP (e.g., TRP1) and a second TRP (e.g., TRP2). The base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to a wireless device (e.g., UE). The one or more RRC messages may comprise one or more configuration parameters of PCell, SCell #1 and SCell #2. The base station may activate PCell and associate PCell with the first TRP and the second TRP. The base station may activate SCell #1 and associate with the first TRP only”; also see Fig. 19, it’s noted that the secondary boots performance by adding extra radio resource to the Primary Cell a device is connected to. Thus, a reference signal of a secondary cell is viewed as resource of a primary cell);
determining, based on a quality of the at least one second reference signal, that a radio resource control (RRC) connection is reliable ([0254], “one or more timers related to a beam failure such as beamFailureDetectionTimer and beamFailureRecoveryTimer may be shared between the first TRP and the second TRP. When the wireless device may share the timers on beam failure procedure, the wireless device may monitor one or more reference signals for a beam failure associated with either the first TRP or the second TRP when the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with a cell”); and
communicating, In response to an RLF or based on RRM measurement, a base station may switch PCell to SCell #2 which is associated with a second TRP”), it’s noted that RLM-RS stands for radio link monitoring reference signal; and RLF stands for radio link failure).
Yi doesn’t explicitly teach that the communicating (with the second cell) is based on determining of the signal quality of the second cell.
Yang teaches that the communicating (with the second cell) is based on determining of the signal quality of the second cell ([0146], “measuring, within a specified time period, a reference signal parameter corresponding to the SCell, and if the reference signal parameter is less than a specified second threshold, and/or if a quantity of times that the measured reference signal parameter corresponding to the SCell is less than the specified second threshold is greater than or equal to a specified quantity of times, determining that the current channel state is an abnormal state; otherwise, determining that the current channel state is a normal state”, [0313], “when the current channel state is a normal state, use a measurement result of the CSI measurement reference resource as the CSI reporting information” and [0169], “CSI reporting information does not include Out of Range and does not include a reference signal tracking failure indication of the SCell, performing data transmission scheduling on the UE according to the CSI reporting information”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Yang in the system disclosed by Yi for the purpose of ensuring the data is sent as efficiently and reliably as possible.
Regarding claim 2, 9 and 16, the aforementioned references further teach that receiving, by the wireless device, at least one of: first configuration parameters of the first cell; and second configuration parameters of the second cell that is configured as the resource of the first cell (Yi, [0251], The base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to a wireless device (e.g., UE). The one or more RRC messages may comprise one or more configuration parameters of PCell, SCell #1 and SCell #2. The base station may activate PCell and associate PCell with the first TRP and the second TRP).
Regarding claim 3, 10 and 17, the aforementioned references further teach that the first configuration parameters of the first cell comprise the second configuration parameters of the second cell (Yi, [0251], The base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to a wireless device (e.g., UE). The one or more RRC messages may comprise one or more configuration parameters of PCell, SCell #1 and SCell #2. The base station may activate PCell and associate PCell with the first TRP and the second TRP).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, the aforementioned references further teach that the second configuration parameters of the second cell are for the wireless device to use the second cell as at least one of: resources of the first cell (Yi, [0251], “The base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to a wireless device (e.g., UE). The one or more RRC messages may comprise one or more configuration parameters of PCell, SCell #1 and SCell #2. The base station may activate PCell and associate PCell with the first TRP and the second TRP”, it's noted that a Secondary Cell (SCell) is an extra radio resource, bundled with a Primary Cell (PCell), to boost data speeds (throughput) for a device (UE) using Carrier Aggregation (CA) or Dual Connectivity)).
Claims 5-6, 12-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Yang, further in view of Khoshnevisan et al (US 2022/0021498 A1).
Regarding claim 5, 12 and 19, the aforementioned references teach all of the limitations except that the second configuration parameters of the second cell comprise a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the second cell. Khoshnevisan teaches the above limitation([0025], “non-serving cell PCI may be configured by dedicated RRC signaling for a serving cell/component carrier (CC) (e.g., Pcell or Scell)”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Khoshnevisan in the system disclosed by Yi in view of Yang. The reason for the combination is that UE must demodulate the Scell independently which requires a PCI.
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 20, the aforementioned references further teaches that the wireless device determines the PCI based on a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) of the second cell (Yi, [0150]).
Claim 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Yang, further in view of Li et al (US 2014/0192775 A1).
Regarding claim 7 and 14, the aforementioned references teach all of the limitations except that the first configuration parameters comprise a first cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) for the first cell; and the second configuration parameters comprise a second C-RNTI for the second cell. Li teaches the above limitation ([0140], “the UE can be configured with a different C-RNTI for a serving cell (that is not the PCell) than the C-RNTI configured for the PCell”; [0149], “C-RNTI is configured by RRC for a cell when the cell is added”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Li in the system disclosed by Yi in view of Yang because security & scrambling sequences for communication depend on C-RNTI.
Conclusion
/SIMING LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411