DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the recited computing device that is configured by computer-executable instructions can be broadly interpreted to be directed towards software per se as no explicit hardware elements that make up the computing device are claimed. The claim could recite “A computing device comprising: a processor; and computer-executable instructions read the processor to display a user interface comprising:…” (supported from Paragraph 0043 of the specification) to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitations "the first contact" in line 4 and “the name of a contact” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The lack of antecedent basis renders the claim unclear. It is not clear what contact the recited "the first contact" in line 4 is referring to. The claim should specifically recite “a first contact”, for example “…a first contact card for a first contact that displays…”. Further it is not clear what name the recited “the name of a contact” is referring to. Is this referring back to the recited “a first contact’s name”. Based on the examiner’s best understanding, this limitation should recite “a name of a contact known…”. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 2-4, claims 2-4 are rejected at least based on their dependency to claim 1.
In regard to claim 5, claim 5 recites the limitation "the contact" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The lack of antecedent basis renders the claim unclear. It is not clear what contact the recited "the contact" in line 6 is referring to. Is this meant to refer to an existing contact that is not recited in the claim? The claim recites “an existing contact’s name” but does not recite “a contact” or “an existing contact”. Based on the examiner’s best understanding, the claim could recite “…accessing a contact card for an existing contact…” and “…associated with the existing contact by actuating…” to overcome this rejection. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 6, claim 6 is rejected at least based on the dependency to claim 5.
In regard to claim 7, claim 7 is rejected based on the dependency to claim 5. Further claim 7 recites “a contact” in line 2, “the contact” in line 3 and “the contact” in lines 4-5. Claim 7 depends from claim 5 and claim 5 recite “the contact”. It is unclear what contacts each of the limitations is referring to. Is the recited “the contact” in lines 3 and 4-5 referring to the “a contact” recited in line 2 or the recited “the contact” recited in claim 5? Accordingly, the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 8, claim 8 is rejected at least based on the dependency to claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heilig (US 2021/0264485 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Heilig discloses a method for operating a computing device, the method comprising:
accessing a contact card in a user interface that is displayed by the computing device, wherein the contact card displays an existing contact's name and a first control (Fig. 17, Paragraph 0106, and Paragraph 0107 lines 1-6, and Paragraph 0110: user profile display with contact names and control including a see all friends control);
and accessing, in the user interface, a known contacts screen that is associated with the contact by actuating the first control (Paragraph 0110 lines 9-10: icon to allow user to see a list of all the user’s friends).
In regard to claim 6, Heilig discloses wherein the device is a mobile device (Paragraph 0107 lines 1-6: user device such as a handheld device).
In regard to claim 8, Heilig discloses wherein the first control is a button (Paragraph 0110 lines 9-10: icon (e.g. button) to allow user to see a list of all the user’s friends).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2011/0138294 A1) and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2014/0068519 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Jeon discloses a computing device that is configured by computer-executable instructions to display a user interface comprising (Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0025):
a first contact card that displays a first contact's name and a first control for accessing a known contacts screen for the first contact (Fig. 3 element 310 and Paragraphs 0054-0060: phonebook entry (e.g. contact card) for a contact with a name field (e.g. first contacts name) and a relation field (e.g. first control), where the relation field is selected to cause a relationship diagram screen (e.g. a known contacts screen) for the contact to be presented).
While Jeon teaches a known contacts screen for the first contact and further teaches adding a phone book entry to the known contacts screen (Paragraph 0063), they fail to show the known contacts screen for the first contact, which displays at least (i) the name of a contact known by the first contact, and (ii) a second control for adding a new contact name; wherein a second contact card for the contact known by the first contact is accessible from the known contacts screen by actuating the name of the contact known by the first contact, as recited in the claims. Nam teaches a known contacts screen similar to that of Jeon. In addition, Nam further teaches
known contacts screen, which displays at least (i) the name of a contact known by a first contact, and (ii) a second control for adding a new contact name (Fig. 7A, Paragraph 0051, Paragraph 0053, Paragraph 0055, and Paragraph 0058: relationship diagram (e.g. known contacts screen) which displays icons with names of the contact (e.g. name of a contact) and buttons for adding a new contact with a name (e.g. control for adding new contact));
wherein a second contact card for the contact known by the first contact is accessible from the known contacts screen by actuating the name of the contact known by the first contact (Fig. 5 and Paragraphs 0047-0048: an icon with a name (e.g. name of contact) from the relationship diagram (e.g. known contacts screen) is selected (e.g. actuated) to display a contact menu (e.g. contact card)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jeon and Nam before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the known contacts screen taught by Jeon to include the known contacts screen, which displays at least (i) the name of a contact known by a first contact, and (ii) a second control for adding a new contact name, wherein a second contact card for the contact known by the first contact is accessible from the known contacts screen by actuating the name of the contact known by the first contact of Nam, in order to obtain the known contacts screen for the first contact, which displays at least (i) the name of a contact known by the first contact, and (ii) a second control for adding a new contact name; wherein a second contact card for the contact known by the first contact is accessible from the known contacts screen by actuating the name of the contact known by the first contact. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as intuitively checking the relationships between acquaintances represented by contacts, editing relationships according to the user’s taste, and placing a call to an acquaintance, would have been obtained, as suggested by Nam (Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0021).
In regard to claim 2, Jeon discloses wherein at least one of the controls is a button (Paragraph 0055: selected by touch to relation field and therefore the field can be broadly interpreted as a button as it is selected to perform an operation) and Nam discloses wherein at least one of the controls is a button (Fig. 7A element 721 and Paragraph 0053). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein at least one of the controls is a button. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as intuitively checking the relationships between acquaintances represented by contacts, editing relationships according to the user’s taste, and placing a call to an acquaintance, would have been obtained, as suggested by Nam (Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0021).
In regard to claim 3, Jeon discloses wherein the device is a mobile device (Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0025).
In regard to claim 4, Jeon discloses wherein the first contact card also displays at least one mode of contacting the first contact (Paragraph 0054 lines 4-11: call number field).
In regard to claim 7, Jeon discloses a method for operating a computing device, the method comprising: accessing a contact card in a user interface that is displayed by the computing device, wherein the contact card displays an existing contact's name and a first control; and accessing, in the user interface, a known contacts screen that is associated with the contact by actuating the first control (Fig. 1, Fig. 3 element 310, Paragraph 0025, and Paragraphs 0054-0060: phonebook entry (e.g. contact card) for a contact with a name field (e.g. first contacts name) and a relation field (e.g. first control), where the relation field is selected to cause a relationship diagram screen (e.g. a known contacts screen) for the contact to be presented. Further, after filling the name field, the relation field can be set (e.g. existing contacts name)).
While Jeon teaches a known contacts screen that is associated with the contact, they fail to show the accessing a new contact card by actuating a name of a contact on the known contacts screen that is associated with the contact; and entering in the new contact card at least one mode of contacting the contact named on the new contact card, as recited in the claims Nam teaches a known contacts screen similar to that of Jeon. In addition, Nam further teaches
accessing a new contact card by actuating a name of a contact on a known contacts screen; and entering in the new contact card at least one mode of contacting the contact named on the new contact card (Fig. 9A and Paragraphs 0063-0065: user selects icon with name of contact in relationship diagram which causes a contact edit menu (e.g. new contact card) to be displayed, including an edit menu item for a phone number, where the user can select the edit menu item to edit a phone number)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jeon and Nam before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the known contacts screen taught by Jeon to include the accessing a new contact card by actuating a name of a contact on a known contacts screen; and entering in the new contact card at least one mode of contacting the contact named on the new contact card of Nam, in order to obtain accessing a new contact card by actuating a name of a contact on the known contacts screen that is associated with the contact; and entering in the new contact card at least one mode of contacting the contact named on the new contact card. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as intuitively checking the relationships between acquaintances represented by contacts and editing relationships according to the user’s taste, would have been obtained, as suggested by Nam (Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0021).
7. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2011/0138294 A1) and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2014/0068519 A1) and Smith et al. (US 2005/0091272 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Jeon discloses a method for operating a computing device, the method comprising: receiving a first signal from a user interacting with a user interface element that is displayed by the computing device in a first contact card of a user interface; opening a known contacts screen for a first contact in response to the first signal (Fig. 1, Fig. 3 element 310, Paragraph 0025, and Paragraphs 0054-0060: phonebook entry (e.g. contact card) for a contact with a relation field (e.g. user interface element), where the relation field is selected to cause a relationship diagram screen (e.g. a known contacts screen) for the contact to be presented);
adding a new contact’s name to a known contacts data structure field for the first contact (Fig. 3 element 373 and Paragraph 0069: relation field is filled with a name).
While Jeon teaches a known contacts screen for the first contact, adding a new contact’s name to a known contacts data structure field for the first contact, and further teaches adding a phone book entry to the known contacts screen (Paragraph 0063), they fail to show the receiving a second signal from a user interaction with another user interface element that is displayed by the computing device in the known contacts screen; displaying interface elements for entry of a contact’s name; searching a list of existing contacts in response to entry of one or more characters in the interface elements for entry of the contact’s name; displaying a display of one or more contacts that match the one or more characters; and receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of matching contacts, as recited in the claims. Nam teaches a known contacts screen similar to that of Jeon. In addition, Nam further teaches
receiving a signal from a user interaction with a user interface element that is displayed in a known contacts screen; displaying interface elements for entry of a contact’s name in a list of existing contacts; receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of contacts, and adding a new contact’s name to known contacts (Fig. 3A, Fig. 7A, Paragraph 0054, and Paragraph 0058: user select phone book item which displays a list of contacts with a search field. The user selects a contact for adding the contact to the relationship diagram).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jeon and Nam before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the known contacts screen for the first contact, adding a new contact’s name to a known contacts data structure field for the first contact, and adding a phone book entry to the known contacts screen taught by Jeon to include the receiving a signal from a user interaction with a user interface element that is displayed in a known contacts screen; displaying interface elements for entry of a contact’s name in a list of existing contacts; receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of contacts, and adding a new contact’s name to known contacts of Nam, in order to obtain receiving a second signal from a user interaction with another user interface element that is displayed by the computing device in the known contacts screen; displaying interface elements for entry of a contact’s name; receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of contacts; and adding a new contact’s name to a known contacts data structure field for the first contact. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as intuitively checking the relationships between acquaintances represented by contacts and editing relationships according to the user’s taste, would have been obtained, as suggested by Nam (Paragraph 0007 and Paragraph 0021).
While Jeon and Nam teaches displaying interface elements for entry of a contact’s name; receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of contacts; and adding a new contact’s name to a known contacts data structure field for the first contact, they fail to show the searching a list of existing contacts in response to entry of one or more characters in the interface elements for entry of the contact’s name; displaying a display of one or more contacts that match the one or more characters; and receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of matching contacts, as recited in the claims. Smith teaches a list of existing contacts similar to that of Nam. In addition, Smith further teaches
searching a list of existing contacts in response to entry of one or more characters in interface elements for entry of a contact’s name; displaying a display of one or more contacts that match the one or more characters; and receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of matching contacts (Fig. 8 and Paragraphs 0151-0154: user types letters and matching contacts are displayed, where a contact is selected from the matching contacts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jeon, Nam, and Smith before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaches displaying interface elements for entry of a contact’s name; receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of contacts; and adding a new contact’s name to a known contacts data structure field for the first contact taught by Jeon and Nam to include the searching a list of existing contacts in response to entry of one or more characters in interface elements for entry of a contact’s name; displaying a display of one or more contacts that match the one or more characters; and receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of matching contacts of Smith, in order to obtain receiving a second signal from a user interaction with another user interface element that is displayed by the computing device in the known contacts screen; displaying interface elements for entry of a contact’s name; searching a list of existing contacts in response to entry of one or more characters in the interface elements for entry of the contact’s name; displaying a display of one or more contacts that match the one or more characters; receiving a signal from a user interaction with the display of matching contacts; and adding a new contact’s name to a known contacts data structure field for the first contact. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as intuitively displaying contact information, would have been obtained, as suggested by Smith (Paragraph 0146 lines 1-2).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thakkar et al. (US 8954864 B1), see at least the abstract and Fig. 4.
Vendrow et al. (US 2013/0218902 A1), see at least Fig. 5, Fig. 15 element 612, and Paragraph 0037.
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179