DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 21, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220052808 A1), hereinafter Shrivastava, in view of Xiao et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250192947 A1), hereinafter Xiao.
With respect to claim 1, Shrivastava teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (fig. 9, [0097], user equipment):
one or more memory (fig. 9, [0097], memory); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (fig. 9, [0097], processor couples to the one or more memories):
receive signaling to operate in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state ([0041-0042], UE receives RRC signaling message to cause/operate UE to be inactive or idle state); and
receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration ([0040-0041], UE receives a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration) and when the UE is operating in the RRC inactive or idle state ([0040, 0042], the UE configured to operate in the RRC Idle or Inactive mode).
Although Shrivastava teaches receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration as set forth above. Shrivastava does not explicitly teach receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, Xiao teaches receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0011], see claim 1, UE receives a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for data transmission, wherein the data transmission is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xiao, receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), into the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to power boosting for DMRS and PTRS (Xiao, [0001]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Shrivastava and Xiao teaches the UE of claim 1. Shrivastava teaches wherein the signaling to operate in the RRC inactive or idle state includes the PTRS configuration ([0040-0041]).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Shrivastava and Xiao teaches the UE of claim 1. Shrivastava teaches wherein the PTRS configuration is associated with UE group-specific procedures ([0033]).
With respect to claim 21, Shrivastava teaches A network node for wireless communication (fig. 8, [0096], network node), comprising:
one or more memories (fig. 8, [0096], memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (fig. 8, [0096], processor couples to the one or more memories):
output or configure signaling to operate a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state ([0040-0042], network node outputs or configures RRC signaling message to cause/operate UE to be inactive or idle state); and
output or configure a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration ([0040], network node outputs or configures a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration) and when the UE is operating in the RRC inactive or idle state ([0042], the UE configured to operate in the RRC Idle or Inactive mode).
Although Shrivastava teaches output or configure a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration as set forth above. Shrivastava does not explicitly teach output or configure a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, Xiao teaches output or configure a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0012, 0023], gNB outputs or configures a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for data transmission, wherein the data transmission is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xiao, output or configure a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), into the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to power boosting for DMRS and PTRS (Xiao, [0001]).
With respect to claim 27, Shrivastava teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 9, [0097], user equipment), comprising:
receiving signaling to operate in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state ([0041-0042], UE receives RRC signaling message to cause/operate UE to be inactive or idle state); and
receiving a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration ([0040-0041], UE receives a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration) and when the UE is operating in the RRC inactive or idle state ([0040, 0042], the UE configured to operate in the RRC Idle or Inactive mode).
Although Shrivastava teaches receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration as set forth above. Shrivastava does not explicitly teach receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, Xiao teaches receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0011], see claim 1, UE receives a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for data transmission, wherein the data transmission is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xiao, receive a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), into the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to power boosting for DMRS and PTRS (Xiao, [0001]).
With respect to claim 30, Shrivastava teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a network node (fig. 8, [0096], network node), comprising:
outputting or configuring signaling to operate a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state ([0040-0042], network node outputs or configures RRC signaling message to cause/operate UE to be inactive or idle state); and
outputting or configuring a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration ([0040], network node outputs or configures a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration) and when the UE is operating in the RRC inactive or idle state ([0042], the UE configured to operate in the RRC Idle or Inactive mode).
Although Shrivastava teaches outputting or configuring a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration as set forth above. Shrivastava does not explicitly teach outputting or configuring a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, Xiao teaches outputting or configuring a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0012, 0023], gNB outputs or configures a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for data transmission, wherein the data transmission is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xiao, outputting or configuring a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) configuration for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), into the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to power boosting for DMRS and PTRS (Xiao, [0001]).
Claims 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, in view of Xiao, and further in view of XIONG et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230224073 A1), hereinafter XIONG.
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Shrivastava and Xiao teaches the UE of claim 1. The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach where the PTRS configuration is associated with a small data transmission (SDT) configuration for one or more of uplink.
However, XIONG teaches where the PTRS configuration is associated with a small data transmission (SDT) configuration for one or more of uplink ([0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XIONG, where the PTRS configuration is associated with a small data transmission (SDT) configuration for one or more of uplink, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order for enhancing uplink signal transmission (XIONG, abstract).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Shrivastava, Xiao, and XIONG teaches the UE of claim 3. Shrivastava teaches is transmitted via RRC signaling ([0042]). The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach the SDT configuration.
However, XIONG teaches the SDT configuration ([0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XIONG, the SDT configuration, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order for enhancing uplink signal transmission (XIONG, abstract).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Shrivastava and Xiao teaches the UE of claim 5. Shrivastava teaches UE group-specific procedures ([0033]). The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach a small data transmission (SDT) procedure.
However, XIONG teaches a small data transmission (SDT) procedure ([0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of XIONG, a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order for enhancing uplink signal transmission (XIONG, abstract).
Claims 7-12, 14, 22-23, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, in view of Xiao, and further in view of Stauffer et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190379509 A1), hereinafter Stauffer.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Shrivastava and Xiao teaches the UE of claim 1. Shrivastava teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to as set forth above. The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach transmit a request for the PTRS.
However, Stauffer teaches transmit a request for the PTRS ([0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stauffer, transmit a request for the PTRS, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order to improve reception by compensating for noise in received wireless signals using the phase-tracking reference signals (Stauffer, [0019]).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Shrivastava, Xiao, and Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 7. The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the request for the PTRS is transmitted through one or more of radio resource control signaling.
However, Stauffer teaches wherein the request for the PTRS is transmitted through one or more of radio resource control signaling ([0049, 0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stauffer, wherein the request for the PTRS is transmitted through one or more of radio resource control signaling, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order to improve reception by compensating for noise in received wireless signals using the phase-tracking reference signals (Stauffer, [0019]).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Shrivastava, Xiao, and Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 7. The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the request for the PTRS includes one of a request for the PTRS configuration.
However, Stauffer teaches wherein the request for the PTRS includes one of a request for the PTRS configuration ([0019]), or a request to suspend availability of the PTRS([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stauffer, wherein the request for the PTRS includes one of a request for the PTRS configuration, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order to improve reception by compensating for noise in received wireless signals using the phase-tracking reference signals (Stauffer, [0019]).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Shrivastava, Xiao, and Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 7. The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the request for PTRS is indicated via UE assistance information.
However, Stauffer teaches wherein the request for PTRS is indicated via UE assistance information ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stauffer, wherein the request for PTRS is indicated via UE assistance information, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order to improve reception by compensating for noise in received wireless signals using the phase-tracking reference signals (Stauffer, [0019]).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Shrivastava, Xiao, and Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 7. The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the request for PTRS is indicated via uplink control information.
However, Stauffer teaches wherein the request for PTRS is indicated via uplink control information ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stauffer, wherein the request for PTRS is indicated via uplink control information, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order to improve reception by compensating for noise in received wireless signals using the phase-tracking reference signals (Stauffer, [0019]).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Shrivastava, Xiao, and Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 11. Shrivastava does not explicitly teach multiplexed with the PUSCH communication.
However, Xiao teaches multiplexed with the PUSCH communication ([0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xiao, multiplexed with the PUSCH communication, into the teachings of Shrivastava, , in order to power boosting for DMRS and PTRS (Xiao, [0001]).
The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the request for PTRS is transmitted via uplink control information.
However, Stauffer teaches wherein the request for PTRS is transmitted via uplink control information ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stauffer, wherein the request for PTRS is transmitted via uplink control information, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order to improve reception by compensating for noise in received wireless signals using the phase-tracking reference signals (Stauffer, [0019]).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Shrivastava and Xiao teaches the UE of claim 1. Shrivastava teaches wherein the PTRS configuration is received via a system information block configured for one or more of positioning ([0040, 0042, 0045]).
With respect to claim 22, this claim recites the UE of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 23, this claim recites the UE of claim 8, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 28, this claim recites the UE of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 15, 24, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, in view of Xiao, and further in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230337233 A1), hereinafter Zhou.
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Shrivastava and Xiao teaches the UE of claim 1. Shrivastava teaches wherein the PTRS configuration ([0040]).
The combination of Shrivastava and Xiao does not explicitly teach is based, at least in part, on a mapping pattern to time and frequency resources allocated for the PDSCH.
However, Zhou teaches is based, at least in part, on a mapping pattern to time and frequency resources allocated for the PDSCH ([0369]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou, is based, at least in part, on a mapping pattern to time and frequency resources allocated for the PDSCH, into the teachings of Shrivastava and Xiao, in order improve system throughput and/or reduce power consumption of the wireless device (Zhou, [0306]).
With respect to claim 24, this claim recites the UE of claim 15, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 29, this claim recites the UE of claim 15, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13, 16-20, and 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20220322399 A1; “Kim”, ([0420])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469