DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s note: Multiple rejections are presented wherein examiner believes that the current prior art from the previous action still reads on the claimed invention with the new amendment in the first rejection, namely Rejection A. The second rejection, namely Rejection B, is based on an assumption that the applicant’s argument was correct, additional references (Dorninger and Angelov2020) are provided to address the new amendment.
Furthermore, these two rejections are presented with a concern in view of the lack of written description to carry out the invention. (See 112 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites inter alia… “the signature pad is configured to transmit each stroke of the electronic signature as separate vector data to a pen plotter as each stroke is received”. (Similar to claim 11).
Applicant does not provide or point out the support from the Specs. Examiner has reviewed the entire Specs and found no support of such feature. The closest is in par. [0026]… “planning layer 220 may calculate a velocity for the starting and ending positions of each stroke”. In contrary to applicant’s Remark that… “no new matter is added”. The new feature/amendment is the new matter. Subsequently, the new matter will not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without critical or essential disclosure.
Does it mean each stroke comprise one single and continuous line without lifting the pen for a signature (i.e., John)? In this case there are one sing stroke. Or does it mean each stroke comprise one single and continuous line for each letter for a signature (i.e., John)? In this case, there are for 4 strokes.
All the dependent claims either recite or inherit the deficiency.
Correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(A) Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atwood in view of Popovic and further in view of Sprigg and further in view of Angelov (2016/0179365).
Claim 1 and 11, Atwood teaches a method and a remote signature system, comprising:
a signature pad configured to receive gestures indicative of an electronic signature of a signatory and translate the gesture into vector data represents one or more of vector graphic shapes, images and text of the electronic signature (This portion has been addressed in the previous Final Office Action – 08/07/2025), wherein the signature pad is configured to transmit each stroke of the electronic signature as separate vector data to a pen plotter as each stroke is received = X1. Please see the Examiner’s Response to the Applicant’s Remark regarding X1 further below.
a cloud server configured to receive the vector data from the signature pad also and transmit vector data of an electronic signature of a signatory to a pen plotter (Atwood: Fig. 4, [0117]: a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14a) (14b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents, and to associated such handwriting and editing with documents); and the pen plotter having:
a plotter controller configured to receive the vector data from the cloud server and convert the vector data to position-velocity vector pair and further from the vector pair to pulses that cause movements of a mechanical arm, (Atwood: the digital pen path recorded for a particular instance of handwriting associated with the handwriting or signature captured in accordance with the invention, and this digital pen path , [0109]. Also see Fig. 2, [0114]; Fig. 3, [0115-0116] and Fig. 4, [0117]);
the mechanical arm configured to receive an ink pen to generate an ink signature for the signatory based on the movements, (Atwood: LONG PEN.TM. enables transactions between two offices. Preferably, each office location will maintain secure-access locations where only designated employees can enter and exit. Each office will maintain one or more terminals that allow communicating of signatures or other handwriting, or one or more "B" terminals that can receive handwriting and/or signatures from a remote location. Or, preferably, each office will maintain terminals that are operable to both send and receive. Two-way audio video communication between the offices will be provided via video cameras, microphones, speakers and/or monitors, [0219]).
Examiner wishes to clarify the term “vector data/vector pair”. Though Atwood does not use the exact term, the detailed description above in [0109, 0114-0117] and Figs. 2-4) implies the vector data as Popovic (and co-inventor Atwood herself) described, “Plotting apparatuses are vector drawing devices that generally employ a pen device moveable by the plotting apparatus in X and Y axes, so as to reach any point on the surface of a target area that receives, for example, a piece of paper. The plotting apparatus also generally includes a mechanism for raising and lowering the pen device. Most plotting apparatuses were originally designed for generating engineering drawings. They generally break up elements to be plotted into a small series of line segments. Advances in raster printing technologies (e.g. bubble jets, lasers, etc.) have made pen plotting apparatus less widespread, [0014].
and
a video capture device configured to capture and transmit a video of the pen plotter for displaying to one or more users including the signatory (See previous steps).
A little more detail on “gesture capture functionality”… examiner wishes to introduce additional references as follows:
Sprigg teaches, via, [0030], that “In a typical signature process, a signer may make a signature using a pen on a paper, a stylus on a touch sensitive surface, a stylus/pen on a paper document that overlays a touch sensitive surface, a fingertip on a touch sensitive surface, or some combination of these approaches or other approaches. In some embodiments, methods and systems may be configured to enable the signer to make a signature using a gesture with a physical implement (e.g., a stylus, paint brush, wand, or conductor's baton), a fingertip, a hand, or another body part or prosthetic body part. In such embodiments, a signature may be made in connection with a virtual signing environment, such as in a virtual or augmented reality system in which signing could be done in open space (i.e., not on a physical surface or screen) and continuous biometrics monitoring/processing may be performed throughout the gesturing movements”. Here clearly Spriggs teaches that gesture can be performed by touching the surface, but also via an open space.
Atwood does not explicitly detail the “position velocity”. Per the current Specs, [0025] discloses “…the position- velocity pairs may be specified as (x, y, vx, vy) or (X, V) pairs where X and V are position and velocity vectors. In some embodiments, a trajectory may be stored or otherwise transmitted as a list (e.g., vector) of such pairs”.
Angelov similarly teaches, “[0150] The transform rules by the equation (2) and the equation (3) described above are characterized in that, in generating the transparency data A.sub.i corresponding to the i-th index value, input sensor attribute data corresponding to an index value that is not the i-th is referenced. To be more specific, the input sensor attribute data corresponding to the index value i−1 preceding by one (X.sub.1-1, Y.sub.i-1, T.sub.i-1) is referenced, in equation (3), to obtain V.sub.i that is indicative of the moving velocity of the electronic pen 4 moving from a position corresponding to the index value i−1 to a position corresponding to the index value i. Under the transform rule based on equation (2), a function is set such that, as the moving velocity V.sub.i increases, the transparency of the resulting “ink” trace increases (func3 shown in FIG. 7B).
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to make a minor modification to the teaching of Atwood to include Popovic for the purpose of explicitly describing of what the plotting apparatus is and detailing how the vector drawing devices work. It would also beneficial to include the teaching of Sprigg providing more advantage and greater convenience in signing documents while still maintaining its authenticity and furthermore to incorporate the teaching of Angelov to generate mapping data indicative of a transform rule for transforming a value of the input sensor attribute included in the stroke data to a value of one of line width and transparency, and a digital ink assembler which, in operation, outputs, in a determined data format, a digital ink including the stroke data and the mapping data
Claims 2-3 and 12-13, (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the vector graphic shapes include paths and outlines of the electronic signatures; wherein the plotter controller is further configured to: calculate the vector pairs for the mechanical arm based on the received vector data; translate the vector pairs into the movements performable by the mechanical arm of the pen plotter based on determining from the vector of pairs a number of steps in moving a motor of the mechanical arm; and execute, by the mechanical arm, the movements, wherein the ink pen administers ink markings on a document as an original signature. (See the independent claims and examiner further has addressed this feature in the previous Final Office action).
Claims 4 and 14, . The system of claim 2, wherein the plotter controller is further configured to adjust the velocity when the vector data indicates a velocity above a maximum. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic, a "plotting file" that includes a series of control commands for movement of the pen (68) between a series of points in contact with the object placed in the target area (36), the control commands also defining limits on velocity, acceleration and jerk corresponding to each of the series of points, [0086].. and control and achieve a balance between speed and quality of reproduction for a particular human signature/dedication, [0086-0087]).
Claims 6-7, further comprising: a mobile device associated with the signatory having: a video camera configured to capture a video of the signatory, a user interface configured to display a live video stream of the pen plotter, and the signature pad associated with the signatory having a touch interface configured to receive touch events from the signatory, wherein the touch events are translated to the vector data; and a second device associated with a witness for observing the signatory, comprising: a video camera configured to capture a video of the witness, and a witness interface configured to display the video of the witness; wherein the live video stream further comprises the video of the witness; wherein the witness is located remotely from the pen plotter, wherein the witness interface is further configured to display the video of the pen plotter. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, FIG. 6 illustrates a mobile banking application embodiment of the present invention. For the convenience of reader, examiner further furnishes in view of Figs. 2-4 where it illustrates one embodiment of the system of the present invention including: (1) the resources associated with a first party (8), (2) the resources associated with the second party (9), (3) the first computer and second computer, (4) the optional central server (16), (5) a writer or writing utility (10 a) (10 b) which may include a digital pen as explained above at the first computer and a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14 a) (14 b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents, and to associated such handwriting and editing with documents; the writing utility also incorporates the authentication utility in one aspect of the present invention such that the master file (18 a) (18 b) referred to above is generated for authentication purposes as set out above."; Specifically, FIG. 2 illustrates the financial transaction app, [0114, 0204]). See LongPen for transactions between a customer at home and a financial institution.
Claims 8 and 20. The system of claim 6, wherein the user interface on the mobile device of the signatory is further configured to display the video of the signatory, the video of the witness, and information associated with the live video stream, wherein the information comprises one or more of the witness's name, the signatory's name, or a title of a document signed by the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, FIG. 6 illustrates a mobile banking application embodiment of the present invention. For more see claims 6-7).
Claim 9. The system of claim 6, wherein the live video stream is stored in a data store of the cloud server. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood: The audio-video recording forms part of an electronic audit file that is stored on at least one storage medium and is retrievable to authenticate the transaction, [0107]).
Claim 10. The system of claim 1, wherein the signature pad comprises an application executing on another device associated with the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic: The request can be communicated verbally by the fan via the described audio or optionally a further camera (49) is directed to a pad of paper or tablet (32) that enables the fan to write some or all of its request, e.g. the spelling of names to be included in the dedication, [0062]).
Claim 16. The method of claim 11, wherein the plotter device is further configured to: calculate a velocity of starting and ending positions of each stroke of the signatory on the signature pad. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic: the control commands also defining limits on velocity, acceleration and jerk corresponding to each of the series of points, [0086]).
Claims 17-18, further comprising: providing, by the cloud server and to a second application executing on a second mobile device associated with a witness, the video of the signatory; receiving, by the cloud server and from the second application, a video of the witness; and providing, by the cloud server and to the first application, the video of the witness; further comprising: providing, by the cloud server and to the second application, the video of the plotter device, wherein the witness associated with the second mobile device is located remotely from the plotter device. (Atwood discloses providing, by the cloud server and to the second application, the captured video of the plotter device, wherein the witness associated with the second mobile device is located remotely from the plotter device (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, Fig. 2-4 - "10a WRITER ... 10b WRITER ... 12a AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 12b AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 14a WRITING UTILITY ... 14b WRITING UTILITY ... 16 CENTRAL SERVER"; Fig. 4 - "9 SECOND PARTY").
Claim 19. The method of claim 11, wherein the signature pad comprises an application executing on the first mobile device or another device associated with the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, Fig. 2-4 - "10a WRITER ... 10b WRITER ... 12a AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 12b AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 14a WRITING UTILITY ... 14b WRITING UTILITY ... 16 CENTRAL SERVER"; Fig. 4 - "9 SECOND PARTY"; para [0070] - "witnesses"; para [0117] - "FIG. 4 illustrates one embodiment of the system of the present invention including: (1) the resources associated with a first party (8), (2) the resources associated with the second party (9), (3) the first computer and second computer, (4) the optional central server (16), (5) a writer or writing utility (10 a) (10 b) which may include a digital pen as explained above at the first computer and a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14 a) (14 b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents).
Claims 5 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atwood in view of Popovic and Spriggs and further in view of Gibson et al (US 2012/0206758).
Claims 5 and 15. The system of claim 1, wherein the plotter controller is further configured to convert a rotational frame of a plotter device motor to a linear frame of the mechanical arm. (Atwood does not explicitly disclose this feature. Gibson teaches “ a pulley 11 may be positioned so as to be aligned with an idler 12. A belt, such as a timing belt, may be fitted around and between the idler and pulley, Fig. 3 and [0084-0090].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Gibson into the teaching of Atwood for the purpose of utilizing the pulley to rotate. The rotation of the pulley may further cause the belt to move, which in turn may alter the position of the handwriting implement holder. An ordinary artisan will also recognize the range of motion of the belt that may be possible and the variety of directions and speeds the motor at which they may be operable to function, Fig. 4 and [0087-0091].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/31/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically regarding X1. Applicant argues that argues that Atwood does not teach this feature because Atwood’s “plotting device is operable to receive the signature or other handwriting and, based on such signature or other handwriting, create a reproduction thereof." Atwood at para. [0116]. Atwood's approach is consistent with a batch transmission model (e.g., the signature is completed, then sent), not a system that "transmit[s] each stroke of the electronic signature as separate vector data to a pen plotter as each stroke is received”.
Examiner respectfully requests the applicant to address the 112 rejection above. Further review of the current Specs, [0029]: Plotter device 210 may execute a signature in one continuous motion.
Let’s take a look at the applicant’s current par. [0026]…planning layer 220 may calculate a velocity for the starting and ending positions of each stroke, and then linearly interpolates for the rest of the path. Depending on the length of the stroke, the velocity profile may indicate a velocity spike. A velocity spike may be characterized as an inverted V, where velocity may increase and then decrease rapidly. The velocity profile may also indicate a velocity plateau characterized as a trapezoidal shape, where velocity rapidly increases, remains constant, and then rapidly decreases”.
In a very similar manner to the current para., [0026], Angelov via Fig. 3 teaches, “Each of pieces of stroke data SD0 through SD4 includes a sequence of point data PD indicated by a white dot in the figure. In the figure, the solid lines between white dots indicate that the point data PD indicated by the white dots is sequential (or continuous), [0068-0070]. Both the writing pressure data P and the time data T may be included in each piece of point data PD making up the stroke data SD, [0169].
Fig. 7B shows velocity V that is derived on the basis of coordinate data (X, Y) and time T is a value before transform… as velocity V increase [0088]. Also “FIG. 14 shows that coordinate data (X, Y) is obtained at a given interval of 16 milliseconds. Also with regard to the coordinate data (X, Y), this example shows the coordinates obtained when the Y coordinate is fixed to 0 and the electronic pen 4 is moved only in the X direction at constant acceleration (velocity of increase by 8 every 16 milliseconds), [0144]. Figs. 17B, C and 18 illustrates the velocity (speed) increase, [0163-0167]). See Fig. 11A, B and C for detail on when the stroke is decreased, [0127]).
That is how pen plotter works at least based on the Copilot Search tool…..Pen plotting is the process of using a computer-controlled drawing machine (a pen plotter) to create vector-based artwork by moving a physical pen across paper to draw continuous line. Wherein A pen plotter interprets vector instructions (often from SVG files) and It moves a pen along X and Y axes to draw lines directly on paper. Here examiner maps continuous line to each stroke.
Also in a similar manner, Popovic further teaches, “The four letters of "JOHN" in this case were each written in one continuous stroke, [0094]”. Even though as examiner points out the deficiency of 112 above, Popovic does teach the claim feature.
Conclusively, examiner respectfully holds form that the current prior art still teach the unsupported feature/new amendment.
Inquiry
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
============================================================
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(B) Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atwood in view of Popovic and further in view of Sprigg and further in view of Angelov (2016/0179365 – previously disclosed – Hereinafter Angelov2016) and further in view of Dorninger (US 2015/0089452) or Angelov (US 2020/0401306 – Hereinafter Angelov2020).
Claim 1 and 11, Atwood teaches a method and a remote signature system, comprising:
a signature pad configured to receive gestures indicative of an electronic signature of a signatory and translate the gesture into vector data represents one or more of vector graphic shapes, images and text of the electronic signature (This portion has been addressed in the previous Final Office Action – 08/07/2025), wherein the signature pad is configured to transmit each stroke of the electronic signature as separate vector data to a pen plotter as each stroke is received = X1. (Dorninger teaches, “0022] In one embodiment, the system further comprises a graphics module configured to receive data describing one or more segments of one or more stroke gestures; generate vector data for the or each stroke segment; process the generated vector data for the or each stroke segment; output the processed vector data for display of a vector image representation of the or each stroke segment at the portable computing device; generate raster data for the or each stroke segment using the vector data; and output the raster data for display of a raster image representation of the or each stroke segment at the portable computing device display instead of the vector image representation. [0040] In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving data describing one or more segments of one or more stroke gestures; generating vector data for the or each stroke segment; processing the generated vector data for the or each stroke segment; outputting the processed vector data for display of a vector image representation of the or each stroke segment at the portable computing device; generating raster data for the or each stroke segment using the vector data; and outputting the raster data for display of a raster image representation of the or each stroke segment at the portable computing device display instead of the vector image representation. Or Angelov2020 teaches the feature, (each stroke object 210 is fragmented into fragmented data and sent and relayed sequentially, remotely located devices can share the stroke object 210 as it is entered in real time without perceivable time delay, [0457-0458] and also [0564-0566] via Figs. 43 and 44).
a cloud server configured to receive the vector data from the signature pad also and transmit vector data of an electronic signature of a signatory to a pen plotter (Atwood: Fig. 4, [0117]: a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14a) (14b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents, and to associated such handwriting and editing with documents); and the pen plotter having:
a plotter controller configured to receive the vector data from the cloud server and convert the vector data to position-velocity vector pair and further from the vector pair to pulses that cause movements of a mechanical arm, (Atwood: the digital pen path recorded for a particular instance of handwriting associated with the handwriting or signature captured in accordance with the invention, and this digital pen path , [0109]. Also see Fig. 2, [0114]; Fig. 3, [0115-0116] and Fig. 4, [0117]);
the mechanical arm configured to receive an ink pen to generate an ink signature for the signatory based on the movements, (Atwood: LONG PEN.TM. enables transactions between two offices. Preferably, each office location will maintain secure-access locations where only designated employees can enter and exit. Each office will maintain one or more terminals that allow communicating of signatures or other handwriting, or one or more "B" terminals that can receive handwriting and/or signatures from a remote location. Or, preferably, each office will maintain terminals that are operable to both send and receive. Two-way audio video communication between the offices will be provided via video cameras, microphones, speakers and/or monitors, [0219]).
Examiner wishes to clarify the term “vector data/vector pair”. Though Atwood does not use the exact term, the detailed description above in [0109, 0114-0117] and Figs. 2-4) implies the vector data as Popovic (and co-inventor Atwood herself) described, “Plotting apparatuses are vector drawing devices that generally employ a pen device moveable by the plotting apparatus in X and Y axes, so as to reach any point on the surface of a target area that receives, for example, a piece of paper. The plotting apparatus also generally includes a mechanism for raising and lowering the pen device. Most plotting apparatuses were originally designed for generating engineering drawings. They generally break up elements to be plotted into a small series of line segments. Advances in raster printing technologies (e.g. bubble jets, lasers, etc.) have made pen plotting apparatus less widespread, [0014].
and
a video capture device configured to capture and transmit a video of the pen plotter for displaying to one or more users including the signatory (See previous steps).
A little more detail on “gesture capture functionality”… examiner wishes to introduce additional references as follows:
Sprigg teaches, via, [0030], that “In a typical signature process, a signer may make a signature using a pen on a paper, a stylus on a touch sensitive surface, a stylus/pen on a paper document that overlays a touch sensitive surface, a fingertip on a touch sensitive surface, or some combination of these approaches or other approaches. In some embodiments, methods and systems may be configured to enable the signer to make a signature using a gesture with a physical implement (e.g., a stylus, paint brush, wand, or conductor's baton), a fingertip, a hand, or another body part or prosthetic body part. In such embodiments, a signature may be made in connection with a virtual signing environment, such as in a virtual or augmented reality system in which signing could be done in open space (i.e., not on a physical surface or screen) and continuous biometrics monitoring/processing may be performed throughout the gesturing movements”. Here clearly Spriggs teaches that gesture can be performed by touching the surface, but also via an open space.
Atwood does not explicitly detail the “position velocity”. Per the current Specs, [0025] discloses “…the position- velocity pairs may be specified as (x, y, vx, vy) or (X, V) pairs where X and V are position and velocity vectors. In some embodiments, a trajectory may be stored or otherwise transmitted as a list (e.g., vector) of such pairs”.
Angelov2016 similarly teaches, “[0150] The transform rules by the equation (2) and the equation (3) described above are characterized in that, in generating the transparency data A.sub.i corresponding to the i-th index value, input sensor attribute data corresponding to an index value that is not the i-th is referenced. To be more specific, the input sensor attribute data corresponding to the index value i−1 preceding by one (X.sub.1-1, Y.sub.i-1, T.sub.i-1) is referenced, in equation (3), to obtain V.sub.i that is indicative of the moving velocity of the electronic pen 4 moving from a position corresponding to the index value i−1 to a position corresponding to the index value i. Under the transform rule based on equation (2), a function is set such that, as the moving velocity V.sub.i increases, the transparency of the resulting “ink” trace increases (func3 shown in FIG. 7B).
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to make a minor modification to the teaching of Atwood to include Popovic for the purpose of explicitly describing of what the plotting apparatus is and detailing how the vector drawing devices work. It would also beneficial to include the teaching of Sprigg providing more advantage and greater convenience in signing documents while still maintaining its authenticity and furthermore to incorporate the teaching of Angelov2016 to generate mapping data indicative of a transform rule for transforming a value of the input sensor attribute included in the stroke data to a value of one of line width and transparency, and a digital ink assembler which, in operation, outputs, in a determined data format, a digital ink including the stroke data and the mapping data and also to include Dorninger’s teaching to include the generating of vector data for each stroke and outputting/transmitting each stroke segment for visual appearance and also to include Angelov2020’s teaching on signature verification by transmitting each/single stroke in real time.
Claims 2-3 and 12-13, (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the vector graphic shapes include paths and outlines of the electronic signatures; wherein the plotter controller is further configured to: calculate the vector pairs for the mechanical arm based on the received vector data; translate the vector pairs into the movements performable by the mechanical arm of the pen plotter based on determining from the vector of pairs a number of steps in moving a motor of the mechanical arm; and execute, by the mechanical arm, the movements, wherein the ink pen administers ink markings on a document as an original signature. (See the independent claims and examiner further has addressed this feature in the previous Final Office action).
Claims 4 and 14, . The system of claim 2, wherein the plotter controller is further configured to adjust the velocity when the vector data indicates a velocity above a maximum. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic, a "plotting file" that includes a series of control commands for movement of the pen (68) between a series of points in contact with the object placed in the target area (36), the control commands also defining limits on velocity, acceleration and jerk corresponding to each of the series of points, [0086].. and control and achieve a balance between speed and quality of reproduction for a particular human signature/dedication, [0086-0087]).
Claims 6-7, further comprising: a mobile device associated with the signatory having: a video camera configured to capture a video of the signatory, a user interface configured to display a live video stream of the pen plotter, and the signature pad associated with the signatory having a touch interface configured to receive touch events from the signatory, wherein the touch events are translated to the vector data; and a second device associated with a witness for observing the signatory, comprising: a video camera configured to capture a video of the witness, and a witness interface configured to display the video of the witness; wherein the live video stream further comprises the video of the witness; wherein the witness is located remotely from the pen plotter, wherein the witness interface is further configured to display the video of the pen plotter. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, FIG. 6 illustrates a mobile banking application embodiment of the present invention. For the convenience of reader, examiner further furnishes in view of Figs. 2-4 where it illustrates one embodiment of the system of the present invention including: (1) the resources associated with a first party (8), (2) the resources associated with the second party (9), (3) the first computer and second computer, (4) the optional central server (16), (5) a writer or writing utility (10 a) (10 b) which may include a digital pen as explained above at the first computer and a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14 a) (14 b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents, and to associated such handwriting and editing with documents; the writing utility also incorporates the authentication utility in one aspect of the present invention such that the master file (18 a) (18 b) referred to above is generated for authentication purposes as set out above."; Specifically, FIG. 2 illustrates the financial transaction app, [0114, 0204]). See LongPen for transactions between a customer at home and a financial institution.
Claims 8 and 20. The system of claim 6, wherein the user interface on the mobile device of the signatory is further configured to display the video of the signatory, the video of the witness, and information associated with the live video stream, wherein the information comprises one or more of the witness's name, the signatory's name, or a title of a document signed by the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, FIG. 6 illustrates a mobile banking application embodiment of the present invention. For more see claims 6-7).
Claim 9. The system of claim 6, wherein the live video stream is stored in a data store of the cloud server. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood: The audio-video recording forms part of an electronic audit file that is stored on at least one storage medium and is retrievable to authenticate the transaction, [0107]).
Claim 10. The system of claim 1, wherein the signature pad comprises an application executing on another device associated with the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic: The request can be communicated verbally by the fan via the described audio or optionally a further camera (49) is directed to a pad of paper or tablet (32) that enables the fan to write some or all of its request, e.g. the spelling of names to be included in the dedication, [0062]).
Claim 16. The method of claim 11, wherein the plotter device is further configured to: calculate a velocity of starting and ending positions of each stroke of the signatory on the signature pad. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic: the control commands also defining limits on velocity, acceleration and jerk corresponding to each of the series of points, [0086]).
Claims 17-18, further comprising: providing, by the cloud server and to a second application executing on a second mobile device associated with a witness, the video of the signatory; receiving, by the cloud server and from the second application, a video of the witness; and providing, by the cloud server and to the first application, the video of the witness; further comprising: providing, by the cloud server and to the second application, the video of the plotter device, wherein the witness associated with the second mobile device is located remotely from the plotter device. (Atwood discloses providing, by the cloud server and to the second application, the captured video of the plotter device, wherein the witness associated with the second mobile device is located remotely from the plotter device (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, Fig. 2-4 - "10a WRITER ... 10b WRITER ... 12a AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 12b AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 14a WRITING UTILITY ... 14b WRITING UTILITY ... 16 CENTRAL SERVER"; Fig. 4 - "9 SECOND PARTY").
Claim 19. The method of claim 11, wherein the signature pad comprises an application executing on the first mobile device or another device associated with the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, Fig. 2-4 - "10a WRITER ... 10b WRITER ... 12a AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 12b AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 14a WRITING UTILITY ... 14b WRITING UTILITY ... 16 CENTRAL SERVER"; Fig. 4 - "9 SECOND PARTY"; para [0070] - "witnesses"; para [0117] - "FIG. 4 illustrates one embodiment of the system of the present invention including: (1) the resources associated with a first party (8), (2) the resources associated with the second party (9), (3) the first computer and second computer, (4) the optional central server (16), (5) a writer or writing utility (10 a) (10 b) which may include a digital pen as explained above at the first computer and a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14 a) (14 b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents).
Claims 5 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atwood in view of Popovic and Spriggs further in view of Dorninger OR Angelov2020 and further in view of Gibson et al (US 2012/0206758).
Claims 5 and 15. The system of claim 1, wherein the plotter controller is further configured to convert a rotational frame of a plotter device motor to a linear frame of the mechanical arm. (Atwood does not explicitly disclose this feature. Gibson teaches “ a pulley 11 may be positioned so as to be aligned with an idler 12. A belt, such as a timing belt, may be fitted around and between the idler and pulley, Fig. 3 and [0084-0090].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Gibson into the teaching of Atwood for the purpose of utilizing the pulley to rotate. The rotation of the pulley may further cause the belt to move, which in turn may alter the position of the handwriting implement holder. An ordinary artisan will also recognize the range of motion of the belt that may be possible and the variety of directions and speeds the motor at which they may be operable to function, Fig. 4 and [0087-0091].
Inquiry
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691