DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Atwood Tsirbas or Popovic and further in view of Sprigg et al (US 2016/0078277) and further in view of Angelov (2016/0179365) OR Step by Step Science (https://youtu.be/ybgEUwM3Lmc same Motion Graphs: Transforming Position to Velocity to Acceleration vs Time).
Claim 1 and 11, Atwood teaches a method and a remote signature system, comprising:
a signature pad configured to receive gestures indicative of an electronic signature of a signatory and translate the gesture into vector data represents one or more of vector graphic shapes, images and text of the electronic signature (This portion has been addressed in the previous Final Office Action);
a cloud server configured to receive the vector data from the signature pad also and transmit vector data of an electronic signature of a signatory to a pen plotter (Atwood: Fig. 4, [0117]: a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14a) (14b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents, and to associated such handwriting and editing with documents); and the pen plotter having:
a plotter controller configured to receive the vector data from the cloud server and convert the vector data to position-velocity vector pair and further from the vector pair to pulses that cause movements of a mechanical arm, (Atwood: the digital pen path recorded for a particular instance of handwriting associated with the handwriting or signature captured in accordance with the invention, and this digital pen path , [0109]. Also see Fig. 2, [0114]; Fig. 3, [0115-0116] and Fig. 4, [0117]);
the mechanical arm configured to receive an ink pen to generate an ink signature for the signatory based on the movements, (Atwood: LONG PEN.TM. enables transactions between two offices. Preferably, each office location will maintain secure-access locations where only designated employees can enter and exit. Each office will maintain one or more terminals that allow communicating of signatures or other handwriting, or one or more "B" terminals that can receive handwriting and/or signatures from a remote location. Or, preferably, each office will maintain terminals that are operable to both send and receive. Two-way audio video communication between the offices will be provided via video cameras, microphones, speakers and/or monitors, [0219]).
Examiner wishes to clarify the term “vector data/vector pair”. Though Atwood does not use the term, the detailed description above in [0109, 0114-0117] and Figs. 2-4) implies the vector data as Popovic (and co-inventor Atwood herself) described, “Plotting apparatuses are vector drawing devices that generally employ a pen device moveable by the plotting apparatus in X and Y axes, so as to reach any point on the surface of a target area that receives, for example, a piece of paper. The plotting apparatus also generally includes a mechanism for raising and lowering the pen device. Most plotting apparatuses were originally designed for generating engineering drawings. They generally break up elements to be plotted into a small series of line segments. Advances in raster printing technologies (e.g. bubble jets, lasers, etc.) have made pen plotting apparatus less widespread, [0014].
and
a video capture device configured to capture and transmit a video of the pen plotter for displaying to one or more users including the signatory (See previous steps).
Regarding Long Pen for more visual and explicit presentation, examiner wishes to introduce Tsirbas detailing… the LongPen for what it is: an ingenious combination of videoconferencing, gesture capture functionality, and robotics resulting in a pair of affordable terminals (sending and receiving) that can be used by publishers and retailers of all sizes to hold promotional events anywhere on the planet. The LongPen consists of twinned apparatuses, each with a flat panel screen, a high-resolution web cam, speakers and microphone. The sender's end includes a tablet PC that records the pen strokes used to autograph or dedicate a book. This information is then transmitted to a robotic arm at the receiving end, which reproduces these movements and inscribes the message from the other end on paper in ink.
Margaret Atwood… has recently turned her talents and sharp eye to real-word technology, creating the LongPen, a tele-remote device that enables authors to give readings and do book signings without being physically present.
The LongPen is an ecologically sound way for authors and celebrities to make promotional appearances without recourse to costly and environmentally devastating air travel. It is also a way for authors to hold signings and Q&As in smaller markets that are regularly skipped by book tours for reasons of cost effectiveness.
A little more detail on “gesture capture functionality”, Atwood’s LongPen which was clarified further by Tsirbas that it has “gesture capture functionality”. While examiner believes that “gesture capture functionality” suggests (or at least by obviousness) the newly amended feature, examiner wishes to introduce additional references as follows:
Sprigg teaches, via, [0030], that “In a typical signature process, a signer may make a signature using a pen on a paper, a stylus on a touch sensitive surface, a stylus/pen on a paper document that overlays a touch sensitive surface, a fingertip on a touch sensitive surface, or some combination of these approaches or other approaches. In some embodiments, methods and systems may be configured to enable the signer to make a signature using a gesture with a physical implement (e.g., a stylus, paint brush, wand, or conductor's baton), a fingertip, a hand, or another body part or prosthetic body part. In such embodiments, a signature may be made in connection with a virtual signing environment, such as in a virtual or augmented reality system in which signing could be done in open space (i.e., not on a physical surface or screen) and continuous biometrics monitoring/processing may be performed throughout the gesturing movements”. Here clearly Springs teaches that gesture can be performed by touching the surface, but also via an open space.
None of the references previously used teaches the “position velocity”. Per the current Specs, [0025] discloses “…the position- velocity pairs may be specified as (x, y, vx, vy) or (X, V) pairs where X and V are position and velocity vectors. In some embodiments, a trajectory may be stored or otherwise transmitted as a list (e.g., vector) of such pairs”.
Angelov similarly teaches, “[0150] The transform rules by the equation (2) and the equation (3) described above are characterized in that, in generating the transparency data A.sub.i corresponding to the i-th index value, input sensor attribute data corresponding to an index value that is not the i-th is referenced. To be more specific, the input sensor attribute data corresponding to the index value i−1 preceding by one (X.sub.1-1, Y.sub.i-1, T.sub.i-1) is referenced, in equation (3), to obtain V.sub.i that is indicative of the moving velocity of the electronic pen 4 moving from a position corresponding to the index value i−1 to a position corresponding to the index value i. Under the transform rule based on equation (2), a function is set such that, as the moving velocity V.sub.i increases, the transparency of the resulting “ink” trace increases (func3 shown in FIG. 7B”, OR
Step by Step Science
https://youtu.be/ybgEUwM3Lmc
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to make a minor modification to the teaching of Atwood to include the pictorial images of what the Long Pen looks like which would help the communication participants with greater appreciation of visual view/presentation of document authentication and certainly promoting ecological and cost effective and also to include the exact language, i.e., vector data, to avoid any confusion when carrying out the invention and also to include Popovic for the purpose of explicitly describing of what the plotting apparatus is and detailing how the vector drawing devices work. It would also beneficial to include the teaching of Sprigg providing more advantage and greater convenience in signing documents while still maintaining its authenticity and furthermore to incorporate the teaching of Angelov OR Step by Step Science to generate mapping data indicative of a transform rule for transforming a value of the input sensor attribute included in the stroke data to a value of one of line width and transparency, and a digital ink assembler which, in operation, outputs, in a determined data format, a digital ink including the stroke data and the mapping data
Claims 2-3 and 12-13, (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the vector graphic shapes include paths and outlines of the electronic signatures; wherein the plotter controller is further configured to: calculate the vector pairs for the mechanical arm based on the received vector data; translate the vector pairs into the movements performable by the mechanical arm of the pen plotter based on determining from the vector of pairs a number of steps in moving a motor of the mechanical arm; and execute, by the mechanical arm, the movements, wherein the ink pen administers ink markings on a document as an original signature. (See the independent claims and examiner further has addressed this feature in the previous Final Office action).
Claims 4 and 14, . The system of claim 2, wherein the plotter controller is further configured to adjust the velocity when the vector data indicates a velocity above a maximum. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic, a "plotting file" that includes a series of control commands for movement of the pen (68) between a series of points in contact with the object placed in the target area (36), the control commands also defining limits on velocity, acceleration and jerk corresponding to each of the series of points, [0086].. and control and achieve a balance between speed and quality of reproduction for a particular human signature/dedication, [0086-0087]).
Claims 6-7, further comprising: a mobile device associated with the signatory having: a video camera configured to capture a video of the signatory, a user interface configured to display a live video stream of the pen plotter, and the signature pad associated with the signatory having a touch interface configured to receive touch events from the signatory, wherein the touch events are translated to the vector data; and a second device associated with a witness for observing the signatory, comprising: a video camera configured to capture a video of the witness, and a witness interface configured to display the video of the witness; wherein the live video stream further comprises the video of the witness; wherein the witness is located remotely from the pen plotter, wherein the witness interface is further configured to display the video of the pen plotter. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, FIG. 6 illustrates a mobile banking application embodiment of the present invention. For the convenience of reader, examiner further furnishes in view of Figs. 2-4 where it illustrates one embodiment of the system of the present invention including: (1) the resources associated with a first party (8), (2) the resources associated with the second party (9), (3) the first computer and second computer, (4) the optional central server (16), (5) a writer or writing utility (10 a) (10 b) which may include a digital pen as explained above at the first computer and a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14 a) (14 b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents, and to associated such handwriting and editing with documents; the writing utility also incorporates the authentication utility in one aspect of the present invention such that the master file (18 a) (18 b) referred to above is generated for authentication purposes as set out above."; Specifically, FIG. 2 illustrates the financial transaction app, [0114, 0204]). See LongPen for transactions between a customer at home and a financial institution.
Claims 8 and 20. The system of claim 6, wherein the user interface on the mobile device of the signatory is further configured to display the video of the signatory, the video of the witness, and information associated with the live video stream, wherein the information comprises one or more of the witness's name, the signatory's name, or a title of a document signed by the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, FIG. 6 illustrates a mobile banking application embodiment of the present invention. For more see claims 6-7).
Claim 9. The system of claim 6, wherein the live video stream is stored in a data store of the cloud server. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood: The audio-video recording forms part of an electronic audit file that is stored on at least one storage medium and is retrievable to authenticate the transaction, [0107]).
Claim 10. The system of claim 1, wherein the signature pad comprises an application executing on another device associated with the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic: The request can be communicated verbally by the fan via the described audio or optionally a further camera (49) is directed to a pad of paper or tablet (32) that enables the fan to write some or all of its request, e.g. the spelling of names to be included in the dedication, [0062]).
Claim 16. The method of claim 11, wherein the plotter device is further configured to: calculate a velocity of starting and ending positions of each stroke of the signatory on the signature pad. (See the independent claims or at least Popovic: the control commands also defining limits on velocity, acceleration and jerk corresponding to each of the series of points, [0086]).
Claims 17-18, further comprising: providing, by the cloud server and to a second application executing on a second mobile device associated with a witness, the video of the signatory; receiving, by the cloud server and from the second application, a video of the witness; and providing, by the cloud server and to the first application, the video of the witness; further comprising: providing, by the cloud server and to the second application, the video of the plotter device, wherein the witness associated with the second mobile device is located remotely from the plotter device. (Atwood discloses providing, by the cloud server and to the second application, the captured video of the plotter device, wherein the witness associated with the second mobile device is located remotely from the plotter device (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, Fig. 2-4 - "10a WRITER ... 10b WRITER ... 12a AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 12b AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 14a WRITING UTILITY ... 14b WRITING UTILITY ... 16 CENTRAL SERVER"; Fig. 4 - "9 SECOND PARTY").
Claim 19. The method of claim 11, wherein the signature pad comprises an application executing on the first mobile device or another device associated with the signatory. (See the independent claims or at least Atwood, Fig. 2-4 - "10a WRITER ... 10b WRITER ... 12a AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 12b AUDIO VISUAL UTILITY ... see the other party ... 14a WRITING UTILITY ... 14b WRITING UTILITY ... 16 CENTRAL SERVER"; Fig. 4 - "9 SECOND PARTY"; para [0070] - "witnesses"; para [0117] - "FIG. 4 illustrates one embodiment of the system of the present invention including: (1) the resources associated with a first party (8), (2) the resources associated with the second party (9), (3) the first computer and second computer, (4) the optional central server (16), (5) a writer or writing utility (10 a) (10 b) which may include a digital pen as explained above at the first computer and a writing device such as a plotter or other writing/signing device at the second computer, (6) a writing utility (14 a) (14 b) which is best understood as a software utility that is operable to capture and analyze handwriting (including signatures), and also to enable the annotation and editing of documents).
Claims 5 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atwood in view of Tsirbas or Popovic and further in view of Gibson et al (US 2012/0206758).
Claims 5 and 15. The system of claim 1, wherein the plotter controller is further configured to convert a rotational frame of a plotter device motor to a linear frame of the mechanical arm. (Atwood does not explicitly disclose this feature. Gibson teaches “ a pulley 11 may be positioned so as to be aligned with an idler 12. A belt, such as a timing belt, may be fitted around and between the idler and pulley, Fig. 3 and [0084-0090].
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Gibson into the teaching of Atwood for the purpose of utilizing the pulley to rotate. The rotation of the pulley may further cause the belt to move, which in turn may alter the position of the handwriting implement holder. An ordinary artisan will also recognize the range of motion of the belt that may be possible and the variety of directions and speeds the motor at which they may be operable to function, Fig. 4 and [0087-0091].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3/5/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that none of the previous references teaches “position-velocity” the step “translate the gestures into vector data representing one or more of vector graphic shapes, images, and text of the electronic signature," and "a plotter controller configured to ... convert the vector data to position-velocity vector pairs and further from the vector pairs to pulses that cause movements of a mechanical arm,"
Examiner respectfully disagrees as examiner provides Angelov and Step by Step Science Youtube to address the new feature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691