DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stein and in view of Lockhart and in view of Glickman.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Stein (US 2019/0324767) and in view of Lockhart (US 2019/0081862) and in further view of Glickman (US 2005/0262207)
Re Claim 1, Stein discloses a computer-implemented method of configuring repositories, comprising:
maintaining a configuration definition associated with a local repository ([0051]-[0053], configuration files are stored in the local repository. Configuration files from other repositories are validated and merged into the local repository for access),
the configuration definition having markup code in a markup language, symbolically specifying instructions, parameters, settings, or configurations of users, groups, or permissions relating to access to artifacts stored in a plurality of repositories distributed across multiple regional clusters ([0052], [0059], [0070], shared features and/or permissions to the repository are stored in the configuration files. The configuration files from other repositories are merged/shared across repositories. The configurations can be in a number of formats, one of which is extensible markup language (XML) documents),
each regional cluster of the multiple regional clusters being a grouping of one or more repositories serving a particular geographic region ([0068]-[0071], repositories are used to store, update, and share configuration files by utilizing transmit feature configurations in an XML format. Repository may be configured to copy and merge configuration files from other repositories);
detecting a change to the configuration definition ([0038], configuration can be updated by a user, team, and/or entity without requiring knowledge of feature configurations);
transforming, in response to the detecting, the markup code in the configuration definition into specific commands or parameter values that need to be written into each repository on a regional cluster of the multiple regional clusters ([0068]-[0071], repositories are used to store, update, and share configuration files by utilizing transmit feature configurations in an XML format. Repository may be configured to copy and merge configuration files from other repositories);
deploying the specific commands or parameter values on the regional cluster ([0071], synchronizing configurations to other repositories with updates. Repository may be configured to copy and merge configuration files from other repositories).
Stein does not explicitly disclose, however Lockhart discloses the plurality of repositories including a replicated mirror of an repository ([0007]-[0010], each repository mirror serves are the configuration distribution point for servers operating in the same region of a given region.);
comprising deriving settings including a topology of permissions for the regional cluster and a strategy of mirroring the regional cluster to another regional cluster ([0007]-[0010], fig. 1, each repository mirror serves are the configuration distribution point for servers operating in the same region of a given region. The particular repository mirror pulls configuration updates from the master repository).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Stein’s repository with Lockhart’s repositories which includes other repositories across regions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow repositories stored amongst other locations.
While Stein discloses copying configuration files to other repositories, Stein and Lockhart does not disclose external repository outside the multiple regional clusters.
In the same field of endeavor, Glickman discloses external repository external to local repository ([0012], local repository store security data replicated from external repository).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Stein and Lockhart’s repository with Glickman’s external repository. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to create a better security data to be selectively replicated.
Re claim 3, One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stein for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Lockhart discloses the detecting being in response to a pull request opened against the local repository with proposed changes to the configuration definition ([0010], pull the configurations or updates from the repositories).
Re claim 6, Stein discloses the markup code specifying permissions for a particular set of users associated with the external repository to view contents in particular repositories of the plurality of repositories ([0052], shared permissions in the XML configuration files are used to allow other teams, projects, entities to share data in the directory structure (repository).
Re claim 7, One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stein for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Glick discloses the transforming comprising determining whether a repository of the plurality of repositories is a remote repository of a certain local repository or of the external repository ([0010]-[0011], external repository or local repository).
Re claim 8, Stein discloses the transforming including validating a syntax or value of the configuration definition ([0053], copying the configuration, the synchronization mechanisms apply a set of validations to the copied configuration files).
Re claim 9, Stein discloses detecting an update to the local repository ([0038], configurations are created and/or updated by a server, team and/or other entities);
transmitting a corresponding update to remote repositories of the local repository ([0068], repositories are used to store, update, and share configuration files containing features configurations and are shared amongst other repositories).
Re claim 10, One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stein for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Lockhart discloses the specific commands or parameter values being related to managing, creating, updating, and deleting specific users, specific groups, and specific permissions or configuring external visibility of specific artifacts ([0002], [0009]-[0010], configurations can set access restrictions. Configurations are changed and are retrieved to update other repositories).
Re claims 11, 13, and 16-20, they are similar to claims 1, 3, and 6-10 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Stein in view of Lockhart and in view of Glickman and further in view of Kunapuli (US 2016/0048543).
Re claims 2 and 12, Stein discloses the local repository storing specific artifacts and metadata in a directory structure ([0045]-[0047], configuration include metadata used how to join and access the features in specific environments). One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stein for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1.
Stein, Lockhart, and Glickman do not disclose, however Kunapuli discloses the specific artifacts including executables, installers, application binaries, or archives ([0024], knowledge repository stores artifacts which can be executed.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Stein, Lockhart, and Glickman repository with Kunapuli’s repository to store artifacts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to incorporate building blocks to build products.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Unpatentable over Stein, in view of Lockhart, in view of Glickman and further in view of Tidd (US 8,688,734).
Re claims 5 and 15, while Stein discloses markup code specifying permissions for a specific user ([0052], shared permissions in the XML configuration files), Stein, Lockhart, and Glickman does not disclose the code to publish contents in specific paths within specific repositories, including a whitelist of paths or a blacklist of paths.
In the same field of endeavor, Tidd discloses the code to publish contents in specific paths within specific repositories, including a whitelist of paths or a blacklist of paths (col. 5, lines 10-49, administrators can publish directories and files using Group Policy Preferences and grant/deny users access and/or visibility directors and files using Group Policy.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Stein, Lockhart, and Glickman’s repository with Tidd’s security features which includes limited or restricting user or group access and/or visibility to directories. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow security features in the repositories for users.
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443